Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - UL Pants Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
Speed is everything on the paintball field, and Dye Ultralite™ pants make you faster, it's as simple as that. These pants were created with the athlete in mind, providing the perfect combination of flexibility, durability, and style. We know that paintball players need more flexibility, more breathability, and less bulkiness to reach their highest potential on the playing field.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2013
 MSRP: $200.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 10
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  40%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  60%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Dye Precision - UL Pants Reviews
Dye Precision UL Pants I purchased these pants this past season. I wore Valken pants before them and these were definitely worth the price. I think retail for them is way too much but they are definitely quality pants They...
Report this review to a moderator   #42195
dominantgazelle
Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
dominantgazelle's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Foothill Ranch
dominantgazelle plays in the APPA D4 division
dominantgazelle is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
dominantgazelle supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $110.00
Pros: Comfortable, Light, Looks
Cons: Expensive! No Padding
I purchased these pants this past season. I wore Valken pants before them and these were definitely worth the price. I think retail for them is way too much but they are definitely quality pants They are extremely light and breathable. The pockets are water-proof zipper style and look good along with the rest of the accenting. The pants are held on by a shoelace style thing in the middle and then velcro waistband things on either side. These pants don't seem durable because they are so thin since they have no padding but they have held up wonderfully.


TL;DR

Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: No Padding, Price (So try to buy them used)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Dye Precision UL Pants i have never been much for dye pants until i got these!..i must say im very impressed with these line of pants from dye! performance:these UL pants are very lightweight and feel great while...
Report this review to a moderator   #41157
904xBALLER
((O))SHOCKER((O))
904xBALLER's avatar
Join Date: May 2013
Location: JAX FL
904xBALLER is BST Trusted
904xBALLER plays in the PSP
904xBALLER owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
904xBALLER plays in the APPA D4 division
904xBALLER supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $170.00
Pros: very comfortable!
Cons: none!
i have never been much for dye pants until i got these!..i must say im very impressed with these line of pants from dye!

performance:these UL pants are very lightweight and feel great while playing!..they arnt as bulky and heavy as the usual paintball paints and they are very easy to move around in..as far as padding goes on them there really isnt much but if your wearing knee pads then these pants are amazing!

looks:as far as looks go i think they are great!..the style and design of these ar really nice and are probably one of the best that dye has come out with!

if your looking for realy nice looking,comfortable paintball pants that are very lightweight i would def recomend these!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision UL Pants These things are impressive how light they are. It is almost like you aren't wearing anything. Only thing I don't like about these is that there is very little padding on them, but then again if...
Report this review to a moderator   #42252
applebutt89
Been here since 04
applebutt89's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 704 to 804
applebutt89 plays in the PSP
applebutt89 supports Team VICIOUS
applebutt89 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
applebutt89 is Legendary
applebutt89 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Super lightweight
Cons: No padding
These things are impressive how light they are. It is almost like you aren't wearing anything. Only thing I don't like about these is that there is very little padding on them, but then again if there was a lot it would be lightweight.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.6/5 stars.
Dye Precision UL Pants Overall I like these pants a lot. They are very comfortable to wear all day. The only down fall I have to say is that the stitching needs to be stronger where the elastic/mesh meets the fabric for...
Report this review to a moderator   #42304
wildred
 
wildred's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
wildred has been a member for 10 years
wildred has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $180.00
Pros: great breathable pants
Cons: tore the 3rd time I wore them
Overall I like these pants a lot. They are very comfortable to wear all day. The only down fall I have to say is that the stitching needs to be stronger where the elastic/mesh meets the fabric for the pants. The 3rd time i wore these pants I had a hole tear from "baseball sliding" into a bunker. Needless to say I was pissed. Other than that great pants.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Dye Precision UL Pants Love them
Report this review to a moderator   #42244
paintballruler.
**** That
paintballruler.'s avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New York
paintballruler. is a Supporting Member
paintballruler. owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
paintballruler. has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Comfort
Cons: None.
Love them
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Dye Precision UL Pants These are the second pair of pants I have used. All others pairs of pants seem to have extra padding in them. Since I already use knee pads, I feel like the extra padding is too heavy. These dye UL...
Report this review to a moderator   #43655
dyefan4life123
 
dyefan4life123's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: FL
dyefan4life123 plays in the PSP
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Very comfortable!
Cons: Non yet
These are the second pair of pants I have used. All others pairs of pants seem to have extra padding in them. Since I already use knee pads, I feel like the extra padding is too heavy. These dye UL feel like there is nothing on my legs. They have taken a beating and have not come apart on me. I always recommend these to anyone that asks me about them.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision UL Pants Bought these LNIB here on BST. I've been eyeing them since their release but I thought the price was excessive, as with most (all) dye gear and guns. Since I live in Florida, their appeal to me...
Report this review to a moderator   #48441
Luigi Speed 05
PBN made me a gun whore..
Luigi Speed 05's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Miami
Luigi Speed 05 plays in the PSP
Luigi Speed 05 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Luigi Speed 05 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Luigi Speed 05 plays in the APPA D4 division
Luigi Speed 05 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Super light, keeps the heat out
Cons: a bit on the short side
Bought these LNIB here on BST. I've been eyeing them since their release but I thought the price was excessive, as with most (all) dye gear and guns. Since I live in Florida, their appeal to me should be instantly obvious. I mean, it's hot as balls down here lol. Heat stroke-inducing would be an accurate way to describe it.

I've tried many pairs of pants over the years, Dye, Empire, JT and many different iterations of the PE Distortion and Etek pants. Out of those, the 09 Distortions were and still are one of my favorites. But I do use knee pads always, so when I started to think how to reduce my "thermal print" on the field, redundant pads seem like an obvious choice on what to cutdown. For the past few years I've been wearing the PE HDE pants, with removable internal padding. Up till the Dye ULs, these were by far the lightest set I had ever tried.
They're also incredibly durable and you can put them thru hell and they'll not disappoint. I really just wish they had color options for them. I don't mind the HDE pattern most of the time and they do look cool, but I have to admit that vainly I do prefer black with color accents and looking good is almost as important as feeling comfortable to me. I know, I know. It's silly. I prefer to think of it as a confidence thing. I think I play better when I feel well and comfortable. But I digress.

The Dye UL pants have no padding whatsoever. even the groin area is not padded, but you get a couple of layers of the very light and breathable material folded over your jewels, so it feels still somewhat protected. For the sake of weight conservation, I imagine, there are zippers only on the pockets. everything else is accomplished with velcro and strings.

At first I was a bit skeptical of the string on the waist instead of a zipper, but in honesty it works very well. There's also quite a range of waist sizes these pants can cover, the velcro has a long area that goes almost all around your body and gives you a lot of wiggle room (lol some pun intended). And it's also pretty easy to adjust, even during your day of play. If you lose as much water as I do, you'll see how easy it is to decrease the waist size since there's no belt loops. Have you ever tried putting those velcro tabs thru tight belt loops with sweaty and full of paint hands? Kind of a PITA, imo.

The main point is of these pants is how light and cool (temperature wise) they are. Like all other Dye soft goods, they seem pretty durable as well, thou I haven't had extensive time with them. The only thing I would point out as a CON is the length of the legs. I had noticed that when watching other people play wearing them. It's like your ankles are exposed, even more so when kneeling down. There's velcro on the cuffs, but they don't go all around your leg, as opposed to the waist area, but even then, it just seems to me like the legs needed to be a few inches taller.

But hey, at the end of the day, that might help with keeping the temperature down. Not that I think it was designed to do so lol. Anyways, these are great pants, for an specific purpose: to avoid the utter embarrassment of throwing up on the filed because of the heat lol. will they make you faster? Not sure, possibly.

Excellent pants, these are. I just can't bring myself to recommend them to anyone at MSRP. if you can get them cheaper, maybe lightly used, then yes. Just keep in mind there are probably better options for cold and moderate climates, in terms of bang for your buck. IMO.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision UL Pants After years and years of wearing insanely bulky Dye Core and Proto pants I was overly excited when I discovered these insanely light pants. These pads are meant for tournament players. If you don't...
Report this review to a moderator   #43596
Snichells
Trade Me Your Crap!
Snichells's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: 352/303
Snichells is a Supporting Member
Snichells has been a member for 10 years
Snichells is BST Legit
Snichells plays in the PSP
Snichells plays in the APPA D4 division
Snichells is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Lightest and freest feeling pants ever
Cons: Rip quite easily and lose aesthetic accessories
After years and years of wearing insanely bulky Dye Core and Proto pants I was overly excited when I discovered these insanely light pants.

These pads are meant for tournament players. If you don't wear knee pads then you should reconsider getting these pants. They call them "Ultralite" for a reason, they weigh nothing because there is nothing inside them aside from two pockets, a zipper, and velcro straps.

With the addition of knee pads and some quality performance underwear these pants will have you running laps around the competition without having to be obscured by the heavy knee, shin, and rear protection that all other paintball pants are cursed with.

My only issue resigns in the durability of these top tier pants. After about 6 months I started to lose the rubber Dye logo on the rear and have a tare start around the inner thigh area. Because of this issue it is pretty difficult to justify the extremely high $200+ price tag.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision UL Pants I bought a pair of UL Pants off Danny Park and I don't think i will ever wear pants that aren't DYE UL again! they are so amazingly comfortable and the maneuverability in them is excellent.
Report this review to a moderator   #43761
SPR_Hoare
 
SPR_Hoare's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nanango, QLD, Australia
SPR_Hoare owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
SPR_Hoare owns a Planet Eclipse Etha
SPR_Hoare plays in the APPA D5 division
SPR_Hoare has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
SPR_Hoare has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
SPR_Hoare supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Maneuverability
Cons: There is no cons!
I bought a pair of UL Pants off Danny Park and I don't think i will ever wear pants that aren't DYE UL again! they are so amazingly comfortable and the maneuverability in them is excellent.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision UL Pants they are great pants if you live somewhere hot like FL but not if you are diving all over in them
Report this review to a moderator   #48513
The Ginga
Killer of Noobs
The Ginga's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sarasota, Florida
The Ginga is BST Legit
The Ginga is playing at Living Legends VI
The Ginga owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
The Ginga owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
The Ginga has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
The Ginga supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: light breathable look great
Cons: almost no padding rips easily
they are great pants if you live somewhere hot like FL but not if you are diving all over in them
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review