Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Smart parts freak barrel system. This modular system uses three basic pieces: barrel tips, barrel backs and internal barrel bores called inserts. Each piece is universal and can fit all other Freak components.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $159.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 267
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  51%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  45%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Freak Barrel Kit Reviews
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Some times the inserts would get stuck, but some water made them come out. I wish there was a better way to insert the inserts. But great product.
Report this review to a moderator   #21300
EugeneC
EugeneC's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IOWA
EugeneC is playing at Living Legends V
EugeneC owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
EugeneC is for the Gunfight
EugeneC has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $145.00
Pros: You will always have a barrel that can shoot paint
Cons: If you bend a insert its done
Some times the inserts would get stuck, but some water made them come out. I wish there was a better way to insert the inserts. But great product.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit had one these kits on my proto. Never gave me any issues, was light weight and the interchangeable inserts came in handy on more then one occassion
Report this review to a moderator   #18065
Evil_Paintball_freek
#No****sGiven
Evil_Paintball_freek's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Middle O Nowhere SE WI
Evil_Paintball_freek is a Supporting Member
Evil_Paintball_freek is one of the top 25 posters on PbNation
Evil_Paintball_freek is attending Decay of Nations VII
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: interchange able inserts
Cons:
had one these kits on my proto. Never gave me any issues, was light weight and the interchangeable inserts came in handy on more then one occassion
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I love Freak kits, at this point freaks are my favorite kit. Plenty of options on fronts and all the bore sizes you will ever need. Solid platform.
Report this review to a moderator   #44185
excope
Legacy of 806
excope's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN
excope is BST Legit
excope owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
excope is for the Gunfight
excope has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
excope supports DLX Technology
excope supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Easy to match with paint
Cons: Cases are junk.
I love Freak kits, at this point freaks are my favorite kit. Plenty of options on fronts and all the bore sizes you will ever need. Solid platform.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Used them for a few months and they worked for my pump. Didnt like how they felt on my old geo though.
Report this review to a moderator   #19671
f8user
 
f8user's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Somewhere in the woods
f8user owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
f8user owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
f8user is for the Gunfight
f8user supports our troops
f8user supports Pev's Paintball
f8user plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: All the bores you will need
Cons: Bulky barrel set
Used them for a few months and they worked for my pump. Didnt like how they felt on my old geo though.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit This is a great lightwieght and multifunctional barrel. I highly recomend this barrel system for use with any marker.
Report this review to a moderator   #36343
FalconPunchKid
St. Louis Hustle
FalconPunchKid's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: St. Louis
FalconPunchKid is BST Legit
FalconPunchKid is playing at Living Legends VII
FalconPunchKid owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
FalconPunchKid plays in the APPA D4 division
FalconPunchKid supports DLX Technology
FalconPunchKid supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: Lightwieght
Cons: expensive
This is a great lightwieght and multifunctional barrel. I highly recomend this barrel system for use with any marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit had it for a while, found i wasn't shooting paint that that required a full kit. It was light and quick to change. Down side i felt like i was going to smack it against something and it would break.
Report this review to a moderator   #22186
ferret15
STTB connoisseur
ferret15's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: RFD
ferret15 donated to help Peyton Trent
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: light and easy to change
Cons: thin metal
had it for a while, found i wasn't shooting paint that that required a full kit. It was light and quick to change. Down side i felt like i was going to smack it against something and it would break.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I bought a stainless steel autococker-threaded full freak kit used off Craigslist and I haven't looked back. This barrel goes from my [high end non SP gun] to my autococker pump with no change in...
Report this review to a moderator   #6876
firedigger
Call me Kermitt
firedigger's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Jersey
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: reliabilty, sturdiness, accuracy
Cons: Price, weight, .679 is the smallest insert
I bought a stainless steel autococker-threaded full freak kit used off Craigslist and I haven't looked back. This barrel goes from my [high end non SP gun] to my autococker pump with no change in accuracy or reliability. This barrel is consistant in every situation from speedball to woodsball to scenario playing. This barrel system is for everyone!
The stainless steel back is a little heavy, but it puts up with a beating and for someone like me, that's a big pro. I would also have preferred if threads between the front and the back were reverse threading as 50% of the time I have to take apart my pump kit to remove the freak back. Reverse threading would eliminate this problem for me.
One other problem I've found so far is that today's paint is getting smaller and smaller. I've been shooting V1 paint for the past two months and have been using exclusively my smallest insert, .679! I'd like to see Smart Parts to start coming out with a few smaller inserts in the .670's to follow this trend and allow us to continue using this great barrel.

Otherwise, great job Smart Parts!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit I love the freak kit. while some may complain about weight i think it balances the gun out a little better. It is easy o change inserts, and there are plenty of options available be it color, style,...
Report this review to a moderator   #34241
firefighter26
FARVA
firefighter26's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Elizabethville, PA
firefighter26 is BST Trusted
firefighter26 is playing at Living Legends VI
firefighter26 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
firefighter26 supports Team VICIOUS
firefighter26 is for the Gunfight
firefighter26 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: acurate, easy to change
Cons: none.
I love the freak kit. while some may complain about weight i think it balances the gun out a little better. It is easy o change inserts, and there are plenty of options available be it color, style, etc..
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit The inserts are nice the barrels are pretty good I liked it
Report this review to a moderator   #36739
firestar403
professional face painter
firestar403's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: canada bc
firestar403 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
firestar403 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: does the job
Cons: nothing
The inserts are nice the barrels are pretty good I liked it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit Hands down the best barrel ever made. I've been using a Freak barrel for nearly 10 years now. A bunch of insert sizes ranging from .675 clear up to .695. Will work with any size paint you have. You...
Report this review to a moderator   #24246
fishballer06
ShockerRepair.com
fishballer06's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: PA
fishballer06 is BST Legit
fishballer06 plays in the PSP
fishballer06 donated to help Peyton Trent
fishballer06 supports our troops
fishballer06 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $109.95
Pros: Custom inserts, different tips, easy to change out
Cons: None.
Hands down the best barrel ever made. I've been using a Freak barrel for nearly 10 years now. A bunch of insert sizes ranging from .675 clear up to .695. Will work with any size paint you have. You can change out the barrel tips in no time. Lightweight, accurate, high quality. I couldn't ask for more in a barrel.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review