Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Proto Paintball - Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Proto Paintball
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: customerservice@protopaintball.com
Website: http://www.protopaintball.com
Proto Matrix 7
 Manual: Download the manual for Proto Paintball Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $799.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 79
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  46%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  49%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  4%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Proto Paintball - Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) Reviews
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) I bought my pm7 clear dust about 3 weeks ago. When it finally came in I was so excited i could hardly wait to fire it up. I opened up the box and the presentation of the marker was great as too be...
Report this review to a moderator   #3580
roe-city1
ROE-CITY Captain
roe-city1's avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Location: West Monroe LA
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Milling Shoots ropes Stock board is not too bad
Cons: !!!STOCK FRAME!!! eyes break very easy
I bought my pm7 clear dust about 3 weeks ago. When it finally came in I was so excited i could hardly wait to fire it up. I opened up the box and the presentation of the marker was great as too be expected by dye. I grabbed my tank and gassed the marker up.It shot wonderful... for about 20 seconds and then just quit. Luckily it was just the battery that needed changing.

I regassed the marker and loaded some paint into my halo. I was shooting ropes. Another thing I noticed about the marker is that its quiet compared to my timmies. The trigger wasnt quite right for me so i pulled out the manual and decided to change it up a bit. OMG this is the hardest trigger I have ever had to adjust, you literaly have to take the trigger frame off of the marker just to adjust it. I highly suggest getting the Dye frame upgrade.

Once I made it through that debacle I decided to set the chip to ramping. Adjusting the chip settings is very easy and the manual will walk you through it. While setting the chip i discovered another slightly aggervating thing about this marker RIBBON EYES these things are very very fragile. Unfourtunatly I learned this the hard way.

The overall air effecicy of the marker is ok. I use a 68ci 3000psi tank and i get about 400-450 shots per tank. The stock barrell is not bad either. Personally im a Stiffi fan but if you like the Ultra-lite style barrells this one will do fine.

Maintenance on the marker is kinda high. If your style of playing is to play all day and put the marker in the closet until next time then this is probably not your gun. Its not hard to maintain the marker but it does take a little time compared to other markers.

Overall I would give this marker an 8 out of 10 because most of the cons can be replaced with upgraded parts. This is a good marker for any beginner or the most experienced tourney player.


The Nuge Roe-City Capt
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) This gun is amazing. Currently i have one and it shoot very nicely. With the ul frame, it is a top gun. I have had some problems with the gun, but overall i am greatly satisfied.
Report this review to a moderator   #240
scarface478
 
scarface478's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: 203
scarface478 plays in the PSP
scarface478 is an NCPA player
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: Accurate, Fast
Cons: NO ULtralight Barrel or Frame
This gun is amazing. Currently i have one and it shoot very nicely. With the ul frame, it is a top gun. I have had some problems with the gun, but overall i am greatly satisfied.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) I bought an Oil Slick PM7 from my friend, since I decided to get more into paintball a while ago, it came with a UL Frame, and CP trigger. It is very comfortable with the UL Frame, it looks really...
Report this review to a moderator   #3092
aj4455
•Ruthless Ware V.P.•
aj4455's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 813, FL.
aj4455 is a Paintball photographer
aj4455 is playing at Living Legends VII
aj4455 is an NCPA player
aj4455 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $475.00
Pros: Accuracy, reliablity, and feel
Cons: air efficiency
I bought an Oil Slick PM7 from my friend, since I decided to get more into paintball a while ago, it came with a UL Frame, and CP trigger.

It is very comfortable with the UL Frame, it looks really awesome with the Oil Slick color, and compared to the DM7 it is a little heavier, but thats just because the DM7 has a different internal body material.

It shoots amazingly accurate out of the box, mine has the stock Proto 2-piece barrel and it isn't half bad for a stock barrel. There is barely any kick once your settings are perfected.

I never have a problem cleaning, it hasn't leaked, over all, it is a very reliable gun. But can we expect anything lower than a 10/10 gun from Dye?

The one thing I hate about my PM7 is the air efficiency, it is terrible, I'm still trying to make it a little better, im sure with the top hot mod and couple other tweaks it can be a lot better.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) The gun itself is amazing. It is hands down the best gun I have ever used. Only thing that hurts it is that it is a dye gun and when an o-ring goes it's a pain to fix if you dont know which it is. ...
Report this review to a moderator   #2034
Evil Leader
Johnny Rathbun-Evil Fact.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chitown
Evil Leader is a Supporting Member
Evil Leader is a Professional paintball player
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Light, Looks, Consistency
Cons: It has lots of o-rings
The gun itself is amazing. It is hands down the best gun I have ever used. Only thing that hurts it is that it is a dye gun and when an o-ring goes it's a pain to fix if you dont know which it is. The gun is deff. worth the money.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) i just mow down noobs like its my job, i don't know if its just me cause i do that same with a NXT Shocker but the gun helps alot. But really the gun is nice and i really love how accurate...
Report this review to a moderator   #4692
MidW Massacre
 
MidW Massacre's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: light, fast(ul'ed) pure sex
Cons: brakes down a little
i just mow down noobs like its my job, i don't know if its just me cause i do that same with a NXT Shocker but the gun helps alot.

But really the gun is nice and i really love how accurate it is. i bought the gun with the UL frame already on it so i like that alot. its a matrix so it already is a good gun just for that. i would recommend by and matrix they are so smooth and light.

But i really do mow people down
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) I just traded for a like new pm7. straight outta the box, this gun shot AMAZING. absolutely no problems since i got it. the only miscue was the trigger, which is really stiff, but this can...
Report this review to a moderator   #2097
runthruking
meh
runthruking's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: so cali
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: fast, no kick, smooth, easy to maintain
Cons: not amazing air efficiency
I just traded for a like new pm7. straight outta the box, this gun shot AMAZING.
absolutely no problems since i got it. the only miscue was the trigger, which is really stiff, but this can easily be remedied by taking out the return spring alltogether. this makes for a very soft smooth trigger.

overall great gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) When i first got this gun i got it brand new for 450 with a ul pre-installed. this gun out of the box was ripping, just shooting ropes like no other gun i have ever shot. all in all i give this gun a...
Report this review to a moderator   #1561
s0c0mnati0n
What hit.. pssh thats rub
s0c0mnati0n's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Georgia
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Fast, Lite, quiet, accurate
Cons: kinda tricky to figure out sometimes
When i first got this gun i got it brand new for 450 with a ul pre-installed. this gun out of the box was ripping, just shooting ropes like no other gun i have ever shot. all in all i give this gun a 4 out of 5, because it this gun is just a bit unhappy it can give you a headache trying to make it work, but it still works 98% of the time, and i definately reccomend it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) I had a pm7 for a short while, It was a very nice marker, shoots extremely smooth. Its easy to maintain ( i highly recommend an oring kit and some hater lube) just lube the bolt, lpr, and hpr. your...
Report this review to a moderator   #73
ryanpb03
*Headstrong*
ryanpb03's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: So-Ohio- 513
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $540.00
Pros: light, felt good, shoots smooth, quiet
Cons: great marker just better out there.
I had a pm7 for a short while, It was a very nice marker, shoots extremely smooth. Its easy to maintain ( i highly recommend an oring kit and some hater lube) just lube the bolt, lpr, and hpr. your ready to go. Shoots great. fast enough for anything you could want. I did sell it when i upgraded to my ego7. There isn't anything wrong with this gun. there are just better guns avail. The Proto line is a GREAT alternative to the more expensive DM line. You do lose a couple of the extra's but its a great marker. Now a days you can pick them up for $400ish. Its a great buy if your looking for a small pretty light weight high end marker but dont want to spend as much for some of the extra bells and whistles.

The pm7 is pretty quiet. pretty accurate, fairly fast, ok with efficiency, i got 10 pods and a hopper on a 68/4500 with around 1000 psi left. I now get 8-9 pods and a hopper of my ego7 thats why i say its just OK. my pm7 had minimal kick when i tuned it right. nothing that will bother you.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) i got my pm7 a while back, and it sat in my bag until i got rid of my sl66. now i use it more than ever, and it holds up to what i need. just take care of her, and she will do the same to you. my...
Report this review to a moderator   #1830
tydeeh22
 
tydeeh22's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lafayette, IN
tydeeh22 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $375.00
Pros: great speed, accuracy, and milling
Cons: not good trigger, (universal factor) sucks
i got my pm7 a while back, and it sat in my bag until i got rid of my sl66. now i use it more than ever, and it holds up to what i need. just take care of her, and she will do the same to you. my verssion of (cheap dye) works great.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) Review: Well. I've given dye and proto more or less, my hole paintball career. I love all of their products except for the rail. I am going on my second Proto M7 in 4 months. My first one was red...
Report this review to a moderator   #495
Rockyboarder
So Long Gay boys....
Rockyboarder's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Rockyboarder owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $480.00
Pros: Light, proto, good
Cons: Inefficient stock
Review: Well. I've given dye and proto more or less, my hole paintball career. I love all of their products except for the rail.
I am going on my second Proto M7 in 4 months.
My first one was red and stock and my second one is LE marroon and UL'd with a bit of different things going on.
Lets get to the nitty gritty.

Feel: Well the feel of the stock framed proto m7 isn't great. It isn't bad either. Just not something that really wows me.
With a UL frame, the feel of the gun is infinitely better. Its so nice that a light gun deserves a light frame.

Board modes: Stock board on the stock frame of a proto is excellent. Semi, NXL, PSP, and Millenium are all offered. No reason to upgrade. Along with the UL board its better.

Efficiency: This is the only place that trix's lack. There is much to be desired. But I just easily sacrafice the efficiency for the excellence of shooting capability and the smoothness of each and every shot along with 0 kick.

Consistancy: I used stock settings at the chrono. Consistancy w/ stock barrel around plus or minus 6. Not bad. Not great.

Maintenance: I think its easy. Most disagree because they don't like how many 0-rings there are and I don't know, I think its easy.

Eyes: Proto uses ribbon eyes. STOP IT PROTO..NOW..these are delicate but easily changed. Though the eye covers are finally not that single piece of plastic. They are now metal separate covers.

Feedneck: Toolless, low rise clamping feedneck. Awesome.

Reg: Hyper 2 is an excellent reg.

On/off: Proto on/off isn't bad. Could be better. Smoothness is lacking but there are better on/offs (cp).

Field Test:
Used at a 5 man tourny. Shot consistant over the chrono. Lanes and lanes all over the field. W/ a 45/45 it was easy to snap out and get back in the bunker with out getting tagged.

With the stock trigger (stock frame) I don't understand why but I couldn't shoot lefty. I am perfectly fine shooting left with a critical trigger shooting lefty but I just don't know why I coudln't with the stock frame trigger.

We wend on to place 2nd in this tourny. Three other team mates are rocking this gun. That is saying something.

I have never had any problems with the 2 I have had. Just keep the settings stock, don't mess with them, keep the gun lubed and everything with be sweet.

Conclusion: Great guns. Go for 400 or so on Pbnation now. I like the 2 I have / had and will continue to use proto / dye products until I am done with paintball (There wil lbe the dm36 by then.)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.2/5 stars.
Add New Review