Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Bob Long Technologies - Bob Long Insight Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Bob Long Technologies
11669 Highway 26
Mokelumne Hill, CA 95245

Phone: (209) 293-4440
Fax: (209) 293-4420
Email: techsupport@boblongdirect.com
Website: http://www.boblongdirect.com
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2013
 MSRP: $1,150.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
 Reviews: 35
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  34%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  54%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  9%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Bob Long Technologies - Bob Long Insight Reviews
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight This gun shoots amazing...simply put. shoots a crazy straight stream of paint with no kick. easy to hold lanes with one hand. gun is also very simple and easy to take apart!!!!
Report this review to a moderator   #38756
CoW-TiPPiN-BaLLeR
═══_
CoW-TiPPiN-BaLLeR's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Monterey/Sac town
CoW-TiPPiN-BaLLeR has been a member for 10 years
CoW-TiPPiN-BaLLeR plays in the PSP
CoW-TiPPiN-BaLLeR plays in the NXL
CoW-TiPPiN-BaLLeR supports Pev's Paintball
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,100.00
Pros: amazing gun
Cons: none!!!
This gun shoots amazing...simply put. shoots a crazy straight stream of paint with no kick. easy to hold lanes with one hand. gun is also very simple and easy to take apart!!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight this thing is crazy i normally shoot 7 pods a game and this thing was able to get way more then that i had to start getting paint off the ground to shoot
Report this review to a moderator   #45409
codyman117
looking for a timmy
codyman117's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
codyman117 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
codyman117 supports Team VICIOUS
codyman117 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
codyman117 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: will shoot more paint then you can carry
Cons: needs to be lubed alot
this thing is crazy i normally shoot 7 pods a game and this thing was able to get way more then that i had to start getting paint off the ground to shoot
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight I recently just came back into the sport of paintball after about a 7 year absence. I was in the market for a new gun and all new gear. I ended up purchasing a brand new Insight NG and cant be...
Report this review to a moderator   #53665
i need a intimidator
R.I.P Jacob Espindola
i need a intimidator's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: 530 California
i need a intimidator has been a member for 10 years
i need a intimidator has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
i need a intimidator has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
i need a intimidator has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $850.00
Pros: Light,smooth,efficient,great value
Cons: Maybe a bit finicky?
I recently just came back into the sport of paintball after about a 7 year absence. I was in the market for a new gun and all new gear. I ended up purchasing a brand new Insight NG and cant be happier! The marker is Light, very efficient, comfy, and an amazing value. For $850 theres nothing that comes close to an Insight brand new. They compete against guns that cost 2x as much and are every bit as good. For just the price of an LV1 I bought my ENTIRE new set up. Literally everything I needed, even down to paint!

I have shot Bob Long guns since the Classic Timmy came out and Bob Longs factory is only about 2hrs from my house. I love his guns and how he runs his company. I will always have a BL gun in my stash of markers. He a great person to the paintball community. Not to mention he tries exceptionally hard to have everything made right here in the USA. He's one of the few who hasn't sold out for a higher profit!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight The insight in my opinion isn't that great looking of a gun, i don't like the ripper look on this gun but that is my opinion so what ever on that point, but this marker is by far my favorite marker...
Report this review to a moderator   #41874
icygrip
^rs
icygrip's avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Location: woodridge il
icygrip plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: light, efficient, quite
Cons: will be disused
The insight in my opinion isn't that great looking of a gun, i don't like the ripper look on this gun but that is my opinion so what ever on that point, but this marker is by far my favorite marker from blast that i have ever shoot. The insight does have some little things that bug me about it, but i believe that the over all performance of the gun and its value far out weighs the rest.

The insight has a nice stretched out feel like many high ends out there. It has the same feel as the g6r but is a nice slim single tube design. for me it just makes it that much easier to point down field.

First off this gun does not require a pressure tester! if you have owned a bob long gun before and you had serviced you gun the day before you may had changed the pressure of the regulators, this one only has a hpr regulator so you do not need a pressure tester. so any of you guys who had forgotten your pressure tester when going to the field you know the advantage of this, it is just one good thing about the gun compared to the other bob long guns.

Another good thing about the marker is that it is quite, i don't believe its as quite as a luxe or maybe a clone but it is quite, there is no poppy noise form this marker at all.

The marker is smooth as well once again it is not luxe level but then again it is several hundred dollars less. the marker fires very similar to a well tuned and broken in nt. once this marker is broken in i believe that it shoots better than what i just stated but, to have an idea it has a very similar shoot with the advantage of being gentile on paint. I shoot only high grade paint thru my insight and had never broken a ball. also this gun doesn't seem to have barrel rise or minimal rise, so it give you more a of straight shoot and no compensating for the barrel rising up while shooting like some marker out there. i hold all of my markers very loosely, so this just allows me to hold my marker even more as i wish.

The insight also has a great lcd or oled screen im not sure witch. the board is very easy to use and program. there is no curve to using and no searching for what you want to adjust if you ever needed to adjust something for those of you who have ever tried to program an ego or geo.

The marker also is very easy to maintain, the push button release is easy to use and the firing assembly comes apart easily. moving on from this point it seems that the tolerances have gotten much better! i use monkey poo on all of spools and it work on the insight with no issues as well. the regulator is also very easy to maintain if you ever need to work on it.

now moving on to the bad. The bolt needs needs to be tight. im not saying that everyone is an idiot and its always user error but it needs to be checked and the back screw in the back cap needs to be tight along with with bolt tip. blue lock tight isn't a bad idea for the back cap screw. i never had this issue with my insight but my team mate had to do this with his, also lock tighting your screws on your asa could be a good idea mine frequently came louse. Also there is the breech wear issue. this does not effect the performance at all but it is annoying when your new gun has a polished out breach. lastly im not a fan of the trigger the trigger general shape just isn't what i like for playing simi auto. The trigger also has alot of bounce and it can take a considerable amount of tinkering to get ride of the trigger bounce.

now saying everything i have about the insight i believe that it is an amazing paintball marker even more so for the price. it does have some things that bug me about it but i think they don't are easily over looked when you see how the marker performs and how great the marker feels in the hands. if you where to buy a bob long gun id say buy this one.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight picked up the bob long insight when it was released. had to try out this amazing marker. first impression. it is very light. next, it shoots crazy fast on the stock settings.. better have new...
Report this review to a moderator   #40992
jojo750
raza still sucks
jojo750's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
jojo750 has been a member for 10 years
jojo750 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
jojo750 owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $975.00
Pros: light and fast
Cons: no manual with marker
picked up the bob long insight when it was released. had to try out this amazing marker.
first impression. it is very light.
next, it shoots crazy fast on the stock settings.. better have new batteries in your hopper when shooting in semi.
efficiency is close to what was promised.
maintenance is a little on the tedious side. there is no manual included with the marker. a phone call to BLAST later, and i was told to check out youtube for videos on how to lube the bolt

few minutes watching video, and then taking apart the bolt. little slow at first to do. but easier once you do it a few times.

not my cup of tea for a marker. but if you are a bob long fan, this is the marker to get to keep your interest.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight The gun looks fantastic, shoots great, a little louder than some spools but it has its own unique sound that you come to enjoy as you are dropping your competition. Great air consumption. Cons-you...
Report this review to a moderator   #55329
jshipp8132
 
jshipp8132's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2014
jshipp8132 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $625.00
Pros: Rails
Cons: not much
The gun looks fantastic, shoots great, a little louder than some spools but it has its own unique sound that you come to enjoy as you are dropping your competition. Great air consumption.

Cons-you must must must make sure you are running low pressure on this, under 500psi or youre going to have problems. Before and after each day lube her like she's your favorite lady or she's gonna give you problems later.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight Not a reliable gun to have, has constant problems, isn't as efficient as people say and will spend more time broken in your gear bag than on the field. Worst gun I have owned by far, other than the...
Report this review to a moderator   #42352
kick me 230
R.I.P. ZJ
kick me 230's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tri-State
kick me 230 plays in the PSP
kick me 230 supports Cereal Killerz 2
kick me 230 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
kick me 230 supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: Smooth shooting
Cons: unreliable and very problematic
Not a reliable gun to have, has constant problems, isn't as efficient as people say and will spend more time broken in your gear bag than on the field. Worst gun I have owned by far, other than the fact that it shoots smooth when its working the gun is horrible.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight bought this gun used a while back. have nothing but good things to say about it. super easy to work on and great performer. and the milling is just incredible!
Report this review to a moderator   #43087
Oonlooz
Wut Wut
Oonlooz's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NoVA
Oonlooz is a Paintball photographer
Oonlooz supports Team VICIOUS
Oonlooz is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
Oonlooz is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $960.00
Pros: super reliable and easy to work on
Cons: resale value :(
bought this gun used a while back. have nothing but good things to say about it. super easy to work on and great performer. and the milling is just incredible!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight If you are concidering buying a Bob Long Insight used, and it is <$450, stop reading, and go buy it. The Insight has beautiful body milling, comfortable factory grips, ergonomic reg spacing,...
Report this review to a moderator   #59881
Team_ILLNatured
Running Hatchet Man
Team_ILLNatured's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Depew, NY(716)
Team_ILLNatured has been a member for 10 years
Team_ILLNatured owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Team_ILLNatured supports Team VICIOUS
Team_ILLNatured plays in the APPA D5 division
Team_ILLNatured is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: Lightweight, Macroless, toolless bolt
Cons: Toolless bolt removal sometimes difficult
If you are concidering buying a Bob Long Insight used, and it is <$450, stop reading, and go buy it.

The Insight has beautiful body milling, comfortable factory grips, ergonomic reg spacing, Toolless bolt removal, Factory OLED, and is Macroless...all of the features of a Luxe OLED, but a better price, and a much better and more efficient marker. Also a bonus, it DOES NOT TALK!

Pros:
- Bob Long's FANTASTIC customer service
- Doesnt talk
- Comfortable grips
- Ergonomic Grip spacing
- Tool-less bolt rermoval
- HIGHLY EFFICIENT
- Macroless

Cons:
- Button to remove Tool-less bolt is sometimes difficult to depress.
- My bolt head snapped off my ramshaft, but I called BLAST the next day, and I had a replacement bolt and ramshaft in my hands 2 days later

10/10 go buy a Insight. if you know anything about paintball, you'll love the Insight
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight iv had my insight for a few weeks now played in a tourny with it, i abused it (only because we had quick turn around games ) shot boat loads of paint through it (5+ that weekend) the gun did not miss...
Report this review to a moderator   #40029
thetaxi
im back
thetaxi's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: lafayette la
thetaxi owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
thetaxi supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: shoots amazing
Cons: none so far
iv had my insight for a few weeks now played in a tourny with it, i abused it (only because we had quick turn around games ) shot boat loads of paint through it (5+ that weekend) the gun did not miss a beat impressive because there were a lot of issues with spool gun that weekend (humidity made o-rings swell)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Add New Review