Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Smart parts freak barrel system. This modular system uses three basic pieces: barrel tips, barrel backs and internal barrel bores called inserts. Each piece is universal and can fit all other Freak components.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $159.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 267
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  51%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  45%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Reviews
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I love this barrel kit. It is not required to have multiple barrel backs. you only have to have an insert kit then you have all the bore sizes you need.
Report this review to a moderator   #31113
MiniMaster423
Proud Luxe 2.0 Owner
MiniMaster423's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
MiniMaster423 plays in the PSP
MiniMaster423 plays in the APPA D5 division
MiniMaster423 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
MiniMaster423 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
MiniMaster423 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
MiniMaster423 has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: inserts
Cons: cant think of any
I love this barrel kit. It is not required to have multiple barrel backs. you only have to have an insert kit then you have all the bore sizes you need.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit One of the original products that put the Gardner brothers on the paintball scene besides the so called 'mystery' automag box was the Freak Barrel Kit. It was a two piece barrel that allow the user...
Report this review to a moderator   #41360
mnp8nt
There is only Zuul
mnp8nt's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Land O Drunken Reporters
mnp8nt is playing at Living Legends III
mnp8nt owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
mnp8nt supports Team VICIOUS
mnp8nt is an NCPA player
mnp8nt is Legendary
mnp8nt is attending Decay of Nations VII
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Many insert sizes, expandable, many threads
Cons: expensive, smart parts
One of the original products that put the Gardner brothers on the paintball scene besides the so called 'mystery' automag box was the Freak Barrel Kit. It was a two piece barrel that allow the user to insert various sized inserts to match the paintball size to the barrel to ensure better accuracy. It is fairly expensive bought new, but there are many kits for sale on the forums here. Accuracy is good with proper sizing. Overall this kit is an excellent aftermarket barrel.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Smart Parts Freak Barrels have always been awesome barrels. The best part about these barrels is the bore kits that come with them. With so many different options and the ability to match paint to...
Report this review to a moderator   #30987
Moonboot
SPEAKMAN
Moonboot's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: OHIO
Moonboot plays in the PSP
Moonboot supports Bob Gurnsey
Moonboot plays in the APPA D3 division
Moonboot is Legendary
Moonboot supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: Looks great, shoots straight, multiple inserts
Cons: none.
Smart Parts Freak Barrels have always been awesome barrels. The best part about these barrels is the bore kits that come with them. With so many different options and the ability to match paint to bore so easily, it's no wonder these barrels hold the reputation of being some of the best on the marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I love my kit, was worth every penny. They look nice and are super reliable
Report this review to a moderator   #29108
mountaindew11871
mountaindew11871's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cheekago
mountaindew11871 is playing at Living Legends III
mountaindew11871 supports Sherwood Forest
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: Straight sexy
Cons: none.
I love my kit, was worth every penny. They look nice and are super reliable
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Ah 'The Freak' Arguably one of the best barrel sizing kits out there. i'd personally say 'the best' but it (read: the stock kit) lacks small bore sizes. back when i started (roughly summer 2002)...
Report this review to a moderator   #29208
Mr. Wizard
409
Mr. Wizard's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Alpha Quadrant
Mr. Wizard has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $75.00
Pros: barrel ID's
Cons: lack of smaller bores
Ah 'The Freak'

Arguably one of the best barrel sizing kits out there. i'd personally say 'the best' but it (read: the stock kit) lacks small bore sizes. back when i started (roughly summer 2002) paintball was big, both metaphorically and literally. most of the time people with freak kits would complain about how big the paint was.

Now that i have the kit (purchased roughly '06, lucky snag on amazon, hence the price as low as it is) i complain about the bores not being small enough. now i know you can buy smaller bores separately (either by Gog or custom made) but the initial kit now seems to have the problem of over boring a lot of 'pro grade' paint that my local field supply's.

Great kit to have, a steal if you find it under $100 (now that Gog is making their old SP label kits)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Great barrel system. Nothing else like it! If you can find a used one, then go for it. If you're low on cash, then a Freak Jr. is a good way to start out too and just buy inserts as you need them.
Report this review to a moderator   #30025
MrDan8706
:D
MrDan8706's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
MrDan8706 supports Pev's Paintball
MrDan8706 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
MrDan8706 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
MrDan8706 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Bore Sizing, Appearance
Cons: Pricy
Great barrel system. Nothing else like it!
If you can find a used one, then go for it. If you're low on cash, then a Freak Jr. is a good way to start out too and just buy inserts as you need them.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit This barrel kit is amazing. It comes with 7 different inserts, and I also got to customize the color scheme. Not very heavy at all which is nice not to off balance the gun.
Report this review to a moderator   #41932
MSmags011
Jester of Tortuga
MSmags011's avatar
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southeast WI
MSmags011 is playing at Living Legends VII
MSmags011 supports Team VICIOUS
MSmags011 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: Inserts, Customization
Cons: Nothing
This barrel kit is amazing. It comes with 7 different inserts, and I also got to customize the color scheme. Not very heavy at all which is nice not to off balance the gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit The freak barrel kit did wonders to aid in consistency/accuracy and noise level of my ETEK 3. I like the choice of inserts out on the market to match the paint to the bore and the control bore is...
Report this review to a moderator   #26683
MugenR
 
MugenR's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: seattle, wa
MugenR owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
MugenR is for the Gunfight
MugenR posts videos on PbNation
MugenR has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $94.95
Pros: inserts, great honing, sturdy
Cons: a bit heavy
The freak barrel kit did wonders to aid in consistency/accuracy and noise level of my ETEK 3.

I like the choice of inserts out on the market to match the paint to the bore and the control bore is longer that some out there.

It is a bit on the heavier side compared to some of the competitors.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I never had one problem with any Freak Barrel I used. They provided great accuracy, and were very light. Also very affordable and a very dependable Barrel Kit when needed.
Report this review to a moderator   #17260
MuSt@f@55
PBR, Drink It Ya A$$hole
MuSt@f@55's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Central PA
MuSt@f@55 supports Team VICIOUS
MuSt@f@55 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
MuSt@f@55 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $52.00
Pros: great accuracy, light
Cons:
I never had one problem with any Freak Barrel I used. They provided great accuracy, and were very light. Also very affordable and a very dependable Barrel Kit when needed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I bought the full kit & I'm using both the "All American" & "Freak" Tips, didnt feel much difference between the two tips except that that "All American" was a little more quiet. I have tried the...
Report this review to a moderator   #40739
mystikalbrotha
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: a single kit to fit a whole bunch of sizes
Cons: BIG case
I bought the full kit & I'm using both the "All American" & "Freak" Tips, didnt feel much difference between the two tips except that that "All American" was a little more quiet. I have tried the Deathstix barrels & the Shadow barrels, the only upside the CF barrels had over the Freak Barrel Kit was the weight.
Overall the Freak barrel kit is worth the money.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review