Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Procaps Direct - Pulse Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Procaps Direct
543 Queensbury Ave.
Queensbury, NY 12804

Phone: (866) DRA-XXUS
Email: cs@procapsdirect.com
Website: http://procapsdirect.com
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $149.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
 Reviews: 42
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  29%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  45%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  24%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Procaps Direct - Pulse Reviews
Procaps Direct Pulse hopper is good for first timers, after you start to play every weekend, playing speedball, i find this isnt the best hopper for speedball nowadays, better for woodsball,but a good hopper for some one...
Report this review to a moderator   #29048
paintballa1218
Kong-Ker
paintballa1218's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Staten Island
paintballa1218 plays in the PSP
paintballa1218 is Boss
paintballa1218 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: good hopper
Cons: appearance
hopper is good for first timers, after you start to play every weekend, playing speedball, i find this isnt the best hopper for speedball nowadays, better for woodsball,but a good hopper for some one who doesnt have alot of money to spend
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Procaps Direct Pulse The Pulse: --------------- Features: -Removable Drive Train -Reverse button for unjamming -Sync option to maximize pulse performance
Report this review to a moderator   #810
Tru24FanatiK
#24 Tantrum
Tru24FanatiK's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Bend
Tru24FanatiK plays in the PSP
Tru24FanatiK supports Team VICIOUS
Tru24FanatiK plays in the APPA D4 division
Tru24FanatiK supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Sync, Reverse, drive train removal
Cons: Shell, Drive train release buttons


The Pulse:
---------------
Features:
-Removable Drive Train
-Reverse button for unjamming
-Sync option to maximize pulse performance


Description:
I bought a Pulse at Chicago PSP 2007 and was happy with it for a while. It had great battery life. It was fast. Had an awesome sync feature. Also looked good IMO. I used it for a while, then the shell cracked by the battery door. It also cracked at the feedneck, but nothing superglue didnt fix . The drivetrain removal option is great. It allowed me to clean it after every use, but the buttons on the side begin to wear out, and eventually break.

Pros:
-Sync: I sync'd the pulse with a few of my guns, and never had a problem with feeding.
-Reverse button: A great option! Much better than twisting a knob. Made unjamming your hopper quick and seemless.
-Battery Life: Much better than a halo IMO.
-Removable drive train: Don't have to take my halo apart!

Cons:
-Size and Weight: Its a bit big and weighs more than a halo, but i will take performance over that any day.
-Shell Strength: I definately think it isn't as strong as dxs claims it to be. Broke in three different places, without hardly ever using it.
-Drive train release buttons: plastic. Will wear out if you use them enough.

I would be worth the money if DXS wasn't in legal problems about it. I would be able to exchange it or have better customer service, which would make it worth more than what it is right now. I am back to my halo right now, i don't really want to risk another shell crack, but i do love using it. Pulse: DXS Customer Service due to lawsuit:
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Procaps Direct Pulse Truly was shooting down buddies but 6 months ago not to buy the pulse, waste of money. I saw they were cheaper than some Vlos and decided to let my brother to buy one locally. I used it without him...
Report this review to a moderator   #4188
tristanot
 
tristanot's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Provo, UT
tristanot plays in the APPA beginner division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: FAST, RF-able, capacity, evrything you want
Cons: availability of parts,
Truly was shooting down buddies but 6 months ago not to buy the pulse, waste of money. I saw they were cheaper than some Vlos and decided to let my brother to buy one locally. I used it without him knowing at a summer xball game, and whoa, I was amazed. It takes the halo crown, so I bought one. This thing is fast as crap in Red Mode(non-RF), and Green Mode is awesome if you buy the $30 RF chip. I felt no problem loading a full pod into it behind the bunker, unlike the halo I used two weeks earlier, That thing held so little, today I counted twice, I fit 175 balls into the Pulse with the stock lid on. That is a nice Capacity. Truly worth it over a Halo any day. They are cheap used, just make sure it has the black board so it works with Reballs, but then rock out with the bomb hopper.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Procaps Direct Pulse Pros: FAST- Boy oh boy. Is this thing fast. It can feed up to 32 bps on the gun, and 42 bps on a drop test. Battery life- The battery life on this is great. I can get about from 8-10 cases on 6...
Report this review to a moderator   #348
coolicarboy
Dont take my avatar!
coolicarboy's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Miami, Florida
coolicarboy plays in the PSP
coolicarboy owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
coolicarboy is for the Gunfight
coolicarboy posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: See below
Cons: See below
Pros:

FAST- Boy oh boy. Is this thing fast. It can feed up to 32 bps on the gun, and 42 bps on a drop test.

Battery life- The battery life on this is great. I can get about from 8-10 cases on 6 double AAs.

Looks- Some may disagree, but I think that it looks very nice.

Rf capability- If you spend 30$ on an RF chip, you can sync it to the gun to reach max speeds. Not many other loaders besides the Magna offer this. It helps a lot.

Quiet- The Pulse is very quiet when feeding.

Consistent- The Pulse keeps a consistent rate when feeding. Not many skips or hiccups.

Magnetic lid- The Pulse has a nice magnetic lid, that allows for easy closing and opening.

Capacity- The Pulse holds 180 balls. Its not amazing, but its enough.

Drive train- The Droid has a removable drive train that is very easy to clean. You just push in two buttons, hit the top of the loader, and the tray comes out.





Cons:

Shell problems- As many of you know, the shells on the Pulses have been breaking. The most common part being the feedneck. Mine snapped in half, but its nothing a little superglue cant fix.

Lawsuit- DXS is currently in a lawsuit, and they are not allowed to sell anymore Pulses. (EDIT: The lawsuit is over, and Draxxus won. Pulses are now being sold again.)

Customer service- Due to the lawsuit, DXS has had terrible customer service. It takes me two days to get in contact with them. Also, when they are replacing your shell, I have heard it being up to 4 months waiting time. (EDIT: It seems that the customer service for Draxxus has gotten a lot better. They seem to be picking up the phone a little more often, and the average waiting time has been reduced.)

Heavy- The DXS Pulse is heavy. However, it is nothing serious. The Halo and Empire Reloader B are heavier.

Conclusion:

The Pulse is a GREAT loader. If you get it used, you can get it for about 60-80$, which is a great price. I recommend always having superglue with you in case the feedneck snaps, which it probably will eventually. Overall, if you want to get it, go ahead. Its a great loader, but beware of the breaking feedneck.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Procaps Direct Pulse I replaced my halo with a pulse because I heard about the RF technology and the removable drive cone tray. At first I didn't like how big it looked, and thaught it would get in the way, but after...
Report this review to a moderator   #164
LunchBox937
Really a 2k12'er
LunchBox937's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Midwest
LunchBox937 helped look for balloons
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: RF tech., speed, battery life
Cons: shell strength
I replaced my halo with a pulse because I heard about the RF technology and the removable drive cone tray. At first I didn't like how big it looked, and thaught it would get in the way, but after playing with it I found that it didn't get in the way that much. The main advantages are:

-RF technology; sends a signal to turn the drivecone every time you pull the trigger. This saves on battery life since the motor is not working to keep constant tension on the ball stack. This also means that it will keep up with the fast high end electronic markers.

-removable tray; this allows you to clean the loader easily without unscrewing the whole thing (although some of my friends said it wasn't as easy for them to pull the tray out)

One of the main disadvantages is that a lawsuit has prohibited the sale of pulses, so the only way to get one is to buy a used one, and eventually they will stop making replacement shells (which people seem to break quite often). With more and more companies making loaders with RF technology, I would say the pulse is nearing extinction.


I will give it 6/10, great idea/product brought down by a lawsuit
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Procaps Direct Pulse i had my pulse untill i got my torque in november 2007. it was great the only reason why i wanted a new hopper was my pulse fell off of my bed and hit the wooden floor and the feedneck broke when it...
Report this review to a moderator   #2049
the paintballa
 
the paintballa's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: unknown
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: fast,light,sits low to the gun, easy cleaning
Cons: weak construction(shell)
i had my pulse untill i got my torque in november 2007. it was great the only reason why i wanted a new hopper was my pulse fell off of my bed and hit the wooden floor and the feedneck broke when it worked it was a work of fine art. i loved it to death. my field owner(rocky cagnoni) is getting it fixed for me so it should be working soon
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Procaps Direct Pulse Great idea/concept. For me I had quite a few problems with my pulse. First off, a week after I purchased it, the loader was dropped off a table, and the shells cracked instantly. Now, one of the main...
Report this review to a moderator   #59
chillinspyder2
Rockin' Cocks
chillinspyder2's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $70.00
Pros: Easy to Clean, Good on Batteries, RF chip
Cons: Appearance, Shells
Great idea/concept. For me I had quite a few problems with my pulse. First off, a week after I purchased it, the loader was dropped off a table, and the shells cracked instantly. Now, one of the main features of a good loader is decent stock shells. Either this was a fluke, or the shells just sucked. I was under my warranty so I brought it back to my local pro shop and got free replacements, tfor DXS.

This is an extremely easy loader to clean and its good on batteries. It keeps up with most other loaders on the market and has a good overall design. One of the best features is the RF Chip, which allows you to sync your Pulse to your gun. This worked out extremely well for me and I recommend the RF chip to anyone.

Another thing I didn't like about it was its outward appearance. It seemed unnecessarily bulky to me, but thats just one of my pet peeves.

Over all this is about a 7.5/10
Mainly because of my two incidents, otherwise its a great loader
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Procaps Direct Pulse At first, I loved my pulse. It was fast, light, and everything I expected out of it. Then, the shell started to break right near the seams. I try to get a hold of draxxus, no answer still. It has...
Report this review to a moderator   #111
Killer_Kill
Semper Fidelis
Killer_Kill's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SoMich *517*
Killer_Kill supports Cereal Killerz 2
Killer_Kill supports Team VICIOUS
Killer_Kill has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Strong shell, rf chip, fast
Cons: Procaps no longer produces anything for them
At first, I loved my pulse. It was fast, light, and everything I expected out of it. Then, the shell started to break right near the seams. I try to get a hold of draxxus, no answer still. It has been probably three months and they can't even send me anything back? Then, it completely broke and I can't contact the manufacturer
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Procaps Direct Pulse This hopper is hands down the best hopper available. With the RF transmitter sync'd with the marker, this hopper feeds the most consistently, and at a blazing speed. The only cons I can see with this...
Report this review to a moderator   #1482
stevebski
< Kris Williams is HOT
stevebski's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: MD
stevebski supports Bob Gurnsey
stevebski supports our troops
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: See below
Cons: Construction and lawsuits
This hopper is hands down the best hopper available. With the RF transmitter sync'd with the marker, this hopper feeds the most consistently, and at a blazing speed. The only cons I can see with this hopper is that you get the standard popcorning at the last few balls and the shell is not as indestructable as advertised. My feedneck hasn't snapped off, but I've got cracks all over in random places. You'll keep your feedneck whole if you don't cinch down on your clamps so your hopper doesn't move at all. That's where the torque problems comes into play and feed necks snap off when stressed. Can't wait to see this hopper come out of litigation so we can get some other companies making aftermarket shells for it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Procaps Direct Pulse Hands down, the pulse is the best hopper I have used (Vlocity, Halo, Pulse, Egg, Revvy). Speed - The Pulse is incredibly fast - it will keep up with any marker out there Durability - I got the...
Report this review to a moderator   #335
touchdown235
 
touchdown235's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Virginia
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Fast, Durable, Easy to clean
Cons: A bit heavy
Hands down, the pulse is the best hopper I have used (Vlocity, Halo, Pulse, Egg, Revvy).

Speed - The Pulse is incredibly fast - it will keep up with any marker out there

Durability - I got the newest batch of Pulses with the reinforced feednecks, so I have had no durability issues with mine

Ease of Use/Cleaning - The Pulse's removable drive cone by far makes it the easiest hopper to clean I have ever used.

Battery Life - The battery life on my Pulse is excellent. I can usually play several weekends before having to change batteries.

Looks/Weight - The Pulse is a bit on the heavy side, which is it's only real con in my opinion. It doesn't look amazing, but not bad by any means.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Add New Review