Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Virtue Paintball - Spire Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Virtue Paintball
40-14 Oser Avenue
Hauppauge, NY 11788

Fax: (631) 617-5349
Email: info@virtuepaintball.com
Website: http://www.virtuepaintball.com
The Virtue Spire is the next generation in loader technology with a shot activated sensor, jam-proof feeding system and a tool-less design that can be taken apart and reassembled in seconds. Not only is the Spire an aggressive, lightweight, and compact design, but it also holds more paint than the leading competitors.
 Manual: Download the manual for Virtue Paintball Download
 Release Date: 2012
 MSRP: $185.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 157
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  58%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  36%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  3%
 Link:
Virtue Paintball - Spire Reviews
Virtue Paintball Spire Easy to use never a problem. You get what you pay for
Report this review to a moderator   #41008
brychner
 
brychner's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: St. Cloud, Minnesota
brychner owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
brychner plays in the APPA beginner division
brychner has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $160.00
Pros: durable, simple, sleek
Cons: none yet
Easy to use never a problem. You get what you pay for
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire Best loader I've ever bought. Easy to disassemble and clean. Only needs three AA batteries to operate. Profile is very small.
Report this review to a moderator   #70489
Bust A Ak
Do you even squad
Bust A Ak's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Bust A Ak is playing at Living Legends VIII
Bust A Ak owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Bust A Ak supports Pev's Paintball
Bust A Ak has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Bust A Ak has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Bust A Ak supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Size. Durability
Cons: nothing
Best loader I've ever bought. Easy to disassemble and clean. Only needs three AA batteries to operate. Profile is very small.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire Picked up a used Spire for a good price and I'm loving it. It takes considerably more balls than a Rotor and it just looks better imho. The one con I have though is when I got it home, I put fresh...
Report this review to a moderator   #41971
CaptainKay
Rebel Scum
CaptainKay's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
CaptainKay has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
CaptainKay supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $160.00
Pros: Looks, customer service, takes a lot of balls :)
Cons: Can be finnicky to set up out of the box
Picked up a used Spire for a good price and I'm loving it. It takes considerably more balls than a Rotor and it just looks better imho.

The one con I have though is when I got it home, I put fresh batteries in and did factory reset. I put a pod in it when on my Axe and started it, but the Spire wouldn't stop pulsing even though the hopper was full. Fixed this issue by increasing the stack tension and everything was fine.

All in all a great hoppper.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire Traded my rotor+60 for a spire, worst trade of my life. Exalt (my favorite speedfeed brand) doesn't make a feedgate for the spire, the spring finger is over priced by about $20. If you hold your gun...
Report this review to a moderator   #41407
cityfrags
Live Long And Wang Chung
cityfrags's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yo Mama's
cityfrags owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
cityfrags plays in the APPA D5 division
cityfrags supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $160.00
Pros: Light, great CS, holds good amount of paint
Cons: No cheap speedfeeds, inside stains, expensive
Traded my rotor+60 for a spire, worst trade of my life. Exalt (my favorite speedfeed brand) doesn't make a feedgate for the spire, the spring finger is over priced by about $20. If you hold your gun at the slightest angle it wont feed well. It eats up batteries really quickly. And ontop of all that, if you have half a hopper left the damned thing wont stop spinning, it's an over engineered, over priced piece of virtue. As always, just like their boards, some people like em', some people dont. Over all
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire I first got the spire when i saw the massive loading port. im terrible at reloading so i thouht that will be awesome for me. well after speed feed is installed its about the same as any other loader....
Report this review to a moderator   #40681
cjanderson_90
Hey, my name is Cole.
cjanderson_90's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Dakota
cjanderson_90 is playing at Living Legends VII
cjanderson_90 supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $175.00
Pros: never jams
Cons: read below
I first got the spire when i saw the massive loading port. im terrible at reloading so i thouht that will be awesome for me. well after speed feed is installed its about the same as any other loader. moving on

I have never once experienced a jam with this loader. last weekend it was raining and guys with rotors and the like were issues. i thought i was at a reggae concert with all the jamming going on. spire never gave me one bit of issue. Virtue has great custom support. I back them 100% and will continue to do so until im given a reason not to. Some people have issues with "popcorning" I too had this problem but i called up virtue and they sent out a replacement board no questions asked(except the ones like where do you live). i have 2 shells for this bad boy. a standard 200 and the new 260. One for pump and one for everything else. its too damn simple to switch between the shells. Your move Dye and Empire
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire
Report this review to a moderator   #35302
coop1985
 
coop1985's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Georgia
coop1985 plays in the APPA beginner division
coop1985 supports DLX Technology
coop1985 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $175.00
Pros: light weight/simple disassembly
Cons: no spring feed tray
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire Got my virtue spire about 2 months ago and fell in love with it from the start. Light weight, very easy to use, very quiet, smaller profile, lighter then rotor. I would take a Spire over a Rotor...
Report this review to a moderator   #34748
Cossalter18
USMC
Cossalter18's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: From MN. Stuck in NC
Cossalter18 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Cossalter18 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Cossalter18 supports Team VICIOUS
Cossalter18 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $190.00
Pros: Quiet, Quick Dis-assembly
Cons: None so far
Got my virtue spire about 2 months ago and fell in love with it from the start.

Light weight, very easy to use, very quiet, smaller profile, lighter then rotor.

I would take a Spire over a Rotor any day.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire the spire is very fast and can keep up with any gun out there. with the simple and quick break down design it makes field stripping easy and fast! i recommend this hopper to anyone!!!
Report this review to a moderator   #38758
CoW-TiPPiN-BaLLeR
═══_
CoW-TiPPiN-BaLLeR's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Monterey/Sac town
CoW-TiPPiN-BaLLeR plays in the PSP
CoW-TiPPiN-BaLLeR supports Pev's Paintball
CoW-TiPPiN-BaLLeR supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $160.00
Pros: fast and easy to take apart
Cons: none!!!
the spire is very fast and can keep up with any gun out there. with the simple and quick break down design it makes field stripping easy and fast! i recommend this hopper to anyone!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire I have had my spire for about half a year now, and I must say it is without a doubt the best loader that I have ever used. In my opinion it is one of the nicest looking loaders on the market. It...
Report this review to a moderator   #70121
cz0013
 
cz0013's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Ithaca, NY
cz0013 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
cz0013 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
cz0013 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Good capacity, never jams, customizable
Cons: You need the spring ramp. Slower feed rate
I have had my spire for about half a year now, and I must say it is without a doubt the best loader that I have ever used. In my opinion it is one of the nicest looking loaders on the market.

It has a great capacity, and has the option to have the shell swapped out for the 260 which gives it an unwieldily amount of paint.

It is really easy to take apart to swap out shells or lids. All that you have to do is slide a button on the back out of the locked position and then push it in to release the lip piece. Then you can swap the lid for a speed feed or the regular lid. Swapping lids is really quick, where you can swap them out between games, or even points. If you want to swap out the shells or just take out the spire drive. All that you have to do os once you have the lid off you slide a tap back and pull up to remove the spire drive. This allows you to easily clean the spire or switch between the 260 and 200 shells.

The spire has an interesting system for feeding paint. The cone that feed the paintballs in is able to sense when there is pressure against it meaning that it doesn't need to feed anymore paintballs. Then it stops turning. To start turning again the g-force sensor in the front of the spire senses the vibration from the gun firing and tells the cone to start turning. Once the cone senses pressure it stops again. This is an effective system from my experience and I haven't had any problems with it. Because of the way that this system works the spire isn't able to perform in a drop test. However it is able to feed quickly when on your marker.

One of the spires advertised features is that is able to prevent jams before they happen, so the loader will never jam. Honestly from my testing this is entirely true. I put the worst paint that I had through my spire and it never jammed. The paint had been left out on a windowsill is the middle of summer for over a month, so the paint was very deformed. I also ran some of the extra paint through my dye rotor, and I had it jam about every ten shots or so.

Another small thing that is nice about the spire is that the cone that feeds the paintballs is in the back of the loader compared to something like the rotor which has its feeding mechanism in the front of the loader. This means that when you are running low on shots because you tend to have your marker facing slightly up, you have better feeding.

One of the nice things about the spire is that you can customize the setting on it. Now I haven't played with this much because the stock setting have worked fine for me, but it is good to know that you can tune the spire to work best with your gun. Also the programing allows some nice features like turning off the led light in the back which can be nice for night time play.

Now the spire isn't perfect, so now we will discuss the problems.

While the spire has a good system of feeding it isn't the fastest out there. I was only really able to get a consistent feed at about 16-17 bps. I could get it feed 18-19 but only for a few seconds. However unless you are playing in uncapped this shouldn't be a problem because pretty much every tournament mode that I can think of is 15 bps or lower.

Another problem with the spire is that you kind of need the spring ramp if you want to consistently feed when you are low on paint. The fact that it feeds in the back helps, but you should really get the spring feed.

If you don't like spending money on speed feeds don't buy the spire because the only one that you can get is the crown sf which is like a $45 speed feed. Granted it is the best speed feed and the one that you should be using, but it is still something to mention.

While there are a few problems with the spire in my opinion it is the best choice.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire ive had rotors for the past couple years and have faired surprisingly well. maybe one jam every 3-4 cases. nothing flipping it upside down, pulling the anti jam, and looking like a goof couldnt...
Report this review to a moderator   #35840
DA9bro
KCCO
DA9bro's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northern VA
DA9bro is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $160.00
Pros: no jamming, low profile, easy dissembly
Cons: hype maybe?
ive had rotors for the past couple years and have faired surprisingly well. maybe one jam every 3-4 cases. nothing flipping it upside down, pulling the anti jam, and looking like a goof couldnt fix... but with everyone raving about the spire, and not having bought any brand new pb gear in a while, i bought one.

couldnt have been happier. definitely better with reballs (even though countless people claimed the rotor had "no" issues with reballs while the rest of us did"). no jams. nothing to complain about.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review