Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - I3 Pro Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
Multi-Directional Venting, high definition lenses, soft ears.
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2006
 MSRP: $99.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
 Reviews: 208
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  44%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  50%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Dye Precision - I3 Pro Reviews
Dye Precision I3 Pro This mask has served me well. Was comfortable and had good breathability for the time but there is better masks out there now. If you can snag one cheap for a low price get it.
Report this review to a moderator   #48353
DiSToRTioNeXg
 
DiSToRTioNeXg's avatar
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Daytona Beach,FL
DiSToRTioNeXg is playing at Living Legends VII
DiSToRTioNeXg has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
DiSToRTioNeXg has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $35.00
Pros: Vocals are good
Cons: not the most comfortable mask
This mask has served me well. Was comfortable and had good breathability for the time but there is better masks out there now. If you can snag one cheap for a low price get it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision I3 Pro Now before you accuse me of a wrong price, I am not positive of what I paid for it but it was between 65 and 80 dollars. Now for the review. I have used the Vforce armor, and the jt eliet...
Report this review to a moderator   #4412
EvilLuke
 
EvilLuke's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $68.00
Pros: Light, looks, airflow, low profile
Cons: price
Now before you accuse me of a wrong price, I am not positive of what I paid for it but it was between 65 and 80 dollars.

Now for the review. I have used the Vforce armor, and the jt eliet headshield(when I was a noob. later I took off the full head part by drilling out the pins and removing it.) This mask AHNIALATES those two. it is very durable and has an extremely low profile and it is very light and gives a lot of airflow. overall this is an awesome mask except for the expensiveness of it.
You can find cheap new ones on ebay.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision I3 Pro Probably my favorite mask to date. I have had this same mask for about 6 plus years. super durable and doesn't fog offen. I dislike the foam around the forehead depends to fall off. other then that...
Report this review to a moderator   #43843
Gbash
Another day in paradise
Gbash's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Wyoming
Gbash is playing at Living Legends VII
Gbash is playing at Living Legends VIII
Gbash owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Gbash has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Gbash supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: great mask
Cons: foam falls off the forehead
Probably my favorite mask to date. I have had this same mask for about 6 plus years. super durable and doesn't fog offen. I dislike the foam around the forehead depends to fall off. other then that great mask
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision I3 Pro I bought these used off a friend who got the i4's. Pros: They are extremely comfortable. I went from a set of JT Alpha goglles to these, and the difference in foam alone is amazing. I've also got...
Report this review to a moderator   #12326
GrimReaper309
 
GrimReaper309's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alabama
GrimReaper309 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $35.00
Pros: Comfy, Light, Doesn't move
Cons: Is a bit too wide for my tastes
I bought these used off a friend who got the i4's.

Pros:

They are extremely comfortable. I went from a set of JT Alpha goglles to these, and the difference in foam alone is amazing. I've also got the soft ears and those help since the mask is a bit tight

They're pretty light for being as big as they are

They stay in place. They tend to stick to your head and cramp down a bit, but they don't move while playing.

Cons:

The bottom jaw of the mask tends to flare out. This is mainly just a personal preference thing, but I like the tighter looking masks. I've solved this by wrapping rubber bands around the mask at all times I'm not wearing it. This has helped tighten it up a lot, and it looks much better now imho.

They sit really tight. Both a pro and a con. I have this weird thing about masks cutting off the ability to breathe through my nose, and this mask does that. I have since gotten a Kohn headwrap, and the extra padding helped back it off enough to where I could breathe.

Pain in the butt to try and clean. This mask is a serious, -serious- pain to try and get apart. some of the tabs are near impossible to get on and off. Would suggest trying to avoid getting shot in the head

Excellent mask. Has a few problems, but overall a great mask.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision I3 Pro Note: I'm copying OTCEDGE2's review format because it's good and helpful to others. Looks - Appearance IMO I love the way the Dye I3 pro mask looks. I own the olive/black color to match my C7...
Report this review to a moderator   #4229
gspin2k1
 
gspin2k1's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: *671*
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $89.95
Pros: Performance, looks, comfort, stuff in box, etc.
Cons: Time to take apart, Thermal Lens, Price, Soft Ear.
Note: I'm copying OTCEDGE2's review format because it's good and helpful to others.

Looks - Appearance
IMO I love the way the Dye I3 pro mask looks. I own the olive/black color to match my C7 gear. Perfect match, and even my gf says the mask makes me look like Halo. All I need is the Amber mirror lens =P. Anyway I love how this mask looks.

Weight - Appearance & Performance
Feels like all the other new masks, it's not a feather, it's not a brick. I didn't feel like it affected me during game play...so that's what's important.

Feel - Performance
Foam felt good, straps felt good (although hard to tighten). Very happy with the feel. My one complaint is the soft ears, understandable that it's for bounces. But I'll take the hit w/protection over pain & bounces. But then again I'm not a tourney player.

Venting - Performance
I could breath easy, I could hear easy, and other people could hear me. So...no complaints here.

Field Of Vision - Performance
Great FOV, no obstructions, no weird glare. Very happy with the FOV from the DYE I3 Pro. Also thermal lens...didn't fog. +1

Safety - Reliability
This mask gets an extra star because it has a chin strap. Not a huge necessity, but it's an extra feature that other masks usually don't offer. I could see it useful for the day you slip and fall on your butt or back...be an easy way to have a mask fly off and a random paintball smack you on your unguarded face. A huge what-if scenario, but it'd make you glad you had a chin strap.

Maintenance - Reliability
Reliability - of course it is reliable, it didn't melt in my car, or break from multiple paintball shots. I will note that the inner lens is easily scratched (so use a microfiber cloth...GENTLY) and that the outer lens got scratched from a paintball shot.
Maintenance - On the field..clean with damp cloth and water...definitely only take apart at home. It's not the hardest thing to take apart and put back together. I think I got it down after doing it once as the second time was much easier. Regardless though taking apart this mask is time consuming, and removing the lens without removing the rest of the mask will be difficult/impossible. There's a lot of parts, but I dont mind it so much as I thoroughly clean my mask/goggle after every day of paintball. Tip: Make sure to moisten lens tabs before re-inserting it in the goggle frame. BTW thermal lens is always a pain because you can't flush the whole mask in water on the field.

Bang4Buck - Value
I found this mask for $89.95...it's pricier than the rest. But I still found it $10 cheaper than most places. It's okay value, great mask, if it was in the $60-70 range it'd be a steal.

~G
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision I3 Pro have owned two pairs of these so far. great mask, lightweight, protects everything, good visibility and you can actually hear with them on, unlike some others...coughslyprofitcough. i highly...
Report this review to a moderator   #41409
HairBaller
Ball Till Ya Fall
HairBaller's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: New York
HairBaller is BST Trusted
HairBaller plays in the APPA beginner division
HairBaller has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
HairBaller supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $90.00
Pros: light, breathable, protcted
Cons: not many
have owned two pairs of these so far. great mask, lightweight, protects everything, good visibility and you can actually hear with them on, unlike some others...coughslyprofitcough. i highly recommend this mask. the only downside is that it is a little pricey.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision I3 Pro The i3 pros are the perfect mask for those with a larger noggin looking for a comfortable and breathable experience. The i3 features an ergonomic goggle system that forms to the face with a wide...
Report this review to a moderator   #25659
Henrybg
Son of the South
Henrybg's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TX, NY, NC
Henrybg plays in the PSP
Henrybg supports Cereal Killerz 2
Henrybg owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
Henrybg is an NCPA player
Henrybg plays in the APPA D4 division
Henrybg is Boss
Henrybg is All In
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: comfortable, removable/interchangeable parts
Cons: heavier than most modern day masks
The i3 pros are the perfect mask for those with a larger noggin looking for a comfortable and breathable experience. The i3 features an ergonomic goggle system that forms to the face with a wide viewing angle. The mask is fairly easy to take apart allowing cleanign and lens removal to be a breeze. Also the i3s don't look half bad.

The only down fall is the fact that they are rather heavy as compared to other comfortable masks such as the proflex or its successor the i4s however, I would recommend this mask to anyone.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision I3 Pro Great mask that I used for a long time, the only problem was small pieces would come off easily but just need to put them right back in.
Report this review to a moderator   #27351
heyhey79797979
SD Sticker Designs
heyhey79797979's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: So Cal
heyhey79797979 is playing at Living Legends V
heyhey79797979 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
heyhey79797979 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
heyhey79797979 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
heyhey79797979 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
heyhey79797979 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: Great Visibility
Cons: Pieces broke off easily
Great mask that I used for a long time, the only problem was small pieces would come off easily but just need to put them right back in.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision I3 Pro Love the mask but the soft ears often get tore up after a while.
Report this review to a moderator   #34582
HiMom
BennyBoom
HiMom's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MW
HiMom has been a member for 10 years
HiMom is BST Legit
HiMom works for a Paintball manufacturer
HiMom plays in the PSP
HiMom plays in the APPA D2 division
HiMom has achieved Level 6 in PbNation Pursuit
HiMom is All In
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: Light
Cons: Soft Ears Rip
Love the mask but the soft ears often get tore up after a while.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision I3 Pro Mask works well i did find it a bit heavy compare to other masks out on the market
Report this review to a moderator   #40652
i run the tape
Bang Bang GTFO!
i run the tape's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Owasso,Ok
i run the tape plays in the PSP
i run the tape owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
i run the tape plays in the APPA D5 division
i run the tape is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $65.00
Pros: Looks good
Cons: Weight
Mask works well i did find it a bit heavy compare to other masks out on the market
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review