Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Smart parts freak barrel system. This modular system uses three basic pieces: barrel tips, barrel backs and internal barrel bores called inserts. Each piece is universal and can fit all other Freak components.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $159.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 266
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  52%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  45%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Reviews
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I have had this kit for almost 10 years now. The fact that it is still produced and individual parts are still available thru GoG is great. Pros: easy to change bores many bore sizes avail (if you...
Report this review to a moderator   #10539
Sydarm
 
Sydarm's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: many bores, ease of use, still produced today
Cons: aluminum inserts can be damaged-handle with care
I have had this kit for almost 10 years now. The fact that it is still produced and individual parts are still available thru GoG is great.

Pros: easy to change bores
many bore sizes avail (if you have full kit or purchase extras)
replacement bore insert is 10-15 bucks
available for most all major guns
accuracy

Cons: price of a full freak exceeds J&J kit (but includes more sizes than J&J)
aluminum inserts are thin and can bend if mistreated

I was pleased when I got this in 2002, and it still serves me well. If you have these for a long time, be prepared to replace the internal o-rings every few years or so (depending on how much you use it). I have replaced internal o-rings twice over 9 years and have only damaged one insert.

If you get this barrel system, you will not be disappointed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Love this barrel. Ive had one on almost every gun i have owned. You simply cant go wrong with a freak. The inserts are cheap if you need to replace them, and the barrel fronts are reasonable as well.
Report this review to a moderator   #36284
team-titanium
steved
team-titanium's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cleveland Ohio
team-titanium has been a member for 10 years
team-titanium plays in the PSP
team-titanium plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Love this barrel. Ive had one on almost every gun i have owned. You simply cant go wrong with a freak. The inserts are cheap if you need to replace them, and the barrel fronts are reasonable as well.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I love my freak kit only wish it had a longer control bore but thats okay. Comes with every size you need .675-.695 what more could u ask for.
Report this review to a moderator   #23463
tekniqu3
I sling paint.
tekniqu3's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
tekniqu3 is playing at Living Legends VII
tekniqu3 plays in the APPA D5 division
tekniqu3 is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Wide range of bore sizes
Cons: could have a longer control bore
I love my freak kit only wish it had a longer control bore but thats okay. Comes with every size you need .675-.695 what more could u ask for.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit One of the best barrel/bore kits you can buy. Always kept mine, and it has always paid off to do so. Explanation on bulky: Its a bit heavier than similar products, or standard barrels. I personally...
Report this review to a moderator   #21735
TheDiesel
Formerly DieselPhotos
TheDiesel's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Murrieta, CA
TheDiesel has been a member for 10 years
TheDiesel is a Paintball photographer
TheDiesel posts videos on PbNation
TheDiesel supports our troops
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: Fills most needs, case
Cons: Can be a pain, bit "bulky"
One of the best barrel/bore kits you can buy. Always kept mine, and it has always paid off to do so. Explanation on bulky: Its a bit heavier than similar products, or standard barrels. I personally do not care, but I figured I should mention it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I used my Freak on my SFT Shocker. It made a world of difference between the stock All American barrel. Only real problem I have with the freak is the short control bore.
Report this review to a moderator   #16676
thunderstruckdc2005
Fear Boner
thunderstruckdc2005's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ft. Campbell, KY
thunderstruckdc2005 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
thunderstruckdc2005 supports Pev's Paintball
thunderstruckdc2005 plays in the APPA D5 division
thunderstruckdc2005 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
thunderstruckdc2005 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: Modular design, accurate, quiet
Cons: Expensive, short control bore
I used my Freak on my SFT Shocker. It made a world of difference between the stock All American barrel. Only real problem I have with the freak is the short control bore.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit great barrel love the inserts and the different colors
Report this review to a moderator   #27659
token508
HOLDING IT DOWN!!!
token508's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Taunton, MA
token508 owns a Planet Eclipse CSL
token508 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
token508 is Legendary
token508 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $74.00
Pros: same great look easy changing
Cons: can be a pain
great barrel love the inserts and the different colors
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit very very very very good barrel !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report this review to a moderator   #16358
TomorrowsGreatest
ATē
TomorrowsGreatest's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florida
TomorrowsGreatest plays in the PSP
TomorrowsGreatest owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
TomorrowsGreatest plays in the APPA D2 division
TomorrowsGreatest is Boss
TomorrowsGreatest supports DLX Technology
TomorrowsGreatest supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: cheap inserts
Cons: expensive
very very very very good barrel !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I liked this barrel kit because it came with multiple bore sizes so I did not have to switch barrels every time i went to play. The barrel it self was heavy even with out the SS inserts I had. The...
Report this review to a moderator   #20193
TOM_458
hey hey ho ho 100110
TOM_458's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: FriendswoodTX
TOM_458 is a Paintball photographer
TOM_458 plays in the PSP
TOM_458 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
TOM_458 supports Team VICIOUS
TOM_458 posts videos on PbNation
TOM_458 plays in the APPA D4 division
TOM_458 is Legendary
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: has multipal bore sizes
Cons: heavy
I liked this barrel kit because it came with multiple bore sizes so I did not have to switch barrels every time i went to play. The barrel it self was heavy even with out the SS inserts I had. The barrel shot strait and accurately.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit i have a complete freak kit and the only con is the unnecessary sizes above .689. easy to maintain and great selection of tips!
Report this review to a moderator   #18101
tonycon
Knuckleheads Paintball
tonycon's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chi-Town
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
tonycon supports our troops
tonycon is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: match all paint
Cons: none!
i have a complete freak kit and the only con is the unnecessary sizes above .689. easy to maintain and great selection of tips!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I have a polished black freak barrel kit with all American front, with 8 inserts and love it. not only love that I can fit barrel to ball with the inserts but adds a really nice look to my marker....
Report this review to a moderator   #46249
TotaNocte
ArmedForces Paintball
TotaNocte's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: APO AE
TotaNocte is playing at Living Legends VII
TotaNocte owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
TotaNocte has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TotaNocte has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: looks sexy
Cons: none yet
I have a polished black freak barrel kit with all American front, with 8 inserts and love it. not only love that I can fit barrel to ball with the inserts but adds a really nice look to my marker. love It all around.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review