Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. - Quest Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc.
1601 Pacific Avenue
#204
Oakland, CA 93033

Phone: (805) 487-5297
Email: info@firstendeavorpaintball.com
Website: http://www.firstendeavorpaintball.com
The Quest is First Endeavor Paintball's first marker. It is a dump chamber spool valve. It is light weight, has a slider frame (forward and backward position), has very few orings for a spool-valve gun, and is efficient. It has Autococker barrel threading. It gets 1500 shots or so from a 68/45 tank. Some have reported getting even more.
 Manual: Download the manual for First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Download
 Release Date: 2005
 MSRP: $650.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
 Reviews: 39
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  28%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  67%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  3%
 Link:
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. - Quest Reviews
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest Appearance: Even for the time period, the milling on the OG quest was a bit plain (to put it lightly), what little there was however, was done well, no machine marks and properly anodized. The body's...
Report this review to a moderator   #43005
tacxplosion
 
tacxplosion's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Guatemala (for real)
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Smooth, efficient, comfortable
Cons: Blocky
Appearance: Even for the time period, the milling on the OG quest was a bit plain (to put it lightly), what little there was however, was done well, no machine marks and properly anodized. The body's lines are a bit blocky, while the frame is contoured and curved with the included snatch grip, except for the trigger guard, which I personally don't like the shape of and feel is kind of short for the marker. All around it's a plain looking marker, even when appreciated in context; by current standards (2014), it's a bit on the heavy side and the milling is overly plain.

Performance: I will divide performance into the categories I find important (you opinion may differ).


-Ergonomics: For the time period, the only marker that I can think of that has the quest beat is the DM with the UL frame, and even then it's a considerably taller package than the quest. The hump on the frame makes you naturally align your fingers to the trigger's axis for the optimal trigger pull, the trigger that comes stock with it is the best feeling stock trigger I know for semi-auto. The frame to HPR spacing is somewhat shorter than most modern markers, answering to the demand of compact markers for snake/hyperball play.

-"Shot quality": IMO defined as the perceived transfer of forces onto the user related to cycling and shooting paint (including sound signature), the quest is as smooth as any spool of the time period. This can be attributed to the larger bolt sail, which allows for the use of a LPR, while keeping the cycle time short, which accounts for it's better efficiency than most spools of the time, almost on par with a poppet marker of the time; while keeping the marker as smooth as it is. The marker is however, a bit loud for what you expect from a spool valve marker, mostly having to do with the valve's speed in cycling.

-Efficiency: The marker is efficient even by today's (2014) standards, you can get 1400+ shots of a full 68/4500 with a well tuned marker, more with a little tape and know-how. That's better than most spools of the time period.

-ROF: If all we needed were ergos, shot quality and efficiency, we'd still be shooting mech 'cockers. The marker can cycle up to about 20 BPS with the stock components, the thing flat out rips.

-Ease of maintenance: For regular maintenance, all that's required is unscrewing the bolt guide and out come the guts: bolt and pin. Inspect, wipe, lube and reassemble; and you're ready to go again. At the time of writing, spare parts are becoming scarce, detents and other expendables are hard to find, save for the occasional part out in the BST section on multiple forums. The good thing is: all electrical component replacements are readily available, the 'noid is still available from SMC (you can order the coil alone if you need to) and the board can be replaced with a UTB.


Reliability: The quest is so simple in it's construction, that it just keeps on trucking until you neglect it (even then, it'll take a while to break down). As far as maintenance goes; it remains to this day, one of the most easily maintainable spool valve markers. The only electronic issue I've ever heard of with a quest is regarding the WAS boards, which would spontaneously fry out; by now though (2014), if it hasn't fried out yet, it probably won't any more.


Value: For what they're going in today's market ($180-$350 stock, depending on the model, in 2014), there are hardly any other markers that can compete in price/performance. You get a fast, consistent, ergonomic, decently efficient marker for the price of a rental model; the only 2 reasons I would recommend a newer marker over a quest to anyone are parts availability and warranty support.

In conclusion, the quest is a great performing value, if a bit dated and plain looking. If you can get a working one in good cosmetic condition for under $200 (in 2014), jump all over it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest i bought this fun brand new and its one of my most favorite spool valve gun ive owned. its got such a comfortable feel and the slider frame is a nice feature.
Report this review to a moderator   #28537
Wyatt Earp
RAW
Wyatt Earp's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Jersey
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: great spooly
Cons: placement of macroline fitting on reg
i bought this fun brand new and its one of my most favorite spool valve gun ive owned. its got such a comfortable feel and the slider frame is a nice feature.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest Over the years, I've owned many guns. In late 2006, I started hearing all sorts of nice reviews on the Quest. At this point, I hadn't shot one, I hadn't heard of the company who made it, and I...
Report this review to a moderator   #655
bballryand316
Custom Projects are fun.
bballryand316's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Worcester, MA
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $475.00
Pros: See below.
Cons: See below.
Over the years, I've owned many guns. In late 2006, I started hearing all sorts of nice reviews on the Quest.

At this point, I hadn't shot one, I hadn't heard of the company who made it, and I hadn't met anyone in person who had shot one.

I found one relatively cheap for around $475. Others were selling for more than $500. (This is used.) It came with some extra parts, orings, and it was in good condition.

First Impression:

Upon receiving my Quest, I noticed a few things: Lightweight, Snatch grip built into the frame, grips were a little thick, and the feedneck was a little tall, relative to aftermarket ones from other guns.

I went back online and *re-read the manual.* I believe this is essential when it comes to owning a new gun.

First time shooting:

I took my gun out and tested it out. The only things that bothered me at this point:

HPR macro fitting position
Smart Parts ASA that was put on there.

It shot beautifully. I had been practicing 'walking' the trigger beforehand, so it was easy to achieve a consistant 11-13 balls a second. Now, I could lie and say 'I shoot 16-18 BPS on semi, easy', but I would like to keep my review as honest and straightforward as possible. Did I have a point during the 3 or 4 hoppers I shot where I may have gotten to 15-16? Sure, it's a possibility. But I don't have any record breaking finger speed.

While shooting for the first time, my LPR pressure was around 90psi. I didn't notice/mind the kick, as it was identical to most other guns I've shot/owned. It was not anything drastic.

Upgrades:

Over the next few months, I added some upgrades to my Quest.

HPR - I added a new HPR strictly for my color scheme and for the macroline placement. The stock HPR worked really well, and was very consistent.
Goldmember Bolt - I took this out of the second Quest I received and put it into my first Quest. It allowed me to get about 250 more shots per tank.
Snatch Pin - This actually came on the gun, but is an upgrade. It is basically a bolt-guide, and allows the bolt (and guide) to be removed without the use of an allen wrench.
Dark Seoul Grips - These were very thin panel grips. They made the frame a lot thinner, and more comfortable.

I also added some other small things; Laser Eyes, new Feedneck collar, better ASA, Barrel kit.

Performance:

The performance was very impressive during the last year. The gun was fast, efficient, and shot nicely. I was able to lower my LPR to around 50psi. Some people have gotten even lower, but I usually keep mine around 70psi.

The gun was accurate, and reliable. I very rarely encounter a chop, even when using old paint or Wal Mart paint. I'm constantly testing out my guns, adjusting settings and trying new parts out, and I usually end up buying the cheapest paint I can find.

Pros and Cons:


Pros:
  • Simplicity. It is a very simple gun.
  • Maintenance is very simple. It takes under a minute to remove the bolt and bolt guide/bolt pin. There is even a one-minute video on YouTube, which proves I am not exaggerating. The bolt/pin have very few orings compared to other spoolers.
  • Stock Trigger. It is amazing, and has dual ball bearings.
  • Slider frame. Has a front and back position, to fit anyone's liking.
  • Great stock parts. No upgrades are needed.

There's a few other small things, such as:
  • Comes with a locking feedneck.
  • Great stock barrel and HPR.
  • Reliable SMC solenoid used in: PM5/DM4/5/C, and the original Matrix, nicknamed 'DM3.'
  • Body surface is smooth and easy to clean if it gets shot.
  • Lightweight.
  • Has a built in snatch grip on the frame.
  • Large trigger guard for those meaty fingers.
  • Efficiency - I got around 1550 shots from a 68/45 stock, and now get around 1800 with a Goldmember bolt and good settings.
  • LPR Pressure - Can get very, very low. There used to be a video of one at 20psi, and countless others have claimed between 25 and 40psi.
  • Maintenance = 20 seconds unscrewing the bolt pin and pulling bolt out with your finger. Then coating in Hater Sauce. Can't get much easier than that.


Cons:
  • Weak wiring - The solenoid harness breaking is one of the most common issues. It can be replaced, yes, but it should have been made better in the first place
  • Feedneck is a little taller than other feednecks.
  • The board/eye logic isn't traditional; You can't just turn the eyes off and dryfire, or 'click the noid' without air. You need to use different modes that aren't made for shooting paint
  • It is a little bit louder than other spool-valve guns but still quieter than most poppet/rammer style guns.
  • Some people do not like the plain 'box' looking body.

Other small things:
  • Lack of aftermarket parts.
  • Capped at 23BPS, as were the DM3/4/5/C and PM5, because of the solenoid used in all of them.
  • No choices in colors for bolt pin/guide, eye covers, and trigger, unless you buy a camo Quest or have them annodized.
  • Stock HPR Macro fitting position - It's on the side, near the top. It bothers some, while others don't mind it.
  • WAS boards that came on some Quest's were very problematic.

I may have forgotten something for Pros/Cons, but that shows most, if not all, of the main points. It was (hopefully) honest and straight forward.

Customer Service:


This really is hit or miss. There are some horror stories, yet there are also some stories of amazing CS.

My experience:

When I took the Goldmember bolt out of my second Quest, I realized it was an older model. The originals had problems with cracking and snapping in half. Mine eventually broke down, and I needed a replaced. I called FEP, talked with the owner and creator of the gun, Dave Palmer, and he told me to email a picture of my broken bolt to him. I followed his instructions, included my address in the email, and I had a newer, problem-free Goldmember bolt in 4 or 5 days. He even included a free oring kit.

When I lost a power button, I needed a replacement. I sent him an email and was told it'd be shipped out the next day. A week went by, and still nothing. I sent a reminder email, and it arrived 4 days later, with a free second power button.

Others have had the same (or better) experience as me, while others have had horrible luck/success with it.

Like I said, this is really hit-or-miss.

Final Thought:

The Quest is a great marker. It is a very efficient, lightweight spool valve marker. There are very few issues with them, the only ones that are relatively common are orings or a torn solenoid harness.

I'd recommend purchasing a Quest. Now, they can be found really cheap brand new, if you know where to look. (I won't post any links or anything, as that would be advertising.)

From my experience, it's a great, reliable, solid marker. It will perform great and keep up with all your needs.

This is my first review for PbNation, so hopefully it was done nicely. I tried to be as honest and straight-forward as I could be.

My ratings:

Appearance - 4/5. Others may not like the look of the Quest, but I do, and this is my review.

Performance - 5/5. What can I say? It performs damn well. Reasons were covered in the review.

Reliability - 4/5. The only thing keeping it from a 5 is the solenoid harness and the WAS boards. I didn't have a WAS board in my main Quest, but I did have the solenoid harness break twice.

Value - 5/5. For the price, it can't be beat. The performance is still that of an $850 gun, which it was originally. Quests can be found really cheap now-a-days.

Thanks for reading. Any questions/comments feel free to PM me.

- Ryan
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest http://i360.photobucket.com/albums/o...o/DSC03874.jpg I've had this marker for over a year now and its been great and I haven't really need to upgrade it either. Stock this marker its great, bought...
Report this review to a moderator   #4053
chnk
faps
chnk's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ga
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: read review
Cons: read review
http://i360.photobucket.com/albums/o...o/DSC03874.jpg

I've had this marker for over a year now and its been great and I haven't really need to upgrade it either. Stock this marker its great, bought it from firstcall for $300,

First impressions,
pros
*mine came stock with a WAS board, the WAS board would of been my *favorite board for the quest if it wasn't for the reliability issues
*the trigger stock trigger is great, easy to ramp
*air efficient
*maintenance is easy, few orings and easy to take apart

cons,
*No ASA or bottomline setup
*macroline fitting on hpr sucked
*.696 bore was a joke, accuracy wasn't great with it,
*feedneck isn't a locking lever
*the WAS manual recommended stock settings = fsdo issues
*stock grips felt to thick for me,
*after taking it apart a couple of times the wiring broke on me(the stock wiring was frail)
*the button is annoying to use, too small

Recommended settings - problem free settings (stock bolt set up, non goldmember setup)
dwell - 14 ms
lpr set to 100 psi

Reccommended Upgrades
Alternativepb(erayser) wiring FTW - I've found his harnesses are the strongest)
New on/off bottomline set up - CP mini/whatever you like
new barrel - again your choice
Locking lever feedneck collar - eh users choice
hpr - cps fit quest great - agian users choice
Goldmember Bolt - greater efficiency lower lpr psi
Snatchpin - tool less bolt removal

Current quest set up
Inoviq rev 2.2 chip board
Smoke Dark Seoul Grips
CP mini asa
FEP Classic Rail
Redz Cam Lock locking lever feedneck collar
CP Short Style Regulator
Crankwalk Blue Laser eyes
Alternativepb Wiring
Lucky Unitech kit

Future upgrades
Nox xhip
Goldmember
Snatch pin
or broncs new bolt kit (in the works)

After impressions/final impressions

This marker has been great and has served me well and surprising really doesn't really need any of the upgrades i've listed above (besides barrel), it has given issues in the past but thats because i didn't have the settings right. This marker is light, efficient and tournament ready marker, if you treat it right.

cons
*Resale and trade value on quest is low around $250-$350 is what the average OG model quest goes for. Also there was a mass liquidation of defective quest that were sold for cheap that made the quest look worst.
*resale is slowly rising, but don't expect an 07 ego with you only adding $100
*looks on the quest are rather simple, but I haven't grown tired of it yet
*everyone thinks its a blocky shocker or somekind of pl
*parts are hard to find
*no one really knows anything about them in my region
*the button is still freakin annoying lol

pros
*what was previously listed
*my quest seems to be more reliable than my friends dm7
*1 of a kind at tourneys,
*haven't really needed to upgrade it or drop much cash into it, only thing i bought was a new board, barrel and random small things,
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest bg: I bought this OG Quest used in early '07. On it is a goldmember bolt, pepperstick barrel, pulse loader, and 68/45 crossy. (soon to be snatch pin) Pros: Incredibly lightweight- This gun is...
Report this review to a moderator   #4776
jhchawk
Repping the 610
jhchawk's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Philly Burbs
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: Lightweight, tough, consistent, accurate
Cons: slightly awkward to hold for some
bg: I bought this OG Quest used in early '07. On it is a goldmember bolt, pepperstick barrel, pulse loader, and 68/45 crossy. (soon to be snatch pin)

Pros:

Incredibly lightweight- This gun is either really well made and lightweight, or just really well balanced. With my barrel, loader, and tank on it it balances perfectly in your trigger hand.

Efficient- About 1500 shots stock on a 4500psi tank. With the gm bolt and lowered dwell, I get about 1700-1800ish. Possibly more, need to re-test.

Simple- Literally only 2 parts to this bolt assembly- bolt, and guide. If you have the snatch pin, you need maybe 30 sec to clean and replace. Without, maybe a minute. You take out the guide, wipe it and lube the o-rings. Clean and lube o-rings on bolt, and replace. Done.

Trigger- Best stock trigger I've ever used. Easy to walk 10+ bps right out of the box...little adjustment needed although it is adjustable. Also, huge trigger guard.

007 Barrels- (F.E.P barrel kit, I believe came stock on some quests?) Haven't used them, but I've heard great things.

Cons:

Awkwardness- the closeness of the reg. to the trigger guard and the placement of the gauge make for a kind of weird placement for your left hand (if right handed). Real easy to get used to either way. No big deal.

F.E.P- right now the company that produces the quest is kind of in limbo...but whatever. freakin awesome gun.


At about $200 used right now (ish), you can't beat the quality for the price. I've had people prefer this gun to all kinds of pms and dms and egos. Worth every penny.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest Hooray! A review that is longer than 4 lines! (not including bronc and bball of course ) I first became interested in the quest while I was an ion owner (puts on flame suit). I had thought of...
Report this review to a moderator   #2074
eatafetus
knows you love it.
eatafetus's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: I Chill in Ill
eatafetus has been a member for 10 years
eatafetus is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
eatafetus supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: small, light, fast, inexpensive, reliable
Cons: umm...looks?
Hooray! A review that is longer than 4 lines! (not including bronc and bball of course )

I first became interested in the quest while I was an ion owner (puts on flame suit). I had thought of selling my ion because real-life expenses were catching up with me, and I needed the cash. I really wanted to either quit for a while, or find a nice inexpensive gun that I could use whenever and not break the bank acquiring it. Enter the FEP quest.

I was lucky to get a quest while a certain online paintball store was dumping quests off at really low prices, approximately 1/4ish of what they retailed for originally. This pushed the used gun price down pretty far, but it has since been restored by the elimination of said "dump guns" and news that FEP is not, in fact, shutting down. Actually, they are striving.

But enough of this. The quest is a great marker for several reasons -

1. Value - as someone who now must make a house payment each month, I can appreciate a value. The quest is everything that a $900+ marker is, without the pain of shelling out $900. Great stock barrel, reg, trigger, bolt and board. Those are the most popular upgrades for other markers, but in all honesty, you really needn't bother with them while using a quest. OK, so the WAS boards seem to have their fair share of problems, but I still have a WAS board in mine, and I've never had a problem. The thing performs great. The feedneck could be a bit lower, but a little birdie tells me that soon, lower models will be available, either from FEP or a private party. I bought mine used in LNIB condition with a Goldmember bolt, a hyper-2 reg, and dark seoul (sp?) grips for 250 shipped. Closest thing you can get for that is an ion, or a promaster.

2. Performance - possibly the most important part of a gun. Does it mow faces? Yes. Does it kill muppets? Yes. this gun shoots scary-good, like a timmy in terms of speed but without the kick. I get looks all the time. What the f%#$ was that? Just me and my Quest. One good thing is this is not the "shoot good" that comes with a timmy or a marq, that is you dont need 2 hours of tweaking it just right for it to fly. As stated below, maintenance is a snap, and you're reazy fo shezzy to (insert your catch phrase for making eliminations). Another nice bonus? Timmy-like gas mileage. Ok, not really, but dam close...standard numbers are 1500 shots off of a full 68/4500. Thats stock, people. A GM bolt will get you about 200ish more, if thats your bag. LPRs have been anywhere from 50 to 120 (most around 80-90 psi). This takes some breaking in of course, as is standard for almost every gun under the sun.

3. Maintenance - It just doesn't get any better than this. Two pieces in the gun. Cant put them in backwards, or any other way than correctly. Shoot all day. Pull out two pieces. Wipe off. Re lube. Put two pieces back in. Done, now go play xbox you ADD-freaks. Look on youtube for the 2-min how-to video. Got a problem? Change an oring. Leaking? Oring. FSDO? Oring. Cant get a date? Oring (you wish). By leaps and bounds the easiest gun I have ever had in terms of taking care of it.

Ok, this wouldn't be a balanced review if I didn't list the faults. We already talked about the WAS boards, they are a constant headache to FEP and to the FEP family. I'm one of the lucky ones (knocks on wood) and mine works like a charm. Even if yours works great too, chances are you'll be like everyone else and swap it out for a virtue or APE board, or go the chip route and get nox, lucky, or one of the other various chips available. The stock feedneck could be a little lower, but I use a B2 and its not really a big deal. Whatever you do (now pay attention)

DO NOT USE ICD FEEDNECKS
ICD FEEDNECKS DO NOT USE
ICD=/= FEP THREADS.

Did I mention the feedneck issue?

The looks are a bit...plain too. I like this because I'm a sticker junkie and its easier to apply them to flat surfaces, rather than something that looks like it lost a fight with a CNC machine. the new models have more current milling styles, so all hope is not lost. WIth all the money you saved, you could afford to get it professionally milled and have a 1 of 1 gun. I hear those pull serious tail with the local field tramps.

All in all, the quest is a great gun. Its very user friendly, easy to take care of, and it shoots like a dream. FEP stated that while designing this gun, they tried to take everything good from other guns and wrap it up into one single package. Bullseye, fellas. You've got a loyal customer for life.

-John
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest A real competitor in the spool valve market. The design is somewhat like a Shocker, but simpler with an internal dump chamber and rear sail. The only moving part is it's bolt which slides over the...
Report this review to a moderator   #744
bronc.v2
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Low price, easy to use, fast
Cons: plain looks, no refinements
A real competitor in the spool valve market. The design is somewhat like a Shocker, but simpler with an internal dump chamber and rear sail.

The only moving part is it's bolt which slides over the bolt pin via o-rings. The bolt itself only has 3 o-rings, while the bolt pin has 5 (including the back seal o-ring). 99% of all problems with this marker are with the o-rings, and therefore are simple fixes. The Quest use an SMC solenoid, the same one that Dye used in DM4/5/C markers before they moved to their custom made version.

The marker NIB comes with a tin of lube (Hater Sauce), a complete replacement set of o-rings, allen key, marco line and fittings, ASA, 2 piece barrel and instructions for the board it is installed with.

I have personally shot this marker at 22bps with Hellfire paint (during a PSP event where I was assessed a major penalty ). It shoots fast, but because it is a spool valve it isn't as good on air as poppet guns. I use a 45ci/4500psi tank and on 4000psi hot fill I'll get 5 pods.

This marker can be acquired for less then it's MSRP of $745.00 and is well worth the money. It is simple to use, fast and reliable. If anything happens, swap out an o-ring, slap on some lube, and you're back out shooting.

The OG version of the Quest had pretty plain looks, but the 07 version had more swooping lines and a more edgy look that were actually designed by the same person who designed all the Ripper Intimidators.

Overall, an extremely good value for you buck and super simple to use. Just make sure you're packing a 68/4500 tank
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest I bought a Quest shortly after they were available for the full price, and I would do it again. My main gun before this was a DM3, and the Quest shoots very similar. It has slightly more kick, but...
Report this review to a moderator   #2630
KungFooGrip!
Only users lose drugs.
KungFooGrip!'s avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
KungFooGrip! is a Supporting Member
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: fast, consistant, very low kick
Cons: huge bore stock barrel, W.A.S. board problems
I bought a Quest shortly after they were available for the full price, and I would do it again. My main gun before this was a DM3, and the Quest shoots very similar. It has slightly more kick, but thats only due to the lighter weight (my gen-e is a tank)

I use a freak on mine, and usually shoot .687ish paint. Depending on the quality of paint, the accuracy varies from good to amazing. With good paint I can get +/- 3 at the chrono with the stock reg. I haven't upgraded this gun at all since I got it, and haven't felt the need to. I run my gun at about 90psi all the time, since its cold when I play usually; but the kick is still negligible.

Personally, I haven't had any problems with the WAS board, but I know a lot of people have. The only complaint I have about the board is the lack of an anti-bolt stick feature; which brings me to my only complaint about the Quest. This could be because of the lube that I use (using up the last of my Dye Slick lube) but I do get bolt stick on colder days. This only happens when its 40* or less outside, and it unsticks after a shot or two.


I get a lot of people at the field that say "what kind of shocker is that?" I just smile and say, "Its a Quest, and you just hurt its feelings."

All in all, this is an amazing gun; and a few people at my field that have bought one after (seeing/shooting/getting shot by) mine. I highly recommend that you do too. Now that they have come down in price, I'm thinking about getting a second one for a backup.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest I have used my Quest (OG) for a while, and I never had a major issue with it and it is very reliable. It is pritty efficant (had a Goldmember bolt), and isnt that loud. FEP puts a tin of lube and...
Report this review to a moderator   #295
corporationpaintball
too legit to quit
corporationpaintball's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Burlington, VT
corporationpaintball is a Moderator
corporationpaintball is BST Legit
corporationpaintball donated to help Peyton Trent
corporationpaintball supports our troops
corporationpaintball is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
corporationpaintball is Boss
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Reliable, rugged, very simple
Cons: not a lot of ups, no fancy milling, bad FEP C.S.
I have used my Quest (OG) for a while, and I never had a major issue with it and it is very reliable. It is pritty efficant (had a Goldmember bolt), and isnt that loud. FEP puts a tin of lube and orings into the box as well so basic mantinence is a breeze.

FEP has used many different boards over the years, they didnt realy make any drastic improvements until the 07Quests. The milling is very simple, as is the design. The Zero Drop reg is a bit of a pain when it comes to putting it on and taking it off as you have to remove the grip frame prior to anything else. The 'noid wires are VERY delicate and need to handled with care.

Over all I love my Quest, but like everything it has its drawbacks.

-CP
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest I think the Quest is the best deal in paintball right now. They can be had for under $300. A properly maintaned Quest will run off 25 psi and get a case of a 68. The things I don't like about this...
Report this review to a moderator   #3083
Pumpa
 
Pumpa's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $340.00
Pros: Efficient, Lightweight, reliable, trigger
Cons: W.A.S. board is fried, Customer Service is eh...
I think the Quest is the best deal in paintball right now. They can be had for under $300. A properly maintaned Quest will run off 25 psi and get a case of a 68. The things I don't like about this gun are alot of the later versions came with a faulty W.A.S. board. Some of these boards fried and you have to buy an aftermarket one because FEP nor W.A.S. answers their phones. Another great thing about this gun is it has an amazing trigger. It is extremely easy to walk and widely regarded as the best trigger in paintball. This gun is very easy to tear down and can be done without tools if you buy a Snatch Pin ($50). Some other things I don't like about this gun are with the later versions you get an extremely large back (.696). This isn't as big of deal as you would think but... In conclusion buy a Quest and if you can get one upped for a great price then why not?
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Add New Review