Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Virtue Paintball - Spire Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Virtue Paintball
40-14 Oser Avenue
Hauppauge, NY 11788

Fax: (631) 617-5349
Email: info@virtuepaintball.com
Website: http://www.virtuepaintball.com
The Virtue Spire is the next generation in loader technology with a shot activated sensor, jam-proof feeding system and a tool-less design that can be taken apart and reassembled in seconds. Not only is the Spire an aggressive, lightweight, and compact design, but it also holds more paint than the leading competitors.
 Manual: Download the manual for Virtue Paintball Download
 Release Date: 2012
 MSRP: $185.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 167
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  59%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  35%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Virtue Paintball - Spire Reviews
Virtue Paintball Spire Loader is fantastic. Used a few times back and forth with a HK TFX and they both get the job done. Spire has some distinct advantages as it is very gentle on paint and helps push paint back to the...
Report this review to a moderator   #77625
csmatrix007
STR8 CRUSHIN
csmatrix007's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: D.C. Area
csmatrix007 has been a member for 10 years
csmatrix007 is BST Trusted
csmatrix007 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: Feeds well, no jams, high capacity upgrades
Cons: Not force fed
Loader is fantastic. Used a few times back and forth with a HK TFX and they both get the job done. Spire has some distinct advantages as it is very gentle on paint and helps push paint back to the drive cone from the front of the loader.

Overall it's probably the best loader there is, and has many customization options for those to would like the style of changing colors to match things or to have some 'pop' in their overall look.

Fantastic loader.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire I have had my spire for about half a year now, and I must say it is without a doubt the best loader that I have ever used. In my opinion it is one of the nicest looking loaders on the market. It...
Report this review to a moderator   #70121
cz0013
 
cz0013's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Ithaca, NY
cz0013 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
cz0013 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
cz0013 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Good capacity, never jams, customizable
Cons: You need the spring ramp. Slower feed rate
I have had my spire for about half a year now, and I must say it is without a doubt the best loader that I have ever used. In my opinion it is one of the nicest looking loaders on the market.

It has a great capacity, and has the option to have the shell swapped out for the 260 which gives it an unwieldily amount of paint.

It is really easy to take apart to swap out shells or lids. All that you have to do is slide a button on the back out of the locked position and then push it in to release the lip piece. Then you can swap the lid for a speed feed or the regular lid. Swapping lids is really quick, where you can swap them out between games, or even points. If you want to swap out the shells or just take out the spire drive. All that you have to do os once you have the lid off you slide a tap back and pull up to remove the spire drive. This allows you to easily clean the spire or switch between the 260 and 200 shells.

The spire has an interesting system for feeding paint. The cone that feed the paintballs in is able to sense when there is pressure against it meaning that it doesn't need to feed anymore paintballs. Then it stops turning. To start turning again the g-force sensor in the front of the spire senses the vibration from the gun firing and tells the cone to start turning. Once the cone senses pressure it stops again. This is an effective system from my experience and I haven't had any problems with it. Because of the way that this system works the spire isn't able to perform in a drop test. However it is able to feed quickly when on your marker.

One of the spires advertised features is that is able to prevent jams before they happen, so the loader will never jam. Honestly from my testing this is entirely true. I put the worst paint that I had through my spire and it never jammed. The paint had been left out on a windowsill is the middle of summer for over a month, so the paint was very deformed. I also ran some of the extra paint through my dye rotor, and I had it jam about every ten shots or so.

Another small thing that is nice about the spire is that the cone that feeds the paintballs is in the back of the loader compared to something like the rotor which has its feeding mechanism in the front of the loader. This means that when you are running low on shots because you tend to have your marker facing slightly up, you have better feeding.

One of the nice things about the spire is that you can customize the setting on it. Now I haven't played with this much because the stock setting have worked fine for me, but it is good to know that you can tune the spire to work best with your gun. Also the programing allows some nice features like turning off the led light in the back which can be nice for night time play.

Now the spire isn't perfect, so now we will discuss the problems.

While the spire has a good system of feeding it isn't the fastest out there. I was only really able to get a consistent feed at about 16-17 bps. I could get it feed 18-19 but only for a few seconds. However unless you are playing in uncapped this shouldn't be a problem because pretty much every tournament mode that I can think of is 15 bps or lower.

Another problem with the spire is that you kind of need the spring ramp if you want to consistently feed when you are low on paint. The fact that it feeds in the back helps, but you should really get the spring feed.

If you don't like spending money on speed feeds don't buy the spire because the only one that you can get is the crown sf which is like a $45 speed feed. Granted it is the best speed feed and the one that you should be using, but it is still something to mention.

While there are a few problems with the spire in my opinion it is the best choice.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire ive had rotors for the past couple years and have faired surprisingly well. maybe one jam every 3-4 cases. nothing flipping it upside down, pulling the anti jam, and looking like a goof couldnt...
Report this review to a moderator   #35840
DA9bro
KCCO
DA9bro's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northern VA
DA9bro is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $160.00
Pros: no jamming, low profile, easy dissembly
Cons: hype maybe?
ive had rotors for the past couple years and have faired surprisingly well. maybe one jam every 3-4 cases. nothing flipping it upside down, pulling the anti jam, and looking like a goof couldnt fix... but with everyone raving about the spire, and not having bought any brand new pb gear in a while, i bought one.

couldnt have been happier. definitely better with reballs (even though countless people claimed the rotor had "no" issues with reballs while the rest of us did"). no jams. nothing to complain about.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire Very light and sleek looking. Slower on guns without a deftek offset feedneck.
Report this review to a moderator   #40244
DaPaintballJunky
SD MOB!!
DaPaintballJunky's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Corona, California
DaPaintballJunky has been a member for 10 years
DaPaintballJunky plays in the PSP
DaPaintballJunky plays in the NXL
DaPaintballJunky plays in the APPA D2 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $140.00
Pros: Light and holds more paint
Cons: slower than most hoppers on dye guns
Very light and sleek looking. Slower on guns without a deftek offset feedneck.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire I have been using mostly HALO Bs/Reloader Bs with ups for a while. They were pretty tough albeit old loaders. They had major downsides of course, but given the way ROF rules have been getting lower...
Report this review to a moderator   #43447
Dark Cloud
You callin me crazy?!?!?!
Dark Cloud's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: From NJ now in Houston
Dark Cloud is a Supporting Member
Dark Cloud has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $140.00
Pros: Easy to disassemble, sleek design
Cons: See review comments
I have been using mostly HALO Bs/Reloader Bs with ups for a while. They were pretty tough albeit old loaders. They had major downsides of course, but given the way ROF rules have been getting lower and lower, I never felt the need to upgrade. Finally I decided to pull the trigger and pickup a Virtue Spire.

Initial impressions
The design is sleek. Kind of reminds of Ricochet loaders a bit with the angles. I immediately put on a speed feed lid from Virtue. It seems a bit back heavy in my opinion. The feedneck is short and it sits nicely on my newer guns (Axe & Vanquish) but the neck seems to be way to thin on my Shocker with CCM feed neck. Had to wrap the Spire neck with some tape to make it fit snug. Weight wise, I think it is pretty light. Maybe the rotor is a bit more and the HALO is several ounces more.

It is insanely easy to disassemble and clear. No tools required at all (big change from HALOs). I love being able to pop out the motor and battery leaving just a shell to clean.

Performance
Like I said, since loaders really only need to feed around 12.5 BPS or less today, I'd say it performs solidly. It handled the paint (Draxxus Heat) well, and kept a constant stream going. Breaks I had were in the barrel, not the breech. I kind of wish when the loader is empty, it didn't "whirr". Also I wish there was some sort of manual drive to un-jam the loader engine. I didn't have that problem during the day, but someone else with a Spire did and they expressed the same sentiment. Besides that though it was holding up all day great.

These things do not come cheap. Higher end paintball gear prices seems to be steadily creeping upwards. That is always a con, but I think there is definitely some value in this item. Glad to see Virtue spreading out trying to make some real goods!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire Easiest loader ive ever owned, in terms of cleaning, and changing batteries. Only issue ive ever had: i got bunkered and took a shot through the speedfeed, which broke one of the fingers, and the...
Report this review to a moderator   #40443
darklight713
Girls love Dixon Cider
darklight713's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Plymouth, MA
darklight713 is BST Legit
darklight713 plays in the APPA D4 division
darklight713 has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
darklight713 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $189.99
Pros: quick, easy disassembly
Cons: price, but worth it
Easiest loader ive ever owned, in terms of cleaning, and changing batteries. Only issue ive ever had: i got bunkered and took a shot through the speedfeed, which broke one of the fingers, and the broken piece jammed the loader up. Other then that, its been flawless. Lightweight, quick-easy disassembly, easy on/off. Definitely recommend to anyone and everyone.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire Well i got a spire when i got tired of my rotor giving me issues and the spire hasnt given me one problem yes price is kinda high but you get what you pay for and atleast the spire has never jammed...
Report this review to a moderator   #41782
darkracerian
I am Iron Man
darkracerian's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Western Washington
darkracerian is playing at Living Legends VI
darkracerian owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
darkracerian owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
darkracerian has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
darkracerian is Legendary
darkracerian supports DLX Technology
darkracerian supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $185.00
Pros: weight, size, capacity, easy to take apart
Cons: maybe price
Well i got a spire when i got tired of my rotor giving me issues and the spire hasnt given me one problem yes price is kinda high but you get what you pay for and atleast the spire has never jammed on me which if it costs a little more to never have a jamming issue i will pay the extra money
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire Just picked this up at my local shop and i'm simply blown away with the quality. The quick, tool-less tear down makes cleaning unbelievably easy. The construction is extremely durable. It feeds paint...
Report this review to a moderator   #39323
dasr32
GR4FF1T1~B4LL3R
dasr32's avatar
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Minnesota
dasr32 is playing at Living Legends VI
dasr32 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
dasr32 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
dasr32 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $185.00
Pros: easy to use, clean and very reliable
Cons: spendy
Just picked this up at my local shop and i'm simply blown away with the quality. The quick, tool-less tear down makes cleaning unbelievably easy. The construction is extremely durable. It feeds paint flawlessly. The color options for this hopper are very attractive and the virtue speed-feed is the best one out there. Despite the initial cost, I'm extremely satisfied with my purchase and would recommend to anyone in the market for a new hopper. Do yourself a favor and buy this HIGH QUALITY hopper!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire This is an amazing loader that never jams or lets me down, hands down best loader I have ever owned and has no problem keeping up with any gun it is on!!
Report this review to a moderator   #58353
DBSshocka
I shoot people...the end
DBSshocka's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Everett, WA
DBSshocka owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
DBSshocka supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.99
Pros: Light, Capacity, Great motor, Never Jams
Cons: Batery life.
This is an amazing loader that never jams or lets me down, hands down best loader I have ever owned and has no problem keeping up with any gun it is on!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire Everything about this hopper is perfect. I cant understand why it would get less than 5 stars. It destroys the rotor in every way besides looks. It does not jam, its easy to take apart and the speed...
Report this review to a moderator   #34484
Dep
its paintball.settle down
Dep's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago'ish
Dep has been a member for 10 years
Dep owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $180.00
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Everything about this hopper is perfect. I cant understand why it would get less than 5 stars. It destroys the rotor in every way besides looks. It does not jam, its easy to take apart and the speed is adjustable. It has a shorter profile while carrying more paint. It has a HUGE lid making very hard to miss paint. This is the best hopper out there. Obviously the morons rating this hopper do not/ have not owned these. IF there is a problem with popcorning the spire is adjustable, fixing a popcorn issue.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review