Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. - Quest Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc.
1601 Pacific Avenue
#204
Oakland, CA 93033

Phone: (805) 487-5297
Email: info@firstendeavorpaintball.com
Website: http://www.firstendeavorpaintball.com
The Quest is First Endeavor Paintball's first marker. It is a dump chamber spool valve. It is light weight, has a slider frame (forward and backward position), has very few orings for a spool-valve gun, and is efficient. It has Autococker barrel threading. It gets 1500 shots or so from a 68/45 tank. Some have reported getting even more.
 Manual: Download the manual for First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Download
 Release Date: 2005
 MSRP: $650.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
 Reviews: 38
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  26%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  68%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  3%
 Link:
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. - Quest Reviews
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest Alright, so I traded a CCM SS-25 for of these beast. I've been hearing a lot abou the Quests lately especially the ones by Critical Paintball, but I decided to pick up a Dust Blue 06 OG Quest with...
Report this review to a moderator   #9659
hipnopath
Cut it up Fresh.
hipnopath's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
hipnopath helped look for balloons
hipnopath is playing at Living Legends VI
hipnopath owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
hipnopath supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: In Review
Cons: In Review
Alright, so I traded a CCM SS-25 for of these beast. I've been hearing a lot abou the Quests lately especially the ones by Critical Paintball, but I decided to pick up a Dust Blue 06 OG Quest with the following upgrades:

Snatch Pin
Stock Bolt
CCM Feedneck Claml
CP Reg (Got it for $25!)
Critical Direct Mount ASA
Inoviq 2.5 board (Does 12.5)
Juit LPR vent drilled.
Quest Panel Grips

So what can I say about this gun? I love it!!!! I have shot many Egos and DMs and this gun definietly shoots better then all of them. I used a Ninja 68/45 LP tank and an Empire Prophecy and this gun was straight shooting 277 with a .689 CP barrel using RPS Nightmare on a 60* day. I was amazed at how crisp of a sound signature the gun had along with no recoil. The gun sounded very much like a poppit, but it shot ropes. With the LPR at 75, I had no trouble with bounce or any other problems. At semi capped at 12.5, I could easily reach the cap with the stock trigger with its roller bearings. Shouldering the gun with a tank, my hand could easily wrap the barrel even with a sticking out LPR. I got many kills that weekend and this gun was a blast to use. For a Spool, I noticed I got about 10 pods per fill at a dwell of 10. This gun is just awesome. Now for the cons...

It definetly is not the prettiest gun out there with very bland milling. My friends did give me crap for shooting it, but once they saw it shooting, they shut up. The gun is also very back heavy, well actually the entire gun is heavy, but with a tank it's fine. The stock trigger has very much side to side wobble, but it does have bearings. I'll eventually get a Critical trigger. Also the grips are a bit too thick for my liking and the On/Off button is a pain (Just stick some aluminum foil behind it)

For quick list of Pros,

Super easy maintenance (2 piece bolt+snatch pin, unline a DM)
Smooth
Quiet
Inoviq 2.5 board has all modes you'll ever need
Fast

I'll probably add more to this, but this gun is great especially for the price!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest Good solid gun,good efficiency, solid gun for the price.
Report this review to a moderator   #18202
Josh2013
Awesome at being awesome
Josh2013's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Perkins oklaoma
Josh2013 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Josh2013 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Efficient
Cons: Ergos
Good solid gun,good efficiency, solid gun for the price.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest the day i got my Quest i feel in love with it, and to this day i still love it Pros: i have to say shoots great out of the box, they make various boards for the gun , the trigger is amzing (reminds...
Report this review to a moderator   #6527
pb@j salad<3
 
pb@j salad<3's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: shoots smooth, air efficent, great trigger.
Cons: not enough aftermarket parts, bulky grips
the day i got my Quest i feel in love with it, and to this day i still love it
Pros:
i have to say shoots great out of the box, they make various boards for the gun , the trigger is amzing (reminds me of the critcal trigger), the stock WAS boared is easy to program and change the modes, with a 68/45 tank you get 1500 shoots and maybe even more (depending on the pressure/ velocity you have it set at). F.E.P definatly did a great job creating this gun and knew what they were doing from the start.

Cons:
many say it has a plain design to it......(i personally dont mind it)
not enough aftermarket parts, such as color accents, etc.
very bulky grips

other then that, The Quest in my opinon is the best gun i shot so far and have been a proud owner for 3 years
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest I have played paintball for over 15 years. I have shot and owned everything from an Autococker to an Ego ( with a host of Angels and a few Spyders in between ). This is hands down my favorite of the...
Report this review to a moderator   #6950
RevCain
Crash Paintball
RevCain's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denver Colorado
RevCain is playing at Living Legends III
RevCain owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
RevCain supports Team VICIOUS
RevCain posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Simple Design , Great Performance
Cons: Parts Availability , No Removeable Feedneck
I have played paintball for over 15 years. I have shot and owned everything from an Autococker to an Ego ( with a host of Angels and a few Spyders in between ). This is hands down my favorite of the bunch. It has become almost like a kid to me, with less maintenance !


I bought this gun from an owner who had gotten a defective Goldmember Bolt and was finding it hard to get another one. His dad bought it for him ( and actually was the one I picked it up from ) but when he played , the bolt broke , and the broken paint went everywhere. His son, somewhat spoiled, didnt even bother to clean it. Was still covered in paint when I got it.

Just so happens that what little jr. did not know was dear ole dad had put a new VIRTUE Board , Critical Trigger, and DYE Hyper 2 Reg on it.

TWO DAYS after I bought the marker CRITICAL PAINTBALL ( I love you ) came out with thier RSF Bolt. The bolt has a lifetime warranty so no worries about breakage ((( however I can tell you you can see the obvious differance in the RSF Bolt over the Stock or Goldmember Bolts : Wider more durable tines , Lower gas useage , quieter shot , less kick ( almost none )))).

I now have a stock , goldmember and RSF Bolt for my quest and I will tell you , the other two are for collection purposes only , THE RSF BOLT is the best upgrade OTHER THAN my Virtue Board that you can EVER get !

If you are planning on getting a Shocker , Proto , or anything earlier than an 08 Dye you should look around for one of these markers first. If you are planning on getting an ION you are a FOOL not to try and get one of these first.

The looks seem a bit plain , but it has allot of space for engraving ( which is what I am going to do ). But I dont think anyones looking at it while you are painting muppets.

For the money , this is the most worthy tournement marker out ther PERIOD ! Its not $1000 + like a luxe , or an EGO , its easier to maintain than any Karnivor or Ebladed Autococker and if you look hard enough there are still some great upgrades available.

Recomended Upgrades :
BOLT ( Do this Immediatley !!! Some of the Older ones are known to break and can damage the internal bore )

BOARD ( Virtue Boards and Ape Boards are the most Popular however Critical Paintball Still sells a variety of aftermarket boards , eyes , and other stuff )

Snatch Pin ( Who wants to pull out a wrench anymore, this snatchpin will make it VERY easy to strip and clean your marker )

Regulator ( I recomend a shim type reg. Perhaps a Dye Hyper 2 or 3 )

ASA ( um once you see the stock one you will know why )

PROS :
Can shoot on LOW pressure if broken in right ( 50-85 lbs ) meaning more shots per tank !

Easy to maintain ! ( Only 8 o rings on the bolt and snatch pin )

FAST FAST FAST ( I dont count BPS , but with my DYE Rotor we reach EASY 20bps+ )

Different ( Not many of these around , and they MOW down Shockers and IONS like muppets on a wall )

CONS :

NO LONGER A COMPANY ( Hard to get service ) Now I dont know the owners or who the Quest repair man is to see. All I know is that theres not allot of info on who to reach concrening your marker. To be honest , I really have never needed anyone to service it. BUT the techs at my local store didnt know anything about them , and those that did all said the same thing, why dont you get another marker ...... Salesmen .....

HARD to find upgrades !!! ( There are still cool parts around such as grips , internals ets ... but they are getting hard to find and more expensive. The PB Community is catching on to these like FIRE now making them more and more wanted ! )

No Removeable Feedneck ( on mine ) : The feedneck works GREAT , and a new lever lock is available , but I like the ability to remove and customize my feedneck at will.

NO UPGRADES FOR VIRTUE BOARDS !!!! I contacted VIRTUE to find out if I could get my software updated and I was told that this is an outdated board and they no longer were offering upgrades . I found this VERY odd as I have seen LICENSED Virtue Dealers still selling these and still claiming Lifetime Warranty and Upgrades .....

NOW , this is not a rip on VIrtue , but the box says lifetime. Im not sure what lifetime means to them , but even if it means the life expectancy of the marker I would think that two years would be a short lifespan.

ANYWAY , the old Virtue WORKS GREAT !!!!! I am just kinda dishevled by the answer I got from Virtue concerning my " Lifetime" warranty .....

So thats about it ..... The marker even with the Old Virtue Software, performs reliably , consistently , and accurately.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest I picked up a quest for fairly cheap a while back. I wasnt expecting much however i was quite surprised. Once tuned they are fairly smooth. the efficiency is great as well. I loved the trigger...
Report this review to a moderator   #12283
straptrams91
PRESIDENT
straptrams91's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
straptrams91 plays in the PSP
straptrams91 is playing at Living Legends V
straptrams91 is playing at Living Legends VI
straptrams91 supports Team VICIOUS
straptrams91 is an NCPA player
straptrams91 is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: extremely efficient, smooth, relatively quiet
Cons: not a fan of the boards
I picked up a quest for fairly cheap a while back. I wasnt expecting much however i was quite surprised. Once tuned they are fairly smooth. the efficiency is great as well. I loved the trigger however i like longer markers and felt the reg was too close to the frame. With the new bolt upgrades available however i would definitely recommend picking one of these up as opposed to other sub 300$ guns. the quality is much better
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest Over the years, I've owned many guns. In late 2006, I started hearing all sorts of nice reviews on the Quest. At this point, I hadn't shot one, I hadn't heard of the company who made it, and I...
Report this review to a moderator   #655
bballryand316
Custom Projects are fun.
bballryand316's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Worcester, MA
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $475.00
Pros: See below.
Cons: See below.
Over the years, I've owned many guns. In late 2006, I started hearing all sorts of nice reviews on the Quest.

At this point, I hadn't shot one, I hadn't heard of the company who made it, and I hadn't met anyone in person who had shot one.

I found one relatively cheap for around $475. Others were selling for more than $500. (This is used.) It came with some extra parts, orings, and it was in good condition.

First Impression:

Upon receiving my Quest, I noticed a few things: Lightweight, Snatch grip built into the frame, grips were a little thick, and the feedneck was a little tall, relative to aftermarket ones from other guns.

I went back online and *re-read the manual.* I believe this is essential when it comes to owning a new gun.

First time shooting:

I took my gun out and tested it out. The only things that bothered me at this point:

HPR macro fitting position
Smart Parts ASA that was put on there.

It shot beautifully. I had been practicing 'walking' the trigger beforehand, so it was easy to achieve a consistant 11-13 balls a second. Now, I could lie and say 'I shoot 16-18 BPS on semi, easy', but I would like to keep my review as honest and straightforward as possible. Did I have a point during the 3 or 4 hoppers I shot where I may have gotten to 15-16? Sure, it's a possibility. But I don't have any record breaking finger speed.

While shooting for the first time, my LPR pressure was around 90psi. I didn't notice/mind the kick, as it was identical to most other guns I've shot/owned. It was not anything drastic.

Upgrades:

Over the next few months, I added some upgrades to my Quest.

HPR - I added a new HPR strictly for my color scheme and for the macroline placement. The stock HPR worked really well, and was very consistent.
Goldmember Bolt - I took this out of the second Quest I received and put it into my first Quest. It allowed me to get about 250 more shots per tank.
Snatch Pin - This actually came on the gun, but is an upgrade. It is basically a bolt-guide, and allows the bolt (and guide) to be removed without the use of an allen wrench.
Dark Seoul Grips - These were very thin panel grips. They made the frame a lot thinner, and more comfortable.

I also added some other small things; Laser Eyes, new Feedneck collar, better ASA, Barrel kit.

Performance:

The performance was very impressive during the last year. The gun was fast, efficient, and shot nicely. I was able to lower my LPR to around 50psi. Some people have gotten even lower, but I usually keep mine around 70psi.

The gun was accurate, and reliable. I very rarely encounter a chop, even when using old paint or Wal Mart paint. I'm constantly testing out my guns, adjusting settings and trying new parts out, and I usually end up buying the cheapest paint I can find.

Pros and Cons:


Pros:
  • Simplicity. It is a very simple gun.
  • Maintenance is very simple. It takes under a minute to remove the bolt and bolt guide/bolt pin. There is even a one-minute video on YouTube, which proves I am not exaggerating. The bolt/pin have very few orings compared to other spoolers.
  • Stock Trigger. It is amazing, and has dual ball bearings.
  • Slider frame. Has a front and back position, to fit anyone's liking.
  • Great stock parts. No upgrades are needed.

There's a few other small things, such as:
  • Comes with a locking feedneck.
  • Great stock barrel and HPR.
  • Reliable SMC solenoid used in: PM5/DM4/5/C, and the original Matrix, nicknamed 'DM3.'
  • Body surface is smooth and easy to clean if it gets shot.
  • Lightweight.
  • Has a built in snatch grip on the frame.
  • Large trigger guard for those meaty fingers.
  • Efficiency - I got around 1550 shots from a 68/45 stock, and now get around 1800 with a Goldmember bolt and good settings.
  • LPR Pressure - Can get very, very low. There used to be a video of one at 20psi, and countless others have claimed between 25 and 40psi.
  • Maintenance = 20 seconds unscrewing the bolt pin and pulling bolt out with your finger. Then coating in Hater Sauce. Can't get much easier than that.


Cons:
  • Weak wiring - The solenoid harness breaking is one of the most common issues. It can be replaced, yes, but it should have been made better in the first place
  • Feedneck is a little taller than other feednecks.
  • The board/eye logic isn't traditional; You can't just turn the eyes off and dryfire, or 'click the noid' without air. You need to use different modes that aren't made for shooting paint
  • It is a little bit louder than other spool-valve guns but still quieter than most poppet/rammer style guns.
  • Some people do not like the plain 'box' looking body.

Other small things:
  • Lack of aftermarket parts.
  • Capped at 23BPS, as were the DM3/4/5/C and PM5, because of the solenoid used in all of them.
  • No choices in colors for bolt pin/guide, eye covers, and trigger, unless you buy a camo Quest or have them annodized.
  • Stock HPR Macro fitting position - It's on the side, near the top. It bothers some, while others don't mind it.
  • WAS boards that came on some Quest's were very problematic.

I may have forgotten something for Pros/Cons, but that shows most, if not all, of the main points. It was (hopefully) honest and straight forward.

Customer Service:


This really is hit or miss. There are some horror stories, yet there are also some stories of amazing CS.

My experience:

When I took the Goldmember bolt out of my second Quest, I realized it was an older model. The originals had problems with cracking and snapping in half. Mine eventually broke down, and I needed a replaced. I called FEP, talked with the owner and creator of the gun, Dave Palmer, and he told me to email a picture of my broken bolt to him. I followed his instructions, included my address in the email, and I had a newer, problem-free Goldmember bolt in 4 or 5 days. He even included a free oring kit.

When I lost a power button, I needed a replacement. I sent him an email and was told it'd be shipped out the next day. A week went by, and still nothing. I sent a reminder email, and it arrived 4 days later, with a free second power button.

Others have had the same (or better) experience as me, while others have had horrible luck/success with it.

Like I said, this is really hit-or-miss.

Final Thought:

The Quest is a great marker. It is a very efficient, lightweight spool valve marker. There are very few issues with them, the only ones that are relatively common are orings or a torn solenoid harness.

I'd recommend purchasing a Quest. Now, they can be found really cheap brand new, if you know where to look. (I won't post any links or anything, as that would be advertising.)

From my experience, it's a great, reliable, solid marker. It will perform great and keep up with all your needs.

This is my first review for PbNation, so hopefully it was done nicely. I tried to be as honest and straight-forward as I could be.

My ratings:

Appearance - 4/5. Others may not like the look of the Quest, but I do, and this is my review.

Performance - 5/5. What can I say? It performs damn well. Reasons were covered in the review.

Reliability - 4/5. The only thing keeping it from a 5 is the solenoid harness and the WAS boards. I didn't have a WAS board in my main Quest, but I did have the solenoid harness break twice.

Value - 5/5. For the price, it can't be beat. The performance is still that of an $850 gun, which it was originally. Quests can be found really cheap now-a-days.

Thanks for reading. Any questions/comments feel free to PM me.

- Ryan
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest Hooray! A review that is longer than 4 lines! (not including bronc and bball of course ) I first became interested in the quest while I was an ion owner (puts on flame suit). I had thought of...
Report this review to a moderator   #2074
eatafetus
knows you love it.
eatafetus's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: I Chill in Ill
eatafetus has been a member for 10 years
eatafetus supports our troops
eatafetus plays in the APPA D5 division
eatafetus is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
eatafetus is Legendary
eatafetus supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: small, light, fast, inexpensive, reliable
Cons: umm...looks?
Hooray! A review that is longer than 4 lines! (not including bronc and bball of course )

I first became interested in the quest while I was an ion owner (puts on flame suit). I had thought of selling my ion because real-life expenses were catching up with me, and I needed the cash. I really wanted to either quit for a while, or find a nice inexpensive gun that I could use whenever and not break the bank acquiring it. Enter the FEP quest.

I was lucky to get a quest while a certain online paintball store was dumping quests off at really low prices, approximately 1/4ish of what they retailed for originally. This pushed the used gun price down pretty far, but it has since been restored by the elimination of said "dump guns" and news that FEP is not, in fact, shutting down. Actually, they are striving.

But enough of this. The quest is a great marker for several reasons -

1. Value - as someone who now must make a house payment each month, I can appreciate a value. The quest is everything that a $900+ marker is, without the pain of shelling out $900. Great stock barrel, reg, trigger, bolt and board. Those are the most popular upgrades for other markers, but in all honesty, you really needn't bother with them while using a quest. OK, so the WAS boards seem to have their fair share of problems, but I still have a WAS board in mine, and I've never had a problem. The thing performs great. The feedneck could be a bit lower, but a little birdie tells me that soon, lower models will be available, either from FEP or a private party. I bought mine used in LNIB condition with a Goldmember bolt, a hyper-2 reg, and dark seoul (sp?) grips for 250 shipped. Closest thing you can get for that is an ion, or a promaster.

2. Performance - possibly the most important part of a gun. Does it mow faces? Yes. Does it kill muppets? Yes. this gun shoots scary-good, like a timmy in terms of speed but without the kick. I get looks all the time. What the f%#$ was that? Just me and my Quest. One good thing is this is not the "shoot good" that comes with a timmy or a marq, that is you dont need 2 hours of tweaking it just right for it to fly. As stated below, maintenance is a snap, and you're reazy fo shezzy to (insert your catch phrase for making eliminations). Another nice bonus? Timmy-like gas mileage. Ok, not really, but dam close...standard numbers are 1500 shots off of a full 68/4500. Thats stock, people. A GM bolt will get you about 200ish more, if thats your bag. LPRs have been anywhere from 50 to 120 (most around 80-90 psi). This takes some breaking in of course, as is standard for almost every gun under the sun.

3. Maintenance - It just doesn't get any better than this. Two pieces in the gun. Cant put them in backwards, or any other way than correctly. Shoot all day. Pull out two pieces. Wipe off. Re lube. Put two pieces back in. Done, now go play xbox you ADD-freaks. Look on youtube for the 2-min how-to video. Got a problem? Change an oring. Leaking? Oring. FSDO? Oring. Cant get a date? Oring (you wish). By leaps and bounds the easiest gun I have ever had in terms of taking care of it.

Ok, this wouldn't be a balanced review if I didn't list the faults. We already talked about the WAS boards, they are a constant headache to FEP and to the FEP family. I'm one of the lucky ones (knocks on wood) and mine works like a charm. Even if yours works great too, chances are you'll be like everyone else and swap it out for a virtue or APE board, or go the chip route and get nox, lucky, or one of the other various chips available. The stock feedneck could be a little lower, but I use a B2 and its not really a big deal. Whatever you do (now pay attention)

DO NOT USE ICD FEEDNECKS
ICD FEEDNECKS DO NOT USE
ICD=/= FEP THREADS.

Did I mention the feedneck issue?

The looks are a bit...plain too. I like this because I'm a sticker junkie and its easier to apply them to flat surfaces, rather than something that looks like it lost a fight with a CNC machine. the new models have more current milling styles, so all hope is not lost. WIth all the money you saved, you could afford to get it professionally milled and have a 1 of 1 gun. I hear those pull serious tail with the local field tramps.

All in all, the quest is a great gun. Its very user friendly, easy to take care of, and it shoots like a dream. FEP stated that while designing this gun, they tried to take everything good from other guns and wrap it up into one single package. Bullseye, fellas. You've got a loyal customer for life.

-John
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest http://i360.photobucket.com/albums/o...o/DSC03874.jpg I've had this marker for over a year now and its been great and I haven't really need to upgrade it either. Stock this marker its great, bought...
Report this review to a moderator   #4053
chnk
faps
chnk's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ga
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: read review
Cons: read review
http://i360.photobucket.com/albums/o...o/DSC03874.jpg

I've had this marker for over a year now and its been great and I haven't really need to upgrade it either. Stock this marker its great, bought it from firstcall for $300,

First impressions,
pros
*mine came stock with a WAS board, the WAS board would of been my *favorite board for the quest if it wasn't for the reliability issues
*the trigger stock trigger is great, easy to ramp
*air efficient
*maintenance is easy, few orings and easy to take apart

cons,
*No ASA or bottomline setup
*macroline fitting on hpr sucked
*.696 bore was a joke, accuracy wasn't great with it,
*feedneck isn't a locking lever
*the WAS manual recommended stock settings = fsdo issues
*stock grips felt to thick for me,
*after taking it apart a couple of times the wiring broke on me(the stock wiring was frail)
*the button is annoying to use, too small

Recommended settings - problem free settings (stock bolt set up, non goldmember setup)
dwell - 14 ms
lpr set to 100 psi

Reccommended Upgrades
Alternativepb(erayser) wiring FTW - I've found his harnesses are the strongest)
New on/off bottomline set up - CP mini/whatever you like
new barrel - again your choice
Locking lever feedneck collar - eh users choice
hpr - cps fit quest great - agian users choice
Goldmember Bolt - greater efficiency lower lpr psi
Snatchpin - tool less bolt removal

Current quest set up
Inoviq rev 2.2 chip board
Smoke Dark Seoul Grips
CP mini asa
FEP Classic Rail
Redz Cam Lock locking lever feedneck collar
CP Short Style Regulator
Crankwalk Blue Laser eyes
Alternativepb Wiring
Lucky Unitech kit

Future upgrades
Nox xhip
Goldmember
Snatch pin
or broncs new bolt kit (in the works)

After impressions/final impressions

This marker has been great and has served me well and surprising really doesn't really need any of the upgrades i've listed above (besides barrel), it has given issues in the past but thats because i didn't have the settings right. This marker is light, efficient and tournament ready marker, if you treat it right.

cons
*Resale and trade value on quest is low around $250-$350 is what the average OG model quest goes for. Also there was a mass liquidation of defective quest that were sold for cheap that made the quest look worst.
*resale is slowly rising, but don't expect an 07 ego with you only adding $100
*looks on the quest are rather simple, but I haven't grown tired of it yet
*everyone thinks its a blocky shocker or somekind of pl
*parts are hard to find
*no one really knows anything about them in my region
*the button is still freakin annoying lol

pros
*what was previously listed
*my quest seems to be more reliable than my friends dm7
*1 of a kind at tourneys,
*haven't really needed to upgrade it or drop much cash into it, only thing i bought was a new board, barrel and random small things,
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest bg: I bought this OG Quest used in early '07. On it is a goldmember bolt, pepperstick barrel, pulse loader, and 68/45 crossy. (soon to be snatch pin) Pros: Incredibly lightweight- This gun is...
Report this review to a moderator   #4776
jhchawk
Repping the 610
jhchawk's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Philly Burbs
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: Lightweight, tough, consistent, accurate
Cons: slightly awkward to hold for some
bg: I bought this OG Quest used in early '07. On it is a goldmember bolt, pepperstick barrel, pulse loader, and 68/45 crossy. (soon to be snatch pin)

Pros:

Incredibly lightweight- This gun is either really well made and lightweight, or just really well balanced. With my barrel, loader, and tank on it it balances perfectly in your trigger hand.

Efficient- About 1500 shots stock on a 4500psi tank. With the gm bolt and lowered dwell, I get about 1700-1800ish. Possibly more, need to re-test.

Simple- Literally only 2 parts to this bolt assembly- bolt, and guide. If you have the snatch pin, you need maybe 30 sec to clean and replace. Without, maybe a minute. You take out the guide, wipe it and lube the o-rings. Clean and lube o-rings on bolt, and replace. Done.

Trigger- Best stock trigger I've ever used. Easy to walk 10+ bps right out of the box...little adjustment needed although it is adjustable. Also, huge trigger guard.

007 Barrels- (F.E.P barrel kit, I believe came stock on some quests?) Haven't used them, but I've heard great things.

Cons:

Awkwardness- the closeness of the reg. to the trigger guard and the placement of the gauge make for a kind of weird placement for your left hand (if right handed). Real easy to get used to either way. No big deal.

F.E.P- right now the company that produces the quest is kind of in limbo...but whatever. freakin awesome gun.


At about $200 used right now (ish), you can't beat the quality for the price. I've had people prefer this gun to all kinds of pms and dms and egos. Worth every penny.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
First Endeavor Paintball, Inc. Quest A real competitor in the spool valve market. The design is somewhat like a Shocker, but simpler with an internal dump chamber and rear sail. The only moving part is it's bolt which slides over the...
Report this review to a moderator   #744
bronc.v2
FEP Sports
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Low price, easy to use, fast
Cons: plain looks, no refinements
A real competitor in the spool valve market. The design is somewhat like a Shocker, but simpler with an internal dump chamber and rear sail.

The only moving part is it's bolt which slides over the bolt pin via o-rings. The bolt itself only has 3 o-rings, while the bolt pin has 5 (including the back seal o-ring). 99% of all problems with this marker are with the o-rings, and therefore are simple fixes. The Quest use an SMC solenoid, the same one that Dye used in DM4/5/C markers before they moved to their custom made version.

The marker NIB comes with a tin of lube (Hater Sauce), a complete replacement set of o-rings, allen key, marco line and fittings, ASA, 2 piece barrel and instructions for the board it is installed with.

I have personally shot this marker at 22bps with Hellfire paint (during a PSP event where I was assessed a major penalty ). It shoots fast, but because it is a spool valve it isn't as good on air as poppet guns. I use a 45ci/4500psi tank and on 4000psi hot fill I'll get 5 pods.

This marker can be acquired for less then it's MSRP of $745.00 and is well worth the money. It is simple to use, fast and reliable. If anything happens, swap out an o-ring, slap on some lube, and you're back out shooting.

The OG version of the Quest had pretty plain looks, but the 07 version had more swooping lines and a more edgy look that were actually designed by the same person who designed all the Ripper Intimidators.

Overall, an extremely good value for you buck and super simple to use. Just make sure you're packing a 68/4500 tank
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.9/5 stars.
Add New Review