Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
MacDev - Droid Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
MacDev
15271 NW 60th Ave Suite 208
Miami Lakes, FL 33014

Phone: (877) 622-3381
Fax: (424) 201-0550
Email: support@macdev.net
Website: http://macdev.net
MacDev has created a new generation spool that is designed to change the way that players view spool valve markers. The droid claims +1700 efficiency (68/4500) and an operating pressure of 100 psi.
 Manual: Download the manual for MacDev Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $1,100.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 89
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  62%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  35%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
MacDev - Droid Reviews
MacDev Droid
Report this review to a moderator   #42027
ssk
GLK
ssk's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Charleston, SC
ssk plays in the PSP
ssk supports Team VICIOUS
ssk posts videos on PbNation
ssk is an NCPA player
ssk plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Good shooter
Cons: Broke a lot
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid My first experience with Macdev and its been a super pleasant one. Upgrades: Gold Bolt (Semi necessary) VP Trigger(preferance) Tadao OLED Board(preferance) Smoothness: Its one of the 2 biggest...
Report this review to a moderator   #10888
SWAYED117
 
SWAYED117's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rochester NY
SWAYED117 donated to help Peyton Trent
SWAYED117 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
SWAYED117 supports Team VICIOUS
SWAYED117 posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1.00
Pros: Light, Fast, Efficienct
Cons: Stock reg needs more maintenance
My first experience with Macdev and its been a super pleasant one.

Upgrades:
Gold Bolt (Semi necessary)
VP Trigger(preferance)
Tadao OLED Board(preferance)

Smoothness: Its one of the 2 biggest deciding factors when choosing a gun is smoothness and efficiency. This gun is smoother than most DM's or NT's ive ever shot the only gun imo that rivals or may beat it is a polished and sprung Luxe.

Feel: Its not DM comfy by any means but some hockey / bike tape with make up for it. The length of the gun really shines not as far forward as a luxe and not super close like a DM. If you've ever use a NXT or Marq its just about the exact same feel.

Efficiency: My tank is weird on the first fill but after that most 45/45s on a 3000 fill can expect at least 6-7pods thats already 840+shots and we havent even fully filled the tank yet. More than enough for any league or type of play. You may be able to tune a DM somewhat close to that but you will be leaving the smoothness FAR behind.

Tuning: Im a fanatic about tuning guns the only mid/high end Ive never been able to smooth out was a DM8 just no luck with those what so ever. With the droid the only thing you need is Militia Lube or a thinner lube similar to it. Thick lube will hurt the smooth shot and possibly cause FSDO such as Sl33k. Leave your dwell at 12ms (stock) or bump it to 14ms for cold weather climates. NOTHING ELSE. dropping your dwell below it causes an increase in pressure which throws the whole gun off. Also this gun does not need alot of lube by any means so if your coming from a DM or shocker FORGET LUBING IT THE SAME. Use only enough to make the orings appear wet and your set for at least a good 5-10 cases if not more.

Reliability: Super reliable dont need to take out the drive train to lube frequently at all doesnt randomly leak like DM's and Shockers can be prone to. One fault in the Droids making is the regulator, moreso the fact that it is not filtered so if enough dirt gets in the bottomworks it will damage the reg seat causing spikes which can damage stock bolt and the keg on the drivetrain. It can also cause dropoff which would seem like a low battery or bolt stick.

2 Fixes for this

Flip the reg seat if damaged (use manual to see what it is) And you get a second use make sure the bottom part of the reg is clear of any debris

Use another reg with a STANDARD fitting my top 3 choices [ Hyper 3 , Marq 360' reg , Hyper 2 ]
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid This has to be the best gun I have ever owned. I've had it for 2 years now, and it has never failed me.
Report this review to a moderator   #20270
The Undecider
lml (ᴼ‿') lml
The Undecider's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
The Undecider owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
The Undecider has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
The Undecider has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
The Undecider has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Always works
Cons: nothing
This has to be the best gun I have ever owned. I've had it for 2 years now, and it has never failed me.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid Idk why but for some reason I fell inlove with macdev, the droid and the clone both being reliable, great markers!
Report this review to a moderator   #31050
ThomasAscher
Always buying and selling
ThomasAscher's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI, New York
ThomasAscher owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
ThomasAscher is Legendary
ThomasAscher supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Size is a bit large
Idk why but for some reason I fell inlove with macdev, the droid and the clone both being reliable, great markers!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid I recently got a droid and i have gotten complaments everytime ive been to the field. It shoots incredably smooth and it feels great in my hands. I have big hands so the bigger frame fits my hands...
Report this review to a moderator   #15428
tornadoes72
Stay classy-PBNation
tornadoes72's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Hampshire
tornadoes72 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: value, feel, smoothness
Cons:
I recently got a droid and i have gotten complaments everytime ive been to the field. It shoots incredably smooth and it feels great in my hands. I have big hands so the bigger frame fits my hands very well. Pick one of these up you wont be dissapointed
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid This gun was easily the smoothest shooting gun I have ever shot. I wish I never got rid of it and definitely plan on picking another up.
Report this review to a moderator   #20345
Unable
 
Unable's avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Unable has been a member for 10 years
Unable has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Unable has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Unable is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Very smooth shooting
Cons: Stock trigger
This gun was easily the smoothest shooting gun I have ever shot. I wish I never got rid of it and definitely plan on picking another up.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid I seriously loved this gun. Best I've shot so far. No kick. Quiet. Ropes so hard. Regret selling it but it was time to move on..Only thing i didn't like was the drive train. Maintenance was a...
Report this review to a moderator   #44595
Wasteovspace
 
Wasteovspace's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Ohio
Wasteovspace owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Wasteovspace plays in the APPA beginner division
Wasteovspace supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Amazing
Cons: Sooo many orings
I seriously loved this gun. Best I've shot so far. No kick. Quiet. Ropes so hard. Regret selling it but it was time to move on..Only thing i didn't like was the drive train. Maintenance was a beeeeeeitch when i didn't know what i was doing.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid Macdev IMO is one of the best companies in Paintball they have excellent Customer Service and have always been there for me for any question or issue. Macdev makes really good shooting paintball guns...
Report this review to a moderator   #62689
XIXIceIXI
((0))Ego Owner((0))
XIXIceIXI's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Texas
XIXIceIXI is playing at Living Legends VII
XIXIceIXI owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
XIXIceIXI has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
XIXIceIXI has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Quiet, Shoots Ropes, Buttery Smooth
Cons: Maintenance
Macdev IMO is one of the best companies in Paintball they have excellent Customer Service and have always been there for me for any question or issue. Macdev makes really good shooting paintball guns and really cant go wrong with any of them.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid great gun would own one again
Report this review to a moderator   #36064
YeahIKill
Mowing Faces
YeahIKill's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rochester N,Y.
YeahIKill owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
YeahIKill posts videos on PbNation
YeahIKill has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
YeahIKill has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
YeahIKill has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $950.00
Pros: shoots smooth and streight
Cons: hard to clean
great gun would own one again
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review