Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Smart parts freak barrel system. This modular system uses three basic pieces: barrel tips, barrel backs and internal barrel bores called inserts. Each piece is universal and can fit all other Freak components.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $159.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 272
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  52%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  44%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Reviews
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Great barrel system from smart parts however it is starting to look out of date. But then again I do love that old world wimsy
Report this review to a moderator   #28028
JeremyNeufeld
 
JeremyNeufeld's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lewiston, NY
JeremyNeufeld plays in the PSP
JeremyNeufeld owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
JeremyNeufeld plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $70.00
Pros: Any Bore Size
Cons: Looks Old
Great barrel system from smart parts however it is starting to look out of date. But then again I do love that old world wimsy
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I've used this barrel kit pretty much since I started paintball. Absolutely love them because no matter the weather or paint you're almost guaranteed a perfect fit.
Report this review to a moderator   #35097
Jframe
 
Jframe's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Charleston, WV
Jframe has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $90.00
Pros: Inserts
Cons: Nothing
I've used this barrel kit pretty much since I started paintball. Absolutely love them because no matter the weather or paint you're almost guaranteed a perfect fit.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit The Freak is probably the most popular and best known barrel in all of paintball. With its wide variety of threading for the backs and multiple inserts, it will work with nearly any marker and any...
Report this review to a moderator   #32333
jjdustr340
My son will bunker you.
jjdustr340's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Home of the Buckeyes!!
jjdustr340 is a Moderator
jjdustr340 is a Supporting Member
jjdustr340 has been a member for 10 years
jjdustr340 posts videos on PbNation
jjdustr340 supports our troops
jjdustr340 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
jjdustr340 is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: Fit all different sizes of paint
Cons: Price (new)
The Freak is probably the most popular and best known barrel in all of paintball. With its wide variety of threading for the backs and multiple inserts, it will work with nearly any marker and any size paint.

The price for a new set is a bit high, but one can get a solid deal on a used set if you shop around.

I've had my Freak system for quite some time, and have to say its been a blessing when playing at different fields or big games.

While the inserts may not be the smoothest or best honed, it works, and works pretty darned well. The wide variety of colors in backs and tips helps a lot for those wishing to color coordinate with their marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Like the Freak barrel system. To this day I still use it. Was expensive when it came out and it is a pain to clean if you have a ball break
Report this review to a moderator   #36760
Kingofeasy
Happy wife=Happy life
Kingofeasy's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NV
Kingofeasy owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Kingofeasy has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Kingofeasy has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: Like the inserts
Cons: Spendy. Hard to clean
Like the Freak barrel system. To this day I still use it. Was expensive when it came out and it is a pain to clean if you have a ball break
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Nice barrel kit. I like the insert system of adjusting and also being able to switch tips as needed. This barrel combo is easy to dial in for your own preferance. Aluminum and Stainless parts for...
Report this review to a moderator   #20224
KookieMonster
Kookie or Nookie???
KookieMonster's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Greater St. Louis Area
KookieMonster has been a member for 10 years
KookieMonster donated to help Peyton Trent
KookieMonster supports Bob Gurnsey
KookieMonster has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: adjustable bore
Cons: nothing
Nice barrel kit. I like the insert system of adjusting and also being able to switch tips as needed. This barrel combo is easy to dial in for your own preferance. Aluminum and Stainless parts for the back and inserts lets you controll just how much weight you have at the barrel and the tips change the look quite easily.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit The freak barrel pioneered the way for barrels to use inserts so the player can size each case of paint with the right bore. This improves accuracy and air efficiency remarkably in markers....
Report this review to a moderator   #39072
kool_aid22
www.PBPIRATE.com
kool_aid22's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Atlanta
kool_aid22 is BST Legit
kool_aid22 is playing at Living Legends VIII
kool_aid22 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
kool_aid22 is Legendary
kool_aid22 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $45.00
Pros: Adjust bore/length, great accuracy
Cons: Expensive if new
The freak barrel pioneered the way for barrels to use inserts so the player can size each case of paint with the right bore. This improves accuracy and air efficiency remarkably in markers. Additional pros are that there are tons of colors, sizes, inserts (stainless steel too), and types of threads still available. Pick up a freak kit today and be more accurate and efficient!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I LOVE my Freak Barrel System. Mine actually started out as a Freak JR System and I slowly purchsed the res of the inserts to make it a complete kit. Never had any problems with this barrel as long...
Report this review to a moderator   #15830
kpraytor
YOLO... you're an idiot!
kpraytor's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Deer Park, TX
kpraytor posts videos on PbNation
kpraytor has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Interchangable Bore Inserts
Cons: Price (?) & Difficult to remove Inserts
I LOVE my Freak Barrel System.

Mine actually started out as a Freak JR System and I slowly purchsed the res of the inserts to make it a complete kit. Never had any problems with this barrel as long as I chose the right size bore for the paint I was using.

Also, I have a Spyder Pilot ACS & Ion that I use this barrel system on. Makes both guns extremely accurate and quiet.

Can't say enough good things about this barrel system. If you have the patience, like I did, you can piece together a Full Freak Kit from pbnation.com B/S/T section for well under $100!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit i got the Freak with my Lux and it is awesome, i have used one in the past with other guns and it is awesome
Report this review to a moderator   #45785
Lacross623
keep it high and tight
Lacross623's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gresham, OR
Lacross623 is playing at Living Legends VII
Lacross623 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Lacross623 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Lacross623 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.00
Pros: Bore size
Cons: nothing at all
i got the Freak with my Lux and it is awesome, i have used one in the past with other guns and it is awesome
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit well nothing bad to say, it came with my luxe. love it and can switch inserts. definitely one of the best you can buy
Report this review to a moderator   #49177
LexLuxer
LexLuxer's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: FL
LexLuxer is playing at Living Legends VII
LexLuxer owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
LexLuxer posts videos on PbNation
LexLuxer has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
LexLuxer supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: can switch insert kits , shoots straight
Cons: none at all
well nothing bad to say, it came with my luxe. love it and can switch inserts. definitely one of the best you can buy
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I have been using my freak kit for a long time. I have never been dissapointed with it. I used the kit on my first Ion, to my pump, and now on my Fusion FX. Its easy to use. I find the right sizer...
Report this review to a moderator   #10965
lonescout
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Connecticut
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: Various inserts, Sleek look, Quiet, Accurate
Cons: None yet
I have been using my freak kit for a long time. I have never been dissapointed with it. I used the kit on my first Ion, to my pump, and now on my Fusion FX. Its easy to use. I find the right sizer for the paintballs I use and am good to go all day. Accuracy is definitely improved using this kit. The length is just right too. In the kit I have, it came with 6 backs, the insert holder, and 2 barrels of different lengths. I like the longer barrel the kit comes with because of the porting it has. Makes my shots much more quiet. If anyone balks at the price, then they have never used one of these successfully.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review