Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Proto Paintball - Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Proto Paintball
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: customerservice@protopaintball.com
Website: http://www.protopaintball.com
Proto Matrix 7
 Manual: Download the manual for Proto Paintball Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $799.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 79
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  46%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  49%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  4%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Proto Paintball - Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) Reviews
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) Well I got my PM7 last December and I haven't been disappointed once. I've never changed one o-ring and have only had a macro line leak because of user error. I've never been worried about airing...
Report this review to a moderator   #4725
protodude777
Proto O.T.
protodude777's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Diego
protodude777 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: Lightweight, reliable, fast, upgradable, sexy
Cons: Efficency? No big deal with all day air.
Well I got my PM7 last December and I haven't been disappointed once.

I've never changed one o-ring and have only had a macro line leak because of user error. I've never been worried about airing it up only to discover a leak. I properly lube it after each day of play and it returns the favor to me.

I bought a UL frame with it when I bought it therefore I have never used a PM7 with a stock frame. The UL frame makes my gun extremely comfortable to hold and very easy to change the settings.

The stock barrel has given me no problems. I got sick of a short barrel and bough a UL tip that makes my barrel length 18 inches. I love it. I know it doesn't improve the accuracy but my gun is so quiet people usually don't know where i was when I hit them.

Using factory recommended settings I average around 1500 shots off of a 71/45k. My FPS is at around 280 +/- 4. My dwell might be slightly lower than recommended but I'm not sure. No problems with leaks anywhere in the bolt, LPR or HPR.

That's my review! I 100% recommend this gun especially with the prices it's going for nowadays....

Pictures:
http://i514.photobucket.com/albums/t...g?t=1224211302

http://i514.photobucket.com/albums/t...g?t=1224211380

Thanks for reading!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) This is my first Speedball Marker I have owned. I picked it up with a UL barrel and a Virtue board already installed. At first it was overwhelming trying to figure out how to use it but putting in a...
Report this review to a moderator   #11315
Somebody Shoot Me
Aggressor
Somebody Shoot Me's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Connecticut
Somebody Shoot Me owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Somebody Shoot Me posts videos on PbNation
Somebody Shoot Me has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Somebody Shoot Me has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Maintenance, Performance per price
Cons: needs the UL grip frame
This is my first Speedball Marker I have owned. I picked it up with a UL barrel and a Virtue board already installed. At first it was overwhelming trying to figure out how to use it but putting in a good 30 minutes with the PM7 and Virtue Redefined Manuals I am much more confident in using the Marker now.

Performance - The only reference I have to put this Marker against is my Etek2. This Marker out shoots my Etek2 in pure speed. I would attribute that to the PM7 having the Virtue Board and the Etek2 having the stock board. I like the trigger better on the PM7 versus the Etek2 also. They both are equiped with stock triggers. Walking the trigger is extremely easy. In practice mode I am able to consistently pull about 16 to 18 bps. That is at least what the Marker is telling me. Had a few weird incidences where it showed over 40 bps but I know for sure I can't walk a trigger that fast.
The Marker is very well balanced for me. I like it a little back heavy which the PM7 is balanced at the trigger frame. It is a light marker, but compared to the latest and greatest it is a little heavier, but not much. I can go a whole day carrying the marker and not worry at fatigue like I did with my A-5.
Accuracy is really good, but that is all involved with paint to barrel matching. Even with paint that is smaller then the barrel bore I still was able to accurately place paint at 75 feet to 100 feet. Took me a few more balls then when it is bore matched, but that should be expected.
Snapshooting is a breeze with the PM7, very easy to maneuver and switch from righty to lefty.

I have chopped about 5 balls in 10 cases of paint I have put through it. In the weather here in Connecticut that is pretty good by my standards. The breaks are normally happening late in the day as the temperature is dropping fast up here. I am looking forward to seeing how it performs in the cold winter up here. I am not expecting it to work perfectly, I am actually expecting it to have problems.

Ratings -
Comfort - 8.2 / 10 I think if I got the UL frame this would jump up in comfort. the Etek2 I have feels much better hold in my hands then the PM7
Performance - 9.1 / 10 The PM7 still holds its own with all the new markers out since it was originally designed. I can lay down ropes with the best of them and still not worry about chopping paint or have that worry while shooting unlike some of my other markers.
Maintenance - 9.4 / 10 Easy to disassemble and maintain. Although I do this way more often then with my A-5. it is rather quick and easy to do. Pretty straight forward with lubing and easy to get to all the parts that need to be cleaned.
Overall - 9.3 / 10 For the price / performance / ease of maintaining, this has been a great investment for a marker and I think it is a steal at this price with a Virtue Board already installed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) I have owned over 30 guns in my day and I LOVE the PM7, it is very very smooth, it is also efficient if running at the right pressures. I had the oil slick pm7 which was absolutely gorgeous!
Report this review to a moderator   #19623
wildspinx
T-MOB
wildspinx's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Gastonia, NC
wildspinx plays in the PSP
wildspinx plays in the MiLP
wildspinx helped look for balloons
wildspinx supports Team VICIOUS
wildspinx supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
I have owned over 30 guns in my day and I LOVE the PM7, it is very very smooth, it is also efficient if running at the right pressures. I had the oil slick pm7 which was absolutely gorgeous!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) i got this gun used. but ive noticed with the stock board, the gun is held back a little. but u still get all the normal playing modes. getting an upgraded board is #1. the gun is very good on...
Report this review to a moderator   #6509
youbesilly2k5
 
youbesilly2k5's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NP, NJ
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: good on air, light, all around good
Cons: stock board isnt the best
i got this gun used. but ive noticed with the stock board, the gun is held back a little. but u still get all the normal playing modes. getting an upgraded board is #1. the gun is very good on air. i could get about 1000 shots on one 4500psi fill (+/-100). the bolt works great. the reg on it is nice, hyper 2. it comes with a nice proto 2 peice barrel that fits most normal paint. i like the clamping proto feedneck, unlike other cheap ones. the proto on/off asa is great as well. u get very little chops with the eyes on. there is very little maintance on this gun. lubing the bolt every few times playing or inbetween long times of no play is the only real thing you need todo. all the other normal things like: new batts, o ring checks, and that crap should be done.
overall its a fun gun. i play with this thing week in and week out, and it works so well for me. ive had little problems with this gun, and i can run it with out having to go to the air fill station every few matches. def a good buy for any player looking for a higher end electro.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) The pm7 is a great gun that can be found at a great price. however this is only with the expensive ul frame. if you are going to buy the gun dont bother unless it has the ul frame
Report this review to a moderator   #26561
orvilleredenbachers
buy my ****
orvilleredenbachers's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: MA
orvilleredenbachers is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
orvilleredenbachers is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $115.00
Pros: smoothness
Cons: frame
The pm7 is a great gun that can be found at a great price. however this is only with the expensive ul frame. if you are going to buy the gun dont bother unless it has the ul frame
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) The Setup LNIB Olive PM7 UL Frame VLocity Crossfire 68/4500 I got this marker in a trade from one of my co-workers who bought this and only used it two times for $300. I got it and it shot perfectly...
Report this review to a moderator   #3003
OTEdge2
 
OTEdge2's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mission Viejo
OTEdge2 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Check Review
Cons: Check Review
The Setup
LNIB Olive PM7
UL Frame
VLocity
Crossfire 68/4500


I got this marker in a trade from one of my co-workers who bought this and only used it two times for $300. I got it and it shot perfectly with no leaks or drop off. After going through approximatly 9 cases I messed with the settings and the LPR a little bit. Included with it was the box, tools, lube, manual, and the stock frame. I sold this about 5 months after since I did not need it anymore, but never had many problems with it.


Starting off is the overall looks of the PM7. Just as all the other Matrixs, it has very sweet but simple milling to it. There are some nice little curves but not eye catching. A quick rub of the body and almost all paint and dirt is gone. The color was not my choice but hey I got it for the right price so I cant complain, even though there were much better colors out there. The annodizing dosnt fade easy but the scratchs are easily visible as with most guns it will be.
Moving on from that, lets hit the feel of the gun. Now heres a big disappointment from the earlier models. Once again, the UL Frame had not been put on stock, and instead there were more sensitive trigger settings. Well sure that trigger thing was fine and dandy but the stock frame is so big and bulky it just really gets in the way. You barely can fit your hand around the frame, making it pretty uncomfortable to shoot. Luckly, the UL was included when I bought the gun, so I put that right on after testing out the stock frame and it really felt right. The gun itself is very light, and they actually chopped off quite a bit from the earlier Proto Matrixs. This one is still a little unbalanced but not as much, just a tiny bit back heavy due to all the mechanical accessories being towards the back end of the marker. Besides the stock frame, this is a very comfortable marker.
Despite the stock frame being unformfortable, the technology inside it works just fine and the gun is very fast and actually can adjust the speed, unlike the PM6, right out of the box. The board has 4 modes including Semi, Old PSP, Old Millenium, and NXL Mode. As for customizing the settings, like making your own ramping values, is little to none. Getting the UL Frame is about the same modes as on the stock PM7 board so if you for whatever reason, like the stock frame, then the UL Frame would be pointless. The trigger is fairly adjustable and you can set it up pretty nicely. With the stock settings, the recharge rate on this is really good and should not experience much drop off unless you messed with the gun and caused it yourself. So overall, this gun is definitally fast enough to keep up.
The feel of actually shooting it is so smooth, it is just as good if not better than most spool valves on the market at this time. There is hardly any kick in this gun at all. If I figured on writing a review I would have measured how much barrel raise it gave off, but either way I could say it is around maybe 1 cm raise on most tuned PM7s. Sound signature is basically nothing also, and what you can here is very beautiful. First time I shot this it sounded like it was a lazer gun and was a very appealing sound. So this marker truely does hold up to the spool valve standards.
Accuracy is no exeption either. Ball on ball long as you are using good paint. I have shot from Mid-Grade Diablo Paint up to Chronic and DXS through it and it all shot fine, some paint better than others. The consistancy was so-so. After broken in and minor tuning had been done to it, I took down these 10 numbers: 280, 284, 290, 278, 280, 254, 281, 280, 285, 283. For the most part it was good, shooting around the 280's but we did have a jump down to 254, probably from a bad paintball. Discluding the one that dropped down (It was irregular) the consistancy was 12+/- which is alright but I have seen better. So for the most part, the accuracy is just fine long as you arnt shooting Walmart paint.
The efficency of this marker is alright, I have seen better but not to bad. Off of my 68/4500 I would get around 4 pods and a hopper, so I could be worse. Im not 100% sure but I think bolt guides are/were available for improved efficency, but long as you have all day refills it dosnt seem to be to big of a problem.
Maintainence is a personal opinion. Honestly, it is a little over exagerated but all the O-Rings on the gun are a tad bit annoying. Not only does that leave you with more to lube after each day, but also more potential problems including leaks, drop off, or just not shooting. I find long as you take care of this marker, and follow the directions given in the manual, it should treat you fine.
Focusing on the small things like the accessories included with the marker such as the manual, lube, etc. The manual is a large booklet with about 30 pages total. It is all in color and has pictures and in-depth instructions. Only problem that many of people have found out is that on the board settings, it dosnt tell you that you can access NXL Mode. The lube is just a small tube and will get you by for a about 10-20 days of play. Only problem with that is that it is known to not work so well in cold weather, Dye may or may not have changed the formula, but better to be prepared with a better lube then be sorry.
Getting more into the little things of the gun, lets first start with the Proto ASA. Now it does have an on/off knob, looks cool, and works pretty good. Only 2 complaints are that holding it alone, comparing to my Ego ASA, it is pretty heavy even though it is smaller. Next problem is putting the air on, while an air system is hooked up can be quite hard. Turning the knob with air behind it is pretty difficult especially compared to my 07 Egos, which you can hardly feel any pressure when twisting it. Small things like this can make your day better.
With this I should not complain but I will anyways. With the PM7 they add in the twist knob to the feedneck, which would be expected to work well, but in all truth does not really do that much for you. It is hard to twist and would sometimes come loose, so thanks for trying Dye but I will stick to my allen keys or a lever feedneck.
So is this marker really worth it? For the price right now, I personally think it is. You can get these fairly cheap and work great. If someone trys to sell it to you brand new for like $750, dont take it because these guns do not hold there value very well, and if you try to sell it, good luck getting more then $500. So thats about all folks, lets wrap this up with the main points.


Pros
Looks (Sweet and Simple)
Smooth (Very Quiet and Little Kick)
Light (Balances Decently)
Fast (4 Modes, Tournament Ready)
Accurate (Pretty Consistant, Good Eyes)
Efficent (4-5 + Hopper off a 68/4500)
Cheap (Used $300 - $500)


Cons
Stock Frame (Very Bulky)
On/Off (Stiff and Hard to turn)
Feedneck Knob (Lever is highly prefered)
Maintainence (Lots of O-Rings)


Disclaimer - Please Read
I take time on my reviews to make them honest and non-bias as possible, on most occasions I will spell check them and revise to. The point is I take a lot of time on this and do appreciate good ratings, or bad ratings if you feel it deserves it. Before rating please read the full review and base your ratings on my review and not the gear and my opinions on it, if you do I have no control over that but please do it just to be nice. Thanks - OTEdge
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) Had this gun for about a year. Best thing about his gun is the UL frame. It makes the gun smaller lighter and easier to use. The frame is half the size of the regular frame.
Report this review to a moderator   #27843
Bunk3rKing
Shens!
Bunk3rKing's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: FL
Bunk3rKing plays in the PSP
Bunk3rKing owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Bunk3rKing is a top reviewer
Bunk3rKing is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: UL frame
Cons: old model
Had this gun for about a year. Best thing about his gun is the UL frame. It makes the gun smaller lighter and easier to use. The frame is half the size of the regular frame.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) Proto Matrix 7 Camo w/UL: I put $400 in price as that's about the going rate but I actually traded one of my WGP Black Magics for it. First off, like all the other Matrix markers from Dye/Proto ~...
Report this review to a moderator   #4135
MurderFX
 
MurderFX's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Light, accurate, quiet
Cons: efficency
Proto Matrix 7 Camo w/UL:

I put $400 in price as that's about the going rate but I actually traded one of my WGP Black Magics for it.

First off, like all the other Matrix markers from Dye/Proto ~ this looks great, shoots great, and is super quiet. Having shot the entire gambit from Dye I'd be considering picking one up for a while ~ and a great trade arose so I jumped on it.

The Ultralight frame is brillant ~ comfortable, ergonomic, easy to use, and easy to adjust.

The M7 is easy to disassemble and clean/lube the orings.

Stock detents seem to work well but I'm sure I'll upgrade them to some spring or magnet ones as I typically like that style better on my other markers.

The little parts kit that comes with the marker has lots of extras which is nice.

Shooting the M7 is wonderful. Haven't really played with it on anything but Semi but in semi it rips paint accurately, quietly, and minimal kick.

My only con is the stock On/Off ASA is iffy at best. If you don't have it turned all the way on it can screw you and getting it to turn all the way can be hassel compared to other asas out there.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) I bought one of these when it first came out. I love mine. This thing shoots very straight, and is quiet. The stock grip is a little wide, for my likings. The stock trigger is decent. But id...
Report this review to a moderator   #1174
DYEhardPballer_16
R.I.P cousins indoor
DYEhardPballer_16's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
DYEhardPballer_16 supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: light, looks, accuracy, performance
Cons: grip a little wide (reccomend ul frame), feedneck
I bought one of these when it first came out. I love mine. This thing shoots very straight, and is quiet. The stock grip is a little wide, for my likings. The stock trigger is decent. But id reccomend a ul frame. I dont have one, but ive shot an m7 with one on their, and they are sweet. The feedneck could also be a little better. I'd rather have a clamping one. But its no biggie. The only other thing i could complain about is the batter harness. After a few months of changing batteries. The thing starts to wear, and will eventually break off. Just be careful with it. Other than that, i love this thing. It looks sweet and is reliable. Id reccomend it to anyone.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 7 (PM7) the pm7 is a great gun it works at the tournament level as well as the "weekend warrior" level as well. if you know anything about paintball you should have no problem maintaining this sweet...
Report this review to a moderator   #1868
deafblindstupid
Self Made
deafblindstupid's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: smallest/sunshine state
deafblindstupid plays in the PSP
deafblindstupid is an NCPA player
deafblindstupid plays in the APPA D2 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: cheep good working nice all around gun
Cons: bad resale...
the pm7 is a great gun it works at the tournament level as well as the "weekend warrior" level as well.
if you know anything about paintball you should have no problem maintaining this sweet gun!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Add New Review