Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Smart parts freak barrel system. This modular system uses three basic pieces: barrel tips, barrel backs and internal barrel bores called inserts. Each piece is universal and can fit all other Freak components.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $159.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 278
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  52%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  44%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Reviews
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I have to say, I never thought I'd spend 100+ dollars on a barrel, but I did and I gotta say I'm pretty glad I did. I like the freak barrel kit, its got a nice quality build feel to it, like it...
Report this review to a moderator   #15139
DeadeyeDante
Booper of Noses...
DeadeyeDante's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wisconsin
DeadeyeDante is playing at Living Legends V
DeadeyeDante is playing at Living Legends VI
DeadeyeDante is playing at Living Legends VII
DeadeyeDante is playing at Living Legends VIII
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Looks good, bore matching
Cons: Pricy
I have to say, I never thought I'd spend 100+ dollars on a barrel, but I did and I gotta say I'm pretty glad I did.

I like the freak barrel kit, its got a nice quality build feel to it, like it won't break. It WILL chip and scratch easily but thats cosmetic and can be dealt with.

The bore matching is awesome, I always am checking my paint every now and then, making sure i got the best bore for the job. Not to mention the color schemes make it look badass as hell sometimes too .

I will say, I was not happy with the price, but it came so highly recommended and I took the leap. I won't say its 120 dollars good, but its still pretty good.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit A very good idea by Smart Parts tarnished by their famous lack of quality. The barrel is a good idea, and should've worked well. But the inserts are usually inconsistent in their bore, and prone to...
Report this review to a moderator   #614
MVPaintballer
Mega Flagellator
MVPaintballer's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: New Hope, PA
MVPaintballer is a Mega Moderator
MVPaintballer is a Supporting Member
MVPaintballer donated to help Peyton Trent
MVPaintballer supports Bob Gurnsey
MVPaintballer posts videos on PbNation
MVPaintballer supports our troops
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $140.00
Pros: Interchangeable Bores
Cons: Looks bad, Fragile Case, Inserts prone to breaking
A very good idea by Smart Parts tarnished by their famous lack of quality. The barrel is a good idea, and should've worked well. But the inserts are usually inconsistent in their bore, and prone to bending/warping. They also don't usually sit right in the back tube. It does come with a lot of different bore sizes... which is good.

Its fairly accurate, but I'd prefer a solid bore kit over this. There are better barrel kits out for the money.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit love it i have a .683 incert and it shoots relly accurate. im glad that i have it
Report this review to a moderator   #2083
the paintballa
the paintballa's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: unknown
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: accurate, interchangeable bore sizes
Cons: its a bit heavy
love it i have a .683 incert and it shoots relly accurate. im glad that i have it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Ahh, the Freak!! What can I say? This barrel is a classic. 2 Piece to match paint bore size. It's the best out there!!
Report this review to a moderator   #22585
AzaTuR
Skill My Shocker
AzaTuR's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UpTown Dallas
AzaTuR supports Cereal Killerz 2
AzaTuR helped look for balloons
AzaTuR owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
AzaTuR supports Bob Gurnsey
AzaTuR posts videos on PbNation
AzaTuR is reppin' sidebar 4 life
AzaTuR supports Pev's Paintball
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Sleek. 2 Piece.
Cons: None.
Ahh, the Freak!! What can I say? This barrel is a classic. 2 Piece to match paint bore size. It's the best out there!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Best barrel kit for the buck. Comes in every size imaginable. If you want a longer barrel just get a longer tip. Only barrel I shoot.
Report this review to a moderator   #37566
B the V
Hey, Life's Tough.
B the V's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: WNY
B the V has been a member for 10 years
B the V supports our troops
B the V has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
B the V supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Like having 8 barrels in one
Cons: Case could be nicer.
Best barrel kit for the buck. Comes in every size imaginable. If you want a longer barrel just get a longer tip. Only barrel I shoot.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit 14 inch with .689 blue insert looks great and shoots great all that need to be said
Report this review to a moderator   #32844
bandgreen
 
bandgreen's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Graham WA
bandgreen has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
bandgreen has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: Shoots Great Reliable Great for anytime
Cons: scratches easy but no big deal
14 inch with .689 blue insert looks great and shoots great all that need to be said
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Bought the junior freak actually with an Ion back and a Cocker back as well as the stainless inserts and the 3 aluminum inserts that come with the jr kit. Also picked up the 14" and the 18" tactical...
Report this review to a moderator   #34470
cycoblade
Paintball Ambassador
cycoblade's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
cycoblade is BST Trusted
cycoblade posts videos on PbNation
cycoblade has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
cycoblade has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
cycoblade has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: insert system, various backs
Cons: pricey
Bought the junior freak actually with an Ion back and a Cocker back as well as the stainless inserts and the 3 aluminum inserts that come with the jr kit.
Also picked up the 14" and the 18" tactical barrel.
Now all my DP's as well as my SP1 & SP8 enjoy increased efficiency, consistency and sound reduction.
Love my Freak system so much I bought the DW Fibur barrel so I could use the inserts with it as well. Also considering having my DP backs milled out to accept the Freak inserts.
The system is expensive but well worth it in the long run.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I first bought a freak kit when i owned a epiphany, it worked great and i bought additional fronts. I moved on to Dye/Matrix guns and just had to buy a cocker threaded back and i was all set. the...
Report this review to a moderator   #233
dontgotsaclu
Dodge Avenger
dontgotsaclu's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Prov.
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: easy to change inserts
Cons: not the best looking on some guns
I first bought a freak kit when i owned a epiphany, it worked great and i bought additional fronts. I moved on to Dye/Matrix guns and just had to buy a cocker threaded back and i was all set. the only thing that i do not like about this product is that the only gun it really looks great on is a shocker, everything else it is just, meh
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit great barrel kit
Report this review to a moderator   #4773
ibanez521
 
ibanez521's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $110.00
Pros: interchangeable, accurate, light
Cons: nothing
great barrel kit
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit great barrel if you can pay for it. it is a really nice feature to be able to match the paint up with the barrel so eaisly
Report this review to a moderator   #716
Lesman36
Quit staring at my wife
Lesman36's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jersey
Lesman36 helped look for balloons
Lesman36 is playing at Living Legends III
Lesman36 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Lesman36 supports Team VICIOUS
Lesman36 is for the Gunfight
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: bore to paint match
Cons: heavy expensive
great barrel if you can pay for it. it is a really nice feature to be able to match the paint up with the barrel so eaisly
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Add New Review