Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Smart parts freak barrel system. This modular system uses three basic pieces: barrel tips, barrel backs and internal barrel bores called inserts. Each piece is universal and can fit all other Freak components.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $159.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 271
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  52%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  45%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Reviews
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I have to say, I never thought I'd spend 100+ dollars on a barrel, but I did and I gotta say I'm pretty glad I did. I like the freak barrel kit, its got a nice quality build feel to it, like it...
Report this review to a moderator   #15139
DeadeyeDante
Booper of Noses...
DeadeyeDante's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wisconsin
DeadeyeDante is playing at Living Legends V
DeadeyeDante is playing at Living Legends VI
DeadeyeDante is playing at Living Legends VII
DeadeyeDante is playing at Living Legends VIII
DeadeyeDante supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Looks good, bore matching
Cons: Pricy
I have to say, I never thought I'd spend 100+ dollars on a barrel, but I did and I gotta say I'm pretty glad I did.

I like the freak barrel kit, its got a nice quality build feel to it, like it won't break. It WILL chip and scratch easily but thats cosmetic and can be dealt with.

The bore matching is awesome, I always am checking my paint every now and then, making sure i got the best bore for the job. Not to mention the color schemes make it look badass as hell sometimes too .

I will say, I was not happy with the price, but it came so highly recommended and I took the leap. I won't say its 120 dollars good, but its still pretty good.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit A very good idea by Smart Parts tarnished by their famous lack of quality. The barrel is a good idea, and should've worked well. But the inserts are usually inconsistent in their bore, and prone to...
Report this review to a moderator   #614
MVPaintballer
Mega Flagellator
MVPaintballer's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: New Hope, PA
MVPaintballer is a Mega Moderator
MVPaintballer is a Supporting Member
MVPaintballer donated to help Peyton Trent
MVPaintballer supports Bob Gurnsey
MVPaintballer posts videos on PbNation
MVPaintballer supports our troops
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $140.00
Pros: Interchangeable Bores
Cons: Looks bad, Fragile Case, Inserts prone to breaking
A very good idea by Smart Parts tarnished by their famous lack of quality. The barrel is a good idea, and should've worked well. But the inserts are usually inconsistent in their bore, and prone to bending/warping. They also don't usually sit right in the back tube. It does come with a lot of different bore sizes... which is good.

Its fairly accurate, but I'd prefer a solid bore kit over this. There are better barrel kits out for the money.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit love it i have a .683 incert and it shoots relly accurate. im glad that i have it
Report this review to a moderator   #2083
the paintballa
the paintballa's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: unknown
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: accurate, interchangeable bore sizes
Cons: its a bit heavy
love it i have a .683 incert and it shoots relly accurate. im glad that i have it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Ahh, the Freak!! What can I say? This barrel is a classic. 2 Piece to match paint bore size. It's the best out there!!
Report this review to a moderator   #22585
AzaTuR
Skill My Shocker
AzaTuR's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UpTown Dallas
AzaTuR supports Cereal Killerz 2
AzaTuR helped look for balloons
AzaTuR supports Team VICIOUS
AzaTuR supports Bob Gurnsey
AzaTuR is reppin' sidebar 4 life
AzaTuR supports Pev's Paintball
AzaTuR is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Sleek. 2 Piece.
Cons: None.
Ahh, the Freak!! What can I say? This barrel is a classic. 2 Piece to match paint bore size. It's the best out there!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Best barrel kit for the buck. Comes in every size imaginable. If you want a longer barrel just get a longer tip. Only barrel I shoot.
Report this review to a moderator   #37566
B the V
Hey, Life's Tough.
B the V's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: WNY
B the V has been a member for 10 years
B the V supports our troops
B the V has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
B the V supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Like having 8 barrels in one
Cons: Case could be nicer.
Best barrel kit for the buck. Comes in every size imaginable. If you want a longer barrel just get a longer tip. Only barrel I shoot.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit 14 inch with .689 blue insert looks great and shoots great all that need to be said
Report this review to a moderator   #32844
bandgreen
 
bandgreen's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Graham WA
bandgreen has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
bandgreen has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: Shoots Great Reliable Great for anytime
Cons: scratches easy but no big deal
14 inch with .689 blue insert looks great and shoots great all that need to be said
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I first bought a freak kit when i owned a epiphany, it worked great and i bought additional fronts. I moved on to Dye/Matrix guns and just had to buy a cocker threaded back and i was all set. the...
Report this review to a moderator   #233
dontgotsaclu
Dodge Avenger
dontgotsaclu's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Prov.
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: easy to change inserts
Cons: not the best looking on some guns
I first bought a freak kit when i owned a epiphany, it worked great and i bought additional fronts. I moved on to Dye/Matrix guns and just had to buy a cocker threaded back and i was all set. the only thing that i do not like about this product is that the only gun it really looks great on is a shocker, everything else it is just, meh
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit great barrel kit
Report this review to a moderator   #4773
ibanez521
 
ibanez521's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $110.00
Pros: interchangeable, accurate, light
Cons: nothing
great barrel kit
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit great barrel if you can pay for it. it is a really nice feature to be able to match the paint up with the barrel so eaisly
Report this review to a moderator   #716
Lesman36
Quit staring at my wife
Lesman36's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jersey
Lesman36 helped look for balloons
Lesman36 is playing at Living Legends III
Lesman36 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Lesman36 supports Team VICIOUS
Lesman36 is for the Gunfight
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: bore to paint match
Cons: heavy expensive
great barrel if you can pay for it. it is a really nice feature to be able to match the paint up with the barrel so eaisly
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I have had three freak kits and used a freak on every marker i have owned. The performance is as well as expected, and i would purchase again. I have used a dye UL, macdev matchstik, evil pipe, wgp...
Report this review to a moderator   #2547
orionz06
Turtle Wrangler
orionz06's avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
orionz06 is a Supporting Member
orionz06 has been a member for 10 years
orionz06 donated to help Peyton Trent
orionz06 is an NCPA player
orionz06 is Immortal
orionz06 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: easy to adapt to new marker
Cons: none
I have had three freak kits and used a freak on every marker i have owned. The performance is as well as expected, and i would purchase again. I have used a dye UL, macdev matchstik, evil pipe, wgp kaner, and many other barrels, and can honestly say the freaks that i have had are just as good if not better. there are many who claim the inserts bend easily, but i havent had an issue on any of mine. if you step on them, i can see them being damaged, but i have yet to see one damaged by dropping or normal use. i do however recomend only a small assortment of inserts, as i use 3-4 mainly and can get by with my .693 and be happy...
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Add New Review