Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Vanguard - Demon Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Vanguard
3050 W. Lincoln Ave.
Anaheim, CA 92801

Fax: (714) 226-0020
Email: sales@vanguardpaintball.com
Website: http://www.vanguardusa.net
The Demon has been created after years of research and development. Gas through regulator and Patented Bolt design. The bolt is designed for high efficiency rates, smoother shots and lower maintenance.
 Manual: Download the manual for Vanguard Download
 Release Date: 2011
 MSRP: $1,050.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
 Reviews: 39
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  41%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  51%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Vanguard - Demon Reviews
Vanguard Demon I got my Vanguard Demon in December of 2011 when Eric (Shootnpoo) was in charge of Vanguard USA. Pros: -SHOT QUALITY: Out of all the markers I own(ed) (MacDev Clone, Machine Vapor 2014, MacDev...
Report this review to a moderator   #44753
coolicarboy
Dont take my avatar!
coolicarboy's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Miami, Florida
coolicarboy plays in the PSP
coolicarboy owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
coolicarboy is for the Gunfight
coolicarboy posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,050.00
Pros: See below
Cons: See below
I got my Vanguard Demon in December of 2011 when Eric (Shootnpoo) was in charge of Vanguard USA.

Pros:

-SHOT QUALITY:

Out of all the markers I own(ed) (MacDev Clone, Machine Vapor 2014, MacDev Droid, Dm8, Dm7, GEO, Bob Long Victory V2, Mini, Ego 7, Luxe) the Vanguard Demon shoots the best. Quieter than almost all of the markers listed above and a smoother shot as well.

-Efficiency:

I get about 1500 shots off of a 68/45 fill.



-I'm going to get killed for this one, but.... Reliability:

People need to realize that they are giving a review on THEIR OWN MARKER, not someone elses! MY Demon has not had any issues in 30,000 shots. No QEV problems, no leaks, no bad o-rings, NOTHING. The only other marker I have had that was as worry free as my Demon is my GEO. Did I get lucky? Maybe, maybe not. I like to think it is because I maintain and lube it every weekend before practice.

-Board:

The board on the Demon is VERY user friendly. It is color coded and extremely easy to navigate through the different options.


-Barrel:

The number one thing that are replaced on paintball markers are the barrels. The barrel that comes with the Demon is great. It comes with different sized backs and it has plenty of porting to help dampen the sound.

-Consistency:

On the chrono it is rare to get anything worse than +-4.

-ABILITY TO HANDLE BRITTLE PAINT:

This, I emphasize. This marker can handle chilled 5 star imperial that is so brittle it breaks from ANKLE HEIGHT. I have tried it more than once and have yet to chop one of the chilled balls. In total, out of 30,000 normal shots, I have chopped one ball.

Cons:

-ASA:

The ASA on this marker is by far the worst designed I have ever used. To tighten or loosen it, there are two screws that you can get to from the bottom of the ASA. The problem with this is my ASA needs to be tighten every weekend after I am done practicing. I have used locktite without promising results. Not only does it loosen every weekend, but it seems as if the screw closest to the front of the marker does not align properly with the ASA, so it is VERY annoying trying to tighten or loosen the ASA. I spend a good 30 minutes every time trying to work it out. I am thinking that I may have a poorly machined ASA, and will try to replace it to see if that helps.

-Grips:

Although the grips grip really well, it has a window on it that cracks very easily. On my third day out with my marker, the window on the grips acquired a SMALL crack in the corner. It is not a big deal but it happened.

-Lack of spare parts:

I have not needed any spare parts. However, if I ever do, they are difficult to come across. I am talking most specifically about the QEV diaphrams. There is currently a shortage on boards as well, so if your board happens to break, you are **** out of luck until a new batch comes in.


-Conclusion:

The Vanguard Demon is a fantastic marker that has been plagued by the unfortunate issues others have had. You can read up on poor machining, bad customer service, and just poor quality with the marker. I have yet to experience ANY of these issues. The good in this marker greatly outweigh the bad. Out of all the markers I have ever owned, this one is my favorite by a long shot. It is both the nicest shooting and most reliable gun I have ever owned. I highly recommend trying one out, as now you can pick them up for a low price of $350 used.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Vanguard Demon Just swooped a Vanguard sponsorship and loving the demons.
Report this review to a moderator   #13297
DyeBalla182
Remember Brett Olson
DyeBalla182's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: |Bay Area, CA|
DyeBalla182 is BST Legit
DyeBalla182 supports Bob Gurnsey
DyeBalla182 supports our troops
DyeBalla182 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
DyeBalla182 is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $825.00
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Just swooped a Vanguard sponsorship and loving the demons.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Vanguard Demon The name of the gun says it all: it is a demon for anyone that finds themselves on the other end. When I first ordered the gun, i had it anno'd directly from the factory, which gave me the price...
Report this review to a moderator   #11521
FightingOriole
No sanity here
FightingOriole's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Van Dyne
FightingOriole owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
FightingOriole plays in the APPA D4 division
FightingOriole has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
FightingOriole has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
FightingOriole has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.99
Pros: design, weight, balance, milling, air efficient
Cons: first run
The name of the gun says it all: it is a demon for anyone that finds themselves on the other end.

When I first ordered the gun, i had it anno'd directly from the factory, which gave me the price tag of $1,275. Kat in the Vanguard US office has amazing customer service and helps you in anyway possible when it comes to getting exactly what you want with your gun.

Pros:
This gun has is amazingly light in comparison to most other guns that I have held. It weighs about as much as a Vanguard Creed, which is lighter than an Ego 11. When you first pick up the gun, it does seem to be back heavy, mostly due to the macroless design, however, once you have the set up put completely together, it becomes part of the user. Some have said that the milling is a little, odd, I guess would be the best way to put it. I will admit, the front grip did kind of scare me. However, once it is in your hands, the front grip feels just as secure as any other macro lined gun. Also, the way the milling of the gun goes downthe body and into the barrel, it is extremely easy to get a good line on your shot since the way the barrel is designed you dont have that big bulge halfway down that may screw up your line if you dont have your head stiking out far enough to see around the tip. A big turn off for me in respects to spoolies is they are not practical for a back guy onless you have a huge tank. I refuse to use anything larger than a 68/45, just dont see the point to anything bigger. Since getting my gun and even before it was broken in, it could get 9-10 pods plus starting hopper. Since it came out, there have been others who have gotten more. I really didnt get a chance to break mine in due to money and some gun problems.

Cons:
As I said, i had some gun problems, and i will admit it. However, I also bought this gun when it hadnt even been out for 3 months yet. So, i had some issues with bolt stick, with the back cap coming undone due to the bolt/can relationsip, and that about somes it up.

Other Info
I got hold of Eric at Vanguard and tried some things that he suggested, and when those didnt work, he had Kat get hold of me and she gave me all the shipping info I needed. Since i had bought the gun from them, they serviced it for free and took care of the issues. Since getting it back, it is shooting gold and ready for an amazing season. This gun is worth the stock price of $1050. More reliable than a DM, cheaper and smoother than a Luxe, and has an amazing staff to help with any issues you may have.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Vanguard Demon Borrowed a friends for a weekend, shot pretty good, but just felt weird in my hands.
Report this review to a moderator   #12445
ihateionhaters
Stay Frosty
ihateionhaters's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal
ihateionhaters is playing at Living Legends V
ihateionhaters owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
ihateionhaters owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
ihateionhaters supports Team VICIOUS
ihateionhaters supports Team VICIOUS
ihateionhaters is for the Gunfight
ihateionhaters is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $850.00
Pros: shoots great
Cons: weird grips
Borrowed a friends for a weekend, shot pretty good, but just felt weird in my hands.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.6/5 stars.
Vanguard Demon Got a demon and was incredibly excited to try it out. First person in my area with one but it had problems from day one. Constant FSDO no matter how high I took the dwell/fsdo dwell/fsdo time....
Report this review to a moderator   #15105
comple
 
comple's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Brownstown Twp, MI
comple supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $875.00
Pros: Smooth, Quiet, Rechargeable
Cons: FSDO, trigger.
Got a demon and was incredibly excited to try it out. First person in my area with one but it had problems from day one. Constant FSDO no matter how high I took the dwell/fsdo dwell/fsdo time. Manifold gaskets weren't fit properly and leaked at one point, trigger was about the worst feeling trigger I've used to date. All in all it's one of the smoothest shooters out there and looks good but I wouldn't own another one.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Vanguard Demon I loved my demon. It shot better than any gun I have ever owned. It was good on air, great on fragile paint, and consistent as hell. It had everything going for it, except the build quality. It felt...
Report this review to a moderator   #13280
ICdzBuff
PL Mogul
ICdzBuff's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
ICdzBuff supports Team VICIOUS
ICdzBuff supports Sherwood Forest
ICdzBuff supports Sherwood Forest
ICdzBuff posts videos on PbNation
ICdzBuff is an NCPA player
ICdzBuff supports Pev's Paintball
ICdzBuff has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $999.00
Pros: Lack of Kick
Cons: Quality of machining
I loved my demon. It shot better than any gun I have ever owned. It was good on air, great on fragile paint, and consistent as hell. It had everything going for it, except the build quality.

It felt like vanguard made it out if a really sub grade aluminum. It was cheap looking, had mill marks everywhere, and the tolerances were awful. Plus, screw holes were easily stripped.

If it was made well, I would shoot one again in a heartbeat.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Vanguard Demon The demon is great, it shoots like a luxe, but with out the fsdo and little quirks that come with winter play. i feels great, like a clone or g6r, and is efficient for a spool
Report this review to a moderator   #24705
gildy1
me, my gun, and I
gildy1's avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Location: michigan
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: light, customer service, luxe shot
Cons: machine marks
The demon is great, it shoots like a luxe, but with out the fsdo and little quirks that come with winter play. i feels great, like a clone or g6r, and is efficient for a spool
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Vanguard Demon Got the gun, was full of metal shavings when I got it and wouldn't shoot. After a through clean out, it shot alright, but the anno was already messed up when I received it custom from the factory. ...
Report this review to a moderator   #12581
General Cole
NLD Paintball
General Cole's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCo, NM
General Cole plays in the PSP
General Cole posts videos on PbNation
General Cole is an NCPA player
General Cole plays in the APPA D4 division
General Cole is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
General Cole is Boss
General Cole supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $105.00
Pros: Good CS
Cons: Crap Anno/Finishing
Got the gun, was full of metal shavings when I got it and wouldn't shoot. After a through clean out, it shot alright, but the anno was already messed up when I received it custom from the factory. Its currently being taken care of.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.7/5 stars.
Vanguard Demon
Report this review to a moderator   #34401
anthrax4dinner
You Are A _______!
anthrax4dinner's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: tx
anthrax4dinner supports Team VICIOUS
anthrax4dinner supports Team VICIOUS
anthrax4dinner is for the Gunfight
anthrax4dinner is for the Gunfight
anthrax4dinner supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: everything
Cons: regulator
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Vanguard Demon I used a luxe for over a year and loved it. Picked this gun up and it is very similar.. Shoots a lot a like, and has pretty much the same internals... Its a great gun, just not very reliable. I had 2...
Report this review to a moderator   #12650
Austeller18
 
Austeller18's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Memphis
Austeller18 is a Paintball photographer
Austeller18 posts videos on PbNation
Austeller18 is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: Feels Good, Nice screen, Smooth Shooting
Cons: Unreliable, Not that great of milling
I used a luxe for over a year and loved it. Picked this gun up and it is very similar.. Shoots a lot a like, and has pretty much the same internals... Its a great gun, just not very reliable. I had 2 leaks in the 3 months that I had it. Overall a pretty good gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Add New Review