Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Airgun Designs USA - E-Mag Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Airgun Designs USA
401 Florine Court
Cary, IL 60090

Phone: (847) 520-7225
Fax: (847) 520-7848
Email: romanr@airgundesignsusa.com
Website: http://www.airgundesignsusa.com
Emag
 Manual: Download the manual for Airgun Designs USA Download
 Release Date: 2001
 MSRP: $1,250.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.0/5 stars.
 Reviews: 10
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  30%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  50%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  10%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  10%
 Link:
Airgun Designs USA - E-Mag Reviews
Airgun Designs USA E-Mag Recommended Upgrades I prefer the Scepter Powerlyte barrel kits, but whatever you are comfortable with. The factory barrels are crap in my opinion. Strengths Great markers that you can easily pick...
Report this review to a moderator   #37410
Dark Side
You will know the power
Dark Side's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Charleston SC
Dark Side is BST Trusted
Dark Side is attending Decay of Nations VI
Dark Side is attending Decay of Nations VII
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: see below
Cons: see below
Recommended Upgrades
I prefer the Scepter Powerlyte barrel kits, but whatever you are comfortable with. The factory barrels are crap in my opinion.


Strengths
Great markers that you can easily pick up for around $450. If the battery/electronics ever fail, the mech backup takes over so your day isn't ruined.

Quality
The quality of this gun is great. Plenty of aftermarket parts to make it your own. Choose the rail and body that suit you and enjoy.

Trigger
The old school double finger trigger, but there are several aftermarket designs available. I prefer the TunaBlade.

Board/Electronics
There were several flashes from AGD. Something changed with each update. If you can get one, get Xmod 1.8. It has the latest and greatest you could want to include PSP, Mil, Semi, and up to 31BPS full auto.

Battery
The Mag has an 18 volt pack that comes with a car charger. The factory states that a charge should last 20K shots. Not sure if it does, never took the time to count.

Weaknesses
The valve likes to operate at least at 800 psi. It will operate lower but you will have decreased performance. This makes it an air hog. Normal woodsball gamers shouldn't worry though. Some people may complain of the weight. These people to stop acting like small children.

Conclusion
I loved my Emag. The only reason that I sold it was to pick up a Viking and I already owned a XMag.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA E-Mag I got one for $450 off ebay, pretty much bone stock besides an ULE body. I have to say the weight is a little discouraging. The shape of the battery pack foregrip isn't very comfy either. That's...
Report this review to a moderator   #845
OneUp
 
OneUp's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: ahead of its time, reliable, has mech mode!
Cons: looks, weight, rarity, suceeded by the X-Mag
I got one for $450 off ebay, pretty much bone stock besides an ULE body. I have to say the weight is a little discouraging. The shape of the battery pack foregrip isn't very comfy either. That's about the only 2 drawbacks I had with it. The weight can be upgraded with ULE parts and the battery pack comfort is just personal preference. Plus, if the foregrip is being recreated to an extent on the Mini, it's probably comfortable to some people at least.

Everything else was awesome.

It has a magnetic trigger that some people tend to favor. The previous owner installed a Level X bolt, which is pretty much the only anti-chop bolt from any company that actually works. It didn't chop AGD president Tom Kaye's tongue when he stuck it in the feedneck; it didn't chop any paintballs when I stuck them in the feedneck.

What I like the most about the E-Mag has got to be its ability to turn from an electric gun into a fully mechanical gun with the flick of a switch. I'm still waiting for someone to make another gun that can pull this off. The ever-lasting battery dies during a game? Flick the switch and keep going!

If you don't mind the weight (or if yours is already upgraded) then this gun is not outdated at all. It'll keep up with the other high ends just fine. Seems to hog gas though. It's not a problem when most fields offer all-day air. I'd use a 68 ci or larger tank.

Some of the lightweight parts include: ULE body, X Valve, milled battery pack, ULE grip frame, and milled rail of some sort. You can actually make this gun very light. Or if you have the cash and luck to find an X-Mag, buy that instead and brag about it.

Appearance: it has a no-thrills simple look that you either love or hate, but the battery pack looks a little like a magazine of ammo (or an iPod!)
Performance: you can only get them used these days, and most of them will come with a Level X bolt already. That is pretty much the only upgrade I would consider essential.
Reliability: it's an AGD gun. Quality always shoot straight. This gun is dependable like its sisters.
Value: It was worth my money. You can find a bargain if you're lucky enough to find someone who doesn't know what he's got. Many people on this site don't value guns that aren't from a mainstream brand, so the BST forum is a good place to start.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA E-Mag I bought a Euro Emag 2 years ago, its heavy, unmilled and fast. Super reliable and old. On the field, it gets alot of looks, it can keep up with anything in terms of speed, but she is a bit of a gas...
Report this review to a moderator   #19817
rudz
SPOOL VALVED VICTORY
rudz's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southern California
rudz has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
rudz is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
rudz is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: unique, reliable
Cons: heavy, age
I bought a Euro Emag 2 years ago, its heavy, unmilled and fast. Super reliable and old. On the field, it gets alot of looks, it can keep up with anything in terms of speed, but she is a bit of a gas hog.

These guns arent for everyone, they tech some tech work sometimes, but once theyre running right, they stay that way.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA E-Mag If anyone has been around paintball since the 90's, they probably know the name Automag. And there is a reason for it. In the early 90's Automags and Autocockers were the top tournament guns out...
Report this review to a moderator   #2672
spwz99
 
spwz99's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: KCMO
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Reliability, Quality
Cons: Weight, Only available used
If anyone has been around paintball since the 90's, they probably know the name Automag. And there is a reason for it. In the early 90's Automags and Autocockers were the top tournament guns out there.

While this may not be the case anymore, any Mag owner will tell you that they can still hold their own on the paintball field. With updated software available (either AGD's own or the aftermarket X-Mod) an Emag will perform just as well as any other modern speedball marker.

It has the low profile, single tube design of the Shocker, the speed to hit 30 BPS (in fully mechanical mode mind you) and reliability that has kept these guns running for years.

The only drawback of the Emag is weight. While it can be made extremely light, it will never be as light as a more modern gun such as an Ego because of the heavier frame and rail design, or the battery (which is needed to drive the much stronger mechanical solenoid, not a more common air solenoid), it makes up for it with unmatched reliability.

No other gun has ever (to my knowledge) has ever been produced with a mechanical override. Any time the automag battery happens to die, all it takes is the flip of a switch and you are back in the game.

If you are in the market for a reliable gun that will be a real head turner at the field, you should consider searching ebay or automags.org for a used Emag. You won't be disappointed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA E-Mag smooth on paint fast had a mechanical overide and man did these things look good only downside is they operate on high pressure so you can't shoot as deep into your tank. also they will last...
Report this review to a moderator   #14788
yuik
Mr Diet Coke on the Rocks
yuik's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
yuik is playing at Living Legends V
yuik is playing at Living Legends VI
yuik is an NCPA player
yuik plays in the APPA D4 division
yuik is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
yuik is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: durable, mech and auto mode, level X
Cons: efficiency
smooth on paint
fast
had a mechanical overide
and man did these things look good

only downside is they operate on high pressure so you can't shoot as deep into your tank. also they will last forever. having to charge them in a car kind of sucks though.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.4/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA E-Mag This gun never failed me in the 3 years i used it. Maintenance was pretty easy, and customer service was excellent. Only down side to this gun was the air efficiency, but if you are filling up after...
Report this review to a moderator   #22534
RLfan89
 
RLfan89's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: wisconsin
RLfan89 plays in the PSP
RLfan89 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
RLfan89 is an NCPA player
RLfan89 plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: Reliablility
Cons: Air efficiency
This gun never failed me in the 3 years i used it. Maintenance was pretty easy, and customer service was excellent. Only down side to this gun was the air efficiency, but if you are filling up after every time you go on to the field it doesnt matter.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA E-Mag Emags were great back in the day, but paintball has come a long way. If youre into older guns, and that nostalgia, the Emag is great. If you're wanting a paintball gun that doesnt cost a fortune and...
Report this review to a moderator   #11854
behemoth
NLFTW
behemoth's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 216 -> 702
behemoth is reppin' sidebar 4 life
behemoth is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
behemoth is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $999.99
Pros: Thought it was cool
Cons: Turns out it was heavy
Emags were great back in the day, but paintball has come a long way.

If youre into older guns, and that nostalgia, the Emag is great. If you're wanting a paintball gun that doesnt cost a fortune and weigh as much as a boat anchor...your options are plentiful.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA E-Mag It only lasted me 2 months but i totally recommend it.
Report this review to a moderator   #10290
Soldier223
 
Soldier223's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2010
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $360.00
Pros: trigger
Cons: breaks easily
It only lasted me 2 months but i totally recommend it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.7/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA E-Mag built a karta emag with level 10 and xvalve. one of the coolest guns i've ever owned. wish I never would have sold it
Report this review to a moderator   #35926
bulzeye
 
bulzeye's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: oregon
bulzeye is a Supporting Member
bulzeye has been a member for 10 years
bulzeye donated to help Peyton Trent
bulzeye supports Team VICIOUS
bulzeye is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: beautiful marker, machine gun in its day
Cons: heavy, inefficient, special battery
built a karta emag with level 10 and xvalve. one of the coolest guns i've ever owned. wish I never would have sold it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA E-Mag One of the first guns i owned liked styling but thats about it
Report this review to a moderator   #35418
jadis2230
 
jadis2230's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta
jadis2230 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
jadis2230 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1.00
Pros: style
Cons: weight
One of the first guns i owned liked styling but thats about it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Add New Review