Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Bob Long Technologies - Bob Long Insight Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Bob Long Technologies
11669 Highway 26
Mokelumne Hill, CA 95245

Phone: (209) 293-4440
Fax: (209) 293-4420
Email: techsupport@boblongdirect.com
Website: http://www.boblongdirect.com
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2013
 MSRP: $1,150.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
 Reviews: 24
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  29%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  58%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  4%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Bob Long Technologies - Bob Long Insight Reviews
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight The Bob Long Insight NG is a very well put together, it is has amazing milling, it is crazy light at a little over a pound, Tooless bolt removal which is very nice, very easy to clean and maintain....
Report this review to a moderator   #50505
a43
Fight to Win
a43's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Jose
a43 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
a43 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: Reliable, attractive milling, tooless bolt removal
Cons: Constant updating, low resale value
The Bob Long Insight NG is a very well put together, it is has amazing milling, it is crazy light at a little over a pound, Tooless bolt removal which is very nice, very easy to clean and maintain. The Board is easy to program to what you want it to do as it is an OLED, the Frenzy software has some kinks in the earlier versions, but its progressively better with each iteration. The 2c eyes it comes with are decent, but the 4c eyes are miles better. It has a very quiet sound signature, and the shot is extremely smooth.

There are some upgrades that BL will do for you, like sending you the latest o-rings, you can get additional sizes of barrel backs, but you have to call in, it isn't readily available off the website.

The low resale value is intriguing, as It really is a very good marker, people just seem to dump them... They really should be in the 700-800 dollar range used. Recommended pick up
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight Visual and Tactile Impressions: I was really looking forward to getting this marker in my hands and it did not disappoint. It has the same grip frame of the Victory so it is a tried and tested design...
Report this review to a moderator   #42904
Big Papa Pink
High-end Aficionado
Big Papa Pink's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NoCO
Big Papa Pink is BST Legit
Big Papa Pink owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Big Papa Pink has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Big Papa Pink supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,150.00
Pros: Light, Smooth, Quiet, Efficient
Cons: Maintenance is Mandatory
Visual and Tactile Impressions:
I was really looking forward to getting this marker in my hands and it did not disappoint. It has the same grip frame of the Victory so it is a tried and tested design that I find very comfortable. As with the Victories, the edges of the trigger frame, and back strap are rounded, the milling is elegant and refined. with the same wrap around grips of the newer Ripper and Vcom victories, it is a very comfortable marker to hold. The molded rubber is firm yet grippy and hold up better than the grips of the Ego 11 and Geo 3 over time. The milling over the rest of the marker is just as well done, but I'm not 100% sure it is my taste. It retains the same great feed neck of the Victories but looks a little more out of place than it did on the Victory. The front reg is extended to house the HPR and Schrader Valve and with the edition of an Exalt regulator grip is really comfortable to hold. Unlike the Victory, the Insight does not have a LPR, and therefore it is a shorter marker which really means the Schrader valve can not be housed in the main body, so it is the upper portion of the HPR and it works really well. All the parts that make up the main body are well milled and fit really nicely together; all have been rounded and Bob took the extra time toi get the milling right and finished. It is probably the second lightest marker on the list behind the Vapor, but feels really well built. The engine is very easy to access yet is really securely held in place when the marker is aired up. The only thing I'm iffy on is the trigger. I think I like the scythe trigger on the Victory platform better, but it will take actual game time for me to vet that out. The ASA is supper easy to use and is almost as user friendly as the POPS ASA of the Geo3 and Ego11. Other than the trigger, I think Bob knocked it out of the park on this one; only the $500 more expensive Luxe stands above it from a ergonomics standpoint ... Yes, the Luxe is $500 more than the Insight NG.

Regs, ASA and Internals:
The Insights Cam Drive ASA is the second best ASA on the market today. Very easy to turn on and off the air, and it completely purges the air from the marker. While not as simple as the front knob system of several of the markers reviewed the ease of use is a step above. The macroless design funnels air into without a doubt the best HPR on the market today. Overall it uses the same design as others on the list and the piston is fairly standard fair. What makes it the best is the Shim stack that is used in place of a spring. Springs loose tension over time, while a shim stack will retain it and more consistently over a longer period. I have never replaced a shim stack, but I have replaced 3 springs in HPRs. Another awesome feature is the Schrader Valve in the top of the regulator, also called the main valve, is a neat feature that allows you to air up the marker without the reg attached for any troubleshooting you nay need to do. There is no need to maintain that portion of the regulator unless you have other issues occurring. Internals are about as simple as the Geo3, and very easy to maintain. This is one engine that if you error on the side of using too much grease it is okay to do so. There are 5 Dynamic o-rings to grease and check after each day of play, there is nothing to the engine. Even though it is simple, you will need to clean and lube the engine after every day of play or you will have issues. This engine needs to be lubed. Some have had issues with early insights with the code on the board and the engine coming loose and causing shot drop off … with the recient change from using a 19 o-ring to a 2x20 in the can and a urethane 10 o-ring in the brass cutoff, all those issues have been resolved. The detent system is a rather standard spring assisted detent system which works really well. One minor issue is it is easy to loose a detent spring if you need to clean the eyes at the field.

Electronics:
The Insight NG uses the same basic electronics of the newer Victories, the Frenzy board, but it has some additional setting to help deal with a fast bolt system. It has a a great LCD screen in the back of the grip frame. While Bob Long markers do not come with a manual, they do include a sheet on the frenzy board and programing. Programing is SUPER simple to do and the changes are easy to verify using the LCD screen, I find the frenzy board to be as easy to program as the Ego11 or Geo3. There have been multiple revisions of the programming of the board to this point as Bob works some kinks of the new marker by adding some additional settings to allow for a more refined shot profile through the electronics. Innovation is clear to see as you scroll through the various settings you can change including where the text is displayed for right and left handed shooters. The Eyes are also supper simple to get to and clean, a system very much like the Victory.

Performance:
As I mentioned in the Vcom section, the Insight NG engine was a small redesign of the Vcom engine with efficiency in mind. The engineers at Bob Long wanted to design the most efficient spool valve they could, while keeping as much of the smoothness of the Vcom engine. The Insight NG spool is a great combination of relative smoothness and excellent efficiency. When I first put paint down range with the Insight it felt very much like a Geo 3 when firing. Over the course of three cases, the engine smoothed out to now feeing very much like a Luxe; a huge complement. I find that the Insight, like the Luxe provides the perfect amount of tactile feedback while having a rather quiet shot. While it doesn’t have the organic feel like the Luxe, it has the right amount of feedback and vibration that allows you to tell it is firing on all cylinders; the perceived recoil is all linear with no hint of muzzle rise at all. The shot sounds poppy but it is rather quiet at the same time; maybe a tad louder than the Luxe, but it is a great sounding marker. The one area that the Insight excels in is efficiency. The Insight achieves poppet like efficiency while retaining the properties of a world class spool valve.

Conclusion:
The Insight NG has had a rather troublesome teething period since its release in June 2013. With current upgrades to the board software with the 5.19 flash, and the replacement of two o-rings in the engine (the 19 to a 2x20 and replacing the 10 in the brass shutoff with a urethane 10) and the Insight is up and running 100%. The Insight was designed by Bob to be the most efficient spool valve out today and he nailed it. 1700 – 1800 (Hustle Paintball saw 1950 from theirs) rounds from a standard 68/45 is astonishing from a spool valve. It does this while still being a smooth spool valve as smooth as a Luxe using stock settings. Maintenance after each day of play is essential as you will need to relube the marker after every day of play or you will have issues. The Insight NG is for the player that wants an efficient spool that is still smooth and quiet and the player that wants a light high-tech marker that just does everything you could want from a paintball marker and does it well. Now that used Insights are in the $600 to $800 range, I feel it is the best value in paintball today.

I own two Insights for a reason. I find them to be excellent shooters; light and snappy. While the ergonomics are all personal I also find that they are natural to sight down and feels great in the hands. Since the introduction of the 5.19 flash and the use of the 2x20 o-ring in the engine, I have not had any issues of any kind with my Insights. I think y’all will be pleasantly surprised by the Insight; I think it is one of the best markers available today.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight this thing is crazy i normally shoot 7 pods a game and this thing was able to get way more then that i had to start getting paint off the ground to shoot
Report this review to a moderator   #45409
codyman117
looking for a timmy
codyman117's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
codyman117 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
codyman117 supports Team VICIOUS
codyman117 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
codyman117 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: will shoot more paint then you can carry
Cons: needs to be lubed alot
this thing is crazy i normally shoot 7 pods a game and this thing was able to get way more then that i had to start getting paint off the ground to shoot
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight This gun shoots amazing...simply put. shoots a crazy straight stream of paint with no kick. easy to hold lanes with one hand. gun is also very simple and easy to take apart!!!!
Report this review to a moderator   #38756
CoW-TiPPiN-BaLLeR
═══_
CoW-TiPPiN-BaLLeR's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Monterey/Sac town
CoW-TiPPiN-BaLLeR plays in the PSP
CoW-TiPPiN-BaLLeR supports Pev's Paintball
CoW-TiPPiN-BaLLeR supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,100.00
Pros: amazing gun
Cons: none!!!
This gun shoots amazing...simply put. shoots a crazy straight stream of paint with no kick. easy to hold lanes with one hand. gun is also very simple and easy to take apart!!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight Hey Guys, I have been playing paintball for well over a decade now and have played everything from recball to national tournaments so I'd like to think I have some good experience to fall back on...
Report this review to a moderator   #39758
furbyballer
 
furbyballer's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jacksonville, FL
furbyballer supports Team VICIOUS
furbyballer supports our troops
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: Light, Efficient, OLED board, Smooth, and Quiet!
Cons: No manual(:rolleyes:)
Hey Guys,

I have been playing paintball for well over a decade now and have played everything from recball to national tournaments so I'd like to think I have some good experience to fall back on and to share. With that being said, I have shot a lot of guns, and if you don't believe me, take a look at my feedback lol!

This gun is by far one of my all time favorite markers. It has the simplicity of the geo, the tool less removal of a luxe, the shot of a matrix, and the ergos of the G6r.

Simply put, this gun just shoots well. You know, when you get that feeling that this marker is the right one? Well I got that with this one. It points well, feels great, has enough feedback to tell me im playing paintball, and has the efficiency of some of the most legendary poppet designs. Not to mention one of the easiest boards to navigate I have seen and the fact that they all come standard with the new OLED board. Don't you think every $1000+ gun should come with a screen? (looking at you DYE)

We all know that when we get to the upper echelon of gun manufacturers the differences in their products is really splitting hairs. However, I feel like the Insight has finally made that push to the next level, just like PE has done with the LV1 (fantastic marker). It all comes down to personal preference. I like to support Bob Long since all his guns are manufactured and produced in the USA!

In addition to the production taking place in the US, Bob's customer service is top notch. What other company can you call up on the phone and speak to the founder or his son other than maybe Alien? If there is a problem they will try and walk you through it over the phone and if that doesn't work they will take your gun in, fix it, and send it back via 2-3 day air. That turn around time is amazing. Its one of many things that keeps me coming back to Bob year after year. Can't finish off this review without giving a shout out to PBNation's own Tim2thousand4. He is an awesome BL tech and distributor and if you can't buy from Bob directly, hit Tim up. He will take great care of you.

Here is a video of my Insight shooting right out of the box.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight I recently just came back into the sport of paintball after about a 7 year absence. I was in the market for a new gun and all new gear. I ended up purchasing a brand new Insight NG and cant be...
Report this review to a moderator   #53665
i need a intimidator
R.I.P Jacob Espindola
i need a intimidator's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: 925 California
i need a intimidator has been a member for 10 years
i need a intimidator has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
i need a intimidator has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
i need a intimidator has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $850.00
Pros: Light,smooth,efficient,great value
Cons: Maybe a bit finicky?
I recently just came back into the sport of paintball after about a 7 year absence. I was in the market for a new gun and all new gear. I ended up purchasing a brand new Insight NG and cant be happier! The marker is Light, very efficient, comfy, and an amazing value. For $850 theres nothing that comes close to an Insight brand new. They compete against guns that cost 2x as much and are every bit as good. For just the price of an LV1 I bought my ENTIRE new set up. Literally everything I needed, even down to paint!

I have shot Bob Long guns since the Classic Timmy came out and Bob Longs factory is only about 2hrs from my house. I love his guns and how he runs his company. I will always have a BL gun in my stash of markers. He a great person to the paintball community. Not to mention he tries exceptionally hard to have everything made right here in the USA. He's one of the few who hasn't sold out for a higher profit!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight The insight in my opinion isn't that great looking of a gun, i don't like the ripper look on this gun but that is my opinion so what ever on that point, but this marker is by far my favorite marker...
Report this review to a moderator   #41874
icygrip
^rs
icygrip's avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Location: woodridge il
icygrip plays in the APPA D5 division
icygrip has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
icygrip has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
icygrip has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: light, efficient, quite
Cons: will be disused
The insight in my opinion isn't that great looking of a gun, i don't like the ripper look on this gun but that is my opinion so what ever on that point, but this marker is by far my favorite marker from blast that i have ever shoot. The insight does have some little things that bug me about it, but i believe that the over all performance of the gun and its value far out weighs the rest.

The insight has a nice stretched out feel like many high ends out there. It has the same feel as the g6r but is a nice slim single tube design. for me it just makes it that much easier to point down field.

First off this gun does not require a pressure tester! if you have owned a bob long gun before and you had serviced you gun the day before you may had changed the pressure of the regulators, this one only has a hpr regulator so you do not need a pressure tester. so any of you guys who had forgotten your pressure tester when going to the field you know the advantage of this, it is just one good thing about the gun compared to the other bob long guns.

Another good thing about the marker is that it is quite, i don't believe its as quite as a luxe or maybe a clone but it is quite, there is no poppy noise form this marker at all.

The marker is smooth as well once again it is not luxe level but then again it is several hundred dollars less. the marker fires very similar to a well tuned and broken in nt. once this marker is broken in i believe that it shoots better than what i just stated but, to have an idea it has a very similar shoot with the advantage of being gentile on paint. I shoot only high grade paint thru my insight and had never broken a ball. also this gun doesn't seem to have barrel rise or minimal rise, so it give you more a of straight shoot and no compensating for the barrel rising up while shooting like some marker out there. i hold all of my markers very loosely, so this just allows me to hold my marker even more as i wish.

The insight also has a great lcd or oled screen im not sure witch. the board is very easy to use and program. there is no curve to using and no searching for what you want to adjust if you ever needed to adjust something for those of you who have ever tried to program an ego or geo.

The marker also is very easy to maintain, the push button release is easy to use and the firing assembly comes apart easily. moving on from this point it seems that the tolerances have gotten much better! i use monkey poo on all of spools and it work on the insight with no issues as well. the regulator is also very easy to maintain if you ever need to work on it.

now moving on to the bad. The bolt needs needs to be tight. im not saying that everyone is an idiot and its always user error but it needs to be checked and the back screw in the back cap needs to be tight along with with bolt tip. blue lock tight isn't a bad idea for the back cap screw. i never had this issue with my insight but my team mate had to do this with his, also lock tighting your screws on your asa could be a good idea mine frequently came louse. Also there is the breech wear issue. this does not effect the performance at all but it is annoying when your new gun has a polished out breach. lastly im not a fan of the trigger the trigger general shape just isn't what i like for playing simi auto. The trigger also has alot of bounce and it can take a considerable amount of tinkering to get ride of the trigger bounce.

now saying everything i have about the insight i believe that it is an amazing paintball marker even more so for the price. it does have some things that bug me about it but i think they don't are easily over looked when you see how the marker performs and how great the marker feels in the hands. if you where to buy a bob long gun id say buy this one.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight picked up the bob long insight when it was released. had to try out this amazing marker. first impression. it is very light. next, it shoots crazy fast on the stock settings.. better have new...
Report this review to a moderator   #40992
jojo750
shocktech DM5
jojo750's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: south carolina
jojo750 has been a member for 10 years
jojo750 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
jojo750 owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
jojo750 is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $975.00
Pros: light and fast
Cons: no manual with marker
picked up the bob long insight when it was released. had to try out this amazing marker.
first impression. it is very light.
next, it shoots crazy fast on the stock settings.. better have new batteries in your hopper when shooting in semi.
efficiency is close to what was promised.
maintenance is a little on the tedious side. there is no manual included with the marker. a phone call to BLAST later, and i was told to check out youtube for videos on how to lube the bolt

few minutes watching video, and then taking apart the bolt. little slow at first to do. but easier once you do it a few times.

not my cup of tea for a marker. but if you are a bob long fan, this is the marker to get to keep your interest.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight bought this gun used a while back. have nothing but good things to say about it. super easy to work on and great performer. and the milling is just incredible!
Report this review to a moderator   #43087
Oonlooz
Wut Wut
Oonlooz's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NoVA
Oonlooz is playing at Living Legends VII
Oonlooz supports Team VICIOUS
Oonlooz is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
Oonlooz is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $960.00
Pros: super reliable and easy to work on
Cons: resale value :(
bought this gun used a while back. have nothing but good things to say about it. super easy to work on and great performer. and the milling is just incredible!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Bob Long Insight Great gun from Bob but the resale has bombed almost over night on them.
Report this review to a moderator   #42411
timmyshooter889
 
timmyshooter889's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Indiana
timmyshooter889 is BST Trusted
timmyshooter889 plays in the PSP
timmyshooter889 supports Cereal Killerz 2
timmyshooter889 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
timmyshooter889 supports Team VICIOUS
timmyshooter889 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,150.00
Pros: Great smooth shots
Cons: resale value
Great gun from Bob but the resale has bombed almost over night on them.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Add New Review