Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Proto Paintball - Reflex Rail 2012 Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Proto Paintball
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: customerservice@protopaintball.com
Website: http://www.protopaintball.com
The all new 2012 Proto Rail paintball gun is a high-end performing marker that delivers a serious bang fro your buck. Operating at only 145 PSI, the 2012 Proto Rail fuse bolt is easy on even the most brittle paintballs. The small and lightweight Hyper 3 regulator is stock on the 2012 Proto Rail and will supply a steady flow of air to ensure you have great consistency from this paintball marker.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2012
 MSRP: $499.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 28
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  64%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  32%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  4%
 Link:
Proto Paintball - Reflex Rail 2012 Reviews
Proto Paintball Reflex Rail 2012 so i bought this gun used, less then a bag of paint thru it, i paid 250. i took it out to the field and played with it, im in love with this gun, straight up. the contact pads it has on the reg are...
Report this review to a moderator   #31835
576463
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: everything
Cons: the chrome on top, and i personally dont like the trigger
so i bought this gun used, less then a bag of paint thru it, i paid 250.
i took it out to the field and played with it, im in love with this gun, straight up.
the contact pads it has on the reg are great, the sticky grips feel great, the led view hole in the grip is a nice touch.

i only get about 6 pods thru it not counting my full loader, but i play snake, 6 is plenty for me, and most players for that matter.

the only thing i dont like is the chrome on top started to come off the gun, but some gorilla glue fixed that right up

anyone who doesnt recommend this gun either shot a rail(not a reflex) or hasnt shot it at all.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Reflex Rail 2012 Pros: looks like a proto, shoots like a dye Cons: my eye pipe is snug, I think it's just mine though
Report this review to a moderator   #34711
Absently
Gun Stands in Sig $13
Absently's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Fl
Absently has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Absently is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: Dye's online replacement parts
Cons: Eye pipe is snug
Pros: looks like a proto, shoots like a dye
Cons: my eye pipe is snug, I think it's just mine though
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Reflex Rail 2012 Overall this is an amazing gun with accurate shooting and an amazing finish to it. It looks sexy so and I defanitely reccomend it to all players.
Report this review to a moderator   #28651
XxProPaintballer21xX
 
Join Date: May 2012
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $499.95
Pros: Trigger, Feedneck,and Bolt
Cons: Nothing
Overall this is an amazing gun with accurate shooting and an amazing finish to it. It looks sexy so and I defanitely reccomend it to all players.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Reflex Rail 2012 SETUP- Dye i4 Invasion Mask 2012 Proto Reflex Rail Smart Parts Freak System Oddessy Halo V35 w/Rip hopper Pure energy 68/3000 tank
Report this review to a moderator   #27805
Shatters
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: see review
Cons: see review
SETUP-
Dye i4 Invasion Mask
2012 Proto Reflex Rail
Smart Parts Freak System
Oddessy Halo V35 w/Rip hopper
Pure energy 68/3000 tank






to the guy that posted above that paided 1,250 dollars for a refelx rail no wonder your upset since they only cost between 450- 550 dollars depending on the color.

I currently have a 2012 proto reflex rail. I have shot the empire axe ( didnt like how it felt or the way it looks), the 2011 Matrix Rail ( not bad just was kinda a battery hog), and my current gun the 2012 Reflex Rail. I love this gun. Its durable for sliding. its fast and very accurate for good field cover, and very light weight for fast movement from bunker to bunker. The price was very worth it to me it has a lot of nice mods on it that you would not think of till u ran across it. the eye pipe is very nice for cleaning and preventing chopping of paint, the gun runs on 145 PSI which is very useful for long matches, the gun have very little recoil and noise. The ASA they put on the gun is nice also for tank purging. The board is very simple to program, all color coded. Its all around a great gun.

The only Con i have from this gun is that i do not like the 90 degree air line connector that goes into the hyper 3 regulator, (I prefer the 1's that comes with the DM12 the 45 degree line) Problem is there is so must stiffness in the hose it flips the hose around the side of the gun and gets in the way. Only solution that u can do is move the ASA piece back till the hose is unbound, or cut the line and reattach.

Another con is the quick feed clamp... Does not work for ALL hoppers... I have a oddessy Halo V35 W/rip and it doesnt fit right. to tight and u cant clamp it and to lose the hopper falls out. there no in between cause the threads used are course they need to be fine threads and it would work great, so... black tape is needed to get that few extra thousands of a inch to make the clamp work.

OTHERWISE VERY VERY NICE GUN!!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Reflex Rail 2012 This review will be short and sweet Reg 8 out of 10 Longer than usual break in period, but after +-7 all day long Stock barrel 6/10 Needs replacing with a Better barrel IMHO
Report this review to a moderator   #37544
firl21
Atlanta Overdose
firl21's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Alpharetta GA
firl21 is playing at Living Legends VI
firl21 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
firl21 has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
firl21 has perfected Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: DM lite
Cons: Effecincy
This review will be short and sweet

Reg
8 out of 10
Longer than usual break in period, but after +-7 all day long

Stock barrel
6/10
Needs replacing with a Better barrel IMHO

Grip
9/10
Great tactile feel

Kick
9/10
Almost non existent

Efficiency
4/10
6 pods on a 68/45

Looks
10/10
I have the pga awakening


TLDR
Shoots like a dm except a little less consistent in shots and accuracy.
Dosent shoot ropes, but shoots good lanes
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Reflex Rail 2012 Have been shooting a 2012 rail for 3 months now, and all I can say is that they are wildly impressive for the price. These guns can rip right out of the box no problem. Stock barrel is very similar...
Report this review to a moderator   #39845
adrianbylewski
 
adrianbylewski's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
adrianbylewski has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
adrianbylewski has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
adrianbylewski has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: size, feel, weight, stock features
Cons: out of the box effciency
Have been shooting a 2012 rail for 3 months now, and all I can say is that they are wildly impressive for the price. These guns can rip right out of the box no problem. Stock barrel is very similar to a UL. Only issue seemed to be it was a bit of a gas hog, but not nearly as bad as I had expected. Nothing to outweigh the pros of this marker. I added a techt L7 HE bolt and the gun shoots absolute ropes. Definitely recconmend this marker to anyone
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Reflex Rail 2012 As was said, no LPR but still amazing for the price. Upgraded to the L7 bolt for the extra efficiency and a Dye UL barrel back for some extra consistency and its probably the nicest marker I've used....
Report this review to a moderator   #35752
Antichaos
 
Antichaos's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada, Ontario
Antichaos owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Antichaos supports Team VICIOUS
Antichaos supports Team VICIOUS
Antichaos has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Hyper3 comes Stock, Fires amazing, Quiet, Low Kick
Cons: No LPR
As was said, no LPR but still amazing for the price. Upgraded to the L7 bolt for the extra efficiency and a Dye UL barrel back for some extra consistency and its probably the nicest marker I've used. Quiet as a GHOST, nearly no kick (seriously, even without with the bolt and barrel upgrade!) Only think you'd really need to upgrade on this would be the board if you NEED it (definitely try its stock board before upgrading to a virtue, because only you know what YOU like.) Comes w/ case, full colour manual, o-rings, etc etc... Great value.

PS: Got the gun brand new on a deal w/ the rest of my loadout. Was selling for 499, got it for 400 flat Price wise this gun is amazing, and if you can find a lower retail price online I suggest mentioning that to your local store; they might one-up their competitor like they did for me!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Reflex Rail 2012 great marker overall for the price..looks sweet as hell..only issue I had was where the macro went into the reg is always moving..only an issue on my part, but was a little annoying
Report this review to a moderator   #39529
asmorando1
BOOM! headshot
asmorando1's avatar
Join Date: May 2013
Location: boise
asmorando1 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
asmorando1 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
asmorando1 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
asmorando1 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $499.00
Pros: efficient
Cons: reg fitting
great marker overall for the price..looks sweet as hell..only issue I had was where the macro went into the reg is always moving..only an issue on my part, but was a little annoying
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Reflex Rail 2012
Report this review to a moderator   #46633
cheesyhoney
Spools for life
cheesyhoney's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC
cheesyhoney is playing at Living Legends VII
cheesyhoney owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
cheesyhoney supports DLX Technology
cheesyhoney supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Smooth shooter, easy maintnance
Cons: kicks a bit more than I would like
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Reflex Rail 2012 I bought the PGA 20K designs for this gun and it looks pretty damn badass. It's got a design of a giant octupus/kraken thing demolishing a pirate ship and the front part of the barrel has waves on...
Report this review to a moderator   #34054
cobrabraun@verizon.n
Chicken In the Coop!
cobrabraun@verizon.n's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ashburn, Virginia
cobrabraun@verizon.n supports Pev's Paintball
cobrabraun@verizon.n has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
cobrabraun@verizon.n has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: Great quality,
Cons: little on the expansive side
I bought the PGA 20K designs for this gun and it looks pretty damn badass. It's got a design of a giant octupus/kraken thing demolishing a pirate ship and the front part of the barrel has waves on it. Apart from the amazing appearance of the gun and great feel to it, to performance is all you can ask for in a marker. Its accurate, is great on air, and shoots ropes like it's no big deal. Overall, this is a great marker and I recommend it to anyone looking to get a good speedball marker in the 500-600 dollar range.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review