Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dangerous Power - Threshold Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dangerous Power
Evoventures, Inc.
4030 Valley Blvd. Suite 109
Walnut, CA 91789

Email: service@dangerouspower.com
Website: http://www.dangerouspower.com
Features: Closed bolt design, New dump valve technology allows for over 1000 shots per 68/3000 psi tank. 6 O-rings in the entire gun, Autococker threads, Limited Run of 500, 25 BPS +, Break beam Eyes.
 Manual: Download the manual for Dangerous Power Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $549.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 48
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  58%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  35%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  6%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Dangerous Power - Threshold Reviews
Dangerous Power Threshold I have had my Threshold for about 3-4 months now, and this is the best marker I have ever owned. It is extremely light, fast, & accurate. Appearance: I think that this is one of the best looking...
Report this review to a moderator   #1175
Blacc Dragon
Deadbox Savant
Blacc Dragon's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Granada Hills, CA
Blacc Dragon donated to help Peyton Trent
Blacc Dragon has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Blacc Dragon has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Blacc Dragon has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Blacc Dragon has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Blacc Dragon has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
Blacc Dragon is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: Efficiency, Reliability, Maintenance
Cons: Resale Value
I have had my Threshold for about 3-4 months now, and this is the best marker I have ever owned. It is extremely light, fast, & accurate.

Appearance: I think that this is one of the best looking markers out there. But, you will have to get used to being asked what kind of Ion/Shocker You shoot.

Performance will be broken into to three different sub-categories:

Speed - This marker's trigger is very easy to walk. I personally do not shoot that bps, but can easily and consistently get a rope going with my Threshold. It can also be set on two different ramping modes, which can be capped at 15 or 25 bps.

Accuracy - With this marker, you hit what you aim at, period. I have shot lots of different brands of paint through this marker, and the only problems I experienced were because of the paintballs quality. I use the stock barrel almost exclusively. Even though I have a barrel kit, I really only use it when I am shooting a very small diameter ball.

Efficiency - I have never gotten so many shots per fill before this gun. At a scenario game in January, I twice shot 10 pods and a hopper out of my 68/4500. I wasn't carrying enough paint and had to ask a couple of teammates for paint, because I still had air left.

Reliability: This has been one of the easiest to maintain guns that I have ever owned. You (1) take off the back cap, (2) pull out the bolt, (3) clean & lube bolt, (4) reinsert bolt, (5) reinsert back cap. (6) Swig your beer before (7) telling your wife that it's going to take you another 3 hours to finish cleaning, and then (8) turning on and watching the game of your choice.

I have really only experienced one negative issue with this marker, and it really was not the marker, but me. At one point, I was experiencing drop-off while shooting. Sometimes the first shot would drop, sometimes just random shots would drop no matter how many times I cleaned and lubed the marker. It seemed like my bolt was sticking, so I switched to a thinner lube, with no better results. Finally I changed the battery, and have not experienced any problems since. I would also recommend that you not leave your battery in the marker when you are not using it.

Value: The value of any marker should be based on it's capabilities, and this marker is one of the most capable that I have shot. It outperforms many higher priced alternatives with ease. Resale on these pretty much sucks, but that only makes you keep a great marker a little bit longer.

I would definitely recommend Thresholds to anyone looking for a great marker!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Dangerous Power Threshold I`m a PE tech and have owned a lot of markers over the last two years. I traded my Maniac ego6 for this Threshold and thought I was downgrading but such is the life of a marker maniac. However, I`ve...
Report this review to a moderator   #4090
Bladesmith
 
Bladesmith's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: AWOL
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: Price, looks, ability
Cons: resale, barrel, dip switches and grips
I`m a PE tech and have owned a lot of markers over the last two years. I traded my Maniac ego6 for this Threshold and thought I was downgrading but such is the life of a marker maniac. However, I`ve been extremely surprised with the performance of the Threshold. I put $40 for a price because that was the cost of shipping it.

First; looks. This marker is by far one of the most wicked looking markers out there (only surpassed by a SL8R). The milling is superb and the marker is still light weight at only 2.2 lbs. I`ve owned a ton of markers and love this one the most (until my SL8R arrives next week).

Secondly; Price. Even though I didn`t buy this marker, if I had, I`d be more than happy with the outcome. This marker is the best bang for your buck out there. While I love PE, if I had to tell someone which marker to buy when getting into paintball, it`d be this marker. And seeing some of them going on Pbnation for $350, this has me drooling to get another one and turn it over for cash because this is one great marker for under $500. If you are starting out and checking markers out, stop, find one of these and get it. You`ll be able to keep up with any luxury marker out there without having no paint because your pockets are empty.

Thirdly; reliability and maintenance. Very reliable marker as long as you clean and take care of it like any other marker out there. And maintenance, so easy. Pop out the back, pull it out, lube it up and put it in. Extremely fast and this thing has no FSDO by the way if you hate that.

Fourth and finally, performance. This thing is easy as pie to walk. Very fast trigger and accurate...lol...no kidding. You`ll fire a stream and almost all the balls will land with in inches of each othe, if not within centimeters of each other. The extremely or non-existant kick really helps.

So, what else can be said. If you`re in the market for something highend with a lowend price tag, this is the marker to get. Why more teams are not sponsored and using this marker is beyond me. It is a great marker and I`m happy to have it as my backup and sometimes hope my main will break down and force me to use it (Sponsorship rules have me using PE all the time, not that it is a bad thing).

Hope this helped.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Dangerous Power Threshold *NOTE: If any of you guys disagree, feel free to pm me, i have videos to back up everything i have said* *NOTE: If any of you guys disagree, feel free to pm me, i have videos to back up everything i...
Report this review to a moderator   #397
Lucky4143
Jason Vitalich Fan #1
Lucky4143's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Monterey-CA-831
Lucky4143 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: Light, Fast, Effecient, Reliable
Cons: Stock barrel isn't the best
*NOTE: If any of you guys disagree, feel free to pm me, i have videos to back up everything i have said*
*NOTE: If any of you guys disagree, feel free to pm me, i have videos to back up everything i have said*
*NOTE: If any of you guys disagree, feel free to pm me, i have videos to back up everything i have said*


So ive had the threshold for about 6 months, and have gone through about 25-30 cases. It is one of the most, comfy/lightest/most effeient/reliable gun ive had ever.

Effecincy: I am getting 5 pods and a hopper off 1800 psi on my 68/45
Reliablity: Only has given me one problem, and that was just the back cap bumper, not bad for a spool valve if you ask me.
Fast:The very first time i shot the gun, i was able to hit 24 bps (gw'd) consistenly.
CS: As usual DP has some of the best CS in paintball

Value: I marked this rather low because really, all dp guns resale is horrid...

Weeknesses: Stock barrel is crap, sorry to say that DP , but id highly recomend you getting an upgraded barrel.
Frame: Some people might complain about the frame being to thick, i personally like the feel.
Reg/frame space: Some people like to wrap their hand around the reg, on the threshold the space provided is not nearly enought to do so, it looks like on the new IQ gun they have fixed that problem

Overall: Very solid feeling gun, I have been very happy with all DP guns i have had in the past year and a half

Buy one if you still can!!!!

*NOTE: If any of you guys disagree, feel free to pm me, i have videos to back up everything i have said*
*NOTE: If any of you guys disagree, feel free to pm me, i have videos to back up everything i have said*
*NOTE: If any of you guys disagree, feel free to pm me, i have videos to back up everything i have said**NOTE: If any of you guys disagree, feel free to pm me, i have videos to back up everything i have said*
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Dangerous Power Threshold Well, I've been intrigued by these guns ever since I saw them released. I have always been a little more partial to ENCLOSED bolt systems like matrix's, shockers, and everything alike. I felt they...
Report this review to a moderator   #2777
Rockyboarder
So Long Gay boys....
Rockyboarder's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Rockyboarder owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $425.00
Pros: Light, clean, efficient, sexy, tight, awesomeee
Cons: Stock board dip switch ewww
Well, I've been intrigued by these guns ever since I saw them released. I have always been a little more partial to ENCLOSED bolt systems like matrix's, shockers, and everything alike. I felt they always shot a lot smoother than the timmy's, ego's, imp's etc.

I recieved my DP threshold after buying it on Pbnation. Gun came with o-ring kit, 2 piece barrel, RAPS on/off, manual, etc. Other owner forgot to add the HEX keys but it wasn't a big deal.

Upon lifting it out of the box, I was astounded as to how light the gun really was. Not just light, but small.

The milling was something out of this world. We all know that DP left their milling machines on for 24 hours to make only 7 bodies. And that definitely shows. The lines are EXTREMELY clean and no faults anywhere at all on the body.

Couldn't wait to shoot this bad boy so I had to way about 5 days until practice. We use real reballs where I practice and they shot fine through the stock barrels and the gun itself.

Over the chrono, I had to turn the reg. down because this was reball. I had excellent consistency w/ 230,225,222,224.

So I had my velocity, I had to rip on it. The trigger was something to get a little used to and was actually a tad bouncy. This will be adjusted later as I didn't have the tools available.

Throughout the night we did some 1 ball drills, snap drills, and just regular games. Accuracy was dead on, never had an oddball or hot shot or drop off.

Then things went wrong. I had some bolt stick. Had plenty of pressure in the tank (1500 psi). Fresh battery. Fresh lube. Detents fine. No balls jammed. Trigger activating the Opti-switch. Couldn't figure it out. So I turned the eyes off and just shot as much as i could and got every 3rd shot out of the barrel.

Overall though, I loved every bit of the gun. The sound signature is awesome. I liked it have a little kinda pop sound sound and not the ego clack or the matrix whump sound.

I just did a total o-ring change on the bolt assembly which is EASY to disassemble as well and did a relube w/ dow 33 and gold cup. I have yet to try it out again.

This review is a work in progress and will be updated upon my next outing.

EDIT:

Well I finally ran some paint through this dirrrrrty gun. I got some old V-1 paint from the fine company of XO industries. This paint was previous season paint and it was cold and old and brittle beyond belief.

Over the chrono, gun had some FSDO. Tuned the reg to get about 280 but the paint was so old and cruddy that my velocity was spiking all over the place.

GAME TIME:
I stepped onto the field and cleared my first shot (because of FSDO) so I wouldn't goo up right off the break. The breakout was clean and true, just through lanes and lanes and lanes. The guns sound signature at a higher velocity was a bit more noticable than of that when I was playing reball. I plan on buying a Deadly Wind Fibur barrel because I love them and the one I tested muted the gun quite a bit.

THe day went on and I had a lot of breaks. Not the guns fault. The temperature was around 44 degrees and we all know that the Spooly / Dump valves don't like that junk.

I step on the field for a 4th game in our rotation and my gun only half cycles and I am lookng into the feedneck to see about a 1/2 centimeters length of bolt just hanging out in the breech. I immediately dryfired ad the bolt goes all the way back and I was set. Did the breakout, shot the whole game with eyes off and paint was getting smashed. Broke down the gun / bolt and cleaned the whoolllleee damn thing. I used a lot lighter lube (matrix muck) on the o-rings and it just wasn't pretty the rest of the day.

All of these times, my tank was full, and the gun was on, fresh battery installed the night before practice.

Because I was in a rush to get on th field, I managed to put a dandy little scratch on DP's SUPREME anno job and I was just flat out angry.

I returned home to clean what seemed lie 20 paintballs worth of paint out of my gun, hopper, barrel etc.

I got on these forums and complained only to be contacted with in 10 minutes of posting by a PM from a tech at DP (this was at 2 a.m....talk about service) telling me to email Dangerous Power and they talked to me about the annodizing cut I believe on the groove of the bolt and I would need a slightly larger o-ring. That of which they sent to me within the week (Package from cali- to Maine....in 4 days...wow)...

I cannot close this review because my gun is not within my reach. Once the o-ring is installed and I have given the threshold more tests, I will comment. Until then, this review is still incomplete.

Thumbs up to DP techs. They are the best company customer service wise and I have a feeling I will keep this immaculate gun for a long time just because I know if something could go wrong, there is a company that won't blow you off.

I've shot the best guns out there, from cockers, to carters, to dm8's, the sl74's, to the low ends. This is definitly a gun worth having out of all of those. Its limited, fast, easy to break down and just a fun gun to shoot. I speak this from owning 28 guns in the past 8 years of playing ball. See you on the field.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Dangerous Power Threshold Overal its an impresive gun for dp being a new brand in all and this being only there third gun. This gun is also rare, less then 400 of them were made. It has a little kick but all guns do. I love...
Report this review to a moderator   #3842
xXxDoAxCAMxXx
Team X P L I Z I T
xXxDoAxCAMxXx's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: looks, speed, reliability
Cons: dip switches
Overal its an impresive gun for dp being a new brand in all and this being only there third gun. This gun is also rare, less then 400 of them were made. It has a little kick but all guns do. I love the trigger its fully adjustible and you can even adjunst the stiffness. The feedneck isnt like others cause it doesn't just clamp on one area of the feedneck on your hopper and most likely to crack it, it has a clamping feedneck that holds it from all side preventing the feedneck on the hopper to break. Easy to clean (D-50 recomended) and nice on/off asa and adjustable regulater, it swivles so you can adjust it then you can tighten a little screw to lock it in place. Its light and is one of a kind. There just good guns overal.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Dangerous Power Threshold I've been shooting the Threshold for about 3 months now and I absolutely LOVE it. It's become my main marker and always works. On cold days there may be some issues with FSDO, but nothing near as...
Report this review to a moderator   #118
sflusch
Not a sinner; Saint.
sflusch's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin, TX.
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: Light, small, great efficiency, sweet styling.
Cons: The trigger isn't for everyone, can be bouncy.
I've been shooting the Threshold for about 3 months now and I absolutely LOVE it. It's become my main marker and always works. On cold days there may be some issues with FSDO, but nothing near as bad as any Shocker I've ever shot.

As far as maintenance goes, it couldn't be simpler, and the gun feels very solid in your hand. I'm a taller guy, so I ended up having to flip the drop around to get the gun to a comfortable shooting position, and I've heard complaints the frame is too thick, but it works great for me.

To respond to pbguy1991's review:
"they have no settings on the board besides modes. (no dwell,bounce, debounce, anything like that.)" - WRONG! The Threshold uses dip switches to control the dwell settings and modes. While it may not have a debounce mode, I have yet to experience any issues with mine.

"i also think the threshy shoots very sloppy, and is very bad on air." - The Threshold is insanely efficient, the last time I played I shot upwards of 1,200 shots off of a 68/3k fill. The sound is unique, and the gun feels much like an improved shocker.

Ignore pbguy1991's review, he doesn't even own one.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dangerous Power Threshold First off, to the review above this one I call BS. No direct offense intended but They said the con's were "heavy when aired up". This thing weighs just over 2lbs. And what does "when aired up" have...
Report this review to a moderator   #2152
HansAuf
THIS... is my BOOMSTICK!
HansAuf's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
HansAuf is a Supporting Member
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: Light
Cons: Initial o-ring problem
First off, to the review above this one I call BS. No direct offense intended but They said the con's were "heavy when aired up". This thing weighs just over 2lbs. And what does "when aired up" have to do with anything? What does air weigh exactly? I own or have owned literally every high end marker there is. My current are 07 Ego, PM6's (2 of em), Threshold, Viking, etc, etc, etc. I have had just about everything else.

Now, this marker is a fantastic value for the money. You simply can't beat it. It shoots like butter with very little kick and it's not loud. Air efficiency is comparable with all other markers I have except my Viking. You cannot go wrong with this marker. DP support is excellent. Response times are more than adequate. Plus, the DP community is always there to lend a hand. Don't believe the folks that try to put this marker or DP down. It's likely they have no idea what they are talking about.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Dangerous Power Threshold the threshold was a cool little gun when is came out, but it didnt last long the where to hard on them selves and seemed to wear threw orings every other week, but aside from having a short life they...
Report this review to a moderator   #21980
TimTaylor
Zombies make me smile.
TimTaylor's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dos Cinco Tres
TimTaylor owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
TimTaylor is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: light and fast
Cons: finichy as all get out
the threshold was a cool little gun when is came out, but it didnt last long the where to hard on them selves and seemed to wear threw orings every other week, but aside from having a short life they were pretty cool shooters, i enjoyed have it even though it was short lived.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Dangerous Power Threshold I used my DP from 9-5p.m. and used the techt lube stuff w/sly barrel system. Not a problem all day, except dirty eyes, NO Bolt sticking at all. I used a dxs 68/4500 tank. The field could only manage...
Report this review to a moderator   #4032
gor71vw
 
Join Date: May 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: value,maintenance
Cons: upgrades
I used my DP from 9-5p.m. and used the techt lube stuff w/sly barrel system. Not a problem all day, except dirty eyes, NO Bolt sticking at all. I used a dxs 68/4500 tank. The field could only manage 3500psi which was fine. The 1000 shots per 1000psi is very true. I was amazed at the air usage.

The pros are: light, easy maintenance, air usage

Cons: upgrades are hard to come by. I don't like the asa flip lever because "its like picking up a penny off a floor". If you have fat fingers,crappy gloves, or no finger nails, good luck.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Dangerous Power Threshold I own 2 Thresholds and have nothing but good things to say. They are fast, have soem of the best customer support I have ever seen. The only downfall is aftermarket support for this marker, which...
Report this review to a moderator   #1743
cryptic.paintball
blah blah blah
cryptic.paintball's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Uniontown Pa
cryptic.paintball plays in the APPA beginner division
cryptic.paintball is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
cryptic.paintball is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $425.00
Pros: Small, Light, Fast
Cons: Aftermarket support
I own 2 Thresholds and have nothing but good things to say. They are fast, have soem of the best customer support I have ever seen.

The only downfall is aftermarket support for this marker, which is really not needed but is nice.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.9/5 stars.
Add New Review