Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Smart parts freak barrel system. This modular system uses three basic pieces: barrel tips, barrel backs and internal barrel bores called inserts. Each piece is universal and can fit all other Freak components.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $159.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 284
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  52%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  45%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Reviews
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit The Freak barrel kit is one of the original variable-bore barrel kits, allowing the player to shoot a wide variety of paint (or reballs) by simply changing the insert on the front six inches of the...
Report this review to a moderator   #11398
dymium
Joe R.
dymium's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Michigan
dymium is a Moderator
dymium is a Supporting Member
dymium has been a member for 10 years
dymium plays in the PSP
dymium is an NCPA player
dymium plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $110.00
Pros: Great variety of bore sizes
Cons: price
The Freak barrel kit is one of the original variable-bore barrel kits, allowing the player to shoot a wide variety of paint (or reballs) by simply changing the insert on the front six inches of the barrel. This leads to generally better efficiency and consistency. The anodizing on the barrel front and back are of generally high quality, holding up to years of play and abuse.

The primary downsides to the Freak are it's somewhat dated design and high price tag. The product that I have looks like it was manufactured in 2002, and carries quite a price tag. However, for the player that demands one barrel system for all of their playing needs, the expense is justified.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I love this kit.... super easy to switch inserts and tips... very accurate.... down side is that it does have some weight... worked very well on my insert mini
Report this review to a moderator   #26166
E3EJvilla
Team Horde
E3EJvilla's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Etters, Pa
E3EJvilla owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
E3EJvilla plays in the APPA beginner division
E3EJvilla has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $85.00
Pros: inserts!!
Cons: heavy!!
I love this kit.... super easy to switch inserts and tips... very accurate.... down side is that it does have some weight... worked very well on my insert mini
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Still the best barrel system avaliable. I find it's easier to get the inserts and actually measure them with a micrometer, then write their actual ID on the side. Makes telling your buddies what...
Report this review to a moderator   #15972
eatafetus
Swiggity Swooty
eatafetus's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: I Chill in Ill
eatafetus has been a member for 10 years
eatafetus supports our troops
eatafetus is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
eatafetus is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $70.00
Pros: Great system, easy to use
Cons: Bore marking inconsistencies
Still the best barrel system avaliable. I find it's easier to get the inserts and actually measure them with a micrometer, then write their actual ID on the side. Makes telling your buddies what sleeve you are really using much easier.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit These are the barrels to have if you play in tournaments. Paint will change throughout the day and depending on the temperature. The freak helps solve that problem. Very customizable with colors and...
Report this review to a moderator   #79514
Eg0Man1c
 
Eg0Man1c's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Providence,RI
Eg0Man1c owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Eg0Man1c has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: too many to list
Cons: buying inserts
These are the barrels to have if you play in tournaments. Paint will change throughout the day and depending on the temperature. The freak helps solve that problem.

Very customizable with colors and interchangeable with the different backs and fronts. One of the nicest things is being able to use the different tips with the different guns.

I bought the SHAFT FR and these are a much better value as you can almost get a full freak kit for the cost of just the back.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Great barrell kit, Comes stock on the Luxe i beleive. Always have the right bore size so your always shooting strait. A little pricey though
Report this review to a moderator   #29986
Egomaniac1192
TigerStyle
Egomaniac1192's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Orlando
Egomaniac1192 supports Team VICIOUS
Egomaniac1192 is for the Gunfight
Egomaniac1192 supports Pev's Paintball
Egomaniac1192 is Legendary
Egomaniac1192 is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Always have bore size
Cons: expensive
Great barrell kit, Comes stock on the Luxe i beleive. Always have the right bore size so your always shooting strait. A little pricey though
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit ive owned my barrel for a looooong time and for the most part always used the same sleave for my paint i think the sleaves could be better polished but i think they have the stainless steal set if u...
Report this review to a moderator   #44781
eldude
MACHETE
eldude's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: salinas
eldude owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
eldude plays in the APPA D4 division
eldude has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: barrels interchangeable
Cons: sleaves are aluminum
ive owned my barrel for a looooong time and for the most part always used the same sleave for my paint i think the sleaves could be better polished but i think they have the stainless steal set if u want it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit A must have kit for your paintball bore needs. You won't ever have to worry about your paint chopping because you can adjust your bore to any weather condition/paint.
Report this review to a moderator   #27982
Emperor Bacon
Yea Dood.
Emperor Bacon's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: [805][818] SoCal
Emperor Bacon owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Emperor Bacon has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Emperor Bacon has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Emperor Bacon has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $75.00
Pros: All the bores you can possibly want
Cons: Pricey
A must have kit for your paintball bore needs. You won't ever have to worry about your paint chopping because you can adjust your bore to any weather condition/paint.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Some times the inserts would get stuck, but some water made them come out. I wish there was a better way to insert the inserts. But great product.
Report this review to a moderator   #21300
EugeneC
EugeneC's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IOWA
EugeneC is playing at Living Legends V
EugeneC owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
EugeneC is for the Gunfight
EugeneC has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $145.00
Pros: You will always have a barrel that can shoot paint
Cons: If you bend a insert its done
Some times the inserts would get stuck, but some water made them come out. I wish there was a better way to insert the inserts. But great product.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit had one these kits on my proto. Never gave me any issues, was light weight and the interchangeable inserts came in handy on more then one occassion
Report this review to a moderator   #18065
Evil_Paintball_freek
#No****sGiven
Evil_Paintball_freek's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Middle O Nowhere SE WI
Evil_Paintball_freek is a Supporting Member
Evil_Paintball_freek has been a member for 10 years
Evil_Paintball_freek is one of the top 25 posters on PbNation
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: interchange able inserts
Cons:
had one these kits on my proto. Never gave me any issues, was light weight and the interchangeable inserts came in handy on more then one occassion
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I love Freak kits, at this point freaks are my favorite kit. Plenty of options on fronts and all the bore sizes you will ever need. Solid platform.
Report this review to a moderator   #44185
excope
Legacy of 806
excope's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN
excope owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
excope is for the Gunfight
excope plays in the APPA D5 division
excope has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
excope supports DLX Technology
excope supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Easy to match with paint
Cons: Cases are junk.
I love Freak kits, at this point freaks are my favorite kit. Plenty of options on fronts and all the bore sizes you will ever need. Solid platform.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review