Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Smart parts freak barrel system. This modular system uses three basic pieces: barrel tips, barrel backs and internal barrel bores called inserts. Each piece is universal and can fit all other Freak components.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $159.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 258
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  50%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  46%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Reviews
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I've used Freak barrel kits for over 10 years now, and they've never let me down, but they've never really wowed me either. For the price, they're a little sub par but I've always bought used so it...
Report this review to a moderator   #38060
Orvis09
I haz brown trout
Orvis09's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Smyrna
Orvis09 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Orvis09 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Orvis09 supports our troops
Orvis09 plays in the APPA D5 division
Orvis09 is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
Orvis09 is Legendary
Orvis09 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: 8 bores, availability and variety of combinations
Cons: A little heavy, somewhat pricey
I've used Freak barrel kits for over 10 years now, and they've never let me down, but they've never really wowed me either. For the price, they're a little sub par but I've always bought used so it saved me quite a bit of cash. Match the paint you're using to an insert, and it will shoot darts all day.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I am certainly a fan of this system. While some people in reviews and info on the internet just claim to dramatically overbore everything for best results, the rationality and physics just aren't...
Report this review to a moderator   #40868
Osmosis44
 
Osmosis44's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Oregon
Osmosis44 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Osmosis44 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Osmosis44 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Osmosis44 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: effective
Cons: initial investment cost
I am certainly a fan of this system.

While some people in reviews and info on the internet just claim to dramatically overbore everything for best results, the rationality and physics just aren't there for me.
Asymmetrical, crescent shaped gas leak around top portion of ball in an over bored barrel would create down force creating the ball to be forced onto that side of the barrel causing roll which in turn creates a hooked ball. This is just my individual interpretation of the effect of a discharge, your results and concept may vary.

I use this kit on an autococker, cocker pump, Mini, and G4, with great results.

I have heard there can be inconsistencies from batch to batch on real world diameter in contrast to indicated diameter, however mine seem to mic out well.

They are not light barrels, but that's not pulling me away from them.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit i have used the freak with all my guns and will keep using it.
Report this review to a moderator   #41320
p8ntballjunky06
 
p8ntballjunky06's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Antonio Tx
p8ntballjunky06 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
p8ntballjunky06 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
p8ntballjunky06 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
p8ntballjunky06 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: bore size
Cons: not free
i have used the freak with all my guns and will keep using it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit ive had my freak for 3 years now and use it on my ion, 98 custom and trilogy autococker. the initial price is expensive but for 50 dollars you buy the back for your new marker and have a whole barrel...
Report this review to a moderator   #6571
P8NTBALLKID2008
 
P8NTBALLKID2008's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Farmington Hills, MI
P8NTBALLKID2008 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
P8NTBALLKID2008 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Very accurate, and reliable.
Cons: Price
ive had my freak for 3 years now and use it on my ion, 98 custom and trilogy autococker. the initial price is expensive but for 50 dollars you buy the back for your new marker and have a whole barrel kit for the new marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Great barrel system if you are worried about your paint match. The only issue is the inserts getting stuck inside.
Report this review to a moderator   #15220
Paintballsicko1
RuthlessPB
Paintballsicko1's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Tampa, Florida
Paintballsicko1 plays in the PSP
Paintballsicko1 is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $75.00
Pros: all bore sizes
Cons: ugly barrel
Great barrel system if you are worried about your paint match. The only issue is the inserts getting stuck inside.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I bought the freak jr kit and with the extra money I saved from the full kit bought a All American front. Straight shooting barrels with all the bore sizes you need for today's paint.
Report this review to a moderator   #28346
Papa B
MacDev fan boy!
Papa B's avatar
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Indiana
Papa B plays in the APPA beginner division
Papa B has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Papa B has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Papa B has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $99.99
Pros: Has all the sizes you need.
Cons: Found none
I bought the freak jr kit and with the extra money I saved from the full kit bought a All American front. Straight shooting barrels with all the bore sizes you need for today's paint.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit what i love about this barrel system is the ease to change out the inserts in less than a minute. As you're playing over the course of a day and temperatures ( live in Florida ) really start to heat...
Report this review to a moderator   #34497
pbbliss
Philippians 4:13
pbbliss's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
pbbliss has been a member for 10 years
pbbliss plays in the PSP
pbbliss supports Team VICIOUS
pbbliss plays in the APPA D2 division
pbbliss supports Empire
pbbliss is All In
pbbliss is All In
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: quick change insert
Cons: none really
what i love about this barrel system is the ease to change out the inserts in less than a minute. As you're playing over the course of a day and temperatures ( live in Florida ) really start to heat up effecting the ball size and thereby the chrono a quick insert change and you have it resized in record time.

And having a proper bore size to paint size definitely is a huge help in keeping your paintballs right on target.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit nice kit to have in any gear bag
Report this review to a moderator   #35150
pbjim
LAND SHARKS
pbjim's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: PA
pbjim donated to help Peyton Trent
pbjim is attending Decay of Nations VI
pbjim supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: 8 plus barrels in 1 case
Cons: not sure
nice kit to have in any gear bag
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Absolutely love this barrel is one of my favorites
Report this review to a moderator   #28022
Pbman91
I <3 BaCon
Pbman91's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Worcester MA
Pbman91 supports Team VICIOUS
Pbman91 posts videos on PbNation
Pbman91 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Pbman91 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Pbman91 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: any size
Cons: NONE!!!
Absolutely love this barrel is one of my favorites
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit All in all this barrel is good but the cost of it is a little to much if it were cheaper I would tell you to buy it. If you have the cash go ahead
Report this review to a moderator   #4965
PBPlaya 23
Ferd
PBPlaya 23's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: salem, nj
PBPlaya 23 helped look for balloons
PBPlaya 23 is for the Gunfight
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: Comes with inserts
Cons: cost and need to pay for the inserts
All in all this barrel is good but the cost of it is a little to much if it were cheaper I would tell you to buy it. If you have the cash go ahead
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review