Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Smart parts freak barrel system. This modular system uses three basic pieces: barrel tips, barrel backs and internal barrel bores called inserts. Each piece is universal and can fit all other Freak components.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $159.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 259
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  50%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  46%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Reviews
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I like that the Freak kit comes with a variety of bore sizes to match the size of paint in today's market. Comes with a handy case and I like that the bores are color coded. Unique barrel design and...
Report this review to a moderator   #18302
Stupid hurts.
Hoogie boogie!
Stupid hurts.'s avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: So☆Cal
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: Easy to use, wide variety of bore sizes.
Cons: A bit heavy.
I like that the Freak kit comes with a variety of bore sizes to match the size of paint in today's market. Comes with a handy case and I like that the bores are color coded. Unique barrel design and look with the porting on the tips.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Bought the freak Jr. kit. Actually purchased 3 kits from my local field. Comes with a nice case and 3 inserts. Has a extra slot for another tip. Overall I would recommend this kit
Report this review to a moderator   #29665
stylinbeaver
$Da Beav$
stylinbeaver's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Asheboro, NC
stylinbeaver owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
stylinbeaver owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
stylinbeaver has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
stylinbeaver has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
stylinbeaver has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
stylinbeaver is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $75.00
Pros: Nice case
Cons: Expensive
Bought the freak Jr. kit. Actually purchased 3 kits from my local field. Comes with a nice case and 3 inserts. Has a extra slot for another tip. Overall I would recommend this kit
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Its great to be able to change bores with inserts rather than having to have multiple barrels or multiple backs. Theres TONS of bore sizes out now. Being able to use both the freak tip or the all...
Report this review to a moderator   #28754
sweetd330
 
sweetd330's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Maryland
sweetd330 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
sweetd330 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
sweetd330 supports Team VICIOUS
sweetd330 supports Pev's Paintball
sweetd330 is Legendary
sweetd330 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: Great Options
Cons: Cost, Get Dirty Very Easily
Its great to be able to change bores with inserts rather than having to have multiple barrels or multiple backs. Theres TONS of bore sizes out now. Being able to use both the freak tip or the all american tip is great because the freak tip looks odd.
These are fairly expensive new, but the inserts are fairly cheap and you can just buy the couple inserts that you use most and be set!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I have had this kit for almost 10 years now. The fact that it is still produced and individual parts are still available thru GoG is great. Pros: easy to change bores many bore sizes avail (if you...
Report this review to a moderator   #10539
Sydarm
 
Sydarm's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: many bores, ease of use, still produced today
Cons: aluminum inserts can be damaged-handle with care
I have had this kit for almost 10 years now. The fact that it is still produced and individual parts are still available thru GoG is great.

Pros: easy to change bores
many bore sizes avail (if you have full kit or purchase extras)
replacement bore insert is 10-15 bucks
available for most all major guns
accuracy

Cons: price of a full freak exceeds J&J kit (but includes more sizes than J&J)
aluminum inserts are thin and can bend if mistreated

I was pleased when I got this in 2002, and it still serves me well. If you have these for a long time, be prepared to replace the internal o-rings every few years or so (depending on how much you use it). I have replaced internal o-rings twice over 9 years and have only damaged one insert.

If you get this barrel system, you will not be disappointed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Love this barrel. Ive had one on almost every gun i have owned. You simply cant go wrong with a freak. The inserts are cheap if you need to replace them, and the barrel fronts are reasonable as well.
Report this review to a moderator   #36284
team-titanium
steved
team-titanium's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cleveland Ohio
team-titanium has been a member for 10 years
team-titanium plays in the PSP
team-titanium plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Love this barrel. Ive had one on almost every gun i have owned. You simply cant go wrong with a freak. The inserts are cheap if you need to replace them, and the barrel fronts are reasonable as well.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I've been using the Same Freak Inserts since 2003(that's 11 years now) and I still have my original freak Autococker threaded Stainless steel back, but that sits in my bag now. The Freak is the Most...
Report this review to a moderator   #44066
Team_ILLNatured
Running Hatchet Man
Team_ILLNatured's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Depew, NY(716)
Team_ILLNatured has been a member for 10 years
Team_ILLNatured owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Team_ILLNatured owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Team_ILLNatured supports Team VICIOUS
Team_ILLNatured plays in the APPA D5 division
Team_ILLNatured is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $149.99
Pros: Adaptable to all paint conditions, lightweight
Cons: Length issues
I've been using the Same Freak Inserts since 2003(that's 11 years now) and I still have my original freak Autococker threaded Stainless steel back, but that sits in my bag now.

The Freak is the Most versitle barrel system I have come across in my 22 years of Paintball. yes, you read that right, 22 years.

Pros:
Cool looks(especially the post NXT release backs)
Lightweight(as long as you're not using stainless backs)
Adjustable to most Paint Conditions
Many other barrels can be bored to accept Freak Inserts(ie Dye Ultralights, CP 2 piece, and PE Shaft 2+)

Cons:
Not the length they are advertised to be. ie: a 16" tip makes the barrel 15", not 16"
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I love my freak kit only wish it had a longer control bore but thats okay. Comes with every size you need .675-.695 what more could u ask for.
Report this review to a moderator   #23463
tekniqu3
I sling paint.
tekniqu3's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
tekniqu3 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
tekniqu3 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
tekniqu3 plays in the APPA D5 division
tekniqu3 is attending Decay of Nations VI
tekniqu3 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Wide range of bore sizes
Cons: could have a longer control bore
I love my freak kit only wish it had a longer control bore but thats okay. Comes with every size you need .675-.695 what more could u ask for.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit One of the best barrel/bore kits you can buy. Always kept mine, and it has always paid off to do so. Explanation on bulky: Its a bit heavier than similar products, or standard barrels. I personally...
Report this review to a moderator   #21735
TheDiesel
USA USA USA
TheDiesel's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Murrieta, CA
TheDiesel is a Paintball photographer
TheDiesel posts videos on PbNation
TheDiesel supports our troops
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: Fills most needs, case
Cons: Can be a pain, bit "bulky"
One of the best barrel/bore kits you can buy. Always kept mine, and it has always paid off to do so. Explanation on bulky: Its a bit heavier than similar products, or standard barrels. I personally do not care, but I figured I should mention it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I used my Freak on my SFT Shocker. It made a world of difference between the stock All American barrel. Only real problem I have with the freak is the short control bore.
Report this review to a moderator   #16676
thunderstruckdc2005
Fear Boner
thunderstruckdc2005's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ft. Campbell, KY
thunderstruckdc2005 owns a Planet Eclipse CSL
thunderstruckdc2005 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
thunderstruckdc2005 supports Team VICIOUS
thunderstruckdc2005 supports Pev's Paintball
thunderstruckdc2005 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
thunderstruckdc2005 has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
thunderstruckdc2005 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: Modular design, accurate, quiet
Cons: Expensive, short control bore
I used my Freak on my SFT Shocker. It made a world of difference between the stock All American barrel. Only real problem I have with the freak is the short control bore.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit great barrel love the inserts and the different colors
Report this review to a moderator   #27659
token508
HOLDING IT DOWN!!!
token508's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Taunton, MA
token508 owns a Planet Eclipse CSL
token508 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
token508 is Legendary
token508 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $74.00
Pros: same great look easy changing
Cons: can be a pain
great barrel love the inserts and the different colors
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review