Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Smart parts freak barrel system. This modular system uses three basic pieces: barrel tips, barrel backs and internal barrel bores called inserts. Each piece is universal and can fit all other Freak components.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $159.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 266
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  52%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  45%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Reviews
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit by far my favorite barrel kit i've used. Lots of bore sizes and very accurate for a kit. the only cons are its a bit pricey for a barrel, but reasonal, and the inserts if not take good care of, are...
Report this review to a moderator   #19663
Predator
10+
Predator's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Predator is a Supporting Member
Predator is a founding member
Predator has been a member for 10 years
Predator has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Best Kit available
Cons: somewhat pricey
by far my favorite barrel kit i've used. Lots of bore sizes and very accurate for a kit. the only cons are its a bit pricey for a barrel, but reasonal, and the inserts if not take good care of, are easy to damage.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit The Freak barrel kit is amazing. Being able to match your barrel bore to the paint greatly increases your air efficiency and shot consistency. Another great feature is being able to use different...
Report this review to a moderator   #8535
ps7ctr31
Shep
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Jersey
ps7ctr31 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
ps7ctr31 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: versatility
Cons: price
The Freak barrel kit is amazing. Being able to match your barrel bore to the paint greatly increases your air efficiency and shot consistency. Another great feature is being able to use different fronts for different types of play. I use a 1.5" WWA front when I am running from bunker to bunker and need more maneuverability. I also have a APEX compatible front for when I want to hang back and keep the enemies heads down or shoot across field at players who think they are out of range. An 18" barrel is good for when you want to hide in the brush.


I bought a complete kit used for 60 and have since bought several new fronts and backs both used and new.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I've had freak kits on a few of my guns in the past. Simply a great barrel kit and of course the original.
Report this review to a moderator   #39987
PUMA_711
SouthTampaPaintball
PUMA_711's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
PUMA_711 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
PUMA_711 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
PUMA_711 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
PUMA_711 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
PUMA_711 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
PUMA_711 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: precise, accurate, sleek
Cons: more colors would be nice
I've had freak kits on a few of my guns in the past. Simply a great barrel kit and of course the original.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I've been running my Freak on just about everything I shoot for several years now. Being able to run everything from .679 to .695 is great, since I never know what the paint of the day is going to...
Report this review to a moderator   #13581
Pump Scout
A dream within a dream
Pump Scout's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Central Wisconsin
Pump Scout is a Mega Moderator
Pump Scout is a Supporting Member
Pump Scout has been a member for 10 years
Pump Scout is BST Legit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: Many bores
Cons:
I've been running my Freak on just about everything I shoot for several years now. Being able to run everything from .679 to .695 is great, since I never know what the paint of the day is going to be, and now bores are available in .677 and .675 sizes. This is a great barrel for pumps, semiautos, and electronic guns alike. I've heard that the inserts can be fragile, but really, they shouldn't be out of their case unless they're being changed out anyway. so that shouldn't be a concern! The modularity of the whole system is something that really appeals to me - I have one set of inserts, a couple fronts, and a back for Cocker, Angel, and Spyder threads, to cover any gun in my arsenal.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit the overall all package is great but there are more options out there that are compatible with the freak system. overall this system has stand it's ground for over a decade.
Report this review to a moderator   #43735
pyrodragon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Belton, TX
pyrodragon has been a member for 10 years
pyrodragon has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: differnt backs to match bore
Cons: some sizes are out of date
the overall all package is great but there are more options out there that are compatible with the freak system. overall this system has stand it's ground for over a decade.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit The freak system is great because it gives you a nice range of bore sizes, and lets you use them on several guns and with several barrel lengths just by swapping out one component, either the back...
Report this review to a moderator   #11393
raehl
NCPA President
raehl's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Chippewa Falls, WI
raehl is a Supporting Member
raehl has been a member for 10 years
raehl plays in the PSP
raehl supports our troops
raehl is an NCPA National Champion
raehl plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Flexible, allows good paint-barrel match
Cons: Inserts can vary significantly from stated size
The freak system is great because it gives you a nice range of bore sizes, and lets you use them on several guns and with several barrel lengths just by swapping out one component, either the back (switch threading) or the front (switch length).

Weak points include inserts that are not quite the sizes printed on the sides, and you only have the 5-6" of insert length where you have full pressure behind the paintball, which can negatively impact air efficiency since once the paintball is out of the insert the air escapes past it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I miss having this barrel kit on markers, that's for sure. Made paintball so much easier to adjust on the fly throughout the day.
Report this review to a moderator   #23762
Rampager2000
-Voted best Avvy 2011 <3-
Rampager2000's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: East Texas
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: The inserts
Cons: None.
I miss having this barrel kit on markers, that's for sure. Made paintball so much easier to adjust on the fly throughout the day.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I got this kit when I got my SmartParts Shocker SFT. Used for the past six years. Two piece kit with multiple inserts. The inserts are nice for a little more accurate paint, it is pretty light...
Report this review to a moderator   #24643
RancidSeoul
 
RancidSeoul's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1.00
Pros: Accurate, Light
Cons: Nothing
I got this kit when I got my SmartParts Shocker SFT. Used for the past six years. Two piece kit with multiple inserts. The inserts are nice for a little more accurate paint, it is pretty light too. Never had any problems. Note, back is the Freak, my front is All American.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit great barrel, i use them on all of my smart parts guns they look great and work even better only problem is the price for a full kit kind of sucks but you do get what you pay for
Report this review to a moderator   #36874
redvsblue23
DYLARDIAS MAXIMUS
redvsblue23's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Edwardsburg, MI
redvsblue23 is BST Legit
redvsblue23 plays in the APPA D5 division
redvsblue23 has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
redvsblue23 is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: sleek, accurate
Cons: pricey
great barrel, i use them on all of my smart parts guns they look great and work even better only problem is the price for a full kit kind of sucks but you do get what you pay for
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Its accurate. its never broken a ball. i love it
Report this review to a moderator   #40528
riley_likes_paintbal
 
riley_likes_paintbal's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nebraska
riley_likes_paintbal owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
riley_likes_paintbal supports Team VICIOUS
riley_likes_paintbal supports Team VICIOUS
riley_likes_paintbal has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: accurate
Cons: none,
Its accurate. its never broken a ball. i love it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review