Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
GOG Paintball - eXTCy Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
GOG Paintball
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (724) 520-8690
Fax: (724) 539-5555
Email: kshort@gogpaintball.com
Website: http://www.gogpaintball.com
The GoG Extcy is a quiet well shooting gun with a durable frame. It has a blackheart board that has 12 different modes including semi, full auto, and even Billy Ball.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $249.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
 Reviews: 17
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  18%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  82%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
GOG Paintball - eXTCy Reviews
GOG Paintball eXTCy Okay first things first. I spend months of research on things like this before purchasing anything. For instance, i was going to build myself a computer, and i spent close to 3 months before...
Report this review to a moderator   #43284
bag681
Howdy damnit!
bag681's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Austin, TX
bag681 has been published on the PbNation Youtube Channel
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Amazing value, smooth, quiet, efficient, upgrade
Cons: battery life. not free
Okay first things first. I spend months of research on things like this before purchasing anything. For instance, i was going to build myself a computer, and i spent close to 3 months before purchasing a part. This was no different. I was in the situation of finding the "Best sub-$300 paintball gun on the market"
So I started research. I looked at the mini, etha, crossover, rail, and eXTCy. I made, charts, graphs and excel sheets. I read countless reviews. Finally i decided my plan. I was going to buy this gun and upgrade the crap out of it. For me, upgrading is the most fun you can have with something. Buying parts to make it that much smoother, quieter, more efficient, ect.. I know this is basically "what the ion should have been", but i wanted to go above and beyond that. many people will say, "well if you're going to buy a $250 gun and put another $300 into it, you might as well just buy something thats $600!" To this i say, WHAT’S THE FUN IN THAT??? Upgrading a gun makes it feel truly "yours". Okay enough of that spiel...

I'm now going to talk about each aspect of the gun in turn.

Barrel- The stock barrel is a .693 13 inch, ported, ion threaded barrel. There's three rows of porting with 7 ports each. The boring quality is pretty darn nice. I'd say it's on-par with something like a CP one piece. Oh, and no matter what color you get it will always be a dust-black barrel.

feedneck- The stock feedneck is a hard-to-remove, allen key clamping, ion XE threaded feedneck. It rises 1 and (1/8) inches above the top of the body. It fits my pinokio snugly, and I've had no problems with it. You should know that if you want to upgrade it, you must really wrench on this thing really hard and possibly need to apply heat because it ships from gog locktited in place.

regulator- The stock regulator is the same exact regulator that is on the Luxe (a $1500 gun)! it has been very consistent for me, and its placement allows me (with very large hands i might add) to grip it fully, without cramping my thumb in between it and the trigger frame. The straight fitting is on the very bottom, allowing for a clean run from the asa (not upwards curved). One should note that if you need to disassemble the regulator for any reason, you will need a pair of .038'' (1mm) retaining ring pliers. Just a heads up. I got mine for $10 on amazon from Klein Tools.

asa- the stock asa is a dust black, knob-on-off, direct mounted asa. The fitting comes out the left side, and it is connected to the reg via a 4'' piece of steel braided tubing. The stock asa threads are pretty sharp, and can cut your tank o-rings if you're not careful. Just hold the gun so the asa is vertically facing up, then screw the tank in slowly. then screw in the knob until it's gassed up. Also, don't screw the asa know ALL the way in, because it can shred a little o-ring in there. An easy fix is just to screw it in until you hear no more leaking air, then screw it in another 1/2 of a turn and you're good to go.

trigger- the stock trigger is actually not so great. It's a plastic, pin-mounted, wave-style trigger. Many people consider this to be the eXTCy's weakest point. I agree, but a new player would defiantly be A-OKAY using it. There is some side to side play, but it really isn't horrible. It is two way adjustable (pre-travel and post-travel).

board- The stock board is the blackheart board. It has 12 modes, which give a wide variety of choices to use. You can adjust the dwell, BPS cap (coarse and fine at up to 20 BPS except uncapped semi), eye settings, burst count, rebound settings, first shot drop off compensation (FSDO), and a few other finer adjustments. In my experience, I've found it performs admirably. It is technically waterproof and can be (BUT NOT RECOMMENDED) used underwater! The infrared eyes work great to prevent chops, and the ease of use make this an awesome board. It takes maybe 10 minutes to learn all of it's ins and outs. This board does eat batteries though. If you play a lot of paintball, I highly recommend going to gog's website and picking up some rechargeable batteries. They may seem expensive at first, but they will pay for themselves in a short period of time. Energizer and Duracell sell their batteries as "9 volt" when they really start at 8.4 volts, and quickly taper off. Those batteries are also about 200mAh. The rechargeable ones from gog are both TRUE 9.0v, and 700mAh. They last a VERY long time, and can be recharged quickly. Also, maha power makes some 9.6v nimh rechargeeables that i use for my extcy and pinokio.
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _

Now the good part. I took it upon myself to fully upgrade this gun. And i did. Here we go.

Violent series ball-bearing trigger- ($37) This was the most pressing for me. It eliminates side to side play, while feeling way nicer as well. It’s a fully delrin part, with a very rounded face, making walking the trigger amazing.

TechT L7 bolt- ($40) This really helps with the (already minimal) “kick” felt when firing. Also, you can get your dwell down a bit more with this bolt, helping air efficiency. The stock bolt weighs 32.9 grams, and the L7 weighs 7.1 grams. AND since the bolt is the only moving part in the gun, this contributes a 78.4% reduction in moving mass! This means “smoother”, lower pressure shooting! Great upgrade.

360 QEV ($25) The 4mm 360 quick-exhaust valve helps by far the most with dwell. with this, I was able to get the dwell down to 13ms, thus saving gas and increasing the cycle rate. This is one of the most popular upgrades to the gun, and many believe it should be stock.

Planet Eclipse OOPS2 asa- ($40) This was a must. It allowed me to run macroline, and is a whole lot nicer than the stock. It’s very smooth on-off action is great when airing up or purging. The fitting also comes out the front of the asa so it allowed for a straighter marcoline run. As a bonus its rail mounted, and comes with a rail. I flipped mine around so its a drop back, and now its nicer for my 6'7'' frame.

Macroline- ($15) steel braid is durable, yes, but i prefer macroline for it’s ease of maintenance. you can disconnect the tubing from the fitting in a matter of seconds, and do whatever you need to do. I used black fittings because they’re so nice-looking!

Virtue lazer eyes ($25) this is absolutely the most overpriced upgrade of them all, as well as probably the most un-necessary. They are very nice to have when doing any sort of troubleshooting (not that this ever happens with this gun!). Also they are 25% more efficient than the stock eyes, which helps with the battery life problem.

snap screws ($5)- you can get these off of gog’s website. basically they’re just little knobs for the rubber grips to sit on so you dont have to pull out your allen key set every time you want to swap batteries.

16in Freak barrel kit- ($150) the barrel is the only thing that affects accuracy, and therefore I did not skimp. This also increases efficiency dramatically, quiets your shot, and shoots really tight groups. Oh, and i got the 16’’ because I’m tall and i like a longer setup. (same reason I have A Ninja 77ci)

Virtue board- ($50) a pretty unnecessary upgrade because the blackheart is already really nice. I got it because you can uncap it for whenever you want to impress someone lol. Also I’ve noticed it is better on battery life as well. Don’t buy a board for your eXTCy unless you find a spanking deal on one.

CONCLUSION:
I set out to (make) my first gun. I have succeeded! I FREAKING LOVE THIS THING. It’s my baby and has served me very well after a couple of cases. I have not chopped a single ball. It is very efficient for a mid range spoolie (9 pods after all upgrades). Very quiet and polite shot. Very little barrel rise (literally nonexistent when playing). Very reliable. Very easy to maintain; just use gog’s gr33se or else you’ll void their warranty! Very simple programming. Very good looking. Very comfortable to hold. Plays in all weather. I am extremely pleased with my choice and guard it out on the field closely lest somebody steal my baby! It is no longer an eXTCy, I call it my ePITOMe!

SETUP:
GOG eXTCy Fully upgraded
Pinokio
Ninja dura 77ci
JT proflex

Thanks for reading this long-winded review. I intended to put all the information I couldn't find so now others can know!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
GOG Paintball eXTCy For the price, it's a great entry level marker. I got mine from a great guy on the ****** forums. He took wonderful care of it and upgraded the hell out of it! Mine was pretty much fully up'd:...
Report this review to a moderator   #44420
gsavone
 
gsavone's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Ottawa, Canada
gsavone has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
gsavone has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Price, looks, efficiency, board.
Cons: consistency
For the price, it's a great entry level marker. I got mine from a great guy on the ****** forums. He took wonderful care of it and upgraded the hell out of it!
Mine was pretty much fully up'd: Clamping feed neck, techt bolt, virtue eyes, UL barrel (later got a freak kit) and a different body kit. It took a bit of getting used to the board with its sort of confusing board. That being said the board is amazing for the price with its 12 odd modes.

I have NEVER broken paint ever. It's very soft, pretty quiet for a paintball marker and is a good weight. Not much else you want from an entry level marker! I haven't had any problems with it at all. The only issue I ever had was if you twist the on/off asa too far, you can strip the oring inside. You can also twist the asa while playing and de-gas the gun.

Other than that, I absolutely recommend this gun. The price and all the options you get with this gun makes it perfect for any player looking to sling paint down the field. Have a good one, and pick up one of these!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
GOG Paintball eXTCy If you're a rec player looking for a great gun you won't outgrow fast then the Extcy is a great option. There are only a few upgrades for it, and most of them are pretty limited in effect, but from...
Report this review to a moderator   #39570
Remyrw
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hartford, CT
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $249.00
Pros: High value
Cons: limited upgrade paths
If you're a rec player looking for a great gun you won't outgrow fast then the Extcy is a great option. There are only a few upgrades for it, and most of them are pretty limited in effect, but from the box it's already great for rec play, even if you're playing against guys with high end stuff.

Mine has been very reliable and not given me any reason to complain. The stock barrel wasn't bad but I did notice an improvement with an Invert Nightstick that was a significant overbore for my field's paint. The stock barrel was a similar bore, so I put the improvement down to the barrel. As someone who hasn't played in years and years, the stock barrel was remarkably accurate compared to what I remember, so I wouldn't mark it as a negative, just an area you can upgrade for noticeable gains. (eta - I'm going to get a small diameter barrel to better suit the paint I use and will report if there's any major change related to the gun not just the barrel. I expect I'll just see a little more accuracy and efficiency)

The eyes mean you can run a cheapo hopper and not risk outshooting your hopper and breaking paint. I've only put about six cases through it so far but not a single break. I normally shoot Empire Custom Blend and Marbalizer. Obviously higher end guns do the same, but at the $250 and below mark it's worth pointing that out. It significantly improves the enjoyment level when you aren't fighting with your marker.

I originally got mine with the Proto Primo hopper and while inexpensive and fun, the gun definitely deserves a faster hopper. You don't need a Rotor, at least a decent agitation hopper would let you do lanes and reduce the odds of not having a ball ready to go when you need it.

I give it a 3 for appearance just because it's kind of plain looking for a speedball style marker. Even if you get one of the brighter body colors it's not going to win awards for appearances. On the other hand, it's often mistaken for some higher end guns, and it doesn't look bad.

Personally I think everyone playing rec ball more than a few times a year should consider these if they don't have something better. The Invert Mini is nice, but more money and more cramped. The Extcy might not be the perfect marker for everyone coming into the sport but it's worth a look if $250 is in your budget for the marker and $300 isn't. I'd rather spend $250 on this and put the extra $50 into a better mask or more paint, honestly. I have yet to feel like the marker itself was the limiting factor in my play.

--eta--Because of the obvious comparison to the Mini I want to add that the eXtcy is well designed for larger hands. I've got average adult male hands and the gun has plenty of room for me. In my opinion it is probably too large for younger players with child sized hands or women with smaller than average hands.
I'll also mention that the 20k rounds per battery is pretty optimistic, but maybe if you just shoot non stop in one session it would be true. I got to around 13k before it started acting up. I was NOT removing it between weekends though, and I've read that the blackheart board (like many) does drain batteries slightly even when "off". These boards are never completely off since there's no mechanical switch cutting the circuit.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
GOG Paintball eXTCy I owned the gog extcy for a short period of time...not a lot to say about it...I found it very unreliable and gaudy....bolt doesn't fire all that fast...a lot of better markers out there to choose...
Report this review to a moderator   #40569
evil balla 21
Bay State Rebels
evil balla 21's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MASS
evil balla 21 plays in the APPA D5 division
evil balla 21 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
evil balla 21 supports DLX Technology
evil balla 21 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: nice design
Cons: reliability
I owned the gog extcy for a short period of time...not a lot to say about it...I found it very unreliable and gaudy....bolt doesn't fire all that fast...a lot of better markers out there to choose from....there is a lot thry can fix on this to make it a better marker....just my 2 cents on the matter....
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
GOG Paintball eXTCy The gog extcy is a good marker for the price. There has been some issues with it but was fixed by gog paintball when i sent it it. The performance of the marker is good.
Report this review to a moderator   #39397
cianchetti
 
Join Date: May 2013
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: features
Cons: issues
The gog extcy is a good marker for the price. There has been some issues with it but was fixed by gog paintball when i sent it it. The performance of the marker is good.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
GOG Paintball eXTCy I've had my Extcy for a while now I actually like the marker for the price. I'm pretty satisfied that I can play with people who are shooting $1k markers and I can be right behind them. The gun is...
Report this review to a moderator   #42065
Classic One
 
Classic One's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Tempe
Classic One plays in the APPA D5 division
Classic One has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Classic One has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Good Value, Can keep up with high ends, Easy board
Cons: A little ugly, Solenoid, Plastic
I've had my Extcy for a while now I actually like the marker for the price. I'm pretty satisfied that I can play with people who are shooting $1k markers and I can be right behind them. The gun is pretty simple, quiet, and smooth.

On the other hand it is pretty ugly in my opinion. Often mistaken for an ion. My solenoid blew so I have had to order another one. The steel braided line doesn't really bother me, but it just makes it look very inferior. The barrel is just fine in my opinion.

Overall for $250 new I would recommend this. It's definitely not a high end, so keep that in mind.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
GOG Paintball eXTCy I bought my eXTCy from ANSGear.com and it was better than I was expecting it to be. I was sure since GOG was the reincarnation of Smart Parts that the eXTCy would be the new ION. Seeing as the ION...
Report this review to a moderator   #39816
Crobinson89
 
Crobinson89's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mississippi
Crobinson89 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Crobinson89 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $249.99
Pros: Competes with higher end markers
Cons: Limited upgrades available
I bought my eXTCy from ANSGear.com and it was better than I was expecting it to be. I was sure since GOG was the reincarnation of Smart Parts that the eXTCy would be the new ION. Seeing as the ION was a great speedball gun with the right upgrades I was sure this gun would be too. After adding the Firebolt, 360 QEV, Violent Trigger, and a Dye Ultralite Barrel this gun is in my opinion better than the Proto Rail and the Invert Mini. The gun already comes with the BlackHeart board, on/off ASA, and the trusted Max-Flo Reg. It is by far more efficient and the added performance of the Black Heart board is unmatched. I HIGHLY recommend the GOG eXTCy to any player beginner or higher. This gun is not your typical rec. players gun like a lot of people have claimed. This gun is every bit a tournament gun as the Reflex and the Axe Pro. A common misconception about markers is the higher the price the better the gun will make the player. FALSE! A good player can win with ANY gun. This gun is proof. I give this gun 9/10 only because the body is plastic and no company has made aluminum kits yet...
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
GOG Paintball eXTCy I'm fairly new to paintball and I did a lot of research before making my purchase on this gun. Overall the reviews online have been great for this gun so I expected excellent value for the price...
Report this review to a moderator   #44334
DjPLaTiNuMRcZ
 
DjPLaTiNuMRcZ's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dallas, TX
DjPLaTiNuMRcZ is playing at Living Legends VII
DjPLaTiNuMRcZ owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
DjPLaTiNuMRcZ has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
DjPLaTiNuMRcZ has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $189.00
Pros: Great Price For Performance, Blackheart Modes,Feel
Cons: Battery Consumption, Cheap Look, Barrel Scuffs
I'm fairly new to paintball and I did a lot of research before making my purchase on this gun. Overall the reviews online have been great for this gun so I expected excellent value for the price point.

First impressions, unboxing was very nice and clean looking. Slightly on the cheaper looking side if you ask me (mine is the black/blue). I think I would have preferred the black/black setup but nothing big to complain about. The gun comes complete with a protective case, complete set of tools you need, and a rebuild o-ring kit.

First use, I went out to Official Paintball Games of Texas with a brand new Energizer battery to play 4 hours. The settings on the gun were very easy to navigate with the manual and played with the Select Fire Mode (switch between semi, 3-shot burst, and full auto with the click of the power button). The marker did great and was very accurate. I didn't play in full auto because I didn't want it to be unfair for everyone but did prefer the 3-shot burst.

The only issue I ran into was by the 4th round of refilling tank and paint I noticed the gun started sputtering (sounded like small leaks inside the bolt area). I was a little upset leaving knowing I might have got 7 games out of a brand new gun without having to replace some o-rings (at least that was my initial thought).

Come to find out they require a 9v batter with pretty decent power levels to insure the solenoid is able to fully cycle. The leaking sound I heard was actually because of a battery that was drained below the level it needed to perform.

Overall impression, since I've only had one full day out playing with it I'm not sure if I will run into that leaking problem again but from reading the reviews on this gun, it seems like these do run into small leaking problems like this all the time. If battery consumption is my only complaint, I love this gun for the price. If it does tend to become an ongoing problem then I might think differently but overall very good value for the performance you get from it. The only other small issue I ran into was the stock barrel tends to scratch pretty easily so if you're looking to keep that sucker scratch free, good luck!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
GOG Paintball eXTCy I had my extcy for only a little while because mine constantly had leaking problems and efficiency problems. I also noticed that the gun vibrated so much that the screws started to fall off. The...
Report this review to a moderator   #55113
efry34
 
efry34's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Deerfield, IL
efry34 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $115.00
Pros: nice shot, quiet, waterproof
Cons: leakage, screws come loose, efficiency
I had my extcy for only a little while because mine constantly had leaking problems and efficiency problems. I also noticed that the gun vibrated so much that the screws started to fall off. The shot was decent I guess but the gun was way too unreliable. Every time I would air it up I would pray that today it wouldn't leak. Decent gun for $100 I guess.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
GOG Paintball eXTCy This is my first paintball gun. That being said I don't know a ton about other guns, but the GOG eXTCy is a fun reliable gun that I would recommend.
Report this review to a moderator   #56017
FixOrRepairDaily
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $160.00
Pros: Great starter for budget
Cons: Gets dirty really easily
This is my first paintball gun. That being said I don't know a ton about other guns, but the GOG eXTCy is a fun reliable gun that I would recommend.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review