Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
MacDev - Droid Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
MacDev
15271 NW 60th Ave Suite 208
Miami Lakes, FL 33014

Phone: (877) 622-3381
Fax: (424) 201-0550
Email: support@macdev.net
Website: http://macdev.net
MacDev has created a new generation spool that is designed to change the way that players view spool valve markers. The droid claims +1700 efficiency (68/4500) and an operating pressure of 100 psi.
 Manual: Download the manual for MacDev Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $1,100.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 86
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  63%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  34%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
MacDev - Droid Reviews
MacDev Droid After being disappointed by the DM8, I decided to trade my DM8 in for a new (at the time) MacDev Droid. Gun was purchased in August 2008 and was used until September 2011. Appearance: In it's own...
Report this review to a moderator   #11407
dymium
Joe R.
dymium's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Washington, MI
dymium is a Moderator
dymium is a Supporting Member
dymium has been a member for 10 years
dymium plays in the PSP
dymium is an NCPA player
dymium plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: Smooth shooting, well balanced
Cons: Maintenance
After being disappointed by the DM8, I decided to trade my DM8 in for a new (at the time) MacDev Droid. Gun was purchased in August 2008 and was used until September 2011.

Appearance: In it's own way, the Droid is quite appealing. The milling is simple, and while MacDev didn't remove every last bit of material possible, it still looks good. The anodizing quality is very good.

Weight: The gun's single bore and aluminum construction leave it in the middle of the pack as far as weight goes. It's still easy to carry around for an entire day at the field, though lighter guns are now more readily available from both MacDev and other manufacturers.

Grips: The grips were of very high quality, and no damage occurred to them in the 3+ years that I owned the gun.

Trigger: The stock trigger shot very well, though an aftermarket trigger would do a bit of good in allowing the gun to be shot more easily. Anyone playing PSP or using the gun in ramp mode won't notice a difference.

Efficiency: I got somewhere around 1600 shots, on average, out of a 68 ci/4500 psi tank. Definitely good efficiency for a spool valve gun.

Electronics: The LED-based board was a bit of a pain to adjust. While the procedure was straightforward once you had it memorized, the lack of an LCD board (available on later MacDev guns) did make adjustments a bit of a hassle, and can certainly confuse new owners. Otherwise, the board performed well and has good battery life (I replaced the battery once during three years of use).

Barrel: The stock barrel is quite effective. The overall anodizing quality was good, and the barrel allowed tight groupings with mediocre paint. My only complaint was that the two-piece barrel would often get stuck together, requiring lots of torque to separate the two pieces.

Feel: The spacing between the grip frame and regulator allowed for a stable platform, though not quite as good as other markers currently available (Ego11, Luxe, etc). The gun is extremely quiet and shoots buttery smooth. The standard cam-lock feedneck worked as expected. To summarize, it makes paint disappear.

Maintenance: This is the major downfall of the Droid. While subsequent bolt kids for MacDev guns were simplified, the Droid has a ton of o-rings to keep track of, cleaned, and properly lubed. While it could be considered common knowledge that spool valve guns require more attention be paid during maintenance, the number (and placement) of o-rings made maintenance a chore.

Overall value: With current prices for used Droids, the gun is an excellent value for anyone looking to grab a once high-end tournament marker at a great price. If you don't mind paying extra attention during maintenance or grabbing an aftermarket LCD board, you will be very pleased with the gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
MacDev Droid Literally amazing, this thing shoots so smoothly and shoots ropes. Nothing bad to say about it at all.
Report this review to a moderator   #25951
Oros97
Live and let live
Oros97's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 407, Florida
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $850.00
Pros: SMOOTH, SEXY
Cons:
Literally amazing, this thing shoots so smoothly and shoots ropes. Nothing bad to say about it at all.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
MacDev Droid The Droid is an awesome gun. Shoots buttery smooth. Definitely a good buy, but the only fault I can find with it is that it's terribly complex for what it does. It has something like 30 o-rings,...
Report this review to a moderator   #12882
vs3 guy
iSPY Photographer
vs3 guy's avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Memphis
vs3 guy is a Paintball photographer
vs3 guy plays in the APPA D4 division
vs3 guy is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
vs3 guy is Legendary
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $375.00
Pros: Light, smooth, accurate
Cons: complex
The Droid is an awesome gun. Shoots buttery smooth. Definitely a good buy, but the only fault I can find with it is that it's terribly complex for what it does. It has something like 30 o-rings, which is kinda overkill. If you don't like maintenance, then this gun is not for you.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
MacDev Droid I have never had a problem with any droid i have owned. and I have owned 3 droids. They shoot so smooth, and are so quite. Really comfortable, easy to run and gun with. Best spool valve gun I have...
Report this review to a moderator   #22383
paintballer123321
D-Botch!!!
paintballer123321's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oregon
paintballer123321 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
paintballer123321 is a top reviewer
paintballer123321 is Legendary
paintballer123321 is Boss
paintballer123321 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: Light Weight, reliable
Cons: nothing
I have never had a problem with any droid i have owned. and I have owned 3 droids. They shoot so smooth, and are so quite. Really comfortable, easy to run and gun with. Best spool valve gun I have owned.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
MacDev Droid Ive been searching for the perfect gun for myself, going through tons of guns every week and this is probably the one that I will keep. I find myself shooting the Droid over Ego8's, Closers, Rappers,...
Report this review to a moderator   #685
Television
Kill at Will
Television's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: So Cal
Television helped look for balloons
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: Reliable, Fast, Smooth, Quiet
Cons: None that I can think of
Ive been searching for the perfect gun for myself, going through tons of guns every week and this is probably the one that I will keep. I find myself shooting the Droid over Ego8's, Closers, Rappers, everything. Nothing compares to the fast, smooth, quiet, and balanced feel of the Droid. Macdev has definately outdone themselves on this one can't wait for what is coming in the future from them.

Appearance: Although not as flashy and edgy as some of the other guns on the market like Closers, Ego8, etc. it looks smooth and contoured.

Wieght: Decent enough for an enclosed gun at 2 pounds 2 ounces stock. The good thing about the droid is that not only is it a decent weight, its got incredible balance as well with almost any setup.

Speed: Shoots into the high 20s to low 30s if needed, what else can I say? Only 13bps is needed now in tournaments so it'll serve you well

Grips: Some people say that they're uncomfortable, but its all personal preference. Although I'll probably be getting some new grips in the future, they're definately not as bad as people say they are.

Trigger: Also personal preference. I shoot fine with the stock trigger, but I'll definately be keeping a lookout for other companies like CP or Critical to make an even better trigger

Regulator: One of the best on the market. Easy to clean and always super consistent and easy to maintain.

Board: Based on the Tadao code, so with 12 different firing modes and many other features it beats most other stock boards on the market. Not necessary to upgrade at all but theres always the Yakuza coming out that would make it look super amazing

Barrel: Matchstik barrels are amazing, period.

Quiet: The amazing thing about the Droid is that it starts off quiet and for me it gets even quieter every single week. Starting from day one its quiet, two weeks later im shooting it at the field and my teammate asks if it got even quieter, and again the next week, and the week after that. Truly amazes me because Im beginning to wonder how much quieter it can get as it breaks in even more

Kick: The droid has a little kick to it and I stress little, but its such a small amount that its really not noticeable in a game.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
MacDev Droid I really enjoyed shooting my MD Droid. It was super smooth. I didn't enjoy the complexity of the engine though, especially the set screw that aligned the engine. Not a marker that is easy to fix...
Report this review to a moderator   #17627
aspiderfreak
A Complete Vulgarian
aspiderfreak's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NWA
aspiderfreak has been a member for 10 years
aspiderfreak plays in the PSP
aspiderfreak is an NCPA player
aspiderfreak is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
aspiderfreak is a top reviewer
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: Super smooth shooting
Cons: Complex design, set screw aligns engine.
I really enjoyed shooting my MD Droid. It was super smooth. I didn't enjoy the complexity of the engine though, especially the set screw that aligned the engine. Not a marker that is easy to fix at the field.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
MacDev Droid Upon receipt of my Droid the first thing I noticed was that it was 10x prettier in person than in pictures. The blue anodizing is almost flawless (eye covers are a slightly different color) and the...
Report this review to a moderator   #169
moodydoody
C-17
moodydoody's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2001
moodydoody is a founding member
moodydoody has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $850.00
Pros: Light, Fast, very low kick, great stock barrel
Cons: trigger, grips, lack of O-ring kit
Upon receipt of my Droid the first thing I noticed was that it was 10x prettier in person than in pictures. The blue anodizing is almost flawless (eye covers are a slightly different color) and the milling is some of the sexiest I have seen. You can't see how nice the dark blue color and the subtle intricacies of the milling are except in person.

Next thing I did was to read through the manual, front to back, very helpful and one of the best manuals I have seen for any paintball gun. However, there were a few things that would have been nice, mainly a list of the o-ring sizes on the power train diagram. A particularly nice section is the programming section. Very detailed and well put together.

After this I put my tank on and my hopper and noticed how tight of a setup it was. Very good low profile set up with my Halo. Twisted the ASA on and here is where I ran into problems. Gun gassed up, and immediately I heard a leak inside the gun. I fired a few times with the eyes off and the leak would go away for a second and return.

So I moved to the next step, disassembly. Unscrewed the top screw, back cap, and then I tried to get the train out and ran into difficulties, First I tried to put my finger down the feedneck and push it out, and it wouldn't budge. So I tried what the manual said and put an allen key in the slots in the back, tried again and it did not move. I was hesitant to put to much force into it because I did not want to damage it. Next I ran and grabbed a battle-swab and put it down the front and pushed it out, which proved to need a little elbow grease to get it started and was then very easy.

Pulled the train out, unscrewed its pieces, and quickly found the broken oring on the bolt, which would be an easy fix, if Macdev had included some spare o-rings. This would also not have been too bad if I had the right size oring around but I do not. So I will be going up to the field tomorrow and I will put it together instead of play. Hopefully this will not take to log as I already have it in pieces and all I need to do is throw on an oring and lube the gun, but this is still going to be frustrating when other people are playing and I am fixing an oring. Hopefully this will not be something I have to get used to.

Since I can't shoot it right now I will talk about its feel while holding and pretending I am shooting it. The first thing I did was cut the grips to make them into panels. I am used to fat grips but it doesn't mean I like them to much. After cutting them they were much more comfortable but I think I will be getting some plexi-glass grips like SPD or Dark Seoul. I think this will help with the grip problem a lot.

Trigger, well, this has been hit on a bunch I am sure, but it is not the best I have felt. It is far from the worst however. It has some side-to-side play but not too much. The return is all right but I would have preferred magnetic return. My personal preference is scythe triggers so I have the feeling that I will be getting a new trigger fairly soon. Overall, for a $1000+ gun I would expect a trigger with no side-to-side play, the rest is all personal preference.

The gun is light, very light. It feels significantly lighter than my mini because of how well balanced it is. I am tall and have big hands and found the mini to small for my taste, it was light but unbalanced and to small for me to be comfortable. The Droid is absolutely perfect, light, balanced, and it just feels right in my hands. I can't wait to get out and shoot it. And when my fiancé held it she said it felt good to her as well. And she has small hands and loves her mini. So far from the people I have had hold it all were very impressed and it seems to be a good fit for most players. Some didn't like the front regulator position because it further out than on some guns but personally I love it.

A complaint I have heard mentioned but do not have personal experience with is that there is no gauge to see what the operating pressure is but for me that does not really matter. I know people say that they will be able to fine tune their setups better with one but I do not think I will ever be that concerned. As long as it shoots well and consistently I do not think it matters that much to me. This may change in the future as I get more experienced with the droid but as of now I do not find it to be a big deal.

The feedneck is amazing, very low profile, grabs tightly, I have tested a few of the hoppers I have found and it grabs them all very well. It is easily equal to any other feedneck on the market in my opinion.

The on/off switch is nice in my opinion. I have not had any accidental turn ons but I do see a slight potential for it. Nothing to much though as it is well recessed into the frame. I prefer the easy switch to on and switch to off, no messing with a membrane pad or button.

I have not had the chance to shoot it yet and I will post up how I feel it shoots when I get back later. I will also include a summary at that time.

Until then, keep on shootin….


[UPDATE 10 January, 2008]
Well, I have been able to play with it for a few weeks now and every time I go out I come back ever happier. Maintenance is a breeze compared to most spoolers. Poppets will always be a little easier but as far as it goes the maintenance is not bad at all. One small note is that the Gladiator seems to need a little more maintenance then other regs. Nothing major, but I found to keep the best consistency I needed to clean it out a little more regularly then some of the others I have used.

Accuracy of the stock barrel is top notch. Out of the box I was getting +/-5fps which is only getting better with time. There is less kick in this gun than any other I have ever shot, it is there but it is minute. The first shot is a little less smooth than some of the other spoolers I have shot butt the gun is smoother in rapid fire then . These combine for amazing accuracy.

This gun is fast, it has no trouble and fires as fast as you would ever need. You will not be able to beat poppets in a pure speed contest but honestly you will never need to fire that fast in a game.

I'm getting around 1600-1700 shots off a 68/45 as of right now.

While not the lightest set up I have used (that award would go to one of the stock class pumps I have used lol) it is still very light and nothing to complain about.

It is one of the most comfortable set ups I have ever used. With the space between the reg and the frame the gun feels “snappier” and is very easy to snap shoot with. Again I have to say I am not a fan of the trigger. It feels very cheap compared to many other stock triggers from other guns I have used. It is going to be replaced very soon.

When right up on the gun you do not realize how quiet it is. I knew it was quiet but when I let my bro use it for a game and I had about 15 feet between us I realized how quiet it was. This does not matter to everyone but honestly, for spending that much on a gun why not get every advantage you can and the opponents having a harder time finding you because of a quiet gun even for a split second is an advantage.

The very last game the last time I used it I started to have shootdown and first shot drop off problems like the gun was running out of air but I think it is probably the battery or something else easy to fix. I have read that it might be a problem with the bolt or valve but I have not had the time to take the gun apart and see exactly what is wrong. Even if it is one of the few faulty bolt/valves that were sent out I have read that Macdev is very helpful in getting the problems resolved. The first step will be simply replacing the battery, if that does not take care of the problem I will strip the gun and clean/relube everything. If that doesn’t help I will be placing a call to Macdev to see what they think I should do.

Over all, there are a very few flaws in my opinion but this is hands down the nicest gun I have ever owned and I have owned my fair share of guns since I started in ’98.

[UPDATE 1 Feb]
Sent the gun in to get it checked out and get the 2nd Gen parts installed. I will update when it gets back from them.


Conclusion: Seems nice but there are a few things that could be improved.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
MacDev Droid Well, I've owned two Droids as of this post, both of which shot quite nicely. Here's how I feel. Efficiency: Very impressive. Out of the box I was getting 1200-1300 off of a 48/4500 hotfilled. It...
Report this review to a moderator   #2482
SoFlaBaller115
 
SoFlaBaller115's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Florida
SoFlaBaller115 is a Supporting Member
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,050.00
Pros: See Review
Cons: See Review
Well, I've owned two Droids as of this post, both of which shot quite nicely. Here's how I feel.

Efficiency: Very impressive. Out of the box I was getting 1200-1300 off of a 48/4500 hotfilled. It can only get better once it is broken in. It is also efficient regarding the battery. You will get a good chunk of cases before needing to replace the battery as long as you use either the MacDev batteries or other brand name batteries.

Consistency: I was getting +/- 4 FPS over the chrono out of the box, which can only get better with time as well.

Appearance: The milling is top-notch, but the Droid isn't quite as flashy as other high-end guns. It definitely looks great, but it doesn't have extensive milling to distinguish it from the crowd (I've had people ask if it was a Marq, Shocker, etc).

Kick: Very minute. Its there, but barely. Definitely less than most markers on the market right now and I'm sure once it is broken in, it will have even less kick.

Speed: I had my B2 on the highest speed setting, the gun uncapped, and the eyes on and it goldwaved at 20 BPS. Not bad for a spooly at all! It cycles a bit higher than this, but 20 BPS was what I recorded with paint.

Feel: I love the way the gun feels. The trigger guard is big enough for large fingers but small enough to allow your opposing hand's fingers to go between the guard and the reg (seems to be the most comfortable way to hold a Droid while shooting). The frame fits very nicely in your hand. The only complaint that I have is that the grips do not touch the frame right under the trigger guard and they stick out a bit, causing them to be depressed when gripping the Droid tightly. It makes it feel funny when it happens, but it definitely isn't a burden at all. The trigger feels very nice and is highly adjustable but do not adjust the microswitch activation point too much or you can break it! The Droid is also extremely light so it is very comfortable to hold.

Sound Signature: The Droid sounds very nice when you shoot it. It is very quiet and has a very high-tech sound to it.

Stock Parts: Everything MacDev gave the Droid stock is outstanding. The Gladiator HPR is top notch, the feedneck is better than every one I've used, the on/off ASA is the best I've used due to the lack of force/pressure to turn it in or out when aired up, and the drivetrain is perfect the way it is (as long as you have the v2 parts).

Programming: Extremely simple on the Droid. Unlike most stock boards, the Droid does not require grip removal to access a programming mode. You merely hold the trigger down and turn the Droid on to access this feature. It has a ton of programmable settings that can be adjusted using the trigger and your settings are displayed using a very bright LED.

Overall, this marker is top of the line and I don't see myself shooting anything else for a long, long time. for MacDev!

You can read more about the Droid at http://macdev.net or http://macdevowners.com
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
MacDev Droid Out of the box, this gun is pretty good. Throw a Goldylocks bolt, an upgraded trigger, and a Yakuza board, and it's a beast. The Droid looks fairly simple, although mine's is a 1 of 12 Sydney...
Report this review to a moderator   #5275
ApolloAnton
gettin slizzard
ApolloAnton's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: California
ApolloAnton donated to help Peyton Trent
ApolloAnton owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
ApolloAnton supports Team VICIOUS
ApolloAnton is for the Gunfight
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: Smooth, Consistency, Efficiency
Cons: Trigger
Out of the box, this gun is pretty good. Throw a Goldylocks bolt, an upgraded trigger, and a Yakuza board, and it's a beast.

The Droid looks fairly simple, although mine's is a 1 of 12 Sydney X-Fighter$ PL Droid, which had a lot fancier annodizing than your stock Droid. It's not an ugly gun, but it's not gorgeous either.

My Droid had the aformentioned upgrades, and it was amazingly easy to rip on, and deadly consistent with the 08 Gladiator reg. Over the chrono, my Droid was +/-3 after breaking it in. With the Gold Bolt, the kick is reduced to negligible, making it a must buy upgrade. I really don't like programming with blinking LEDs, so I picked up a Yakuza for it, so I can't really say anything on the ease of use of the stock board.

I've never had any big problems with the Droid, the problems I've had have been solved by relubing or raising or lowering the HPR. I've heard of some problems with cold weather, but it's not such a big deal for me in sunny California. The Bolt assembly is simple enough, just be sure to line up the screw hole on top when putting the bolt assembly back into the body.

After breaking the Gold Bolt and the HPR in, the Droid performs beautifully. It shoots amazingly smooth and consistent. I was getting about 8 pods and a hopper on a hot filled 68/45.

The only negative thing about this gun is the trigger! As amazing as the Droid is, it came with a very mediocre trigger, I tried getting used to it, (and came close... it's very light and easy to rip if you get into a groove... it's getting into the rhythm that's frustrating) but eventually picked a PBK.

tl;dr
Great gun, consistent, almost no kick, great efficiency especially for a spoolie. Get a new trigger though.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
MacDev Droid I've owned three Macdev markers (05 Sonic cyborg, 07 cyborg, and the droid), as well as many other high ends, and I can say with full confidence that my droid is by far the best shooting gun I have...
Report this review to a moderator   #4883
Ultiplaya11
ASMC Elite
Ultiplaya11's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nor*Jers 973
Ultiplaya11 donated to help Peyton Trent
Ultiplaya11 supports Team VICIOUS
Ultiplaya11 supports Team VICIOUS
Ultiplaya11 supports Team VICIOUS
Ultiplaya11 has achieved Level 7 in PbNation Pursuit
Ultiplaya11 is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
Ultiplaya11 is Immortal
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: Efficient. balanced, aesthetic, and MANY more.
Cons: None.
I've owned three Macdev markers (05 Sonic cyborg, 07 cyborg, and the droid), as well as many other high ends, and I can say with full confidence that my droid is by far the best shooting gun I have ever owned. Macdev went all out in the making of the Droid. It comes stock with a Matchstik barrel(matched to the gun), with a .689 bore. I have only had to use a larger bore once when the paint was huge. The barrel is dead on, and the gun is amazingly smooth.

Efficiency - For a spool valve it is second to none. I get around 1500-1600 shots off a full fill of a Pure Energy 68/4500 tank, efficiency unmatched by any other spool valve on the market.

Aesthetics - It looks great, plain and simple. It has a very aggressive look which gets it many double takes on and off the field.

Frame and overall feel of the gun - When shooting it, I experience little to no kick at all (completely broken in over a season in the AXBL). The frame feels great in my hands, which is unique with the markers being made now since the frames are getting so small (I have large hands). A lot of people complain about the larger sized gap between the trigger frame and the regulator, but it helps with running and gunning a LOT. It also gives a much more balanced grip for holding the gun.

Drivetrain and insides - The entire drivetrain of the droid may look somewhat confusing to many players, but once broken down, it's very simple. As soon as I got the Droid I took it apart with the manual a few times until I was able to do it consistently without the manual, and I can say it's no more difficult than any other markers, it just takes an extra minute or so. The Stock board is great, a lot of people complain about LED's, but it's incredibly easy, and has great battery life.

Overall - I love this marker, I don't think I'll be getting rid of it any time soon unless I have an opportunity to get the Rx (lol). They can be bought relatively cheap now (about $600-$700), and are a great choice for any player. I highly recommend the Macdev Droid.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Add New Review