Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. - Quest Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc.
1601 Pacific Avenue
#204
Oakland, CA 93033

Phone: (805) 487-5297
Email: info@firstendeavorpaintball.com
Website: http://www.firstendeavorpaintball.com
The Quest is First Endeavor Paintball's first marker. It is a dump chamber spool valve. It is light weight, has a slider frame (forward and backward position), has very few orings for a spool-valve gun, and is efficient. It has Autococker barrel threading. It gets 1500 shots or so from a 68/45 tank. Some have reported getting even more.
 Manual: Download the manual for First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Download
 Release Date: 2005
 MSRP: $650.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
 Reviews: 38
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  26%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  68%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  3%
 Link:
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. - Quest Reviews
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest I bought my quest used and ended up selling it because it had a very slight leak from the noid gasket that I could not figure out. It worked great though, the design was a simple dump chamber spool...
Report this review to a moderator   #11513
Forrestball
 
Forrestball's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cadillac
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $195.00
Pros: Fast as hell, simple
Cons: IMO ugly, small company
I bought my quest used and ended up selling it because it had a very slight leak from the noid gasket that I could not figure out.
It worked great though, the design was a simple dump chamber spool like a shocker.
It was fast as a Mofo, accurate and had no kick.
They are great guns but the look is a little dated, bulky and ugly IMO. Sure kicks some *** though.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest Gun shoots well for the money, definitely getting what you pay for. easy to clean also
Report this review to a moderator   #15863
impulseballer42586
WCPS Operations Manager
impulseballer42586's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Portland, OR
impulseballer42586 is a Moderator
impulseballer42586 is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Smooth shooting, easy to use
Cons: Consistency
Gun shoots well for the money, definitely getting what you pay for. easy to clean also
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest Okay let me start off by saying I have owned pretty much every platform of Quest, shot every bolt upgrade, and won many a game with the FEP Quest. First one I got felt like Excalibur when I pulled it...
Report this review to a moderator   #38488
Jabrowski420
 
Jabrowski420's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Jabrowski420 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Jabrowski420 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Jabrowski420 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Jabrowski420 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Smooth, feels good, looks awesome, kinda rare now
Cons: reg is cheap, gun isn't very durable
Okay let me start off by saying I have owned pretty much every platform of Quest, shot every bolt upgrade, and won many a game with the FEP Quest.
First one I got felt like Excalibur when I pulled it out of the box. It took a minute to program to get to the point I wanted but once I did, it shot money. I love how thick the grips are, the trigger play, and the weight of the gun. Everything is pretty much perfect on the gun except the two cons I have listed

The stock Reg is okay, but an upgrade reg would make the gun tops of the pops.

The metal seems weak, I have stripped the reg assembly and a feedneck out of two separate quests, one diving into snake, one falling into snake.

Either way, if you can pick up this little bit of heaven I suggest you do.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest I should preface this by saying: I've owned 3 of these markers. The first one was bone-stock. Dust Olive WAS Board .689 barrel Added a Hed-loc to the feed neck. Stock trigger SP-1/4 turn on/off
Report this review to a moderator   #14499
Shrubf4
Brilliantly slow.
Shrubf4's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Any paved Texas road.
Shrubf4 posts videos on PbNation
Shrubf4 supports Pev's Paintball
Shrubf4 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Shrubf4 has perfected Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Shrubf4 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Shrubf4 is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Performance/cost
Cons: Looks aren't for everyone.
I should preface this by saying: I've owned 3 of these markers.

The first one was bone-stock.
Dust Olive
WAS Board
.689 barrel
Added a Hed-loc to the feed neck.
Stock trigger
SP-1/4 turn on/off

2nd:
Black Texas Storm Quest
Invioq board(if I remember right)
007 barrel
Goldmember bolt
All else stock

3rd/Current:
Gloss Red
DW Carbon Fiber barrel
Invioq board
CP On/off
Snatch pin
Platinum member bolt
Head-loc

Pros:
All three guns were just a pleasure to use. Great gas mileage(~7pods or more). Any chops were due to paint and weather, no function problems. Apparently, I was one of the happy few that didn't have issues with his WAS board, be wary of these anyway though. There are upgrades, but not many nor are they really needed. Anytime I walk onto a field with one, I almost always get a group of people wanting to see and shoot it after playing with and against me in games.

Cons:
I will admit, the looks leave A LOT to be desired, (stickers help?). There is a definite lack of upgrades and parts out there. They also have low resale prices (around $100-250), the higher priced ones are usually the 07's and the OG's run much lower.

I stand by these markers, they are excellent for those moving from the beginner an intermediate classes. The few upgrades that are available greatly improve the gas mileage and aesthetics of the marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest Appearance: Even for the time period, the milling on the OG quest was a bit plain (to put it lightly), what little there was however, was done well, no machine marks and properly anodized. The body's...
Report this review to a moderator   #43005
tacxplosion
 
tacxplosion's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Guatemala (for real)
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Smooth, efficient, comfortable
Cons: Blocky
Appearance: Even for the time period, the milling on the OG quest was a bit plain (to put it lightly), what little there was however, was done well, no machine marks and properly anodized. The body's lines are a bit blocky, while the frame is contoured and curved with the included snatch grip, except for the trigger guard, which I personally don't like the shape of and feel is kind of short for the marker. All around it's a plain looking marker, even when appreciated in context; by current standards (2014), it's a bit on the heavy side and the milling is overly plain.

Performance: I will divide performance into the categories I find important (you opinion may differ).


-Ergonomics: For the time period, the only marker that I can think of that has the quest beat is the DM with the UL frame, and even then it's a considerably taller package than the quest. The hump on the frame makes you naturally align your fingers to the trigger's axis for the optimal trigger pull, the trigger that comes stock with it is the best feeling stock trigger I know for semi-auto. The frame to HPR spacing is somewhat shorter than most modern markers, answering to the demand of compact markers for snake/hyperball play.

-"Shot quality": IMO defined as the perceived transfer of forces onto the user related to cycling and shooting paint (including sound signature), the quest is as smooth as any spool of the time period. This can be attributed to the larger bolt sail, which allows for the use of a LPR, while keeping the cycle time short, which accounts for it's better efficiency than most spools of the time, almost on par with a poppet marker of the time; while keeping the marker as smooth as it is. The marker is however, a bit loud for what you expect from a spool valve marker, mostly having to do with the valve's speed in cycling.

-Efficiency: The marker is efficient even by today's (2014) standards, you can get 1400+ shots of a full 68/4500 with a well tuned marker, more with a little tape and know-how. That's better than most spools of the time period.

-ROF: If all we needed were ergos, shot quality and efficiency, we'd still be shooting mech 'cockers. The marker can cycle up to about 20 BPS with the stock components, the thing flat out rips.

-Ease of maintenance: For regular maintenance, all that's required is unscrewing the bolt guide and out come the guts: bolt and pin. Inspect, wipe, lube and reassemble; and you're ready to go again. At the time of writing, spare parts are becoming scarce, detents and other expendables are hard to find, save for the occasional part out in the BST section on multiple forums. The good thing is: all electrical component replacements are readily available, the 'noid is still available from SMC (you can order the coil alone if you need to) and the board can be replaced with a UTB.


Reliability: The quest is so simple in it's construction, that it just keeps on trucking until you neglect it (even then, it'll take a while to break down). As far as maintenance goes; it remains to this day, one of the most easily maintainable spool valve markers. The only electronic issue I've ever heard of with a quest is regarding the WAS boards, which would spontaneously fry out; by now though (2014), if it hasn't fried out yet, it probably won't any more.


Value: For what they're going in today's market ($180-$350 stock, depending on the model, in 2014), there are hardly any other markers that can compete in price/performance. You get a fast, consistent, ergonomic, decently efficient marker for the price of a rental model; the only 2 reasons I would recommend a newer marker over a quest to anyone are parts availability and warranty support.

In conclusion, the quest is a great performing value, if a bit dated and plain looking. If you can get a working one in good cosmetic condition for under $200 (in 2014), jump all over it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest Bought my quest in 2006 and I'm still playing with it in 2012. Nowadays you can get great value out of these things. They are every bit as good as axe's are. The two problems are the stock board...
Report this review to a moderator   #32708
VSportsGuy
 
VSportsGuy's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MD
VSportsGuy owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
VSportsGuy has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
VSportsGuy supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: Light, reliable, smooth, efficient for spool-valve
Cons: FSDO, stock board
Bought my quest in 2006 and I'm still playing with it in 2012. Nowadays you can get great value out of these things. They are every bit as good as axe's are. The two problems are the stock board and FSDO (aftermarket boards may help with this). Other than that, it's a nice gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest i bought this fun brand new and its one of my most favorite spool valve gun ive owned. its got such a comfortable feel and the slider frame is a nice feature.
Report this review to a moderator   #28537
Wyatt Earp
RAW
Wyatt Earp's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Jersey
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: great spooly
Cons: placement of macroline fitting on reg
i bought this fun brand new and its one of my most favorite spool valve gun ive owned. its got such a comfortable feel and the slider frame is a nice feature.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest
Report this review to a moderator   #42256
xXhunter47Xx
 
xXhunter47Xx's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
xXhunter47Xx has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
xXhunter47Xx has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: everything
Cons: no readily available parts
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review