Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Tippmann Sports - Crossover Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Tippmann Sports
2955 Adams Center Road
Fort Wayne, IN 46803

Phone: (800) 533-4831
Fax: (260) 749-6619
Email: tech@tippmann.com
Website: http://www.tippmann.com
Electronic and mechanical mode marker for both woodsball and speedball players.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2012
 MSRP: $429.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
 Reviews: 13
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  31%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  54%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Tippmann Sports - Crossover Reviews
Tippmann Sports Crossover I've had the Crossover since it came out, I traded my Phenom for it and for the most part its like a Phenom but lighter and slimmer. Pros: Reliable and Durable (Its a Tippmann!) Nice Clamping Feed...
Report this review to a moderator   #37396
DAJUICE1
Team Phalanx
DAJUICE1's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cicero
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $419.00
Pros: Selector Switch
Cons: Battery Life
I've had the Crossover since it came out, I traded my Phenom for it and for the most part its like a Phenom but lighter and slimmer.

Pros:
Reliable and Durable (Its a Tippmann!)
Nice Clamping Feed Neck
Selector Switch for Mechanical or Electric Mode
Option of Adding a Front Regulator and ASA

Cons:
Trigger Spring Needs Some Modifying to Make it "Walkable"
Programming the Board is Tricky at First
The Barrel it Comes With Could be Better

The Crossover isn't for everyone, its kind of a long marker but it suits me well, I have large hands. Out the box it shoots pretty well, I'd recommend a nicer barrel but that's it. Its reliable, efficient, and on the chrono its consistent. The trigger issue is a simple spring swap, I used a super light trigger spring for an A5 that I had laying around, otherwise the factory spring makes the trigger stiff.

Some fields are beginning to rent them out, I'd suggest you try it out so you know what to expect.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Crossover I have about 6 hours worth of play on my Crossover so far without a hitch. The marker is lightweight, slender and easy to handle around corners. The programming is straight forward once you...
Report this review to a moderator   #29543
JohnnySuperDad
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $429.00
Pros: Dual Electronic and Mechanical
Cons: Packaging
I have about 6 hours worth of play on my Crossover so far without a hitch. The marker is lightweight, slender and easy to handle around corners.
The programming is straight forward once you understand how. Service is also very easy, one allen screw and the whole firing assembly comes out making running a squeegee through the whole marker possible. I used 4000 balls of Valken Redemption without a single break in the stock barrel or in the marker.
The electric eyes worked perfectly stopping me from shooting when the marker was empty, and not giving away my empty hoppper by "popping" for the enemy team to hear on an empty chamber. The trigger is VERY NICE in electronic mode, and tolerable in mechanical mode. I am sure having the ability to switch while in the field will come in handy.
Although I have an A-5 threaded barrel by CP, I did not have to use it. The stock barrel is accurate enough to make first ball hits, and snipe with. And compared to my 98 Custom, it is VERY QUIET.
Firing 1320 balls left me with about 1K PSI on an 88/4500 Ninja HPA tank.
You can probably get about that many running a 68/4500 down close to empty so air usage seems to be good, but not great.
Conclusions: My first time out with the Crossover was my best walk-on day so far. I had 6 enemy eliminations in one game, which for me in an incredible improvement. The marker performed better than I had hoped with the stock barrel. 6 hours of play, in hot humid weather, without a hiccup.
The packaging is minimal, and probably should have some foam in it to better cushion the marker, and keep the "box rash" down.
6/25/2012 UDATE : I have run 10,000 paint balls down the stock barrel without a single break. This past weekend I put 2000 Draxxus Rec, and 4000 Draxxus Bronze through it at the Star Wars Scenario event at On Target Paintball in NJ. Performance was perfect, using a Lith-Ion battery, it went orange (50%) after about 18 hours of total play on the battery in 3 weekends.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Crossover The first thing I noticed when I received Tippmann's newest marker, the Crossover, is the small, eco-friendly box. You will not find any bulky Styrofoam or molded plastic. Do not be afraid that the...
Report this review to a moderator   #31318
ArchAngel Hades
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $460.00
Pros: Light, fast, Durable
Cons: ---Fixed!!
The first thing I noticed when I received Tippmann's newest marker, the Crossover, is the small, eco-friendly box. You will not find any bulky Styrofoam or molded plastic. Do not be afraid that the eco-friendly packaging will not protect your marker. Tippmann has a reputation of durability and this marker does not disappoint. Also, don't let the size of the box fool you; what is contained inside is definitely impressive in a huge way.

Opening the box reveals the marker. Be ready for a surprise. This marker is streamlined and compact compared to Tippmann's previous markers. This marker is build for players who want speed, durability, impressive features, versatility, and great design.

Design - The forced aluminum receiver is built tough. I am not worried that this marker not going to allow for an aggressive style of play, on both a rugged woodsball and tournament field. No need to be shy with this marker.

Like the TippmannX-7 Phenom, the Crossover marker also features the FlexValve Technology which allows the marker to operate in electronic or mechanical mode. This means a player can go all out on a tournament field in electronic mode and with a flip of the selector switch, be in manual mode where the player is in has more trigger control. With the marker in manual mode, there is no need to worry about battery levels or running out of paint too quickly. This marker allows the player to choose which mode they prefer in any given situation and easily make a switch when the situation changes.

The front grip and trigger guard are nicely designed fit to allow the player a really tight and compact body stance, (elbows tucked together in front of the chest) greatly minimizing a players profile while advancing forward on the field. This marker is comfortable to hold for the right or the left handed player. The only drawback in regards to the double trigger guard is the pointed front tip. Try not to rest this tip on your wrist to balance the weight of the marker or stabilize your shooting. Due to the shape of this tip, it can be painful to do so. The provided double trigger has a solid metal feel (doesn't feel like it would break when squeezed) and has enough length for a player to easily "walk the trigger".

Another notable feature is the clamp on the feedneck. I was able to easily adjust the tightness of the clamp, during play, with gloves and I didn't have to worry about it coming loose. It was also great to not have to use any tools to make the adjustments.

Two of my favorite design features are the internal gasline and the grip covers. The grip covers are very comfortable and help ensure that my hands remain strong and help keep me out at a field longer.

Air Source Options - While Tippmann recommends that the Crossover use compressed air/nitrogen, CO2 is also compatible (see the user manual for suggested tips for best results). I used compressed air when testing the marker and didn't see any large spikes in consistency when testing the marker. Also when testing this marker there was little recoil, thanks to the marker's spool valve design. Less recoil increases accuracy between shots.

Technology - The marker's electronic board is factory pre-programmed with tons of firing modes but players still have the ability to customize the settings to adjust the settings to exactly how they like it. The manual is very informative and provides step-by-step instructions on how to change the settings. Some of the preset firing modes include semi-auto, auto-response, 3-shot burst, PSP, NPPL, and Millennium. The board also includes a tournament lock, to help ensure safety on the paintball field. No need to upgrade this marker's board, it already has it all!

Looking inside the marker, for the Crossover, Tippmann relocated the placement of and added an additional ball detent. The detent is no longer on the bottom of the breech but has it has been moved to the left and right sides, just forward of where the ball drops from the centerfeed feedneck. This allows for Tippmann's first introduction of intergraded anti-chop eyes to their line of markers. This electronic beam keeps track of whether or not a ball is properly loaded in the breach, and keeps the marker from firing if the ball is not in place, reduced the number of paint breaks inside the marker. I did not run into any problems with paint breakage using a midlevel paint and a force feed hopper with this marker.

Barrel - The included barrel was accurate while I tested the marker using midlevel paint. The paint used was roughly six months old but was still in good condition, not brittle or dimpled.

Bonus - A few extra items worth mentioning: the product manual and Tippmann's customer service. The included product manual is very thorough. Tippmann did an excellent job in providing valuable information to the player. The manual not only includes safety instructions but detailed information on how to maintain, troubleshoot, and program the marker. There are also several images and schematics, parts lists, and easily read disassembly instructions. On top of that Tippmann has a global reputation for excellent, top-notch customer service which they fight hard to keep on a daily basis. They can be reached easily reached through a toll free customer service number, email, or through the internet.

When you buy a Tippmann marker, you are not only buying an affordable, quality, and durable product, you are buying their excellent customer service should you ever have an issue and need to utilize their assistance. With this Crossover marker, Tippmann once again delivers!

Overall - With all of the features included features Tippmann has integrated into the Crossover marker, there is very little need upgrade this marker. Right out of the box, this marker is versatile and will fit any player's needs. Whether you prefer woodsball, speedball, or the rush of laying down paint loads of paint in a tournament, this marker is ready from action on any type of field you choose to play!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Crossover #111 waited for this marker for so long. its just what i expected it to be. i was not happy about the case it came in, and the unhoned stock barrell. but hey it worked out perfect. i Crossed over...
Report this review to a moderator   #35993
catdaddysmooth00
 
catdaddysmooth00's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Queens
catdaddysmooth00 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
catdaddysmooth00 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
catdaddysmooth00 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
catdaddysmooth00 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $360.00
Pros: its a tippmann!
Cons: eyes are old technology
#111 waited for this marker for so long. its just what i expected it to be. i was not happy about the case it came in, and the unhoned stock barrell. but hey it worked out perfect. i Crossed over from my phenom to the crossover.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Crossover Switching is great when you are saving battery or run our a battery. You are not out of the game yet. Rock back to mech mode and play on Only downside I have had is my left side eye cover fell off....
Report this review to a moderator   #33016
Mispeld
Spell Check?
Mispeld's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United States
Mispeld is for the Gunfight
Mispeld is for the Gunfight
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Dual Electronic and Mechanical Packaging
Cons: Packaging, eye screws bounce out
Switching is great when you are saving battery or run our a battery. You are not out of the game yet. Rock back to mech mode and play on

Only downside I have had is my left side eye cover fell off. The bolt holding it in worked its way out without me knowing about it.

Tippmann sent me a new one in less than 3 days so its a quick fix
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Crossover Amazing for the woodsball/speedball player with one main gun. I dont know if i would pay 450 for it but at 300 it was well worth it.
Report this review to a moderator   #35745
SensitiveLion
 
SensitiveLion's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2012
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Mech/eloctro swith
Cons: A5 threading
Amazing for the woodsball/speedball player with one main gun. I dont know if i would pay 450 for it but at 300 it was well worth it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Crossover good reliability like all tippmann products. tested it in my shop. was impressed
Report this review to a moderator   #31204
kevingaz
The Command Post
kevingaz's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Phoenix
kevingaz has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
kevingaz has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
kevingaz has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.00
Pros: reliable
Cons: feels cheap
good reliability like all tippmann products. tested it in my shop. was impressed
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Crossover the concept is not all there and needs work. More guns should have something like incase you need to switch over to mech but overall its a great gun for a total begginer with deep pockets.
Report this review to a moderator   #30118
Z28BB
Paintball and Cars
Z28BB's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tampa
Z28BB owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Z28BB is for the Gunfight
Z28BB has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $429.00
Pros: accuracy
Cons: unusefulness
the concept is not all there and needs work. More guns should have something like incase you need to switch over to mech but overall its a great gun for a total begginer with deep pockets.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.5/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Crossover The concept of the gun is great but it is quite all there. More guns should have something like incase you need to switch over to mech but overall its a great gun for someone to start out with.
Report this review to a moderator   #29616
Bannanas9992
 
Bannanas9992's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Sterling,Va
Bannanas9992 plays in the PSP
Bannanas9992 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Bannanas9992 supports Team VICIOUS
Bannanas9992 plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $439.99
Pros: Mech and electro
Cons: Trigger
The concept of the gun is great but it is quite all there. More guns should have something like incase you need to switch over to mech but overall its a great gun for someone to start out with.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.1/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Crossover Very interesting idea by tippmman.
Report this review to a moderator   #31357
ThomasAscher
Always buying and selling
ThomasAscher's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI, New York
ThomasAscher owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
ThomasAscher is Legendary
ThomasAscher supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $429.99
Pros: Interesting marker
Cons: Not ready
Very interesting idea by tippmman.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Add New Review