Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Smart parts freak barrel system. This modular system uses three basic pieces: barrel tips, barrel backs and internal barrel bores called inserts. Each piece is universal and can fit all other Freak components.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $159.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 258
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  50%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  46%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Reviews
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I love this barrel kit, looks great and works great! Almost no ballbreaks at all, unless you use totally wrong insert for the paint you're using When a ballbreak happens, and your paint goes wherever...
Report this review to a moderator   #36810
Madde89
 
Madde89's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Norway
Madde89 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $149.00
Pros: Inserts, case, looks great
Cons: Heavy, expensive when bought new
I love this barrel kit, looks great and works great!
Almost no ballbreaks at all, unless you use totally wrong insert for the paint you're using
When a ballbreak happens, and your paint goes wherever it wants, it has always works for me to just shoot 3-4 balls to clean it out. And then the paint lines up nice again
Just love this kit!

Just could have been a lighter barrel And try to get a kit used, will save you some money
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit This has been my main barrel system since I started playing paintball in 2005. I got the stainless steel inserts so I wouldn't have to worry about them bending or anything. I have never been let down...
Report this review to a moderator   #23359
MaliciousKrazykid035
Levy4U - Custom Design
MaliciousKrazykid035's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Denver NC
MaliciousKrazykid035 donated to help Peyton Trent
MaliciousKrazykid035 helped look for balloons
MaliciousKrazykid035 posts videos on PbNation
MaliciousKrazykid035 plays in the APPA D5 division
MaliciousKrazykid035 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
MaliciousKrazykid035 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Looks, performance, inserts
Cons: price, aluminum
This has been my main barrel system since I started playing paintball in 2005. I got the stainless steel inserts so I wouldn't have to worry about them bending or anything. I have never been let down and if you match your paint correctly, the accuracy is awesome. Works flawlessly on my 05 SFT.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Great product with awesome longevity. Used for many years and never had a mis-hap.
Report this review to a moderator   #24013
mikesbargainbin
 
mikesbargainbin's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Crescent City, Ca
mikesbargainbin has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
mikesbargainbin has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: ease of use
Cons: not any
Great product with awesome longevity. Used for many years and never had a mis-hap.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I love this barrel kit. It is not required to have multiple barrel backs. you only have to have an insert kit then you have all the bore sizes you need.
Report this review to a moderator   #31113
MiniMaster423
Proud Luxe 2.0 Owner
MiniMaster423's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
MiniMaster423 plays in the PSP
MiniMaster423 plays in the APPA D5 division
MiniMaster423 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
MiniMaster423 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
MiniMaster423 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
MiniMaster423 has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: inserts
Cons: cant think of any
I love this barrel kit. It is not required to have multiple barrel backs. you only have to have an insert kit then you have all the bore sizes you need.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit One of the original products that put the Gardner brothers on the paintball scene besides the so called 'mystery' automag box was the Freak Barrel Kit. It was a two piece barrel that allow the user...
Report this review to a moderator   #41360
mnp8nt
There is only Zuul
mnp8nt's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Land O Drunken Reporters
mnp8nt is playing at Living Legends III
mnp8nt owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
mnp8nt supports Team VICIOUS
mnp8nt is an NCPA player
mnp8nt is Legendary
mnp8nt is attending Decay of Nations VII
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Many insert sizes, expandable, many threads
Cons: expensive, smart parts
One of the original products that put the Gardner brothers on the paintball scene besides the so called 'mystery' automag box was the Freak Barrel Kit. It was a two piece barrel that allow the user to insert various sized inserts to match the paintball size to the barrel to ensure better accuracy. It is fairly expensive bought new, but there are many kits for sale on the forums here. Accuracy is good with proper sizing. Overall this kit is an excellent aftermarket barrel.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Smart Parts Freak Barrels have always been awesome barrels. The best part about these barrels is the bore kits that come with them. With so many different options and the ability to match paint to...
Report this review to a moderator   #30987
Moonboot
XFT
Moonboot's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: OHIO
Moonboot plays in the PSP
Moonboot supports Bob Gurnsey
Moonboot plays in the APPA D3 division
Moonboot is Legendary
Moonboot supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: Looks great, shoots straight, multiple inserts
Cons: none.
Smart Parts Freak Barrels have always been awesome barrels. The best part about these barrels is the bore kits that come with them. With so many different options and the ability to match paint to bore so easily, it's no wonder these barrels hold the reputation of being some of the best on the marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I love my kit, was worth every penny. They look nice and are super reliable
Report this review to a moderator   #29108
mountaindew11871
Everything Is Purple
mountaindew11871's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cheekago
mountaindew11871 is playing at Living Legends III
mountaindew11871 supports Sherwood Forest
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: Straight sexy
Cons: none.
I love my kit, was worth every penny. They look nice and are super reliable
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Ah 'The Freak' Arguably one of the best barrel sizing kits out there. i'd personally say 'the best' but it (read: the stock kit) lacks small bore sizes. back when i started (roughly summer 2002)...
Report this review to a moderator   #29208
Mr. Wizard
409
Mr. Wizard's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Alpha Quadrant
Mr. Wizard has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $75.00
Pros: barrel ID's
Cons: lack of smaller bores
Ah 'The Freak'

Arguably one of the best barrel sizing kits out there. i'd personally say 'the best' but it (read: the stock kit) lacks small bore sizes. back when i started (roughly summer 2002) paintball was big, both metaphorically and literally. most of the time people with freak kits would complain about how big the paint was.

Now that i have the kit (purchased roughly '06, lucky snag on amazon, hence the price as low as it is) i complain about the bores not being small enough. now i know you can buy smaller bores separately (either by Gog or custom made) but the initial kit now seems to have the problem of over boring a lot of 'pro grade' paint that my local field supply's.

Great kit to have, a steal if you find it under $100 (now that Gog is making their old SP label kits)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Great barrel system. Nothing else like it! If you can find a used one, then go for it. If you're low on cash, then a Freak Jr. is a good way to start out too and just buy inserts as you need them.
Report this review to a moderator   #30025
MrDan8706
:D
MrDan8706's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
MrDan8706 supports Pev's Paintball
MrDan8706 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
MrDan8706 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
MrDan8706 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Bore Sizing, Appearance
Cons: Pricy
Great barrel system. Nothing else like it!
If you can find a used one, then go for it. If you're low on cash, then a Freak Jr. is a good way to start out too and just buy inserts as you need them.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit This barrel kit is amazing. It comes with 7 different inserts, and I also got to customize the color scheme. Not very heavy at all which is nice not to off balance the gun.
Report this review to a moderator   #41932
MSmags011
Jester of Tortuga
MSmags011's avatar
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southeast WI
MSmags011 is playing at Living Legends VII
MSmags011 supports Team VICIOUS
MSmags011 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: Inserts, Customization
Cons: Nothing
This barrel kit is amazing. It comes with 7 different inserts, and I also got to customize the color scheme. Not very heavy at all which is nice not to off balance the gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review