Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Smart parts freak barrel system. This modular system uses three basic pieces: barrel tips, barrel backs and internal barrel bores called inserts. Each piece is universal and can fit all other Freak components.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $159.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 267
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  51%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  45%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Reviews
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Its great to be able to change bores with inserts rather than having to have multiple barrels or multiple backs. Theres TONS of bore sizes out now. Being able to use both the freak tip or the all...
Report this review to a moderator   #28754
sweetd330
 
sweetd330's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Maryland
sweetd330 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
sweetd330 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
sweetd330 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
sweetd330 owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
sweetd330 supports Pev's Paintball
sweetd330 is Legendary
sweetd330 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: Great Options
Cons: Cost, Get Dirty Very Easily
Its great to be able to change bores with inserts rather than having to have multiple barrels or multiple backs. Theres TONS of bore sizes out now. Being able to use both the freak tip or the all american tip is great because the freak tip looks odd.
These are fairly expensive new, but the inserts are fairly cheap and you can just buy the couple inserts that you use most and be set!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I have had this kit for almost 10 years now. The fact that it is still produced and individual parts are still available thru GoG is great. Pros: easy to change bores many bore sizes avail (if you...
Report this review to a moderator   #10539
Sydarm
 
Sydarm's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: many bores, ease of use, still produced today
Cons: aluminum inserts can be damaged-handle with care
I have had this kit for almost 10 years now. The fact that it is still produced and individual parts are still available thru GoG is great.

Pros: easy to change bores
many bore sizes avail (if you have full kit or purchase extras)
replacement bore insert is 10-15 bucks
available for most all major guns
accuracy

Cons: price of a full freak exceeds J&J kit (but includes more sizes than J&J)
aluminum inserts are thin and can bend if mistreated

I was pleased when I got this in 2002, and it still serves me well. If you have these for a long time, be prepared to replace the internal o-rings every few years or so (depending on how much you use it). I have replaced internal o-rings twice over 9 years and have only damaged one insert.

If you get this barrel system, you will not be disappointed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Love this barrel. Ive had one on almost every gun i have owned. You simply cant go wrong with a freak. The inserts are cheap if you need to replace them, and the barrel fronts are reasonable as well.
Report this review to a moderator   #36284
team-titanium
steved
team-titanium's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cleveland Ohio
team-titanium has been a member for 10 years
team-titanium plays in the PSP
team-titanium plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Love this barrel. Ive had one on almost every gun i have owned. You simply cant go wrong with a freak. The inserts are cheap if you need to replace them, and the barrel fronts are reasonable as well.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I love my freak kit only wish it had a longer control bore but thats okay. Comes with every size you need .675-.695 what more could u ask for.
Report this review to a moderator   #23463
tekniqu3
I sling paint.
tekniqu3's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
tekniqu3 is playing at Living Legends VII
tekniqu3 plays in the APPA D5 division
tekniqu3 is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Wide range of bore sizes
Cons: could have a longer control bore
I love my freak kit only wish it had a longer control bore but thats okay. Comes with every size you need .675-.695 what more could u ask for.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit One of the best barrel/bore kits you can buy. Always kept mine, and it has always paid off to do so. Explanation on bulky: Its a bit heavier than similar products, or standard barrels. I personally...
Report this review to a moderator   #21735
TheDiesel
Formerly DieselPhotos
TheDiesel's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Murrieta, CA
TheDiesel has been a member for 10 years
TheDiesel is a Paintball photographer
TheDiesel posts videos on PbNation
TheDiesel supports our troops
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: Fills most needs, case
Cons: Can be a pain, bit "bulky"
One of the best barrel/bore kits you can buy. Always kept mine, and it has always paid off to do so. Explanation on bulky: Its a bit heavier than similar products, or standard barrels. I personally do not care, but I figured I should mention it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I used my Freak on my SFT Shocker. It made a world of difference between the stock All American barrel. Only real problem I have with the freak is the short control bore.
Report this review to a moderator   #16676
thunderstruckdc2005
Fear Boner
thunderstruckdc2005's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ft. Campbell, KY
thunderstruckdc2005 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
thunderstruckdc2005 supports Pev's Paintball
thunderstruckdc2005 plays in the APPA D5 division
thunderstruckdc2005 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
thunderstruckdc2005 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: Modular design, accurate, quiet
Cons: Expensive, short control bore
I used my Freak on my SFT Shocker. It made a world of difference between the stock All American barrel. Only real problem I have with the freak is the short control bore.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit great barrel love the inserts and the different colors
Report this review to a moderator   #27659
token508
HOLDING IT DOWN!!!
token508's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Taunton, MA
token508 owns a Planet Eclipse CSL
token508 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
token508 is Legendary
token508 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $74.00
Pros: same great look easy changing
Cons: can be a pain
great barrel love the inserts and the different colors
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit very very very very good barrel !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report this review to a moderator   #16358
TomorrowsGreatest
ATē
TomorrowsGreatest's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florida
TomorrowsGreatest plays in the PSP
TomorrowsGreatest owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
TomorrowsGreatest plays in the APPA D2 division
TomorrowsGreatest is Boss
TomorrowsGreatest supports DLX Technology
TomorrowsGreatest supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: cheap inserts
Cons: expensive
very very very very good barrel !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I liked this barrel kit because it came with multiple bore sizes so I did not have to switch barrels every time i went to play. The barrel it self was heavy even with out the SS inserts I had. The...
Report this review to a moderator   #20193
TOM_458
hey hey ho ho 100110
TOM_458's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: FriendswoodTX
TOM_458 is a Paintball photographer
TOM_458 plays in the PSP
TOM_458 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
TOM_458 supports Team VICIOUS
TOM_458 posts videos on PbNation
TOM_458 plays in the APPA D4 division
TOM_458 is Legendary
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: has multipal bore sizes
Cons: heavy
I liked this barrel kit because it came with multiple bore sizes so I did not have to switch barrels every time i went to play. The barrel it self was heavy even with out the SS inserts I had. The barrel shot strait and accurately.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit i have a complete freak kit and the only con is the unnecessary sizes above .689. easy to maintain and great selection of tips!
Report this review to a moderator   #18101
tonycon
Knuckleheads Paintball
tonycon's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chi-Town
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
tonycon supports our troops
tonycon is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: match all paint
Cons: none!
i have a complete freak kit and the only con is the unnecessary sizes above .689. easy to maintain and great selection of tips!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review