Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - EGO LV1 Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: info@planeteclipse.com
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
Every aspect of the Ego LV1 has been reshaped and redesigned to create the ultimate expression of Eclipse passion, performance and quality. There has never been such a complete and thorough overhaul of every facet of the Ego model, no stone left unturned in the pursuit of perfection. As a result the Ego LV1 utilizes technology never before seen in a paintball marker to transform the way it shoots
 Manual: Download the manual for Planet Eclipse Download
 Release Date: 2013
 MSRP: $1,400.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 60
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  70%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  25%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - EGO LV1 Reviews
Planet Eclipse EGO LV1 Ok, finally got both LVs I've pre-ordered, swapped their parts and had my white/gold ready go this weekend. First impression taking it out of the box was that it is really long, especially when...
Report this review to a moderator   #39718
Luigi Speed 05
PBN made me a gun whore..
Luigi Speed 05's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Miami
Luigi Speed 05 plays in the PSP
Luigi Speed 05 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Luigi Speed 05 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Luigi Speed 05 plays in the APPA D4 division
Luigi Speed 05 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1.00
Pros: too many to list
Cons: haven't found any
Ok, finally got both LVs I've pre-ordered, swapped their parts and had my white/gold ready go this weekend. First impression taking it out of the box was that it is really long, especially when compared to previous models. It felt a bit too much stretched out. On the looks dept., I had a few days with the vamped before I got the superblue, and thou one of my favorite color schemes is the vampire one, for some reason this one just didn't do it for me. Now the blue on the superblue body is incredible, can't quite describe it and pictures do not do it justice.

You know the board, you know the barrel, the macro less POPS, feed neck. They all work flawlessly just as expected. So I'm gonna talk about the new stuff.

All in all I wasn't too thrilled about the looks of the rubbery bits on photos, and seeing those in person didn't do much to change my mind. The milling is top notch, as is customary for Eclipse, with no visible marks anywhere, and so is the anodizing. The milling is also very reminiscent of the Geo3 styling, with mainly straight lines and no jewels, just the platform's named milled out.

Regarding the package, it's also your usual Eclipse set, with the only thing worth mentioning being the fact it comes with an extra rammer, lighter than the one that comes in the gun, for increased efficiency. I haven't tested or read much about it, so I reserve that part for a future review update. It is by far the best printed manual in the business, if you didn't know that already.

This was my first time swapping parts on brand new guns, so I was a bit worried. Totally unjustified. The LV is so easy to take completely apart that I was finished much sooner than I had expected. The final results were also quite pleasing to the eye, and the red/blue "superman" one turned out looking almost better than my white knight.

Bolt and rammer are also unique to the platform and sadly won't retro fit any of the previous models. The rubber "console" now works as just one piece when assembled and covers/wraps around the entire frame. Comfortable and easy to clean.

And to the field. I ended up getting there later than I wanted, so the pre-game tuning I was supposed to do got reduced to lowering the dwell, quite a bit actually. I lowered to 14.3 from the factory 16.8 ms, and decided to stop there till I can do it how it's supposed to be. Since it comes from factory tuned for winter conditions, the recommendations are to fine tune (lower) dwell and LPR as much as possible, especially in South Florida where we already have full-on summer conditions. I only did dwell, I can't claim that I had it finely tuned, but I'll sure do it properly next time.

With that in mind, the +/- 5 fps I was getting over the chrono after lowering the dwell was not bad at all for a brand new gun/regulator. Haven't seen much better than this anyways, ever. I'm also sure once broken in and fine tuned, it'll be a lot more consistent. Under these conditions, I'm not going to claim barrel-rise is inexistent. It's there, but it's very subtle, less than a Geo3 I believe.

Sound signature is one of the most significant changes from previous models. It still has a pop to it, but it's closer to the Geo3 signature than to the Ego11. The Geo3 seems to have a bit of a higher-pitch tone and the LV sounded to me a bit "deeper". Hard to compare to say, a Luxe, because the DLX product has that "mushy" shot without any pop to it, but the LV is surely not much louder, if any in fact.

Well, remember I said it felt stretched out? That might be the case without a tank. Once you screw an HPA system on it, feels incredibly perfect. Not too long, not too short, just perfect spacing between reg and frame. Ergonomics are actually somewhat similar to the Luxe in that regard. Remember I also wasn't crazy about the rubbery bits? After playing many points during practice now I can say I really don't care what they look like. The whole platform feels so solid in your hands, now I'm actually learning to appreciate the looks because of it.

The rubber grips that cover the frame might also feel a bit bulkier than previous ones, but miraculously that feeling simply disappears once you put the tank in. I believe the gun was designed to the be at its most comfortable when fully set, as opposed to other guns that fell great till you put the tank and the hopper on them.

To me the AT Pipe does not get in the way at all. When the points were being played, the pipe and the gun itself were the last thing on my mind. Just did not have to think about it at all, and to me that's a sign of a great, natural gun you just have to point and shoot. And that brings me to the shot subject.

Dare I say the groupings are tighter than other guns I own and/or shot? Over the chrono is one thing. When the paint is really flying and there's people moving everywhere, wind blowing, that's when you can really get the feel for a gun. No matter what, my (crappy rec sport) paint was going where I intended to send it. If I didn't hit it, it was my fault. Nothing related to the gun crossed my mind at any moment. I just did not have to worry about the pipe, barrel or breech breaks, nothing moving around. Just solid efficient performance.

There's just so many ways to adjust your gun. Dwell, an LPR that actually affects feel/efficiency, different rammers, front and rear SFRs, not to mention all the electronic adjustments you could already do with these boards previously. I predict these guns will be all over the fields in a few months from now, and no 2 guns will be shooting the same. That's how customizable they are, almost overwhelming.

To finish it up. Does anyone really need this gun? No, this is a luxury item. A marker $1000 cheaper could get the job done. This is for the person looking for every little extra edge and/or comfort money can buy. It's not even my favorite looking PE gun of all time, but I really tend not to care about that when I'm getting this level of performance. And I'm also pretty sure it's gonna grow on me big time. Planet Eclipse has outdone themselves this time around, thanks for an excellent marker! And if you read all the way up till now, it can't be that bad of a review, please rate it, thanks!

http://i585.photobucket.com/albums/s...ps0acc77d8.jpg
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse EGO LV1 I will admit, I was not a fan of this marker when first shooting other people LV1's. Asking myself questions like what is all the hype about, is it really that smooth, whats with the ugly grips? ...
Report this review to a moderator   #41473
rjs21
 
rjs21's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NEW to Baton Rouge, LA
rjs21 donated to help Peyton Trent
rjs21 owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: Smooth, reliable, simple
Cons: heavier than previous models
I will admit, I was not a fan of this marker when first shooting other people LV1's. Asking myself questions like what is all the hype about, is it really that smooth, whats with the ugly grips?

It was by fate that I ended up with one in a trade and even then I was still not a huge fan. It had a kick to it, louder than spools, and had an arc to it the Ego is notoriously known for. WAIT FOR IT!

Then after 3 cases, tuning, Planet Eclipse has raised the bar once again. By far the smoothest marker I have ever shot, the awkwardness of the grips and length disappeared as I played point after point with the marker. Best in the World is my final conclusion.

QUALITY: Planet Eclipse make the highest quality paintball products out.

RELIABILITY: My original 07 Ego had over 600 cases through it. The PE name stands for something with the best CS in the industry. I am positive the LV1 will stand the test of time.

SHOT: Once tuned, is smoother than anything I have ever shot. Just watch as other players shoot it and guess the FPS. It truly feels like you are living at 220 when you are really shooting 280.

BARREL: not my favorite but it is my 2nd favorite behind the Dye CF. Fantastic barrel.

TRIGGER: 15BPS left handed with ease. Very adjustable.

CASE: Top Notch as always.

BOARD: The best board out.

OVERALL: This is the best paintball marker out for those in the market for a first time high end marker. Very simple, reliable, with high performance at ever aspect.

The Bob Long Insight is also one to consider but it doesn't come with the same reliability and customer service as Planet Eclipse. Luxe is also a good marker but not for the first time high end owner in my opinion; although, Darryl Trent at DLX is all about the customer!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse EGO LV1 I recently picked up the Lv1 and it was one of the best decisions I have made. It is one of the smoothest, most well designed markers on the market. I personally believe that it is the best on the...
Report this review to a moderator   #42448
Nota4rizzle
 
Nota4rizzle's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Long Island
Nota4rizzle is playing at Living Legends VII
Nota4rizzle owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Nota4rizzle has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Nota4rizzle supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,395.00
Pros: Feel, Look, Disassembly, Smooth
Cons: None that I could find
I recently picked up the Lv1 and it was one of the best decisions I have made. It is one of the smoothest, most well designed markers on the market. I personally believe that it is the best on the market, but I am no expert. The ergonomics, and the feel are godlike. The smoothness of the shot is unexpected. The sound signature is soft. It is reliable, and sturdy as hell. Some people complain that the marker is not good looking, but I disagree. I think it looks very different than most other markers and I believe that the new design is nice and gives Planet Eclipse a distinct new look. I believe that the paintball industry could use these new gun looks to create some diversity on the field. The gun is pretty expensive, but you are paying for top notch. To be honest it is not the most expensive market of the market. There are some markers like the vanquish that blow it away in price, but the Lv1 is 10x better than it. It really is up there in one of the best markers for the price. Get the Lv1, you wont be disappointed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse EGO LV1 I recently had the opportunity to use the LV1 and I must say I was not disappointed. It shoots great in stock form, but once you break it in with the heavy rammer it is buttery smooth. One of the...
Report this review to a moderator   #40360
allout2
unsung zero
allout2's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: GA
allout2 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
allout2 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
allout2 is attending Decay of Nations VI
allout2 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,400.00
Pros: Light, looks good, feels good, ease of operation
Cons: A little expensive
I recently had the opportunity to use the LV1 and I must say I was not disappointed. It shoots great in stock form, but once you break it in with the heavy rammer it is buttery smooth. One of the coolest ideas was including the light rammer as well. This will give the end user endless tuning setups for both winter and summer.

Packaging was superb like always from PE with all the extras they put in plus the full color manual. Customer support is amazing like always. The marker looks amazing and once I held and played with it, it just becomes one with you in my opinion.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse EGO LV1 The LV1 was a great overhaul of the ego platform.. They changed enough aspects to make this an upgrade worth buying while still keeping the ego feel. I personally haven't really felt much of a...
Report this review to a moderator   #42217
kinneen
 
kinneen's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston
kinneen owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
kinneen has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
kinneen has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
kinneen is attending Decay of Nations VII
kinneen supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,100.00
Pros: efficiency, smoothness, lightweight, accurate
Cons: still a poppet not as smooth as a spool valve
The LV1 was a great overhaul of the ego platform.. They changed enough aspects to make this an upgrade worth buying while still keeping the ego feel. I personally haven't really felt much of a transition in the prior few years of the ego so this was an amazing upgrade. The front rubber grip is incredible comfortable. Altho they haven't completely done away with a macroline I like there style of having the gas come half way thru the grip at no point with this gun did I feel like it got in the way or hindered my playing.. The newer style rammer in these guns feels incredibly smooth and good to shoot and the option of having both rams to go back to the feeling of an older shooting ego is a very nice touch..overall I am really happy with this gun and if you prefer a poppet over a spool its definantly a gun to look at
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse EGO LV1 I know that the "pros and cons" sections of these reviews often offer the generalistic answers of everything and nothing, but this marker really is the ultimate. It's the pinnacle of anything I've...
Report this review to a moderator   #40514
p8ntballfreek790
carpe noctum
p8ntballfreek790's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Htown, TX
p8ntballfreek790 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
p8ntballfreek790 supports Team VICIOUS
p8ntballfreek790 plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing (maybe price)
I know that the "pros and cons" sections of these reviews often offer the generalistic answers of everything and nothing, but this marker really is the ultimate. It's the pinnacle of anything I've ever shot.

Ergonomics, smoothness, efficiency, looks, sound signature...they're all spot on for playing any position. It even comes with 2 different rammers so that each player can set the marker up to exactly how they want it to feel. I have no drawbacks with the LV1 at all - it will be a huge surprise if any other poppets can match it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse EGO LV1 My review of the ‪#‎egolv1‬. Started at chrono pit. Fired a few shots and thought "quieter than previous Egos and smoother but not as drastic as others have made it seem". Then checked the chrono. I...
Report this review to a moderator   #40717
Soul06
The Last Thing You'll See
Soul06's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NY ((718)) NY
Soul06 has been a member for 10 years
Soul06 owns a Planet Eclipse CSL
Soul06 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Soul06 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,395.00
Pros: Much smoother. Much quieter.
Cons: Haven't found it yet
My review of the ‪#‎egolv1‬. Started at chrono pit. Fired a few shots and thought "quieter than previous Egos and smoother but not as drastic as others have made it seem". Then checked the chrono. I was at 315 . Turned it down to a consistent 281-285 and WHOA!!!! A WORLD of a difference. Now I see what everyone raved about. Feels like your shooting a spool. Sounds like it too. I've never been one who cared too much about feel or sound but still I'm impressed...majorly. Even shooting with one hand and unshouldered it doesn't move. Better efficiency as well. Reliability...if you know PE you know that's always been a strong point for them. ‪
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse EGO LV1 Smooth shooting gun (like every PE gun) and is pretty quiet for a poppet valve gun. Only thing I am not a fan of is looks, don't really like all the rubber on the gun but that is just my opinion. I...
Report this review to a moderator   #41003
applebutt89
Been here since 04
applebutt89's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 704 to 804
applebutt89 plays in the PSP
applebutt89 supports Team VICIOUS
applebutt89 plays in the APPA D3 division
applebutt89 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
applebutt89 is Legendary
applebutt89 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,300.00
Pros: Quiet for open bolt
Cons: Looks
Smooth shooting gun (like every PE gun) and is pretty quiet for a poppet valve gun. Only thing I am not a fan of is looks, don't really like all the rubber on the gun but that is just my opinion. I can get around a case of paint through a 68/45.

Overall awesome gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse EGO LV1 i picked up my lv1 fro oklahoma d-day. right out of the box the marker was longer than previous models...even the ego 11. comfortable as hell! i played the weekend with my ninja 90/4500 tank on the...
Report this review to a moderator   #40005
tonycon
Knuckleheads Paintball
tonycon's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chi-Town
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
tonycon supports our troops
tonycon is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1.00
Pros: quiet, ergonomics, efficiency, shot quality
Cons: price tag
i picked up my lv1 fro oklahoma d-day. right out of the box the marker was longer than previous models...even the ego 11. comfortable as hell! i played the weekend with my ninja 90/4500 tank on the marker and i was getting 15 pods plus a rotor...right out of the box! i have approximately 14k shots on the marker now and i will be dwell/lpr/sfr tuning the marker soon. out of the box the marker on stock settings is fantastic, i cannot wait to see how the marker performs after it is tuned. it is getting better by the pod!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse EGO LV1 I bought an LV1 brand new. Gun shot awesome shoots like a spool valve almost but with the reliability of egos. Sometimes it was awkward for me to use it was almost too long in certain situations. Gun...
Report this review to a moderator   #41458
Vevividivichi
I came i saw I conquered?
Vevividivichi's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: West Seneca NY
Vevividivichi is playing at Living Legends VII
Vevividivichi supports Team VICIOUS
Vevividivichi has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Vevividivichi supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,300.00
Pros: Shot nice, reliable, quiet
Cons: Longer than most guns
I bought an LV1 brand new. Gun shot awesome shoots like a spool valve almost but with the reliability of egos. Sometimes it was awkward for me to use it was almost too long in certain situations. Gun always shot good never let me down super comfortable in your hands.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Add New Review