Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Zodiac Paintball - ZR1 Renegade Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Zodiac Paintball
4 Sage Way
Pompton Plains, NJ 07444

Phone: (201) 396-1380
Email: heff@zodiacpb.com
Website: http://zodiacpb.com
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2011
 MSRP: $999.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.9/5 stars.
 Reviews: 10
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  100%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Zodiac Paintball - ZR1 Renegade Reviews
Zodiac Paintball ZR1 Renegade The Zodiac ZR1 is a magnificent, no nonsense marker that is severely underrated. My first impressions of the ZR1 were great! It is a high end, top of the class marker without the added extra cost,...
Report this review to a moderator   #41730
Bansk
[Djent]
Bansk's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Norge
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: consistent, reliable, LPR, effecient, hose-less
Cons: Girlfriend doesn't like to share the bed with it
The Zodiac ZR1 is a magnificent, no nonsense marker that is severely underrated. My first impressions of the ZR1 were great! It is a high end, top of the class marker without the added extra cost, sliding in at just under 1000usd new.

The case that the ZR1 comes in reminded me of a pelican case in terms of quality. Right off the bat, this helped define this marker as one that has features where it counts. As a side rant, I could care less what the packaging looks like. Some people get too excited about flashy things that count for nothing. Throw away things like packaging should be kept to a minimum cost. So the fact that the ZR1 came with a useful handgun style hard case that keeps all the parts for the marker with it impressed me a lot.

The attitude behind the ZR1 seems to be pure raw performance. A lot of people claim ďthe trigger on marker X has no side to side playĒ but in some cases, said marker does in fact have some very small side to side play. The ZR1 has absolutely no side to side play. I own a heaping amount of Intimidators, two of which have Techna triggers, two others with Assassinsí triggers, so I guess you could say Iím a bit of a trigger snob. The trigger on the ZR1 is done properly, and performs flawlessly. The Hatred board the marker comes stock with is also top notch. Although I personally prefer Tadao, I can honestly say the stock board will produce the same results at the end of the day.

As for the mechanical aspects of the marker, I have to say Iím a bit surprised. Forgive my ignorance in advance, but although I really do love playing with spool valve markers, in the past Iíve tended to find them a bit finicky. I donít often play in optimal weather conditions, so I have mainly used poppet valve markers when reliability counts. However, I find that the ZR1 is probably one of the most reliable spool valves out there. So far, besides user error on my part due to tinkering Iíve had virtually zero malfunctions. As a side note, I do have the latest internals. The marker has a pretty distinct sound signature that I personally like, and is as quiet as any spool valve marker. It is of course a very smooth shooting marker, but to be honest, when the smoothness/softness gets around the golden standard dm3 range, I find it too difficult to judge in comparison to other markers in its class. One thing I really do appreciate though, is that despite the softness when shooting the marker, there is a positive feedback that I can feel from each shot being fired. Furthermore, the marker is amazingly consistent and deserves the AKALMP stamp of approval. In my case, the ZR1ís consistency is second only to a well-tuned Autococker, and I was using the stock HPR hose-less setup. In turn this brings me to the LPR, which is absolutely ingenious. Although the design of many spool valve markers negate the need for an LPR, the ZR1 makes me feel like I couldnít live without one. To describe it the best I can, making the cycling operation of the marker a somewhat intensive property, makes for better functionality in my opinion. Coupled with the fact that the LPR is not in a traditional location and out of the way, I must applaud the design. Also, the marker can shoot Reballs (240fps) with no fussÖ awesome. Lastly, the efficiency of the marker is top notch for being a spool valve. I donít want to throw out an exact figure but rest assured, I find myself filling up air just as often as I would using a poppet. As for the aesthetics, that is all personal preference. I think it looks slick with its smooth liquid style milling for the body, and aggressive trigger frame with copious amounts of room behind the trigger guard. As for the ergonomics, I canít complain. My all-time favorite marker is the gen 3 Intimidator, so being that the spacing between the foregrip and pistol grip are somewhat spaced similar to it, rather than what the latest norm is, I find it perfectly comfortable.

Now letís discuss some of the things that could be improved on. Keep in mind though, this marker BNIB is in some cases hundreds of dollars less than the competition. So as a point of reference, I like to think of it like a guitar; Given that the wood used is of the same quality, and the craftsmanship is top quality, a custom shop version of a high end model would add substantial costs for only slight improvements.

Tool-less design: Although I use just my hands to remove and replace the bolt guide to gain access to the bolt system, it is technically not a tool-less design and is supposed to be tightened down with a hex key also ensuring that the LPR adjustment knob is locked down.

On/Off: Many people complain about this and honestly, it should be a standard feature on every high end marker. However it doesnít bother me at all, because I like to leave my markers gassed up for the entire day of play, and the ASA is designed in such a way that it is effortless to remove the pressurized tank, and the marker de-pressurizes upon doing so. Furthermore, although a high output pressure tank will work (yes Iíve tried it with a couple shots), it should only run on 650 psi or lower tank output pressure. The HPRís internals are much smaller than that of a traditional HPR.

Weight: I get the impression that the ZR1 is made out to be heavier than it really is. Although it is heavier than most markers in its class, weíre talking scanty amounts in the range of 100 grams give or take, which in reality is almost negligible when a tank and hopper are added. My setup is still very light with a Pinokio hopper, 68/4500 crossfire tank w/ Ninja pro and Deadlywind CF.

Pistol grip: The thing that bothers me the most about this marker is the way the grips are mounted. There are only two screws on either side that hold the grips and it is easy to peal the edges. This can be mitigated by purchasing aftermarket panel grips, but I would have loved to see some wrap around rubber grips that wouldnít budge similar to what Dye has done. Also, the back of the frame is not as sculpted as I would prefer, but thatís being nitpicky, however there could have been more milling in the grip frame area to accommodate boards with screens, and reduce some weight. On a positive note, the on/off button is in the right place. One of my pet peeves is having that button where my thumb might accidently press it.

LPR pressure tester: Iím a control freak

In conclusion, this is one of the best markers out there for the price if youíre looking for a spool marker with a minimal amount of proprietary parts, simply turn on and go type operation, and nothing overly flashy. It is likely that I wonít give mine up, and drive it until the wheels fall off, as it gives me the impression that itís the working manís paintball marker. Love it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Zodiac Paintball ZR1 Renegade I have had this marker for 8 months now and I must say it is one of the best shooting markers. It is so easy to work on. I have shot many markers out there and also own a vapor, and the ZR1 shoots...
Report this review to a moderator   #38775
phinehas27
 
phinehas27's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: valentine, NE
phinehas27 helped look for balloons
phinehas27 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: smooth shooting, reliable, simple operation
Cons: not enough people shooting them
I have had this marker for 8 months now and I must say it is one of the best shooting markers. It is so easy to work on. I have shot many markers out there and also own a vapor, and the ZR1 shoots just as good if not better than the vapor. The good thing about this company is if you buy a used ZR1 they will still warranty it. I can easily get ten pods of 68/4500 fill. This marker shoots really flat and it is very accurate, snap shooting is a breeze with this marker. If you are thinking about buying one then do it, you will not regret owning this marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Zodiac Paintball ZR1 Renegade Having had several FEP Quests in the past, I was really interested in this marker when it came out, since its sorta a Quest on steriods. As I prefer to play pump or use mechanical markers, I couldn't...
Report this review to a moderator   #37740
Ringwraith
 
Ringwraith's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $405.00
Pros: Mutliple HPR options, DYE third party comppnents
Cons: Small Company, undeserved bad rep
Having had several FEP Quests in the past, I was really interested in this marker when it came out, since its sorta a Quest on steriods. As I prefer to play pump or use mechanical markers, I couldn't justify another electro gun for 1000.00+. This stated, and now having a ZR-1, I have to say it is the best spoolie I have shot and thats out of a lot of markers. While it is a tad heavier than others in its class, ala Luxe, Vapor, Geo, etc....I appreciate a little heft if its properly balanced as it reduces kick and just feels more substantial in your hands. I also have to say that being designed by Chris Cole, it provides technology thats useful not just a sales gimmick. Honestly, OLED boards are sort of useful, but really how often are you messing with your marker other than mode and is it REALLY needed for a board to talk to you? Not for $1600.00 v, $900.00 to me. Rather I prefer things like the option of easily going from macro less to standard HPR and ASA in an instant, which in a tourney is much more reliable than having another grip based HPR around or an actual LPR built into the bolt so its easy to adjust and super easy to lube and maintain.

Essentially this marker shoots like a no frills Luxe, but easier to maintain and has the security of DYE UL Hater Board, eyes and noid, rather the proprietary stuff so even with small company you know your investment in the marker is solid. The is will never be an orphan maker on the closet floor waiting for parts on e-bay.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Zodiac Paintball ZR1 Renegade i have shot a lot of guns in my "short" time playing but this by far takes the cake. virtually no kick at all. shoots straight and consistant. feels amazing in my hands. customizable right out of the...
Report this review to a moderator   #40144
snoman87
 
snoman87's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: CT
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.00
Pros: everything
Cons: none yet
i have shot a lot of guns in my "short" time playing but this by far takes the cake. virtually no kick at all. shoots straight and consistant. feels amazing in my hands. customizable right out of the box. great efficiency. i get right around 11/12 pods out of a 70/45. hater board stock has a lifetime warranty which is almost unheard of. trigger feels great. customer service is amazing as well. yes zodiac has gotten a bad name because of some bull**** but for anyone even thinking about getting this gun...DO IT!!! its an amazing gun and the people behind it are more than willing to help you.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Zodiac Paintball ZR1 Renegade I picked one up in barely used condition, and don't regret it a bit! The trigger that's stock is fantastic, actually a hose-less gun, consistent as a mofo too. Easy maintenance, the 'kick' of firing...
Report this review to a moderator   #38477
thealleycat
 
thealleycat's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Lubbock
thealleycat is an NCPA player
thealleycat plays in the APPA D5 division
thealleycat has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: see review
Cons: see review
I picked one up in barely used condition, and don't regret it a bit!
The trigger that's stock is fantastic, actually a hose-less gun, consistent as a mofo too. Easy maintenance, the 'kick' of firing basically doesn't exist, the power button isn't sunk in or hard to press, same with the eye on/off switch.

To be picky though, the back end may be a bit long for some, and cleaning the eyes isn't a snap, but all in all that's all I can complain about. Some people don't like the asa not having an on/off, but doesn't bother me. There's talk of that being designed right now.

The customization options are there from the get go, if you don't like the stock barrel (don't know why you wouldn't) it's autococker threaded. Don't want to run hose-less? then throw on any standard reg and asa. You can throw in a different UL board, but the stock Hater board has a lifetime warranty, on top of being a beast.

Over all, if you can pick one up, do it. I haven't heard of anyone who owns one who isn't happy with it. There's not a big buzz since they are a new company, but the people behind it aren't new.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Zodiac Paintball ZR1 Renegade The ZR1 by Zodiac is a very under-rated marker. The smoothness of the shot insures great accuracy, while the bolt engine allows you an abundance of shots off of a single fill. The extra bit of weight...
Report this review to a moderator   #37585
Dedloc
That guy.
Dedloc's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tennessee
Dedloc is BST Legit
Dedloc is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Dedloc is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Amazing milling, smooth shot
Cons: A tad heavy
The ZR1 by Zodiac is a very under-rated marker. The smoothness of the shot insures great accuracy, while the bolt engine allows you an abundance of shots off of a single fill. The extra bit of weight to the marker actually make it even more comfortable to shoot. The barrel is 2-piece AC threaded and is honed and polished to a mirror finish. It is very accurate for a stock barrel, and the rubber grip on the barrel back makes taking the barrel off with paint-covered hands a cinch. The ability to add your own asa and reg is a game changer for a macroless marker. All in all, the ZR1 is right up there with any of the "high end" markers such as the Luxe, Vapor, and Ego's.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Zodiac Paintball ZR1 Renegade Great gun for a great price. The kick is horizontal as opposed to vertical, so that takes a little getting used to. Chops very rarely This is the first gun I have owned that does not have a macro...
Report this review to a moderator   #41332
JasionoX666X
Silver Snake
JasionoX666X's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Willow Grove, PA
JasionoX666X owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
JasionoX666X owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
JasionoX666X has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
JasionoX666X is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
JasionoX666X is Legendary
JasionoX666X is attending Decay of Nations VII
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Looks sleek, shoots awesome
Cons: Mine didn't come with a manual
Great gun for a great price. The kick is horizontal as opposed to vertical, so that takes a little getting used to.

Chops very rarely

This is the first gun I have owned that does not have a macro line, but it comes with a part to convert the gun to accept HP tanks, you just need to have a regulator.

I love the idea of having a rubber grip on the barrel to remove it easily, but who uses stock barrels any more?

It's very air efficient and shoots on target.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Zodiac Paintball ZR1 Renegade played with it three times better guns for the price
Report this review to a moderator   #37914
ascott26
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: sexy looks
Cons: jams alot leaks like no ones buisness
played with it three times better guns for the price
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Zodiac Paintball ZR1 Renegade Get it its a greast gun
Report this review to a moderator   #37955
lolpablo
I LOVE DEM LUXES
lolpablo's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: AZ
lolpablo is playing at Living Legends VI
lolpablo owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
lolpablo posts videos on PbNation
lolpablo is Legendary
lolpablo supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Shoot great
Cons: felt odd in hands
Get it its a greast gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Zodiac Paintball ZR1 Renegade I loved this gun when i got it, it shot better than my geo 2.1, I hate the asa but luckily i switched it out for a pops.
Report this review to a moderator   #51809
V3nd3tta2o11
Want to play paint war??
V3nd3tta2o11's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cranston, RI
V3nd3tta2o11 is playing at Living Legends VII
V3nd3tta2o11 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
V3nd3tta2o11 is for the Gunfight
V3nd3tta2o11 supports Pev's Paintball
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: beautiful design, smooth shooter
Cons: asa but whatever
I loved this gun when i got it, it shot better than my geo 2.1, I hate the asa but luckily i switched it out for a pops.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review