Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 12 (DM12) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
Dye is proud to introduce the DM12, the newest and most advanced member of our original series of markers: the famed DM line. This is the marker that has guided the Ironmen and Damage to numerous titles, and has been the backbone of Dye’s product line for almost a decade.
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2012
 MSRP: $1,500.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 82
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  50%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  43%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  7%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 12 (DM12) Reviews
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 12 (DM12) Having been a DM owner and shooter since the DM7 (Angels prior to that, or e-cockers), I have to say that this current iteration is in my opinion the best so far. It combines the NT grip frame with...
Report this review to a moderator   #34892
DarkRipper
Elite
DarkRipper's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: VA
DarkRipper is a founding member
DarkRipper is BST Legit
DarkRipper donated to help Peyton Trent
DarkRipper owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
DarkRipper is Boss
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: Performance, looks, toolless grips and bolt
Cons: Efficiency, resale value
Having been a DM owner and shooter since the DM7 (Angels prior to that, or e-cockers), I have to say that this current iteration is in my opinion the best so far.

It combines the NT grip frame with toolless grips, NT Dyecam 45 degree reg fitting, and a new to the marker toolless bolt system with sleeve.

The actual bolt is nearly identical in performance and design to the first version, with slight air chamber changes being made over the years. The DM12 bolt has a tube/ring built onto it which drastically changes the shape, if not the performance of the bolt.

My DM12 was purchased used, which was both a good thing (lower cost to me due to poor resale) and a bad thing (bad resale).
I have a former pro team owned marker, which caused the bolt to be nicely broken in with many cases run through it - in fact with any spool the best upgrade can be just running paint through it!

Maintenance is simple and identical to previous DMs, the LPR is a beautiful addition and is also very easy to maintain/set.

Access to the grip frame has been enhanced with the NT toolless grips, simply pop them off and make adjustments/replace battery as necesarry without having to use an Allen key like with older models.

The bolt has a magnetic back cap, which allow you to tighten the bolt hand-tight so that you can remove it without tools for fast oring changes between games/points, or fast relubes.

For the price, it's really hard to beat the quality and ease of use plus overall fun you get in the DM12.

I recommend it for woods or speedballers who are mid level in skill with maintaining paintball markers.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 12 (DM12) I have been a dm owner since the dm6 and I must say that dye outdid themselves with this gun....the tool less back cap and grips are an amazing feature that makes it way easier to work on and or...
Report this review to a moderator   #40471
evil balla 21
Bay State Rebels
evil balla 21's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MASS
evil balla 21 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
evil balla 21 plays in the APPA D5 division
evil balla 21 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
evil balla 21 supports DLX Technology
evil balla 21 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: tool-less back cap...accuracy
Cons: air hog
I have been a dm owner since the dm6 and I must say that dye outdid themselves with this gun....the tool less back cap and grips are an amazing feature that makes it way easier to work on and or clean ur marker...this is by far the most accurate of the dm series thus far but still the only downfall is dm are still an air hog....hoping eventually dye figures out away to make these more air efficient...but u can't find a better marker out there with the accuracy of a dm12....they should be easy to find now for cheap money...but so worth it....if u have the funds...pick one up....u won't regret it!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 12 (DM12) I finally got my long awaited new DM12 yesterday. I recieved it while at a team practice so within minutes of opening it, I gassed it up and played with it. Allow me to describe me...
Report this review to a moderator   #23606
klettis33
Custom Fiberglass King
klettis33's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
klettis33 plays in the PSP
klettis33 is an NCPA player
klettis33 plays in the APPA D4 division
klettis33 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: Quiet, Consistent, Included Goodies, Accurate
Cons: Window Area in Rear of Gun (Read Review)
I finally got my long awaited new DM12 yesterday. I recieved it while at a team practice so within minutes of opening it, I gassed it up and played with it. Allow me to describe me findings.

Appearance: Wow, out of the box this gun looks amazing. I have the Graphite Orange color combination which looks absolutely amazing, within minutes I was getting comments on how clean the gun looked. Not only does the gun look great, it comes in a nice padded case that has pockets for the several goodies that are included, everything held in its own section. The window on the rear of the gun looks amazing, and is a very neat design. Once coupled with a tank and a rotor this gun felt completely balanced and solid.

One thing I am worried about is the "window" on the gun. Many know that a new part of the design this year is a window, or absence of material in the upper rear of the gun. Though this design looks amazing I am concerned that paint and dirt will collect in the small orifice between the window and the internal sleeve. The issue with this is when you remove the bolt this area must spin and slide in order for the bolt to be removed from the gun, my fear is this will lead to scratching of the internal insert. Espicially since this area is gloss anodized on most of the Dm12 series, I fear we will see many of these guns with visual imperfections in that area.

Performance: Ok, so off to the chrono I went. One quick flick of the on off and I listened as air rushed into the gun for the first time. I put the barrel over the chrono, first three shots, 293, 295, 292. I was using what I would consider upper midgrade paint, but this consistent before any regulator break in? Holy cow! and the fact that I didn't even have to adjust anything (other than changing to PSP mode) AMAZING. I think I may be able to lower the LPR slightly, but haven't tried yet. Really no need to, this gun has like absolutely NO kick. In fact several of our younger team members have been Ego users in the past. As they used their DM12's for the first time they commented how it didn't even seem like they were shooting. These guns have no kick, and the sound signature is very quiet. More of a "woosh" then a "pop" if that makes sense.

As I used the marker throughout the day I was continuously able to lane people easier, and snap shoot more effectively, this gun is ball on top of ball accurate. I am a snake player and basically every game that I went directly to snake I could quickly snap out of S1 and put a tight stream of paint directly onto the snake corner. I got several eliminations this way that I have had trouble with in the past.

Reliability: So the Dm12 is sexy, and performs well, but is it reliable? YES. At one point in the day I was bunkered and shot in the back. Unfortunately one of the shots went through one of my pods and broke some of the paint inside. But in the confusion of playing turn around points this pod was left on my back, which led to me pouring a pod of half broken paint into my hopper the next game. The DM12 took it in stride, although the shots were everywhere, the self cleaning eyes allowed the gun to continue to function. Once my rotor jammed, it was a different story, I had to clean the hopper but after one quick barrel swab I was back up and shooting just as accurately as before. In any other gun this would have been a disaster that would have led to having to clean the breach and eyes. The DM12's design allowed me to continue to function as a threat to the opposing team.

Value: The best way for me to put it is do not buy this gun, why? I do not want anyone I am playing against to own this amazing piece of equipment! If you are playing on my team, yes you definitely need this, but if not... I don't want to play against the devastation the marker entails!

In all honesty if you are after a great looking marker, that shoots great, allows you to hear your teammates over the volume of the shot, and is reliable, go grab yourself a DM12 today!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 12 (DM12) I've owned spool valve guns from eclipse and macdev and I keep coming back to the Dye matrix series. This is my 4th (2xDM9's, 1xDm10). I love the new milling and cutouts on the body. Like all DMs...
Report this review to a moderator   #37952
mshamel
Diesel
mshamel's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Plano, TX
mshamel plays in the APPA beginner division
mshamel has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,099.00
Pros: Quiet, smooth
Cons: Size, weight
I've owned spool valve guns from eclipse and macdev and I keep coming back to the Dye matrix series. This is my 4th (2xDM9's, 1xDm10). I love the new milling and cutouts on the body.
Like all DMs this gun is smooth and quiet, the ultralight frame fits my hand perfectly and efficiency is actually pretty good, about 7 pods and rotor.
The strongest point is ergonomics, even though it still has macroline setup I like the NT asa and angled reg fitting. It really tightens up the feel of the gun.
It's a little heavier and bigger than a Geo 2/3, but it's not that noticeable to me.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 12 (DM12) The new magnetic quick release bolt system is one of the really cool and convenient new features on this gun. A magnetic assembly extends the back cap away from the marker slightly as it is...
Report this review to a moderator   #38933
Stan6543
 
Stan6543's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florida
Stan6543 plays in the PSP
Stan6543 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Stan6543 posts videos on PbNation
Stan6543 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Stan6543 is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: Price
Cons: Eye Pipe System
The new magnetic quick release bolt system is one of the really cool and convenient new features on this gun. A magnetic assembly extends the back cap away from the marker slightly as it is unscrewed. This makes it much easier to get a grip on the back cap and remove the bolt assembly without tools. This design makes it very easy to access and maintain the marker.

The milling on the DM12 looks very nice. The bolt sleeve can be seen through the body which adds a nice accent look to the marker. The color schemes that Dye released for the DM12 paintball guns blend very well and look amazing.

The Dm12 comes with Dyes Eye Pipe System. This eye system makes sure the eyes are functioning even if there is dirt or paint/shell in the breach. It uses part of the bolt to wipe and clean the eye with each firing cycle. This is a very cool state of the art feature that Dye has implemented.

The 2012 Dye Matrix also comes with an adjustable LPR. This is a very unique feature for spool valve markers, and really makes the marker fire smooth and quiet. This design lets the paintball gun shoot at a very low operating pressure. Dye says around 60-70 Psi. With the LPR, the DM12 is a very smooth, consistent and air efficient paintball gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 12 (DM12) So far I've own and shot a lot of spools and have used a teammates DM12 and just recently traded to get my own. I love the gun, the shot is great and has yet to go down on me. As far as stock...
Report this review to a moderator   #26401
General Cole
NLD Paintball
General Cole's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCo, NM
General Cole plays in the PSP
General Cole posts videos on PbNation
General Cole is an NCPA player
General Cole plays in the APPA D4 division
General Cole is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
General Cole is Boss
General Cole supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,300.00
Pros: Good looking, shoots good
Cons: Pricey still
So far I've own and shot a lot of spools and have used a teammates DM12 and just recently traded to get my own. I love the gun, the shot is great and has yet to go down on me.

As far as stock options, I like everything but the trigger. Thats mostly a personal preference thing, its not very rake-y and has flat sides which I don't like. Still very usable, but nothing is really perfect. The ultralite barrel is fantastic and I haven't had a problem with it. The feedneck is also really nice, no problems with it.

The gun is heavier (coming from a Clone VX) but I don't notice the weight, especially when shooting. The extra weight helps keep the gun stable when shooting, but its definetly no older DM. I really enjoy shooting those made ropes. The gun is solid when doing so.

Overall I think the gun is well worth the pickup providing you can find one at a cheaper price that what they are now (4-3-2012).
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 12 (DM12) Excellent gun overall, shoots excellent, very smooth, it does have a little recoil but not too much. Has all the modes, looks very sexy. Good price for the gun. I am very happy with my DM12.
Report this review to a moderator   #37413
Sandehhh
 
Sandehhh's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Houston
Sandehhh posts videos on PbNation
Sandehhh plays in the APPA D5 division
Sandehhh supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,400.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Loud | More Recoil then usual guns
Excellent gun overall, shoots excellent, very smooth, it does have a little recoil but not too much. Has all the modes, looks very sexy. Good price for the gun. I am very happy with my DM12.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 12 (DM12) The DM12, like all the other DMs before it, are smooth and quiet. Efficiency is still average. The Quick Release bolt is a great idea in idea and if you have time off the field it is great. Once you...
Report this review to a moderator   #18692
allout2
unsung zero
allout2's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: GA
allout2 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
allout2 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
allout2 is attending Decay of Nations VI
allout2 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,300.00
Pros: Shoots smooth and quiet
Cons: still expensive, bolt can be finicky
The DM12, like all the other DMs before it, are smooth and quiet. Efficiency is still average. The Quick Release bolt is a great idea in idea and if you have time off the field it is great. Once you get it out though it can be a bit hard to get it to go back in and lock into place.

I would definitely buy this gun again. It did everything I expected and more
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 12 (DM12) The dm12 is a excellent shooting gun. It is realiable also. The only con is the size. It is bigger than most high ends
Report this review to a moderator   #38420
flpdog
 
flpdog's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indiana
flpdog plays in the PSP
flpdog plays in the APPA D3 division
flpdog supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $650.00
Pros: Accurate
Cons: Sized
The dm12 is a excellent shooting gun. It is realiable also. The only con is the size. It is bigger than most high ends
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 12 (DM12) Dye has refined one of the best guns on the market even more. The DM12 milling is gorgeous and the color options are great. The gun is very smooth and quiet and will make any tournament player happy.
Report this review to a moderator   #14073
tweeter4
Quinn Nadu
tweeter4's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lancaster PA
tweeter4 posts videos on PbNation
tweeter4 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
tweeter4 is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,150.00
Pros: Very smooth, quiet
Cons: none at all
Dye has refined one of the best guns on the market even more. The DM12 milling is gorgeous and the color options are great. The gun is very smooth and quiet and will make any tournament player happy.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Add New Review