Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - HDE Pants Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: info@planeteclipse.com
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
Features: BELT LOOPS AND ADJUSTABLE WAIST STRAPS PADDED CROTCH 4-WAY STRETCH ZONES REMOVABLE CELLULAR FORMED KNEE PADDING MESH VENTING SQUEEGEE POCKETS VELCRO SECURED ANKLE CLOSURES ZIP ACCESS POCKETS LOADOUT WEBBING SYSTEM REMOVABLE INTERNAL HIP PADDING
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2011
 MSRP: $165.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 9
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  56%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  44%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - HDE Pants Reviews
Planet Eclipse HDE Pants The HDE pants incorporate items such as knee,groin, and hip padding, that help to justify the high price tag. PE's attention to detail is noticeable on ever aspect of these pants. Don't hesitate to...
Report this review to a moderator   #16809
sqyire
Maine-iac
sqyire's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maine
sqyire is playing at Living Legends V
sqyire posts videos on PbNation
sqyire has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $165.00
Pros: Design!
Cons: Pocket materials
The HDE pants incorporate items such as knee,groin, and hip padding, that help to justify the high price tag. PE's attention to detail is noticeable on ever aspect of these pants. Don't hesitate to buy a pair! I recieved these for review/giveaway. Had to put a price in above to post this. Here is my video review.

  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse HDE Pants I have owned over 100 pair of paintball pants and these are the best ones I have ever owned. They are so comfy and they have tons of pockets and they look BA
Report this review to a moderator   #27540
**GP**
G.I. Sportz
**GP**'s avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: DALLAS
**GP** works for a Paintball manufacturer
**GP** plays in the PSP
**GP** owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
**GP** is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
**GP** is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $165.00
Pros: Best pants I have ever owned
Cons: Nothing at all
I have owned over 100 pair of paintball pants and these are the best ones I have ever owned. They are so comfy and they have tons of pockets and they look BA
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse HDE Pants Picked them up a few weeks back and could not be happier. They are put together like a tank and hold up very well to all kinds of abuse. Aside from the price I have no complaints.
Report this review to a moderator   #34728
asmity
 
asmity's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, co
asmity owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
asmity supports Team VICIOUS
asmity posts videos on PbNation
asmity has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Serious pair of pants!
Cons: little pricey
Picked them up a few weeks back and could not be happier. They are put together like a tank and hold up very well to all kinds of abuse. Aside from the price I have no complaints.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse HDE Pants Planet Eclipse is without a doubt a name that speaks quality to each and every person in the paintball community. It does not matter if you own one of their markers or wear some of their gear you...
Report this review to a moderator   #24670
cryptic.paintball
blah blah blah
cryptic.paintball's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Uniontown Pa
cryptic.paintball plays in the APPA beginner division
cryptic.paintball is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
cryptic.paintball is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $165.00
Pros: Breathability
Cons: A little heavy
Planet Eclipse is without a doubt a name that speaks quality to each and every person in the paintball community. It does not matter if you own one of their markers or wear some of their gear you know the name and understand that what Planet Eclipse puts out is sheer quality. So when I was able to get my hands on some PE HDE camo pants and jersey I was not surprised to find an excellent product in my hands.

Now I usually do play in the thick of the woods and when I get the chance to play 9 out of 10 times that is where I am but I almost never wear camo. But on this day I donned the Planet Eclipse HDE gear, headed out to the field and put this stuff to the test. A little background on the elements I was playing in. The weather was in the 30 degree range from the morning bell to the closing afternoon prize give-a-way. On top of the cold was intermittent snow flurries and tons upon tons of mud. To say it was slick is an understatement. So I got down and dirty adding to the test of the product.

The padding in the pants and jersey is just where it should be! I was hit in the elbow, ya weird I know, a few times and the jersey offered just enough padding to lessen the blow but not to prevent the paint from breaking. Good for my opponents and something I think is just about perfect in the design. I myself hate when someone is wearing so much padding that my shots just bounce off all day long. A big thumbs up to the design crew at PE for that. Other than the padding the gear is just comfortable, at first when I put the pants on they seemed a little stiff but that was probably due to the cold temperatures because when I actually got out there to play they moved and never incumbered my movement at any given time.

When I slid into bunkers, in the mud of course, I stayed protected with the knee padding. This is a big plus for an old dog like myself who has had a few knee surgeries but does not have the common sense to not play hard anymore. Another plus is there is nylon webbing material in the hip area inside of the pants. This will not prevent a ball from breaking but it sure will protect you from the sting of a hit or the unfortunate slide across a rock or other hard object hidden in the grass and leaves. Another plus is no matter how much muck and mud I was in during the day of play not once did I get wet while wearing the pants, I cannot say that with the jersey but I did not expect it to be water resistant when I was crawling through the mud puddles and wet leaves. The jersey is very comfortable! I even had a few people touch the jersey because it looks like the integrated padding is thick but it is just the right thickness to rest your tank on or protect you during your slides.

The came pattern does break up your outline. Now I tested this at the end of the fall season where most of the leaves are off their limbs and the underbrush is all but gone so I can only imagine how hidden you would be in the middle of spring and summer. I can say with confidence that if you are sitting in the thick of some brush and staying perfectly still that people would be hard pressed to know you are there. That is the whole ides of this product, to give you protection and the visionary edge over the competition. Planet Eclipse easily accomplishes this with the HDE (High Definition Eclipse) Camo Gear. The camo pattern is multifaceted and can be used in many environments from your urban woodlands to grassy areas, anywhere you want to blend in.

So let’s go over the features Planet Eclipse put into the pants:

Belt Loops and Adjustable Waist Straps – While I did not use a belt I sure did use those adjustable waist straps. They are simple to use, pull them back and secure them with velcro.

Padded Crotch – A great feature, luckily I did not need this on the day of play.

4 Way Stretch Zones – This is something that is so well designed into the pants you will not even notice but trust me the comfort of the pants is due to these zones.

Removable Cellular Knee Padding – These knee pads are top notch, comfortable and you will know they are there when you slide and do not destroy your knees. I used these pads all day be that sliding or kneeling when playing.

Mesh Venting – Mesh Venting allows your legs to breath while exerting yourself. I played in 30 degree weather and even with the plentiful mesh venting on the inner legs of the pants I was still very warm all day.

Squeegee Pockets – While I kept forgetting to bring my squeegee out on the field with me you will be pleased with the available option to remember yours.

Velcro Ankle Closures – These are huge. You do not know how great it is to have the option to tighten the bottom of your playing pants when you are short and your waist is not so small. On top of the velcro is a pull string to keep the pants tight on your ankles. This also is a safety feature to keep you from tripping on the bottom of your pants as you are running to shoot your opponents.

Zip Access Pockets – You have to be able to secure your keys or other valuables and these pockets did this for me. I played all day with my car keys zipped up in my pockets so you can say these things are more than safe.

Webbing System – You have plenty of options with the webbing system, they would be just about perfect if you play pump as they would fit 10 round tubes.

Removable Internal Hip Padding – As I mentioned above these pads are GREAT. You can hip slide and never question that you will be protected while you do.

In conclusion I applaud Planet Eclipse on another great addition to their product line and I give them a standing ovation for making sure the scenario and woodsball players get the same quality gear that the tournament players are used too.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse HDE Pants These pants are hands down the best I've ever seen/owned. I've been out of the game for a while and just gearing back up. Purchased these pants and they were exactly what I expected and more. The...
Report this review to a moderator   #32680
Frontplya85
 
Frontplya85's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minnesota
Frontplya85 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Frontplya85 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Run a tad big.
These pants are hands down the best I've ever seen/owned. I've been out of the game for a while and just gearing back up. Purchased these pants and they were exactly what I expected and more. The quality cannot be matched. So comfortable. There's nothing comparable on the market in my opinion.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse HDE Pants These pants are light weight and durable. good work
Report this review to a moderator   #15620
maxmcb12
Six Fifty Three
maxmcb12's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ♣913♣
maxmcb12 is playing at Living Legends V
maxmcb12 is for the Gunfight
maxmcb12 posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $170.00
Pros: great pants
Cons: price
These pants are light weight and durable. good work
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse HDE Pants Probabally one of the better pairs of paintball pants I have had in a long time. Pros: Heavy duty Camo pattern looks schweet MOLLE strips...if you're into that sort of thing Lots of padding, Knees...
Report this review to a moderator   #44065
Team_ILLNatured
Running Hatchet Man
Team_ILLNatured's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Depew, NY(716)
Team_ILLNatured has been a member for 10 years
Team_ILLNatured owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Team_ILLNatured owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Team_ILLNatured supports Team VICIOUS
Team_ILLNatured plays in the APPA D5 division
Team_ILLNatured is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: heavy duty, cool looks, lots of padding
Cons: Sizing.
Probabally one of the better pairs of paintball pants I have had in a long time.

Pros:
Heavy duty
Camo pattern looks schweet
MOLLE strips...if you're into that sort of thing
Lots of padding, Knees for sliding, crotch for...well you know what that's for, Hips for old folks like me worried about breaking a hip

Cons:
sized kind of small...Medium seems to be closer to a small...
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse HDE Pants my scenario team is outfitted with these pants/jersey...and i have to say these pants are damn near bulletproof! they are comfortable, flexible and a great value. the option to remove the padding is...
Report this review to a moderator   #20487
tonycon
Knuckleheads Paintball
tonycon's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chi-Town
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
tonycon supports our troops
tonycon is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $175.00
Pros: durable
Cons: price
my scenario team is outfitted with these pants/jersey...and i have to say these pants are damn near bulletproof! they are comfortable, flexible and a great value. the option to remove the padding is neat...but uneccesary in my opinion. the only things i noticed after wearing them a couple of times is the pockets feel like they are going to rip inside at any time. also the fit is kinda odd...i have big legs so i had to get 2XL pants...the lack of velcro to pull the waist tighter is kinda a pain in the butt. i would have also like to see one more row of webbing on the back of the pants, i would love to run some molle attachments on there but it they slide up and down too much for my liking. other than that fantastic product.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse HDE Pants After looking around for some camouflaged pants for scenario and general play, I settled on these. These pants have so many features it's hard to list them all. My faves are zippers on all the...
Report this review to a moderator   #35578
TreyV
Reality based citizen.
TreyV's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Newark, DE
TreyV is a Supporting Member
TreyV is a founding member
TreyV is playing at Living Legends VII
TreyV is Legendary
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $139.00
Pros: Tons of features, look great
Cons: Loose threads at seams, kinda heavy
After looking around for some camouflaged pants for scenario and general play, I settled on these. These pants have so many features it's hard to list them all. My faves are zippers on all the pockets. This is great piece of mind of car keys and hex wrenches. They stay up on there own without a separate belt, so one less thing I have to keep track of. My only complaints are the pads, the ankle cinches, and some loose threads. The knee pads don't ride at the right place to be useful, and just add to the weight of the pants. I've pulled all the pads out of the pants since they are quite heavy with them in. The ankle cinches are nice to have so I can buy long enough pants with worrying about tripping myself, but I'm constantly fiddling with them as they keep coming loose. Finally, my pair have seams that aren't fully stitched to prevent fraying, so there's a lot of loose threads on the inside of the pants, which detracts from the quality a bit, although the pants aren't in any danger of coming apart. Overall, I love the pants.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review