Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
MacDev - Droid Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
MacDev
15271 NW 60th Ave Suite 208
Miami Lakes, FL 33014

Phone: (877) 622-3381
Fax: (424) 201-0550
Email: support@macdev.net
Website: http://macdev.net
MacDev has created a new generation spool that is designed to change the way that players view spool valve markers. The droid claims +1700 efficiency (68/4500) and an operating pressure of 100 psi.
 Manual: Download the manual for MacDev Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $1,100.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 84
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  64%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  32%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  4%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
MacDev - Droid Reviews
MacDev Droid Best marker ever. It looks amazing, it shoots even better and it's deadly quiet. I had this thing for 3 months (I'm a gun whore) and I loved it. I will def. get another one soon. For the price, you...
Report this review to a moderator   #27868
s4l
^.In God I Trust.^
s4l's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Texas.
s4l donated to help Peyton Trent
s4l helped look for balloons
s4l owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
s4l supports our troops
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: Lightweight, Accurate, Quiet
Cons: Nothing
Best marker ever. It looks amazing, it shoots even better and it's deadly quiet. I had this thing for 3 months (I'm a gun whore) and I loved it. I will def. get another one soon. For the price, you can't beat the MacDev Droid's quality out of the box.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid I shot a Droid for the 2008 and 2009 seasons after picking one up in a local trade. The smoothness and consistency/efficiency impressed me straightaway, and it maintained that high level of...
Report this review to a moderator   #17425
SEKTape
Sweeper
SEKTape's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Lawrence, KS
SEKTape posts videos on PbNation
SEKTape is an NCPA player
SEKTape plays in the APPA D4 division
SEKTape has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: Smoothness, efficiency
Cons: Drivetrain is tricky the first time or two
I shot a Droid for the 2008 and 2009 seasons after picking one up in a local trade. The smoothness and consistency/efficiency impressed me straightaway, and it maintained that high level of performance for the entire time I owned it.

While I went on to upgrade it with a Yakuza board, Gold bolt, Violent trigger, and a filtered regulator bottom, the stock parts those things replaced were not deficient in any way. The only reason I sold my Droid was because my team got MacDev Clones through our sponsorship.

It's worth noting that the first few times I took it apart, I had to use the manual's diagram to make sure I put the drivetrain back together correctly, but this is a small price to pay for the awesome functionality of the marker, which I would recommend wholeheartedly.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid Period of Product Use: 6 months 1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Paintball Experience: 3 years Similar Products Used: Geo2
Report this review to a moderator   #33766
seriouslysilly
 
seriouslysilly's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: East coast
seriouslysilly owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
seriouslysilly owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
seriouslysilly posts videos on PbNation
seriouslysilly has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: sound signature, value, performance
Cons: stock trigger
Period of
Product Use:
6 months 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Paintball
Experience: 3 years

Similar
Products Used: Geo2
DP G3

Ego 05
Ego SL74
Ego 08
Ego SL8R
Ego SL94

Cyborg RX

DP fusion F7

Marker Setup: Macdev Droid
Prophecy/Rotor
68/4500 Myth2
Disruptive Barrel
Furious barrel
Lucky 15 barrel

Recommended
Upgrades: VP trigger
gold bolt
barrel kit
OLED (optional)



Strengths: - Very quiet
- very smooth
- affordable price

Weaknesses: - Stock trigger
- Stock barrel is not as quiet as others

Review: Although my experience is more on the poppet side, I will compare the Droid to the other two spoolies I have shot (Geo2 and G3). The G3 does not compare to the Droid or the Geo2 so it will be left out.

Shot a friend's Droid and immediately liked how it felt and how it shot.
I was currently shooting a Geo2 and the feel of both markers are similar. The spacing between the trigger frame and HPR are about the same.

First the negatives of the Droid in comparison to the Geo2:
The droid has more orings on the drive train than the Geo2. It also requires tools to remove the drive train. Although most of the orings in the drive train are not dynamic, it recommended to be replaced as part of preventative maintenance (about 1 year Ė depending on how much you play). Disassembly of the drive train at first glance can seem daunting as it has quite a few parts more than the Geo2, but after going though it step by step, I was able to do it without the manual or pictures after the 2nd-3rd time.

The stock trigger leaves little to be desired. It has significant side-to-side play and the spring return is not liked by many. I do, however, like the nylon set screw so it prevents the regular wear on the trigger frame (not really a big deal). The stock grips also feel mushy and bulky. It would have been great if it felt as good as the stock RX grips.

The stock barrel is not really a negative, but just something one might consider to improve on the performance of the marker. It is accurate, but definitely not as quiet as some aftermarket barrels. I have tried the Lucky15, Disruptive, and Furious barrels and they have significantly dampened the sound of the Droid even more!

The stock board is great and easily programmable. If one want to splurge and get the OLED screen, it would make programming easier. Performance gains with a new board is minimal- which is why it noted this upgrade as optional.

Now to the positives:
It is much much much quieter than the Geo2 (and recently the Dye NT). Although the NT and Geo2 are newer, they still do not compare to how quiet the Droid is. If you are wondering about age and wear, the droid I am using isnít even broken in yet. I purchased a LNIB droid which had no wear at all. To top it off, I replaced all the orings in the marker because of the age of the marker so it basically is like new.

Smoothness is another factor that the Droid shines. It is significantly smoother than the Geo2 and NT. I know it is preference and is difficult to gauge objectively, but I have tried shooting with two hands as well as with one. The kick is less noticeable with the Droid.

Efficiency is another thing that is reported with the Droid. Although I can not vouche for it personally, I believe the several tests out there already.



Conclusion: I bought my own Droid (LNIB) after shooting a friend's droid and was immediately impressed at the sound signature and feel of the marker. The physical feel of the Droid matched my Geo2 very closely, but outperformed the Geo2 in other aspects (sound signature, smoothness, efficiency).

The additional maintenance because of the orings is minimal to the performance that the Droid brings. After assembly/disassembly of the droid 2-3 times, I am able to do it without consulting the manual or pictures.

Because of how the Droid felt and performed, I soon sold my Geo2 and glad I did. Originally, I vowed that I would never sell my Geo2 (my first ever "new" marker) but couldn't justify keeping it along with the Droid.

I definitely recommend at least shooting a Droid so you can compare it to your current marker. At this point in time, a Droid can be had very reasonably at $350-$400. It is definitely worth a try!

Rating:
10 out of 10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid Had this gun for about 5 almost 6 months before I had to let go of it, which I regret. This gun is absolutely amazing. It is in par on smoothness with a Luxe, but has close to the efficiency of the...
Report this review to a moderator   #31547
ShocktechV
 
ShocktechV's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Somerville NJ
ShocktechV has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
ShocktechV has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Maintenance
Had this gun for about 5 almost 6 months before I had to let go of it, which I regret. This gun is absolutely amazing. It is in par on smoothness with a Luxe, but has close to the efficiency of the G6R. As you can see, there is barely any upgrades available out there for this gun. That is because it doesn't need anything else. Stock board is like that of a virtue/ape board, stock eyes are laser eyes already, and the no worrying about holding a button to turn it on, when you have a switch. Overall, I would love to get another droid or another gun by Macdev.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid Best marker I've ever owned. Everything you could want in a marker the droid does it better, and for less. Reliable, consistent, efficient, feels good in my hands, quiet and smooth. I've owned at...
Report this review to a moderator   #15406
Shooter28
PEACE
Shooter28's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: CENTRAL FLORIDA
Shooter28 plays in the PSP
Shooter28 plays in the APPA D3 division
Shooter28 supports DLX Technology
Shooter28 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Quiet, smooth, efficient, reliable, comfortable
Cons: NONE.
Best marker I've ever owned. Everything you could want in a marker the droid does it better, and for less. Reliable, consistent, efficient, feels good in my hands, quiet and smooth.

I've owned at least 6 droids over the years. I've purchased some from the factory, and a few broken. The only issues I've personally ever had were user error. Things like assembling the engine wrong, or pinching the wires between the frame and body. I have seen valves and bolts crack, but in my mind that's a side affect from another issue(bad or worn orings). If you take care of these markers they will never let you down, in the woods or in finals on Sunday.

I will say they arn't the easiest markers to learn but there is a community of people to help you until it becomes second nature.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid This is a great gun and I recommend it to everyone. It is a very smooth shooter, and easily one of my favorite guns. The bolt threads lock sometimes and become a pain to take apart.
Report this review to a moderator   #18883
Side-Swipe
Sensei
Side-Swipe's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago
Side-Swipe is playing at Living Legends III
Side-Swipe is playing at Living Legends V
Side-Swipe is playing at Living Legends VI
Side-Swipe posts videos on PbNation
Side-Swipe has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Efficient and Smooth
Cons: Bolt sometimes is hard to take apart due to thread
This is a great gun and I recommend it to everyone. It is a very smooth shooter, and easily one of my favorite guns. The bolt threads lock sometimes and become a pain to take apart.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid very smooth, quiet, and efficient. Only downside is that i had to change out the orings on the manifold a few times because it would develop a leak
Report this review to a moderator   #30857
southcarcocks
**** *****es get paid
southcarcocks's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alabama
southcarcocks is BST Legit
southcarcocks supports Team VICIOUS
southcarcocks supports Team VICIOUS
southcarcocks is an NCPA player
southcarcocks is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $399.99
Pros: smooth, quiet, efficient
Cons: manifold design
very smooth, quiet, and efficient. Only downside is that i had to change out the orings on the manifold a few times because it would develop a leak
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid
Report this review to a moderator   #42027
ssk
GLK
ssk's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Charleston, SC
ssk is BST Trusted
ssk plays in the PSP
ssk is playing at Living Legends VI
ssk supports Team VICIOUS
ssk posts videos on PbNation
ssk plays in the APPA D4 division
ssk is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Good shooter
Cons: Broke a lot
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid My first experience with Macdev and its been a super pleasant one. Upgrades: Gold Bolt (Semi necessary) VP Trigger(preferance) Tadao OLED Board(preferance) Smoothness: Its one of the 2 biggest...
Report this review to a moderator   #10888
SWAYED117
 
SWAYED117's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rochester NY
SWAYED117 donated to help Peyton Trent
SWAYED117 supports Team VICIOUS
SWAYED117 posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1.00
Pros: Light, Fast, Efficienct
Cons: Stock reg needs more maintenance
My first experience with Macdev and its been a super pleasant one.

Upgrades:
Gold Bolt (Semi necessary)
VP Trigger(preferance)
Tadao OLED Board(preferance)

Smoothness: Its one of the 2 biggest deciding factors when choosing a gun is smoothness and efficiency. This gun is smoother than most DM's or NT's ive ever shot the only gun imo that rivals or may beat it is a polished and sprung Luxe.

Feel: Its not DM comfy by any means but some hockey / bike tape with make up for it. The length of the gun really shines not as far forward as a luxe and not super close like a DM. If you've ever use a NXT or Marq its just about the exact same feel.

Efficiency: My tank is weird on the first fill but after that most 45/45s on a 3000 fill can expect at least 6-7pods thats already 840+shots and we havent even fully filled the tank yet. More than enough for any league or type of play. You may be able to tune a DM somewhat close to that but you will be leaving the smoothness FAR behind.

Tuning: Im a fanatic about tuning guns the only mid/high end Ive never been able to smooth out was a DM8 just no luck with those what so ever. With the droid the only thing you need is Militia Lube or a thinner lube similar to it. Thick lube will hurt the smooth shot and possibly cause FSDO such as Sl33k. Leave your dwell at 12ms (stock) or bump it to 14ms for cold weather climates. NOTHING ELSE. dropping your dwell below it causes an increase in pressure which throws the whole gun off. Also this gun does not need alot of lube by any means so if your coming from a DM or shocker FORGET LUBING IT THE SAME. Use only enough to make the orings appear wet and your set for at least a good 5-10 cases if not more.

Reliability: Super reliable dont need to take out the drive train to lube frequently at all doesnt randomly leak like DM's and Shockers can be prone to. One fault in the Droids making is the regulator, moreso the fact that it is not filtered so if enough dirt gets in the bottomworks it will damage the reg seat causing spikes which can damage stock bolt and the keg on the drivetrain. It can also cause dropoff which would seem like a low battery or bolt stick.

2 Fixes for this

Flip the reg seat if damaged (use manual to see what it is) And you get a second use make sure the bottom part of the reg is clear of any debris

Use another reg with a STANDARD fitting my top 3 choices [ Hyper 3 , Marq 360' reg , Hyper 2 ]
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid This has to be the best gun I have ever owned. I've had it for 2 years now, and it has never failed me.
Report this review to a moderator   #20270
The Undecider
lml (ᴼ‿') lml
The Undecider's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
The Undecider owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
The Undecider has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
The Undecider has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
The Undecider has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Always works
Cons: nothing
This has to be the best gun I have ever owned. I've had it for 2 years now, and it has never failed me.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review