Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
MacDev - Droid Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
MacDev
15271 NW 60th Ave Suite 208
Miami Lakes, FL 33014

Phone: (877) 622-3381
Fax: (424) 201-0550
Email: support@macdev.net
Website: http://macdev.net
MacDev has created a new generation spool that is designed to change the way that players view spool valve markers. The droid claims +1700 efficiency (68/4500) and an operating pressure of 100 psi.
 Manual: Download the manual for MacDev Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $1,100.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 89
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  62%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  35%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
MacDev - Droid Reviews
MacDev Droid This gun was truly magical when i had it, it did everything i needed it to and more. I was able to shoot almost 11 pods off a 68/45 fill and never had a problem running out of air.
Report this review to a moderator   #32304
lucasicool
 
lucasicool's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blacksburg VA
lucasicool helped look for balloons
lucasicool supports Sherwood Forest
lucasicool has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
lucasicool has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
lucasicool has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: quiet, smooth
Cons: occasionally blew an o ring
This gun was truly magical when i had it, it did everything i needed it to and more. I was able to shoot almost 11 pods off a 68/45 fill and never had a problem running out of air.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid My first experience with Macdev and its been a super pleasant one. Upgrades: Gold Bolt (Semi necessary) VP Trigger(preferance) Tadao OLED Board(preferance) Smoothness: Its one of the 2 biggest...
Report this review to a moderator   #16059
Macklemore
Macklemore's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South Carolina
Macklemore owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Macklemore posts videos on PbNation
Macklemore supports Pev's Paintball
Macklemore has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Great gun
Cons: none at all
My first experience with Macdev and its been a super pleasant one.

Upgrades:
Gold Bolt (Semi necessary)
VP Trigger(preferance)
Tadao OLED Board(preferance)

Smoothness: Its one of the 2 biggest deciding factors when choosing a gun is smoothness and efficiency. This gun is smoother than most DM's or NT's ive ever shot the only gun imo that rivals or may beat it is a polished and sprung Luxe.

Feel: Its not DM comfy by any means but some hockey / bike tape with make up for it. The length of the gun really shines not as far forward as a luxe and not super close like a DM. If you've ever use a NXT or Marq its just about the exact same feel.

Efficiency: My tank is weird on the first fill but after that most 45/45s on a 3000 fill can expect at least 6-7pods thats already 840+shots and we havent even fully filled the tank yet. More than enough for any league or type of play. You may be able to tune a DM somewhat close to that but you will be leaving the smoothness FAR behind.

Tuning: Im a fanatic about tuning guns the only mid/high end Ive never been able to smooth out was a DM8 just no luck with those what so ever. With the droid the only thing you need is Militia Lube or a thinner lube similar to it. Thick lube will hurt the smooth shot and possibly cause FSDO such as Sl33k. Leave your dwell at 12ms (stock) or bump it to 14ms for cold weather climates. NOTHING ELSE. dropping your dwell below it causes an increase in pressure which throws the whole gun off. Also this gun does not need alot of lube by any means so if your coming from a DM or shocker FORGET LUBING IT THE SAME. Use only enough to make the orings appear wet and your set for at least a good 5-10 cases if not more.

Reliability: Super reliable dont need to take out the drive train to lube frequently at all doesnt randomly leak like DM's and Shockers can be prone to. One fault in the Droids making is the regulator, moreso the fact that it is not filtered so if enough dirt gets in the bottomworks it will damage the reg seat causing spikes which can damage stock bolt and the keg on the drivetrain. It can also cause dropoff which would seem like a low battery or bolt stick.

2 Fixes for this

Flip the reg seat if damaged (use manual to see what it is) And you get a second use make sure the bottom part of the reg is clear of any debris

Use another reg with a STANDARD fitting my top 3 choices [ Hyper 3 , Marq 360' reg , Hyper 2 ]
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid Soo many shots and so smooth
Report this review to a moderator   #13557
matt00iconoclast
Matt #4
matt00iconoclast's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Land of Oz
matt00iconoclast plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: smooth light
Cons: nothing
Soo many shots and so smooth
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid well balanced gun that i enjoyed so much i couldnt get rid of it.
Report this review to a moderator   #43972
mayorbeee
 
mayorbeee's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Camp Lejenue
mayorbeee owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
mayorbeee owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
mayorbeee has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
mayorbeee has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: well balanced
Cons: no cons
well balanced gun that i enjoyed so much i couldnt get rid of it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid the gun shoots ropes i really liked how it shot even with how bulky it is the only problem i had with it is the battery life was the worse. if the battery life is too low the gun wont shoot the...
Report this review to a moderator   #22354
mctamneymj
 
mctamneymj's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pipersville
mctamneymj plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: smooth shooting
Cons: battery life
the gun shoots ropes i really liked how it shot even with how bulky it is the only problem i had with it is the battery life was the worse. if the battery life is too low the gun wont shoot the battery only last one day of playing idk if it is just me but when we play we play all day and i never had this problem with any of my pe
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid Great shooting gun but maintenance is a *****, and macdev doesn't do a great job of helping you with it either.
Report this review to a moderator   #22840
mini ben
 
mini ben's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
mini ben plays in the PSP
mini ben plays in the MiLP
mini ben donated to help Peyton Trent
mini ben plays in the APPA D3 division
mini ben is Legendary
mini ben is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: smooth
Cons: hard to fix
Great shooting gun but maintenance is a *****, and macdev doesn't do a great job of helping you with it either.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid I've shot DMs, Geos, Luxes, as well as other spool valve markers. This was always the smoothest shooting marker I've ever owned. Absolutely zero issues with holding a lane with one hand It's very...
Report this review to a moderator   #85745
MJPacheco89
 
MJPacheco89's avatar
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
MJPacheco89 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
MJPacheco89 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
MJPacheco89 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
MJPacheco89 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.00
Pros: smooth, consistent, reliable, well balanced
Cons: drive train can be a little intimidating 1st time
I've shot DMs, Geos, Luxes, as well as other spool valve markers.

This was always the smoothest shooting marker I've ever owned. Absolutely zero issues with holding a lane with one hand

It's very well balanced in the hands when.

Big fan of the switch for the marker, makes it very easy to turn on and off in between games. Never had an issue with accidently turning it off during play.

The stock board was ok, but I quickly switched to the Tadao Yakuza board and never looked back.

Trigger stock again was alright but I changed mine to the Violet trigger. Fit the way I hold the gun and roll my fingers to shoot much better ergonomically.

Efficiency wise I never really measured it, but I used a 50/45k tank with a LP crossfire regulator and never had an issue with running out of air during games. Keep in mind I played snake so I wasn't shooting a ton of paint. Usually a hopper and I carried out 4 pods with me. Probably shoot about 2 maybe 3 pods + the hopper. Never got too low, if using a 68 I wouldn't have worried at all.

The drive train was a little intimidating the first couple of times taking it apart to clean it. But pull up a youtube video at the same time and you're fine. After the second or third time you'll be doing it like nothing.

I would easily use this marker again, fantastic shooting marker with great consistency. Also didn't have issues with FSDO

The reason I don't have it anymore is because I traded it for a Luxe.
I wanted one for a while so that was my way to get it.

But would easily shoot a Droid again without question
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid Used it as my primary for a full NCPA season and was more then pleased with it!
Report this review to a moderator   #84953
mmayhemG3
Razin Hell-Paintin Faces
mmayhemG3's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Columbus OH
mmayhemG3 is an NCPA player
mmayhemG3 plays in the APPA beginner division
mmayhemG3 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: reliable, comfortable
Cons: weight
Used it as my primary for a full NCPA season and was more then pleased with it!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid I've been rocking a droid for a while now and absolutely love mine. It is the smoothest shooter I've ever shot out of all types of guns. I can drop 12 pods off one fill and only need to fill once or...
Report this review to a moderator   #32438
MrWorkshopProduction
 
MrWorkshopProduction's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: AZ
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Efficient, smooth, reliable, fast
Cons: Heavy
I've been rocking a droid for a while now and absolutely love mine. It is the smoothest shooter I've ever shot out of all types of guns. I can drop 12 pods off one fill and only need to fill once or twice a practice. I love my droid!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid I love this gun, I have the 1 of 10 Dust Black Droid from the factory. I also have 1 of 12 XXX Delrin bolts made for it, I love this gun, I will most likely never get rid of it! Solid shooter,...
Report this review to a moderator   #19299
MZinCamo
PaintcheckPB
MZinCamo's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Illinois
MZinCamo plays in the PSP
MZinCamo posts videos on PbNation
MZinCamo is an NCPA player
MZinCamo is All In
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: Smooth, effecient, sexy as hell.
Cons: A bit heavy, and pretty picky about performance.
I love this gun, I have the 1 of 10 Dust Black Droid from the factory.

I also have 1 of 12 XXX Delrin bolts made for it, I love this gun, I will most likely never get rid of it!

Solid shooter, quiet, smooth, really effecient!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review