Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Bob Long Technologies - V-COM Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Bob Long Technologies
11669 Highway 26
Mokelumne Hill, CA 95245

Phone: (209) 293-4440
Fax: (209) 293-4420
Email: techsupport@boblongdirect.com
Website: http://www.boblongdirect.com
The Bob Long V-Com is the latest design from Bob Long and is the first multi-platform paintball gun in the world. The V-Com easily allows you to change from a poppet to spool valve engine in less than one minute. Features New Spoolie Engine Assembly Original HE Inline Poppet Engine Assembly Inline Pressure - 155 psi Cocking Pressure - 70 psi Efficiency - 1,100-1,500 shots per 68/4500 Tank
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2013
 MSRP: $1,250.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 13
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  69%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  23%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Bob Long Technologies - V-COM Reviews
Bob Long Technologies V-COM The VCOM is an amazing gun, it does not disappoint!
Report this review to a moderator   #40463
egocanival17
Royalty Paintball
egocanival17's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Milwaukee, WI
egocanival17 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
egocanival17 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
egocanival17 is for the Gunfight
egocanival17 is Legendary
egocanival17 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,100.00
Pros: Amazing gun
Cons: noneeeeeeee
The VCOM is an amazing gun, it does not disappoint!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies V-COM http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k1...ps9faec08e.jpg If anyone is going to judge this marker, it should be me. I have had Beef with Bob Long for quite a while after getting into with a tech at an...
Report this review to a moderator   #38133
rjs21
 
rjs21's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NEW to Baton Rouge, LA
rjs21 donated to help Peyton Trent
rjs21 owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: Smooth, efficient, high quality
Cons: Board, weight, trigger, barrel, screws
http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k1...ps9faec08e.jpg

If anyone is going to judge this marker, it should be me. I have had Beef with Bob Long for quite a while after getting into with a tech at an event. Bob Long apologized personally, but I held a grudge for a while. I am extremely critical of his products and will be blunt with any cons.

PACKAGING:

No marker case, tools, or manual. Yes, this cuts the price of the marker, but come on, at least a barrel bag!

FINISH:
The aluminum used is very high quality. My anodizing had a small blemish, but the rest was very beautiful, bright, and bold. Milling is very nice.

FEEL:

A bit heavy at first but the center of gravity is in the right spot. The grips are very comfortable. I like single tube markers and this has a bit of a high stack to me but not too bad.

PERFORMANCE:

VCOM engine is as smooth as advertised. It is definitely quieter than any marker I have owned including my Luxe. Definitely lives up to the hype. Very consistent over the chrono with +/- 5fps with good paint.

EFFICIENCY:
Easily 9 pods on a 49ci/4000psi fill

TRIGGER:
All personal preference, but I like the new style trigger shape. Not much adjust-ability though. Kind of stiff but excellent feel. IMO put a violent trigger on every marker you buy.

BARREL:
Previous BL barrels have been nothing but trash to me. This barrel is good B+. Good hone, but short control back.

BOARD:

Nice OLED display, easy to use. No adjustability on fine bps, which is the biggest fault. Rumor is the 12 is really 12.5; this is not true, the Virtue Clock consistently read 12bps. Good side no penalties for >12.5bps

OTHER: Some other things that really annoy me. Philips Screws to hold eyes in place. The spring on the detents shoot up 10 feet in the air when your remove the eye covers. The feedneck has no wheel for tightening.
Leaked right out of the box, but rebuilt it once and no problems since.

Things that impressed me. I love the ASA even more than the POPS. You get a second entire engine! Macroless (PE when will your learn).

OVERALL:
I am the most skeptical when it comes to Bob Long products, but I will have to admit this is a very good value for your hard earned cash. Performance is high end and quality is top notch. Overall, it is one of the better markers on the market coming from a previous Bob Long Hater.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.9/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies V-COM I've shot BL markers for quite some time, and always loved the feel of the grip frame, the shot and overall performance. When this came out; I was a little skeptical about Bob making a spoolie. Shot...
Report this review to a moderator   #38431
niteowl79er
Professional Rookie
niteowl79er's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Strip Joint VIP!
niteowl79er plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: Super smooth
Cons: 5.0 board has no half increments in BPS.
I've shot BL markers for quite some time, and always loved the feel of the grip frame, the shot and overall performance.
When this came out; I was a little skeptical about Bob making a spoolie. Shot one at the local field and was sold right away...
To me this feels smoother than any other spoolie I've ever had in my hands. And I've had plenty...from various DMs through Luxes and even the new MacDevs.
Out of the box it shot great and consistent (+\-5).

To me, this is by far the very best bang for your buck.... 2 engines, 1 marker. The poppet is a proven platform, the spoolie is quickly becoming one too.

My advice, if in the market for a new marker and not sure what you want... Spool or poppet... Get this, you will not be disappointed...I sure am not.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies V-COM This thing is a bargain!!! It out shoots all other spoolies and at the same time it is smoother than all of them. Now that BL's new gun is out it is no longer the most efficient spool valve.
Report this review to a moderator   #38118
revo900
Big Guys Play Snake Too!
revo900's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Jersey
revo900 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
revo900 supports Team VICIOUS
revo900 is an NCPA player
revo900 plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: Smooth
Cons: None at all
This thing is a bargain!!! It out shoots all other spoolies and at the same time it is smoother than all of them. Now that BL's new gun is out it is no longer the most efficient spool valve.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies V-COM
Report this review to a moderator   #38907
rubenpr79
Principe
rubenpr79's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Orlando
rubenpr79 plays in the PSP
rubenpr79 is Legendary
rubenpr79 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: efficiency
Cons: heavy
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.7/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies V-COM not what i expected
Report this review to a moderator   #40590
macdev boy
 
macdev boy's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2013
macdev boy owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: pretty
Cons: too much $$$
not what i expected
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies V-COM The gun stopped shooting in two tournaments then started shooting again. The quality of the product was sub-par and I received the wrong custom color.
Report this review to a moderator   #42503
Steve M
Whiskey Tango Foxtrot
Steve M's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Newport News, VA
Steve M plays in the APPA D4 division
Steve M supports DLX Technology
Steve M supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,350.00
Pros: American made
Cons: eyes, build quality
The gun stopped shooting in two tournaments then started shooting again. The quality of the product was sub-par and I received the wrong custom color.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies V-COM I bought a nib vcom. The look and finish on mine was very nice. Platinum and lime in color. The gun shoots very nice and smooth. I personally never checked efficiency because I don't need to shoot...
Report this review to a moderator   #45138
aimeagle21
I'm kind of a big deal!
aimeagle21's avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Michigan
aimeagle21 is a Supporting Member
aimeagle21 plays in the PSP
aimeagle21 posts videos on PbNation
aimeagle21 plays in the APPA D4 division
aimeagle21 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: meh!!
Cons: meh!!
I bought a nib vcom. The look and finish on mine was very nice. Platinum and lime in color. The gun shoots very nice and smooth. I personally never checked efficiency because I don't need to shoot more than 7-8 pods a game.

Reliability- 9/10
looks- preference
consistency- 9/10
feel- preference
sound (quiet) 9/10

I have owned more guns than I can remember (really). The vcom is one of the top 10 for sure.

The down side to all BL guns is the whole flashing the board crap. Have some foresight when it comes to what players may want. Also, the triggers lack but with psp rules and crap you only need to pull 3 to get 12bps so not really an issue but worth mentioning imo. Also, the lack of information on most BL guns is astounding. You would think that with all the BL's out there info on the latest flashing would be insane. I don't want to have to send my board in to flash it. Give a usb BOBBY!! I like BL guns and will own more in the future. Imo you could write one review and it would pretty much encompass all BL guns since '11 anyway.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies V-COM Well some of these Vcom's have issues with leaks but thats easy to fix with changing orings some have issues that you have to send stuff back to BLAST like with mine i had to send the VCOM engine...
Report this review to a moderator   #42750
darkracerian
I am Iron Man
darkracerian's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Western Washington
darkracerian is playing at Living Legends VI
darkracerian owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
darkracerian owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
darkracerian has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
darkracerian is Legendary
darkracerian supports DLX Technology
darkracerian supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: Quiet, light, soft, looks
Cons: some have issues
Well some of these Vcom's have issues with leaks but thats easy to fix with changing orings some have issues that you have to send stuff back to BLAST like with mine i had to send the VCOM engine back to blast to have them fix but i had it back in less then a week and its work perfectly since i got it back from them and I love this thing you basically get two guns in one a pretty efficient nice shooting Poppit motor and a very soft shooting quiet spool thats actually pretty efficient also and its also got some very nice milling on it also and Blast has very good Customer Service if you do have any issues
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies V-COM I really like this gun got it back last year in December. This gun stole my heart. The gun came with 3 barrel backs, the vis engine, and. A pressure tester. I was really surprised with the packaging,...
Report this review to a moderator   #47521
HoneyKix
Without any milk
HoneyKix's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Wichita, KS or TX
HoneyKix is playing at Living Legends VII
HoneyKix owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
HoneyKix plays in the APPA beginner division
HoneyKix has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: Smooth and quiet
Cons: None so far
I really like this gun got it back last year in December. This gun stole my heart. The gun came with 3 barrel backs, the vis engine, and. A pressure tester. I was really surprised with the packaging, bob stepped up his game. The vcom is a wonderful spool valve and recommend this to anyone who likes them.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review