Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
MacDev - Droid Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
MacDev
15271 NW 60th Ave Suite 208
Miami Lakes, FL 33014

Phone: (877) 622-3381
Fax: (424) 201-0550
Email: support@macdev.net
Website: http://macdev.net
MacDev has created a new generation spool that is designed to change the way that players view spool valve markers. The droid claims +1700 efficiency (68/4500) and an operating pressure of 100 psi.
 Manual: Download the manual for MacDev Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $1,100.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 86
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  63%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  34%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
MacDev - Droid Reviews
MacDev Droid This gun was truly magical when i had it, it did everything i needed it to and more. I was able to shoot almost 11 pods off a 68/45 fill and never had a problem running out of air.
Report this review to a moderator   #32304
lucasicool
 
lucasicool's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blacksburg VA
lucasicool helped look for balloons
lucasicool supports Sherwood Forest
lucasicool has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
lucasicool has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
lucasicool has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: quiet, smooth
Cons: occasionally blew an o ring
This gun was truly magical when i had it, it did everything i needed it to and more. I was able to shoot almost 11 pods off a 68/45 fill and never had a problem running out of air.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid My first experience with Macdev and its been a super pleasant one. Upgrades: Gold Bolt (Semi necessary) VP Trigger(preferance) Tadao OLED Board(preferance) Smoothness: Its one of the 2 biggest...
Report this review to a moderator   #16059
Macklemore
Macklemore's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South Carolina
Macklemore owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Macklemore posts videos on PbNation
Macklemore supports Pev's Paintball
Macklemore has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Great gun
Cons: none at all
My first experience with Macdev and its been a super pleasant one.

Upgrades:
Gold Bolt (Semi necessary)
VP Trigger(preferance)
Tadao OLED Board(preferance)

Smoothness: Its one of the 2 biggest deciding factors when choosing a gun is smoothness and efficiency. This gun is smoother than most DM's or NT's ive ever shot the only gun imo that rivals or may beat it is a polished and sprung Luxe.

Feel: Its not DM comfy by any means but some hockey / bike tape with make up for it. The length of the gun really shines not as far forward as a luxe and not super close like a DM. If you've ever use a NXT or Marq its just about the exact same feel.

Efficiency: My tank is weird on the first fill but after that most 45/45s on a 3000 fill can expect at least 6-7pods thats already 840+shots and we havent even fully filled the tank yet. More than enough for any league or type of play. You may be able to tune a DM somewhat close to that but you will be leaving the smoothness FAR behind.

Tuning: Im a fanatic about tuning guns the only mid/high end Ive never been able to smooth out was a DM8 just no luck with those what so ever. With the droid the only thing you need is Militia Lube or a thinner lube similar to it. Thick lube will hurt the smooth shot and possibly cause FSDO such as Sl33k. Leave your dwell at 12ms (stock) or bump it to 14ms for cold weather climates. NOTHING ELSE. dropping your dwell below it causes an increase in pressure which throws the whole gun off. Also this gun does not need alot of lube by any means so if your coming from a DM or shocker FORGET LUBING IT THE SAME. Use only enough to make the orings appear wet and your set for at least a good 5-10 cases if not more.

Reliability: Super reliable dont need to take out the drive train to lube frequently at all doesnt randomly leak like DM's and Shockers can be prone to. One fault in the Droids making is the regulator, moreso the fact that it is not filtered so if enough dirt gets in the bottomworks it will damage the reg seat causing spikes which can damage stock bolt and the keg on the drivetrain. It can also cause dropoff which would seem like a low battery or bolt stick.

2 Fixes for this

Flip the reg seat if damaged (use manual to see what it is) And you get a second use make sure the bottom part of the reg is clear of any debris

Use another reg with a STANDARD fitting my top 3 choices [ Hyper 3 , Marq 360' reg , Hyper 2 ]
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid Soo many shots and so smooth
Report this review to a moderator   #13557
matt00iconoclast
Matt #4
matt00iconoclast's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Land of Oz
matt00iconoclast plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: smooth light
Cons: nothing
Soo many shots and so smooth
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid well balanced gun that i enjoyed so much i couldnt get rid of it.
Report this review to a moderator   #43972
mayorbeee
 
mayorbeee's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Camp Lejenue
mayorbeee owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
mayorbeee owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
mayorbeee has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
mayorbeee has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: well balanced
Cons: no cons
well balanced gun that i enjoyed so much i couldnt get rid of it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid the gun shoots ropes i really liked how it shot even with how bulky it is the only problem i had with it is the battery life was the worse. if the battery life is too low the gun wont shoot the...
Report this review to a moderator   #22354
mctamneymj
 
mctamneymj's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pipersville
mctamneymj plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: smooth shooting
Cons: battery life
the gun shoots ropes i really liked how it shot even with how bulky it is the only problem i had with it is the battery life was the worse. if the battery life is too low the gun wont shoot the battery only last one day of playing idk if it is just me but when we play we play all day and i never had this problem with any of my pe
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid Great shooting gun but maintenance is a *****, and macdev doesn't do a great job of helping you with it either.
Report this review to a moderator   #22840
mini ben
 
mini ben's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
mini ben plays in the PSP
mini ben plays in the MiLP
mini ben donated to help Peyton Trent
mini ben plays in the APPA D2 division
mini ben is Legendary
mini ben is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: smooth
Cons: hard to fix
Great shooting gun but maintenance is a *****, and macdev doesn't do a great job of helping you with it either.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid I've been rocking a droid for a while now and absolutely love mine. It is the smoothest shooter I've ever shot out of all types of guns. I can drop 12 pods off one fill and only need to fill once or...
Report this review to a moderator   #32438
MrWorkshopProduction
 
MrWorkshopProduction's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: AZ
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Efficient, smooth, reliable, fast
Cons: Heavy
I've been rocking a droid for a while now and absolutely love mine. It is the smoothest shooter I've ever shot out of all types of guns. I can drop 12 pods off one fill and only need to fill once or twice a practice. I love my droid!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid I love this gun, I have the 1 of 10 Dust Black Droid from the factory. I also have 1 of 12 XXX Delrin bolts made for it, I love this gun, I will most likely never get rid of it! Solid shooter,...
Report this review to a moderator   #19299
MZinCamo
PaintcheckPB
MZinCamo's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Illinois
MZinCamo plays in the PSP
MZinCamo posts videos on PbNation
MZinCamo is an NCPA player
MZinCamo is All In
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: Smooth, effecient, sexy as hell.
Cons: A bit heavy, and pretty picky about performance.
I love this gun, I have the 1 of 10 Dust Black Droid from the factory.

I also have 1 of 12 XXX Delrin bolts made for it, I love this gun, I will most likely never get rid of it!

Solid shooter, quiet, smooth, really effecient!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid I've had my droid for a couple years now and have used it in tournaments, in the woods, walk on days at the XBall field, the middle of winter, this marker has seen it all. I've been pretty impressed...
Report this review to a moderator   #17881
Ninja-Duck
I am the liquor
Ninja-Duck's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ottawa
Ninja-Duck supports Bob Gurnsey
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: Smooth, Reliable, Consistent
Cons: Minor - See Review
I've had my droid for a couple years now and have used it in tournaments, in the woods, walk on days at the XBall field, the middle of winter, this marker has seen it all. I've been pretty impressed with it overall. It has a good feel in your hands and is comfortable to hold.

The milling is really nice; I really like the aesthetics of this marker, but I do have a complaint about the milling. The small tabs that extend off the back of the body over the back cap can get bent down, one got bent down on my marker and the back cap is a little harder to remove now.
Performance wise the droid is great, it is very smooth, consistent (and accurate as a result), and for a spool valve gun it gets pretty good efficiency. The only time it ever gave me trouble was when I used it during the winter in -20* Celsius, it had some minor FSDO problems and lost some consistency. However once you started shooting the gun and it warmed up a bit from the friction of cycling it returned to normal.

The droid has a lot of nice features, the stock barrel is great so you don't need to upgrade it. The stock ASA is really nice too, however there is not a lot of meat on the rails (on the ASA not the marker) so they can snap off if you mess up a dive, happened to me at a practice. The stock trigger is quite nice as well, it has a really nice feel and hardly any play. I did upgrade mine to a CP because I liked the shape a bit better.
One feature I really like is the simple switch to turn the marker on and off, very useful if the ref calls the 5 second warning and you notice your marker is turned off. They put it in the perfect place as well; right at the top of the back of the grip frame so you can flick it with your thumb. The feedneck is great, nice low profile lever lock with a thumb screw to adjust tension.

Maintenance can be a bit complicated for the inexperienced. There are lots of parts in the bolt engine of this marker compared to some spools that only have a few parts to clean and lube inside. As long as you follow the manual you'll be fine, and once you do it a few times it becomes routine. If you take care of this marker you will be rewarded with flawless performance time after time. Regulator maintenance is pretty simple, just the usual piston and shim setup but it works very well. I find velocity adjustment to be very touchy on my reg, a 1/4 turn of the screw can give you quite a big change in velocity.

I really love my droid, it has been a great marker for me and I don't think I'll ever sell it. The only reason I won't give it five stars for performance is because of the problems you can have in the cold (not that other markers don't have the same problems).
Thanks for reading!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
MacDev Droid Out of all the markers (pre 11) that I have used this is by far my favorite. Quiet, efficient, very little kick, feels good shooting it. nothing bad to say about this!
Report this review to a moderator   #12899
NotoriousCheech
Mr.Cheech Army
NotoriousCheech's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago, IL.
NotoriousCheech is playing at Living Legends III
NotoriousCheech is playing at Living Legends V
NotoriousCheech is playing at Living Legends VI
NotoriousCheech posts videos on PbNation
NotoriousCheech plays in the APPA D5 division
NotoriousCheech is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: quiet, little kick, light, feels good in hand
Cons: reg is a little long
Out of all the markers (pre 11) that I have used this is by far my favorite. Quiet, efficient, very little kick, feels good shooting it. nothing bad to say about this!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review