Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
MacDev - Droid Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
MacDev
15271 NW 60th Ave Suite 208
Miami Lakes, FL 33014

Phone: (877) 622-3381
Fax: (424) 201-0550
Email: support@macdev.net
Website: http://macdev.net
MacDev has created a new generation spool that is designed to change the way that players view spool valve markers. The droid claims +1700 efficiency (68/4500) and an operating pressure of 100 psi.
 Manual: Download the manual for MacDev Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $1,100.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 86
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  63%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  34%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
MacDev - Droid Reviews
MacDev Droid Wow is the only word that comes to mind when I think of this gun. The droid is hands down the best gun I have ever shot and I have shot a lot of gun's. Let me explain. Appearance: the look of this...
Report this review to a moderator   #68
rockingthequest
Mother****a i'm ILL
rockingthequest's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central Jersey
rockingthequest plays in the PSP
rockingthequest plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,050.00
Pros: fast, lightwieght, smooth, efficient, quiet
Cons: grips, trigger
Wow is the only word that comes to mind when I think of this gun. The droid is hands down the best gun I have ever shot and I have shot a lot of gun's. Let me explain.

Appearance: the look of this gun is amazing. It looks truly beautiful. The milling and anno is extremly beautiful and looks like it was long thought out.

Wieght: This is a pretty light gun. Its not the lightess gun on the market but it's very well balanced with any setup. I use a 45/45 and a vlocity jr with mine and it feels perfect. Mine wieghts 1.875 with asa, no barrel, which is great.

Speed: this gun is extremly fast. It can basically shoot as fast as your hopper can feed. It's basically as fast as you would ever want your gun to be.

Grips: the grips are very annoying. They don't fit very tightly to the gun and kinds hang loose. There also very thick and don't fit well in your hand.
Efficiency: this gun is extremly efficient. Its not as efficient as an 07 cyborg but is deffinatly close. I get about 1400 to a 45/45 which is amazing.

Trigger: I really don't like the stock trigger on the gun. It seems extremly hard to even hit 15 bps on semi with this trigger. Aside from the actual trigger, the ball bearing's are amazing. There's even alittle plastic screw on the trigger which really go's to show how much time and attention to detail they put into this marker.

Trigger guard: the trigger guard on this gun is HUGE. Its the biggest trigger guard that I have ever used and even a giant could fit his finger's in there and shoot. Deffinatly a great trigger guard.

Asa: this asa is great. Its not to small but its also not a giant. It also has a great. The one off turns on and off with ease and with no force.

Gladiator: the gladiator is the greatest regulator that I have ever used. Its extremly easy to lube only has to be lubes every once in a while. It never spikes and is truly amazing.

Board: the board is amazing and comes stock with every setting and mode that you would ever need. With 12 modes that vary from uncapped semi to full auto, there's not another setting that you would need. You can also change the setting from your trigger.

Microswitch: this I have mixed feeling's about. I have not turned it on or off accidently before but there is always and possiblity the you could, especially with this gun.

Drive train: the drive train can be a pain to lube or to clean if you break paint but it truly preform's like no other. It's very easy to take apart and lube and not so easy to put back together correctly. With some training though you could get better.

Barrel: the matchstick is one of the best barrels I have ever used. The accuracy is spot on and it's quiet. No need for an upgrade.

Quiet: this gun is dead quiet and you'll actually lose track of whether your shooting or not.

Kick: this gun has virtually no kick. Least kick if any gun I've ever used.

Overall I love this gun. Go out and buy it now!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
MacDev Droid I got this gun and thought it was going to be a waste of money. Was I wrong. I have never found a better gun for this amount of money. I will always be a macdev fan from here on out
Report this review to a moderator   #25006
josh100408
They call me YETI
josh100408's avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Germany
josh100408 plays in the PSP
josh100408 is playing at Living Legends III
josh100408 supports Team VICIOUS
josh100408 supports Bob Gurnsey
josh100408 supports Pev's Paintball
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Amazing gun
Cons: not to many aftermarket parts
I got this gun and thought it was going to be a waste of money. Was I wrong. I have never found a better gun for this amount of money. I will always be a macdev fan from here on out
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
MacDev Droid I picked up a Droid because I wanted to try a spool valve gun after shooting poppits for years. Out of the box the quality of the marker is readily apparent. The anodizing looks amazing and the gun...
Report this review to a moderator   #18222
Yeti6669
Shoot 'em in the Face
Yeti6669's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Washington DC
Yeti6669 donated to help Peyton Trent
Yeti6669 posts videos on PbNation
Yeti6669 supports our troops
Yeti6669 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Yeti6669 is a top reviewer
Yeti6669 is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $950.00
Pros: Ergonomics, reliability, efficiency
Cons: Drive train screw
I picked up a Droid because I wanted to try a spool valve gun after shooting poppits for years. Out of the box the quality of the marker is readily apparent. The anodizing looks amazing and the gun has a solid feel without weighing a lot. The gun shot amazing out of the box with very little adjustment to the HPR. Maintenance on the marker is very simple if you take the time to read the manual and look at a few pictures. A little lube goes a long way on these type of markers and too much lube can hurt your efficiency. Very good value for the money. The only thing I wish it had was an OLED board stock.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
MacDev Droid This gun is probably one of the Best guns I have ever shot in my life It's light as hell, Looks good, Quiet, Accurate, It's a great price for it, The only Thing I would Like to have Macdev Change...
Report this review to a moderator   #4396
white_shadow69
I'm the Grand Wizard I
white_shadow69's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Auschwitz
white_shadow69 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
white_shadow69 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
white_shadow69 supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: Accuracy, Look
Cons: Frame, Grips,
This gun is probably one of the Best guns I have ever shot in my life It's light as hell, Looks good, Quiet, Accurate, It's a great price for it, The only Thing I would Like to have Macdev Change about the Droid is the Grips and the Frame the frame is a little Fat and the Grips are kind of hard but other then that this gun is the **** And I hope you guys who buy it Love it Because I sure do...............
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
MacDev Droid Hey Everyone, I know we have a new Review section up at the top; but little users will be using that now and most people will probably come to the MacDev section to see how users feel about the...
Report this review to a moderator   #2352
MarkParris
CK Mafia
MarkParris's avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Earth
MarkParris is a Supporting Member
MarkParris has been a member for 10 years
MarkParris owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: read review
Cons: read review
Hey Everyone,

I know we have a new Review section up at the top; but little users will be using that now and most people will probably come to the MacDev section to see how users feel about the marker they are wanting to purchase.

I received my Droid today, March 3, 2008.

My first thoughts when holding the gun were; Wow this is really light, and comfortable. The milling flowed well and the marker felt great in my hand. Only a slight problem with the seemingly over sized grips. The On/off turned very easily to turn for me, very smooth. The switch to turn the gun on I had no problem with, as others have.

When I opened up the gun to take a look at the electronics I found some downsizes to the marker I did not like. To many wires, and cheap battery connectors. The problem I have with this is when you have so many wires you have a chance of some breaking off, etc. You have wires for: Noid, Trigger switch, Battery harness, and eyes. Imo it is better to have the battery connector attached to the board and trigger switch attached as well. This is a very minor problem.

I played around with the program mode and set the marker to PSI Z-Burst uncapped. The programming mode reminded me of Tadao, really easy to use. Lots of options and very customizable. You can't cap the Droid lower then 14.0 which is a downside, but the marker was made before the PSP and CFOA changed their rules so you can't really down MacDev for that, and you can get the board reprogrammed so it will be capable below 13.3.

Airing up the marker there were no leaks. I liked the fact the the on/off knob was over the macroline fitting. This makes the gun feel more solid to me. Holding the gun with a 68/4500 CP tank, and a Halo B full of paint it felt very comfortable and balanced. I loved the feel of the trigger. The trigger is one of the best triggers I have ever felt. The large trigger guard is also a plus for me, I can easily fit 3 fingers in it.

I put the droid over my Pact timer with chronograph. Set the pact timer to tell FPS. (Note: This is normally used for rifles, and is way more accurate then your normal fields chronograph.) The results were amazing. 287.5, 286.2, 288.4, 288.1, 287.9, 288.2 were the first 5 shots out of the string. The average threw the string was 288.1 Low was 286.2 and high was 289.1. I switch the pact timer over to paintball mode and shot a string over it. With the Droid set on uncapped ramping the average for the string was a .0389, which would come out to around 26.1+/- .a few BPS. The high was .0359(27bps) and the low was .1213 (due to loader at end of string). I have not tested it capped. Loader was a Halo B with Cheetah.

I shot a full 68/4500 and I have around half a bag of paint left out of a case. The stock barrel is a .689, which shot amazing. Ball on ball accuracy.

Theres not much else to the marker, if I missed anything let me know and I will go back and find out for you. Videos maybe sometime, depending on demand. Heres some pros and cons;


Pros:

* Fast
* Comfortable feel
* Consistent
* Efficient
* Light weight
* Smooth shots
* quiet
* accurate
* Easy to program


Cons

* Grips are to big
* To many wires
* Cheap battery connector


Overall, big thumbs up to MacDev , if anyone out there is doubting them on this gun, go pick one up and try it for yourself, Its a great gun. I've had it for about 6 hours and I'm already satisfied. I can't wait to get it out to the field. A+ Gun.

Other info on my testing/what I used:

* Macdev Droid
* Pact Timer with Chronograph
* Severe Tempest Paintballs
* Custom Products 68cu 4500psi tank (full fill)
* Halo B with Predator Cheetah Loader


Picture (Photo credit to: jvpark)
http://a58.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/...a9929d0d91.jpg

Thanks,
Mark Parris
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.2/5 stars.
MacDev Droid If you are considering a used marker for $400-$500 Range, there are only two in my book worth considering. 1) Ego 07-08 can be found in this range 2) Macdev droid - one of the smoothest, most...
Report this review to a moderator   #3346
rjs21
 
rjs21's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NEW to Baton Rouge, LA
rjs21 donated to help Peyton Trent
rjs21 owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $875.00
Pros: Light, quiet, efficient, Board
Cons: OVERPRICED NEW, No Oring Kit on a $1000 marker? Trigge
If you are considering a used marker for $400-$500 Range, there are only two in my book worth considering.

1) Ego 07-08 can be found in this range

2) Macdev droid - one of the smoothest, most efficient markers out

Also, a new PMR isn't a bad choice at all.


Pros:
The Macdev Droid shoots amazing, good board, and is efficient.

Cons:
The wires, trigger, and grips suck.

All in all, best bang for your buck Starts with a Droid or Ego. Can't go wrong on either.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.1/5 stars.
MacDev Droid Markers shoot super smooth and are air efficient if you set them up right. Yak'd oled board is an awesome upgrade for them, you basically have a clone then. Only con I would consider bringing up is...
Report this review to a moderator   #18884
bignasty sns
Addison Winstead
bignasty sns's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central Ohio
bignasty sns plays in the PSP
bignasty sns owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
bignasty sns supports Team VICIOUS
bignasty sns is an NCPA player
bignasty sns plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: air efficient, smooth
Cons: none...
Markers shoot super smooth and are air efficient if you set them up right.
Yak'd oled board is an awesome upgrade for them, you basically have a clone then. Only con I would consider bringing up is the lack of an oring kit you should get with the marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
MacDev Droid I have had my MacDev Droid for more then a year and its been amazing! Nothing but ball on ball accuracy! I have put about 50 cases threw this marker with no problems at all!
Report this review to a moderator   #17575
xFOLEYx
 
xFOLEYx's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Falmouth
xFOLEYx owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
xFOLEYx owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
xFOLEYx supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: smooth, quiet, efficient
Cons: nothing!
I have had my MacDev Droid for more then a year and its been amazing! Nothing but ball on ball accuracy! I have put about 50 cases threw this marker with no problems at all!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
MacDev Droid i have shot most of the guns out there today, and the Droid is by far one of the fastest, most efficient and most consistent guns i have ever shot. With hardly any kick while shooting this gun and a...
Report this review to a moderator   #212
paintballkid3209
 
paintballkid3209's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MA
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $950.00
Pros: Fast, consistent, reliable, efficient, light
Cons: some older ones need gen2 parts
i have shot most of the guns out there today, and the Droid is by far one of the fastest, most efficient and most consistent guns i have ever shot. With hardly any kick while shooting this gun and a stunning 100psi operating pressure this gun is surely something that you will have to shoot and/or own.

Taking this gun to the field is a privilege, everyone wants to hold it, shoot it or even take it home. Then when you finally take it on the field people are even more amazed by its performance. Being quieter than a matrix some people wont realize that your shooting it until the get hit themselves. It has a small profile letting you have a smaller profile all together, which is very important to me as I'm a snake player.

Needed upgrades:
none really but some choose to do:
On/Off
Barrel
Board
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
MacDev Droid It is by far the best gun i have ever shot.. I bought it brand new, and out of the box its amazing..I personaly dont like the grips on it but i can deal with it but that would be the only thing i...
Report this review to a moderator   #1054
2ez4me
Hardcore Supremacy
2ez4me's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Staten Island
2ez4me plays in the PSP
2ez4me owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
2ez4me plays in the APPA D4 division
2ez4me is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: FAST NO KICK QUITE ACCURATE
Cons: O RINGS
It is by far the best gun i have ever shot.. I bought it brand new, and out of the box its amazing..I personaly dont like the grips on it but i can deal with it but that would be the only thing i would change..it shoots and looks amazing cant go wrong with a droid
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.1/5 stars.
Add New Review