Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
MacDev - Clone GTi Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
MacDev
15271 NW 60th Ave Suite 208
Miami Lakes, FL 33014

Phone: (877) 622-3381
Fax: (424) 201-0550
Email: support@macdev.net
Website: http://macdev.net
The Clone GTi is a revelation in high end paintball markers. Those familiar with the Clone line of markers will not be surprised by its sleek lines, quality construction or quiet, efficient shot. However, both new and old users will enjoy the new features introduced in the GTi model Clone.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2013
 MSRP: $1,499.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 17
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  71%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  24%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  6%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
MacDev - Clone GTi Reviews
MacDev Clone GTi I traded my DM for a clone GTi a while back and it was perhaps one of the best decisions of my life. The GTi was leaking at first but Eric over at Aggressive Sports (the main warranty center in the...
Report this review to a moderator   #41883
dominantgazelle
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orange County
dominantgazelle plays in the APPA D4 division
dominantgazelle is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,100.00
Pros: Super Smooth, CS
Cons: Sharp Trigger guard, a little touchy with orings
I traded my DM for a clone GTi a while back and it was perhaps one of the best decisions of my life. The GTi was leaking at first but Eric over at Aggressive Sports (the main warranty center in the US) took a look at it and fixed it in one sitting. Since then it has performed beautifully.


I love the shift barrel honing and the shift inserts themselves. My only gripe is that the bore that arrived with my gun is a little big for the paint nowadays (.691)u. The marker itself shoots very smooth. One complaint some people have is the trigger. In my opinion there are certainly better stock triggers out there (Planet Eclipse/DLX) but it's a preference thing in the end. I am fairly satisfied with the trigger. Not overjoyed, but satisfied.

The fact that the Clone GTi has a pressure guage is AWESOME because it allows me to know whether or not my marker is shooting smoother by just simply looking at the psi guage in relation to my chrono readings. Also it's a little known fact, but Macdev are the lowest psi markers on the market. (100 whilst bob long actually is 110).

Overall this is a great marker. I will be sending it in to have the trigger guard smoothed out though, because it does hurt my finger after a while of having it rest on it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
MacDev Clone GTi Just to preface: I started playing back in 2002, beginning with low-end blow-backs and quickly becoming a mid to high-end "poppet" guy. I loved and still love basically everything about poppets, and...
Report this review to a moderator   #57233
PrimeTimePred
 
PrimeTimePred's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tallahassee
PrimeTimePred has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $767.00
Pros: Shot Quality, Uncommon Marker, Ergo's
Cons: ASA loose at times, barrel insert length, resale $
Just to preface: I started playing back in 2002, beginning with low-end blow-backs and quickly becoming a mid to high-end "poppet" guy. I loved and still love basically everything about poppets, and NEVER envisioned myself buying a spool. I believe this was due to the fact that I wasn't willing to give up any of my beloved efficiency, as well as the spools that I had the chance to shoot weren't all that "smooth" when comparing to guns I had... "So why bother?" I would ask myself. Long story short, my college graduation present to myself was a new marker, and upon contemplating which to get, I decided to finally branch out. I found a steal of a deal (then) on a mint GTi, and boy am I glad I got out of my comfort zone.

Within the past year I have had the opportunity to shoot many spools and poppets, so I say this now with confidence: The Clone GTi is the smoothest marker I've experienced (comparing to a Luxe, DM14, Geo 3 with IV core, just to name a few). The efficiency is good-to-great for a spool in my opinion, as I get roughly 10 pods off of a full 68. The qietness of the shot is incredible and is hardly noticeable from the other side of the field (comparable to a Luxe here IMO). I always meticulously lube and service my markers, and I've never once had an issue with FSDO, airing up, leaks, etc. Once the Orings on the drive are broken in the shot gets even better (of course). I really like the reg, as the HPR is super easy to maintain. The board is perfect. Everyone seems to not like the trigger, but I didn't really give the stock trigger a "go" and went with a violent-scythe right away -- so I won't comment on this. I love the way it feels in the hands; it's solid and is just the right length for me. My favorite part about owning one?--> Other players on the field likely haven't seen or at least shot one before, and the look on their face(s) upon trying mine out is priceless. I get a bunch of WHOA's and wide-eyes lol.

As far as Cons are concerned... As much as I love the (stock) Shift barrel, taking into account the looks and great porting, I do Not like the length of the inserts (approx 5"). I would prefer at least a 6.5" control bore, but won't waste time going into my reasoning. This fact is not make or break by any means, I'm simply nitpicking here. Also, I have noticed several times that right before I play on the weekends, when I first screw on my tank, the ASA has some ever-so-slight side to side play. This is a quick fix and easily accessible, and a single tightening definitely lasts throughout the whole day of play. Again, I'm nitpicking at this point. Re-sale value on them has sucked lately. People don't realize what a steal they are getting on this marker (which hurts my pride more than anything). Other than that, I've got nothing but good to say about my GTi
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
MacDev Clone GTi The clone GT and now Clone GTI is a very nice gun. The clone Gt is very erganomic, smooth and quiet gun. The GTI is just a upgrade to the clone GT and dosent bring alot of differance in the shot...
Report this review to a moderator   #40532
yourPBfriend
Your Paintball ProShop
yourPBfriend's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Fransico Bay Area
yourPBfriend is BST Legit
yourPBfriend is playing at Living Legends VII
yourPBfriend owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
yourPBfriend has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,500.00
Pros: quiet, efficent, smooth
Cons: Has alot of orings in the core
The clone GT and now Clone GTI is a very nice gun. The clone Gt is very erganomic, smooth and quiet gun. The GTI is just a upgrade to the clone GT and dosent bring alot of differance in the shot feel in my opinion.

he new grips is a small upgrade but I will tell you. They make a big differance in the hands. They are thinner in the middle and then curve out to fit your hand perfectly. Its a change you can really tell.

The old GT screen was garbage. It would break all the time and the display was okay at best. The new screen is bright, colorful and appears to be much stronger. Time will tell if this new upgraded screen will be durable but this is a good upgrade.

On the GTI you can now see the pressure of the gun displayed on the screen. This is cool so that you know what your pressure is. If its way to high for you to reach your FPS then you have some drag or problems. Although this technology is really cool its not really essential.

The GTI valve is nice and allows the gun to be softer on paint and shoot at a lower pressure. Thats probably the only upgrade that really changes performance. Some say it makes it smoother and quieter. Personally I couldnt tell a differance but it make good since.

I own a shop and I have sold brand new clones that wound up having broken old screens, a few broken feednecks, and shavings in the reg. They do a good job replacing the broken parts but the QC isnt the best.

All in all the clone GT is a great gun. Keeps up with all the high end markers out there. The clone gets slightly better efficency then a luxe, geo3 or dye marker so that is one plus. The GTI upgrades are some nice upgrades but personally If I had a clone GT I would buy the new grips and valve and call it a day.

Dan - Yourpbfriend http://www.yourpbfriend.com/default.asp
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.9/5 stars.
MacDev Clone GTi Pretty much an amazing product. I only have a few problems. First let's talk about the good. 1. Smooth 2. Quiet 3. Consistent 4. Reliable I've never had a marker shoot so consistently over...
Report this review to a moderator   #40713
taulce1
Juston Taul Photography
taulce1's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Atlanta
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,500.00
Pros: Quiet, Smooth, Consistent, Reliable
Cons: Price, Trigger, Sharp Edges
Pretty much an amazing product. I only have a few problems. First let's talk about the good.

1. Smooth
2. Quiet
3. Consistent
4. Reliable

I've never had a marker shoot so consistently over the chronograph. Pure sex.

As for the bad...

1. It's a little expensive, especially after you add in the Shift Kit. Comparable to it's competition, so this is subjective.
2. The stock trigger is just crap. Change it and you're good to go.
3. The trigger guard has sharp edges. I wish they were a little more rounded but I haven't been cut or anything like some have stated.
4. The case will not hold the allen wrenches in place securely. Take them out to avoid scratching your barrel. Just a tip to keep you from getting angry later.


I give this a solid 9/10. One of my most favorite markers ever. I've yet to do an efficiency test, but I've yet to run out of air on the field. She's a looker and gets a lot of attention at my field. Buy it. You won't regret it.

  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
MacDev Clone GTi i haven't had this very long but i went from a luxe 2.0 to a GTi and i dont regret it in the slightest. this is my new favorite marker for sure. at first though i must admit i had some troubles with...
Report this review to a moderator   #43199
GhostlierEight
Pev's tech FTW
GhostlierEight's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: savannah/ North VA
GhostlierEight plays in the APPA D5 division
GhostlierEight has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
GhostlierEight supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: smooth as butter
Cons: takes some getting used to
i haven't had this very long but i went from a luxe 2.0 to a GTi and i dont regret it in the slightest. this is my new favorite marker for sure. at first though i must admit i had some troubles with the ergonomics of the marker, but i suppose switching from a luxe can cause that for any marker. other than that, the OLED is incredibly easy to work, bolt system is easy to maintain, and i love the idea of the shift barrel system (wish they made smaller bore sizes though)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
MacDev Clone GTi So I traded my Geo 3 and added some cash for a GTI with a shift kit. It was probably one of the smartest things I've done regarding paintball in a while (aside from getting back into the sport). She...
Report this review to a moderator   #54441
HerpaDerpa
I'm pretty frisky
HerpaDerpa's avatar
Join Date: May 2014
Location: BK/NJ/LI
HerpaDerpa is playing at Living Legends VIII
HerpaDerpa owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
HerpaDerpa has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
HerpaDerpa has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
HerpaDerpa has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
HerpaDerpa supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Buttery smooth, Gorgeous looks, Pinpoint Accuracy
Cons: Trigger Guard
So I traded my Geo 3 and added some cash for a GTI with a shift kit. It was probably one of the smartest things I've done regarding paintball in a while (aside from getting back into the sport).

She looks good, feels great, and is just an overall great marker. It's a bit of a difference coming from a PE gun to a MacDev, but the feel is phenomenal. The ergonomics can be debated, but it fits great in my hands. The only complaint/suggestion that I have is the trigger guard, as others have stated. Do yourself a favor, grab some tape, and tape up the bottom ledge of the guard. Your fingers will thank you.

Learning the drive takes some time, and maintenance takes some time, but if you get yourself into the habit of maintaining your gun regularly after playing, your GTI will take great care of you.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
MacDev Clone GTi the clone gti is hands down the greatest gun ever made. i have never once had this gun go down on me. i can leave this gun in my bag for a month and take it out and it just works
Report this review to a moderator   #43090
Oonlooz
Wut Wut
Oonlooz's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NoVA
Oonlooz is a Paintball photographer
Oonlooz supports Team VICIOUS
Oonlooz is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
Oonlooz is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: smooth never goes down works every time
Cons: nothing
the clone gti is hands down the greatest gun ever made. i have never once had this gun go down on me. i can leave this gun in my bag for a month and take it out and it just works
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
MacDev Clone GTi Great gun, like i said Smooth, quiet, efficient. HOWEVER! the ergos are not good and there is a slight learning curve to getting your 1 shot hits, the gun housing to the barrel is NOT one straight...
Report this review to a moderator   #44416
murkr
HE'S USING AN AIMBOT!
murkr's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tampa FL
murkr is playing at Living Legends VI
murkr is playing at Living Legends VII
murkr owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
murkr owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
murkr is attending Decay of Nations VII
murkr supports DLX Technology
murkr supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $850.00
Pros: Smooth, quiet, efficient
Cons: ergos!
Great gun, like i said Smooth, quiet, efficient. HOWEVER! the ergos are not good and there is a slight learning curve to getting your 1 shot hits, the gun housing to the barrel is NOT one straight line, there is a lip. right where the barrel screws into the frame. this makes those 1 shot kills alot harder to do. im noticing im having to do a 1-2 shot alignment so i know where the gun is aiming, i hold my gun all the way up to my right eye, like all the way.. it made me really accurate with my geo 2, but i lost some of my 1 shot skills moving to get GTI
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
MacDev Clone GTi I have owned a vx before, but never a gt/gti and I absolutely loved the way my vx shot, but shooting a gti blew me away. It has the softest shot out of any gun that I have shot to date. It also has...
Report this review to a moderator   #48137
UnholyDemon8
Iowa State Cyclones
UnholyDemon8's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Midwest
UnholyDemon8 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
UnholyDemon8 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
UnholyDemon8 is an NCPA player
UnholyDemon8 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: Smooth Shooter
Cons: stock bore size
I have owned a vx before, but never a gt/gti and I absolutely loved the way my vx shot, but shooting a gti blew me away. It has the softest shot out of any gun that I have shot to date. It also has awesome efficiency for how smooth it shoots.

When I first saw the gt released, I remember looking at it and not digging the milling. After seeing it up close, I think the gun looks awesome. Not much else to say here. The camo patterns looking amazing in person as well.

The performance of this gun is amazing. The shot quality you get with this gun is incredible. It's so smooth and quiet. It has a very soft shot as well which I immediately fell in love with. I also really dig the shift barrel with the interchangeable bores. The only downside is the stock bore is a little big by todays standards, but shift kits eliminate this problem in a simple, yet effective way.

The reason for 4 stars in realiability is mainly for the fact that you can't just let it sit in your gearbag and pull it out week after week and expect the same performance. It does require some basic maintenaince, but nothing too extreme or difficult. Just a little lube on the bolt and that's really about it. If you take care of this gun it will take care of you.

Overall a great gun that feels really nice in the hands. I absolutely loved mine
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
MacDev Clone GTi I purchased a camo green gt about 5 months and recently got it upgraded to a GTi at PSP Chicago 2013. I have at least 50 cases through it. the first month was horrible with this gun. it would chop...
Report this review to a moderator   #40066
feignfacade
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
feignfacade owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,650.00
Pros: smooth
Cons: air hog
I purchased a camo green gt about 5 months and recently got it upgraded to a GTi at PSP Chicago 2013. I have at least 50 cases through it. the first month was horrible with this gun. it would chop paint and eat up air. so this gun has a very long break in time but its well worth it. just to compare i have shot a geo 3, dm13, luxe, and a demon.

performance-this thing shoots so smooth. the only gun i think that is quieter and smoother is the luxe with feather touch enabled. but the GTi is more efficient. i use a 50/45 and get a full hopper and 5 pods chrono at about 290+- 4. my friends have gotten 9 to 10 pods on a 68/45. i have heard of ppl getting 11 pods on a well broken in GT.

the new gti grip is a little bit more tackier and has more of a tear drop shape to it but not as good as dm's or geo's or luxe's. i wish the grip had a better profile like dm's

the trigger is ok for ramping but not the best thing for semi auto. i had to shim the trigger to get it just right. i recommend upgrading the trigger asap

the gun is pretty light as well just shy of a geo. dm13 and demon are pretty much bricks

the new color oled screen is brighter then the original screen and can tell the pressure. i can set mine to about 100 psi and get around 290. so instead of chronoing i can get a good estimate just looking at my psi guage. it also has more settings then the stock board as well.

over all i recommend this gun to anybody i would buy it all over again.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Add New Review