Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
GOG Paintball - eXTCy Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
GOG Paintball
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (724) 520-8690
Fax: (724) 539-5555
Email: kshort@gogpaintball.com
Website: http://www.gogpaintball.com
The GoG Extcy is a quiet well shooting gun with a durable frame. It has a blackheart board that has 12 different modes including semi, full auto, and even Billy Ball.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $249.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 3.9/5 stars.
 Reviews: 25
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  20%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  64%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  16%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
GOG Paintball - eXTCy Reviews
GOG Paintball eXTCy Okay first things first. I spend months of research on things like this before purchasing anything. For instance, i was going to build myself a computer, and i spent close to 3 months before...
Report this review to a moderator   #43284
bag681
Howdy damnit!
bag681's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Austin, TX
bag681 has been published on the PbNation Youtube Channel
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Amazing value, smooth, quiet, efficient, upgrade
Cons: battery life. not free
Okay first things first. I spend months of research on things like this before purchasing anything. For instance, i was going to build myself a computer, and i spent close to 3 months before purchasing a part. This was no different. I was in the situation of finding the "Best sub-$300 paintball gun on the market"
So I started research. I looked at the mini, etha, crossover, rail, and eXTCy. I made, charts, graphs and excel sheets. I read countless reviews. Finally i decided my plan. I was going to buy this gun and upgrade the crap out of it. For me, upgrading is the most fun you can have with something. Buying parts to make it that much smoother, quieter, more efficient, ect.. I know this is basically "what the ion should have been", but i wanted to go above and beyond that. many people will say, "well if you're going to buy a $250 gun and put another $300 into it, you might as well just buy something thats $600!" To this i say, WHAT’S THE FUN IN THAT??? Upgrading a gun makes it feel truly "yours". Okay enough of that spiel...

I'm now going to talk about each aspect of the gun in turn.

Barrel- The stock barrel is a .693 13 inch, ported, ion threaded barrel. There's three rows of porting with 7 ports each. The boring quality is pretty darn nice. I'd say it's on-par with something like a CP one piece. Oh, and no matter what color you get it will always be a dust-black barrel.

feedneck- The stock feedneck is a hard-to-remove, allen key clamping, ion XE threaded feedneck. It rises 1 and (1/8) inches above the top of the body. It fits my pinokio snugly, and I've had no problems with it. You should know that if you want to upgrade it, you must really wrench on this thing really hard and possibly need to apply heat because it ships from gog locktited in place.

regulator- The stock regulator is the same exact regulator that is on the Luxe (a $1500 gun)! it has been very consistent for me, and its placement allows me (with very large hands i might add) to grip it fully, without cramping my thumb in between it and the trigger frame. The straight fitting is on the very bottom, allowing for a clean run from the asa (not upwards curved). One should note that if you need to disassemble the regulator for any reason, you will need a pair of .038'' (1mm) retaining ring pliers. Just a heads up. I got mine for $10 on amazon from Klein Tools.

asa- the stock asa is a dust black, knob-on-off, direct mounted asa. The fitting comes out the left side, and it is connected to the reg via a 4'' piece of steel braided tubing. The stock asa threads are pretty sharp, and can cut your tank o-rings if you're not careful. Just hold the gun so the asa is vertically facing up, then screw the tank in slowly. then screw in the knob until it's gassed up. Also, don't screw the asa know ALL the way in, because it can shred a little o-ring in there. An easy fix is just to screw it in until you hear no more leaking air, then screw it in another 1/2 of a turn and you're good to go.

trigger- the stock trigger is actually not so great. It's a plastic, pin-mounted, wave-style trigger. Many people consider this to be the eXTCy's weakest point. I agree, but a new player would defiantly be A-OKAY using it. There is some side to side play, but it really isn't horrible. It is two way adjustable (pre-travel and post-travel).

board- The stock board is the blackheart board. It has 12 modes, which give a wide variety of choices to use. You can adjust the dwell, BPS cap (coarse and fine at up to 20 BPS except uncapped semi), eye settings, burst count, rebound settings, first shot drop off compensation (FSDO), and a few other finer adjustments. In my experience, I've found it performs admirably. It is technically waterproof and can be (BUT NOT RECOMMENDED) used underwater! The infrared eyes work great to prevent chops, and the ease of use make this an awesome board. It takes maybe 10 minutes to learn all of it's ins and outs. This board does eat batteries though. If you play a lot of paintball, I highly recommend going to gog's website and picking up some rechargeable batteries. They may seem expensive at first, but they will pay for themselves in a short period of time. Energizer and Duracell sell their batteries as "9 volt" when they really start at 8.4 volts, and quickly taper off. Those batteries are also about 200mAh. The rechargeable ones from gog are both TRUE 9.0v, and 700mAh. They last a VERY long time, and can be recharged quickly. Also, maha power makes some 9.6v nimh rechargeeables that i use for my extcy and pinokio.
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _

Now the good part. I took it upon myself to fully upgrade this gun. And i did. Here we go.

Violent series ball-bearing trigger- ($37) This was the most pressing for me. It eliminates side to side play, while feeling way nicer as well. It’s a fully delrin part, with a very rounded face, making walking the trigger amazing.

TechT L7 bolt- ($40) This really helps with the (already minimal) “kick” felt when firing. Also, you can get your dwell down a bit more with this bolt, helping air efficiency. The stock bolt weighs 32.9 grams, and the L7 weighs 7.1 grams. AND since the bolt is the only moving part in the gun, this contributes a 78.4% reduction in moving mass! This means “smoother”, lower pressure shooting! Great upgrade.

360 QEV ($25) The 4mm 360 quick-exhaust valve helps by far the most with dwell. with this, I was able to get the dwell down to 13ms, thus saving gas and increasing the cycle rate. This is one of the most popular upgrades to the gun, and many believe it should be stock.

Planet Eclipse OOPS2 asa- ($40) This was a must. It allowed me to run macroline, and is a whole lot nicer than the stock. It’s very smooth on-off action is great when airing up or purging. The fitting also comes out the front of the asa so it allowed for a straighter marcoline run. As a bonus its rail mounted, and comes with a rail. I flipped mine around so its a drop back, and now its nicer for my 6'7'' frame.

Macroline- ($15) steel braid is durable, yes, but i prefer macroline for it’s ease of maintenance. you can disconnect the tubing from the fitting in a matter of seconds, and do whatever you need to do. I used black fittings because they’re so nice-looking!

Virtue lazer eyes ($25) this is absolutely the most overpriced upgrade of them all, as well as probably the most un-necessary. They are very nice to have when doing any sort of troubleshooting (not that this ever happens with this gun!). Also they are 25% more efficient than the stock eyes, which helps with the battery life problem.

snap screws ($5)- you can get these off of gog’s website. basically they’re just little knobs for the rubber grips to sit on so you dont have to pull out your allen key set every time you want to swap batteries.

16in Freak barrel kit- ($150) the barrel is the only thing that affects accuracy, and therefore I did not skimp. This also increases efficiency dramatically, quiets your shot, and shoots really tight groups. Oh, and i got the 16’’ because I’m tall and i like a longer setup. (same reason I have A Ninja 77ci)

Virtue board- ($50) a pretty unnecessary upgrade because the blackheart is already really nice. I got it because you can uncap it for whenever you want to impress someone lol. Also I’ve noticed it is better on battery life as well. Don’t buy a board for your eXTCy unless you find a spanking deal on one.

CONCLUSION:
I set out to (make) my first gun. I have succeeded! I FREAKING LOVE THIS THING. It’s my baby and has served me very well after a couple of cases. I have not chopped a single ball. It is very efficient for a mid range spoolie (9 pods after all upgrades). Very quiet and polite shot. Very little barrel rise (literally nonexistent when playing). Very reliable. Very easy to maintain; just use gog’s gr33se or else you’ll void their warranty! Very simple programming. Very good looking. Very comfortable to hold. Plays in all weather. I am extremely pleased with my choice and guard it out on the field closely lest somebody steal my baby! It is no longer an eXTCy, I call it my ePITOMe!

SETUP:
GOG eXTCy Fully upgraded
Pinokio
Ninja dura 77ci
JT proflex

Thanks for reading this long-winded review. I intended to put all the information I couldn't find so now others can know!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
GOG Paintball eXTCy For the price, it's a great entry level marker. I got mine from a great guy on the ****** forums. He took wonderful care of it and upgraded the hell out of it! Mine was pretty much fully up'd:...
Report this review to a moderator   #44420
gsavone
 
gsavone's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Ottawa, Canada
gsavone has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
gsavone has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Price, looks, efficiency, board.
Cons: consistency
For the price, it's a great entry level marker. I got mine from a great guy on the ****** forums. He took wonderful care of it and upgraded the hell out of it!
Mine was pretty much fully up'd: Clamping feed neck, techt bolt, virtue eyes, UL barrel (later got a freak kit) and a different body kit. It took a bit of getting used to the board with its sort of confusing board. That being said the board is amazing for the price with its 12 odd modes.

I have NEVER broken paint ever. It's very soft, pretty quiet for a paintball marker and is a good weight. Not much else you want from an entry level marker! I haven't had any problems with it at all. The only issue I ever had was if you twist the on/off asa too far, you can strip the oring inside. You can also twist the asa while playing and de-gas the gun.

Other than that, I absolutely recommend this gun. The price and all the options you get with this gun makes it perfect for any player looking to sling paint down the field. Have a good one, and pick up one of these!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
GOG Paintball eXTCy I really like this marker even with the few issues I have experienced that were really just QC issues with GOG. First the Box it comes in is a full plastic carrying case with handle. This was a very...
Report this review to a moderator   #51305
Mrkite42
 
Mrkite42's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Oklahoma City
Mrkite42 is playing at Living Legends VII
Mrkite42 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Mrkite42 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Mrkite42 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $280.00
Pros: well thought out marker
Cons: GOG's QC
I really like this marker even with the few issues I have experienced that were really just QC issues with GOG.

First the Box it comes in is a full plastic carrying case with handle. This was a very welcome surprise when it was handed to me at the store.

I am currently using a 48/3000 HPA and I am not running back to refill. This is nice as the field I play on has a couple long walks.

The stock barrel is great. Strate consistent shots and I feel for my weekend fun play that I do not need to replace it.

The blackhart board is ready for anything you want. 12 modes and fine tuning for shot limits.

I took GOG's word that if you buy the Extcy you will want the Techt L7 bolt (odd as they make the firebolt) and a QEV. I added the cost in when I bought the marker knowing it should be spent but used it stock first. The Extcy is much better with the L7 and QEV. Much lower dwell and even better air consumption. You must buy the GOG QEV as it is a different size then the standard.

The ASA has a screw on/off that is nice.

The regulator is extremely easy to set and seems to be consistent. The braided line from the ASA to the Regulator is complained about a lot but I can find no issues with it. It might fray eventually but is massively durable.

Now for the QC issues that GOG seems to be having. The front banjo barb on my Extcy was not molded properly and when it was out of the marker it was easy to tell. This was replaced and it is working great. I have also seen several new buys that needed immediate repair. I dismissed this initially but when mine was non op out of the box new I think that they are true.

I hope this helps someone
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
GOG Paintball eXTCy When I first got this, I still had a broken leg, so all i could really do is practice my trigger finger with it. But when I was all healed up, I hopped on down to my local field, and gassed it up....
Report this review to a moderator   #59889
tgramith11
 
tgramith11's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Chicago
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $199.99
Pros: Quiet, little/no kick, consistent, efficient
Cons: solenoid was broken when I first got it.
When I first got this, I still had a broken leg, so all i could really do is practice my trigger finger with it. But when I was all healed up, I hopped on down to my local field, and gassed it up. Huh, boy was I upset. It started leaking from the solenoid. I could still play with it, but I was really bummed out, so I didn't play as well. I contacted GoG and they hooked me up with a new blackheart board AND solenoid! Double whammy! (But I had to send the other board and solenoid back) Gassed it up again and there were no leaks, and so I started with the select fire mode. I started with semi, worked fine, three shot burst, shot great, full auto... this thing shot ropes! This gun is quiet, consistent, has little to no kick, and shoots great overall. This gun also has upgrades, such as the 360 QEV, TechT bolt, Virture eyes and board, Violent Series trigger, different ASA's and hundreds of barrels to choose from (Ion threads only!) You get what you pay for with this gun, and even more! Like I said before, you can upgrade the crap out of this gun with the hundreds of upgrades that are available. This gun is also tough as nails. I've put this gun through hell and still works like brand new, going through mud and rain and snow and all that mother nature has in plan for me The eXTCy also performs extremely well in any environment, and works great for woodsball, speedball, etc... You just cant go wrong with this gun. The reason I gave it 4 stars for appearance is because I don't really like the steel braided line. I'd much prefer a macroline, even better, a "gas through grip" feature. I do like, however, the interchangeable frame color. It's a pain in the butt to do, but you can make some pretty cool colour combinations with it.
So in conclusion, if you are deciding to get an entry level tournament style marker, get this! You may have to go through the trouble I had to go through of getting a new board and everything, but in the end, if you decide to upgrade the crap out of this, you have a really nice, efficient, smooth-shooting, tournament grade gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
GOG Paintball eXTCy If you're a rec player looking for a great gun you won't outgrow fast then the Extcy is a great option. There are only a few upgrades for it, and most of them are pretty limited in effect, but from...
Report this review to a moderator   #39570
Remyrw
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hartford, CT
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $249.00
Pros: High value
Cons: limited upgrade paths
If you're a rec player looking for a great gun you won't outgrow fast then the Extcy is a great option. There are only a few upgrades for it, and most of them are pretty limited in effect, but from the box it's already great for rec play, even if you're playing against guys with high end stuff.

Mine has been very reliable and not given me any reason to complain. The stock barrel wasn't bad but I did notice an improvement with an Invert Nightstick that was a significant overbore for my field's paint. The stock barrel was a similar bore, so I put the improvement down to the barrel. As someone who hasn't played in years and years, the stock barrel was remarkably accurate compared to what I remember, so I wouldn't mark it as a negative, just an area you can upgrade for noticeable gains. (eta - I'm going to get a small diameter barrel to better suit the paint I use and will report if there's any major change related to the gun not just the barrel. I expect I'll just see a little more accuracy and efficiency)

The eyes mean you can run a cheapo hopper and not risk outshooting your hopper and breaking paint. I've only put about six cases through it so far but not a single break. I normally shoot Empire Custom Blend and Marbalizer. Obviously higher end guns do the same, but at the $250 and below mark it's worth pointing that out. It significantly improves the enjoyment level when you aren't fighting with your marker.

I originally got mine with the Proto Primo hopper and while inexpensive and fun, the gun definitely deserves a faster hopper. You don't need a Rotor, at least a decent agitation hopper would let you do lanes and reduce the odds of not having a ball ready to go when you need it.

I give it a 3 for appearance just because it's kind of plain looking for a speedball style marker. Even if you get one of the brighter body colors it's not going to win awards for appearances. On the other hand, it's often mistaken for some higher end guns, and it doesn't look bad.

Personally I think everyone playing rec ball more than a few times a year should consider these if they don't have something better. The Invert Mini is nice, but more money and more cramped. The Extcy might not be the perfect marker for everyone coming into the sport but it's worth a look if $250 is in your budget for the marker and $300 isn't. I'd rather spend $250 on this and put the extra $50 into a better mask or more paint, honestly. I have yet to feel like the marker itself was the limiting factor in my play.

--eta--Because of the obvious comparison to the Mini I want to add that the eXtcy is well designed for larger hands. I've got average adult male hands and the gun has plenty of room for me. In my opinion it is probably too large for younger players with child sized hands or women with smaller than average hands.
I'll also mention that the 20k rounds per battery is pretty optimistic, but maybe if you just shoot non stop in one session it would be true. I got to around 13k before it started acting up. I was NOT removing it between weekends though, and I've read that the blackheart board (like many) does drain batteries slightly even when "off". These boards are never completely off since there's no mechanical switch cutting the circuit.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
GOG Paintball eXTCy I owned the gog extcy for a short period of time...not a lot to say about it...I found it very unreliable and gaudy....bolt doesn't fire all that fast...a lot of better markers out there to choose...
Report this review to a moderator   #40569
evil balla 21
Boston Paintball
evil balla 21's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: *508*
evil balla 21 is playing at Living Legends IX
 is playing at Living Legends Dreaded
evil balla 21 plays in the APPA beginner division
evil balla 21 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: nice design
Cons: reliability
I owned the gog extcy for a short period of time...not a lot to say about it...I found it very unreliable and gaudy....bolt doesn't fire all that fast...a lot of better markers out there to choose from....there is a lot thry can fix on this to make it a better marker....just my 2 cents on the matter....
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
GOG Paintball eXTCy The gog extcy is a good marker for the price. There has been some issues with it but was fixed by gog paintball when i sent it it. The performance of the marker is good.
Report this review to a moderator   #39397
cianchetti
 
Join Date: May 2013
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: features
Cons: issues
The gog extcy is a good marker for the price. There has been some issues with it but was fixed by gog paintball when i sent it it. The performance of the marker is good.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
GOG Paintball eXTCy Picked up a GOG eXTCY from ANSgear about 18 months ago. Good packaging, decent looks, awful reliability. Out of the maybe 15 times I attempted to use it, it worked maybe 2 times. Solenoid broke,...
Report this review to a moderator   #70633
Alpha Six
 
Alpha Six's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Southern California
Alpha Six has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Alpha Six has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $215.00
Pros: Shoots great when it works
Cons: It never works
Picked up a GOG eXTCY from ANSgear about 18 months ago. Good packaging, decent looks, awful reliability. Out of the maybe 15 times I attempted to use it, it worked maybe 2 times. Solenoid broke, anti-chop eyes were installed backwards, microswitch failed. I sent it to GOG multiple times to have it fixed and it kept breaking after I got it back. Take my advice and save your money. This gun is an absolute piece of $hit. Save your money and but a PE Etha.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
GOG Paintball eXTCy Picked up a used one for cheap and have regretted it ever since. The thing is about as finicky as a marker can get. When it works, it's great. But sadly you'll spend more time maintaining it then you...
Report this review to a moderator   #60233
basqueo
 
basqueo's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Boise ID
basqueo has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: 20bps
Cons: Finicky
Picked up a used one for cheap and have regretted it ever since. The thing is about as finicky as a marker can get. When it works, it's great. But sadly you'll spend more time maintaining it then you will play with it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
GOG Paintball eXTCy I've had my Extcy for a while now I actually like the marker for the price. I'm pretty satisfied that I can play with people who are shooting $1k markers and I can be right behind them. The gun is...
Report this review to a moderator   #42065
Classic One
 
Classic One's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Tempe
Classic One plays in the APPA D5 division
Classic One has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Classic One has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Good Value, Can keep up with high ends, Easy board
Cons: A little ugly, Solenoid, Plastic
I've had my Extcy for a while now I actually like the marker for the price. I'm pretty satisfied that I can play with people who are shooting $1k markers and I can be right behind them. The gun is pretty simple, quiet, and smooth.

On the other hand it is pretty ugly in my opinion. Often mistaken for an ion. My solenoid blew so I have had to order another one. The steel braided line doesn't really bother me, but it just makes it look very inferior. The barrel is just fine in my opinion.

Overall for $250 new I would recommend this. It's definitely not a high end, so keep that in mind.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review