Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - Etha Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: info@planeteclipse.com
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
Internally the Etha is a radical departure from anything seen before in an Eclipse marker. For the first time we utilize a spring return bolt system in the firing mechanism, allowing us to simplify the pneumatic side of the marker and use a Pull Poppet spool to release air from the firing chamber. The Etha comes delivered in a hard case with everything you need to look after and maintain it.
 Manual: Download the manual for Planet Eclipse Download
 Release Date: 2011
 MSRP: $395.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 83
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  49%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  47%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Photos
There are 2 photos of this product, click on a thumbnail to browse the gallery.
Planet Eclipse - Etha Reviews
Planet Eclipse Etha Bought this when the price was higher, they had price drop, which now it is in the price range it should be. Had some minor hiccups after a couple of cases with the bolt tip breaking and it...
Report this review to a moderator   #44058
bonus balled
 
bonus balled's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Bossier City, LA
bonus balled owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
bonus balled has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
bonus balled has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Good starter-good for price
Cons: it's a starter gun & barrell
Bought this when the price was higher, they had price drop, which now it is in the price range it should be.

Had some minor hiccups after a couple of cases with the bolt tip breaking and it started chopping balls. After gun was broke in the runs like a champ. I have one and my kid has one. They have both been used in tournaments and run fine.
I've shot high end guns and some low end, You can tell a difference,
This gun is louder than the high end guns and has a kick, not too bad but it's there. For the money it's not it's fine.

I would invest in a new barrel, as this stock barrel does ok for the recreational baller but a tourne player needs a new barrel.

Ive shot field paint, cold weather paint, & tournament paint, does ok on all but does very well on tournament paint.

If this is your price range then buy an Etha.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Etha I have been using the Etha since late summer last year, and after having extensive use with it I feel I can give a fair review. Durability/Maintenance: By far the biggest thing Eclipse guns are...
Report this review to a moderator   #38028
BurningPlaydoh
Blow-Dough'ed
BurningPlaydoh's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Twin Cities, MN
BurningPlaydoh has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Weight, ergos, maintenance, CS
Cons: "Ping" shot, efficiency
I have been using the Etha since late summer last year, and after having extensive use with it I feel I can give a fair review.

Durability/Maintenance: By far the biggest thing Eclipse guns are known for is their lack of a need for maintenance. The Etha is no difference and although I lube it every 3 cases or so I am sure I could go much longer than that doing basically nothing to it. Maintenance is fairly simple when you do have to do it, consisting of wiping down the bolt, running a swab through the breach, and lubing just a few o-rings on the rear portion of the bolt assembly. The only reason I give the Etha 4 stars on reliability is due to the poppet spring issue that plagued some early Etha's, including mine. Eclipse has completely remedied this however by sending out the free springless poppet kits, and my Etha has worked flawlessly since.

Shot quality: Probably the biggest con of the Etha is that it doesn't shoot as smooth as most other markers in the price range such as the Axe or Drone. It isn't terrible, but there is a slightly noticeable ping and vibration on every shot. I am able to keep streams on target no problem in PSP however, and there doesn't seem to be much barrel rise for a gun this price. Also, the shot is not a loud crack or pop, so it isn't very loud at least.

Efficiency: 6-8 pods on a 4000 fill. Not amazing, not terrible. Average for a spoolie in this price range, but I'll leave the discussion of what type of valve this marker uses to others more knowledgeable than me.

Ergonomics: This is where the Etha really excels for me. It feels great in the hands and stable when shooting. My only wish would be for more space between the reg and trigger guard but it is fine as is. I don't mind the panels grips at all either, I'm used to old BL guns with the Tadao panel grips and these are much better IMO. One thing I do hate is the body screw above the reg, I'm so glad Eclipse finally got rid of this with the LV1.

Value: I got this marker used in a package deal so the price paid is approximate in relation to the prices of the other gear I got. I feel a price point around $350 or even $325 would be better for the Etha as it wouldnt directly compete with the Drone and Axe, however I am very happy with how it performs for what I paid (about half MSRP).

Before buying as Etha I would suggest holding and shooting one first. For me, the first time holding it I knew I liked the feel of the gun, however some may prefer the smoother shot of the Axe or Drone. It's all about preference, and what you can get a good price on.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Etha I have anywhere from 12 to 25 guns in my possession depending on my mood towards a particular gun design. I have to say that planet eclipse does one heck of a job putting together a gun package. The...
Report this review to a moderator   #30522
Captain!
 
Captain!'s avatar
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nevada
Captain! owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Captain! plays in the APPA beginner division
Captain! has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Captain! has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $380.00
Pros: Great mid level gun
Cons: Uprgrades are lacking
I have anywhere from 12 to 25 guns in my possession depending on my mood towards a particular gun design. I have to say that planet eclipse does one heck of a job putting together a gun package. The case and everything that comes with the etha sets it a notch above other mid level markers in my opinion.

Now i am not saying you should buy a gun based on its wrappings, but that is the first thing you see when you buy a gun and PE does it right. Actually picking up the gun is the next step. The grip frame is very comfortable. It has a decent thickness to it, which is great for my big meat hooks. The front of the gun lets you choose how you want to hold it. No LPR or volumizer in the way. Plenty of room in the trigger guard to get your walk on.

Actually firing the gun was a little dissappointing at first. For someone who is used to the buttery smoothness of a full weight DM3, this gun has a weird kick/vibration to it. It is WAY better than a hammer and valve style gun (ego), but it was not quite what i expected. Here is the good news: it gets better! After putting about 4 cases through it I noticed a difference in the smoothness of the gun. Anywhere from 10-20 cases should break this gun in and then the dialing in of the dwell will begin.

I have to say this gun has grown on me. I like the design and ease of care. The board leaves nothing but a OLED to add if you like that sort of thing. I am old school so I prefer a multi-color LED. The only thing I would like to see is some upgrades for the internals. I am a modder at heart and love throwing things into my guns that make them quieter or more efficient, but that will come with time.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Etha I love the Etha. It's my first marker and it feels reliable as hell while being backed by a great company. However, if you're looking for something smooth then you would probably want to stay away...
Report this review to a moderator   #28596
crPaliza
 
crPaliza's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
crPaliza owns a Planet Eclipse Etha
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $395.00
Pros: Price, ergonomics, reliability, packaging, modular
Cons: Vibration, slight ping noise
I love the Etha. It's my first marker and it feels reliable as hell while being backed by a great company. However, if you're looking for something smooth then you would probably want to stay away from this one. You do get some vibration and pinging noise from the spring (tends to fade when broken in I notice) as people state which are things that I can live with. So why do I love my Etha so much?

Packaging:
- Comes with a nice set of allen keys, huge parts kit, lube, 14.5" Shaft 4 barrel, very detailed manual, great quality barrel sock, and a nice sturdy case.

Reliability:
- It's a very durable marker built to the same standard as the Ego, Geo, or Etek platforms but at a more affordable price. It was designed to be able to take some hits, be waterproof, and perform even during cold or hot temperatures. Check out the video below.

Efficiency:
- Better than your traditional spool... Some say this is more of a poppet marker even. Flame shield activate!

Bolt:
- Simple design, easy maintenance with a rubber bolt tip. You can remove it easily with or without an allen key. This marker was designed to perform as a tournament level entry marker so it can handle the brittlest of paint without a problem. I shot GI Sportz 4 Stars (not fresh... it was oily and had dimples) with the Etha without a problem. I have also used Empire's RPS Evil with the marker and it didn't skip a beat.

Board:
- Super bright LED light which means you can easily adjust any setting even on the sunniest day. The board is super easy to use and on the back of the grip there is a mini-manual in case you forget which color is which setting.

Ergonomics:

- I love how it only uses 1 screw meaning faster access to batteries, tourney lock, etc... It feels both durable and comfortable. Other grips feel too rubbery to me but that is just personal preference.
- The asa is simple and a breeze to use. I love how the macroline does not protrude from the side but direct onto the asa.
- The trigger I would say is best in class for it's price range. 3 point adjustable and comfortable on your finger.
- Easy access to eyes and detents.
- It has the same amazing regulator used by Eclipse's Geos and Egos.
- Lever-lock clamping feedneck
- Composite parts... While some people don't like it they cannot deny that composite is simply more durable and cheaper to make. It's even used on real modern weapons!

Modular:
- Last but not least you can add an "EMC Rail Kit" to the Etha which is an optional attachment that you can add to the marker to make it look more tacticool. Therefore, you will be able to make your Etha adapt into a woodsball or speedball environment without changing guns. It's AWESOME!

Torture Test Video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EbamYhclsUA

Review & Efficiency Video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UlaNgnfH6U
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Etha This is a great gun for the price and you won't find any other great gun at that price range that comes with a great packaging and a big sturdy case with tools, oils, extra parts, and a good PE...
Report this review to a moderator   #40352
MatManiac19
 
MatManiac19's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
MatManiac19 owns a Planet Eclipse Etha
MatManiac19 supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $330.00
Pros: lightweight, small, board, quiet
Cons: LED too bright
This is a great gun for the price and you won't find any other great gun at that price range that comes with a great packaging and a big sturdy case with tools, oils, extra parts, and a good PE barrel bag.

First of all, I mostly play woodsball so the Etha is way quieter than Tippmanns, which is what I used before I bought my Etha.

Also, the gun is small and lightweight and is easy to move around with.

The packaging is amazing for the price of the Etha. A lot of people say the Etha is a Entry/Mid level marker just because of it's price range. Yes, the Etha won't shoot as smooth as a Luxe or Egos... but it can sure hang and keep up with the big boys on the field.

Another thing that I like about the Etha is the board. the board is simple and really bright! Some people complain about the LED being too bright but I don't really mind because I don't play night games and at my field...

Overall I am really happy with my Etha.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Etha Pro's:Awesome WarrantyExtraordinarily rugged and ReliabilityPackaging; the case it comes with is some superb protection. Con's:Trigger is a little iffy and has side-side play.Vibrates/"Ping's" during...
Report this review to a moderator   #41708
Vysen
 
Vysen's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Vysen is an NCPA player
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Break-in period, trigger
Pro's:
  • Awesome Warranty
  • Extraordinarily rugged and Reliability
  • Packaging; the case it comes with is some superb protection.

Con's:
  • Trigger is a little iffy and has side-side play.
  • Vibrates/"Ping's" during break-in

The trigger itself is highly adjustable but is different. It takes a while to get it set up right due to how it creates the trigger "tension". Overall if you get rid of the side-to-side wobble it has and take the time to set it up how you like it, it's awesome.

It does infact vibrate, and make a "ping" noise when shooting it. I've been continually told this is temporary and part of the character of the marker in it's break-in period. Keep in mind this is with the springless poppet.

It's not too loud, but definitely not quiet.

It's okay in efficiency, about 9 pods and a hopper.

Shaft barrels are awesome. All I can say. I only like Dye UL's over them because of the fact UL's blend seamlessly with a whip tip and that you can get carbon fiber backs. Shaft whip tips just are off to me. However, I do believe the shaft barrels are in-fact the better barrel when it comes to the length of the control-bore. Overall; great barrel. No complaints. Little big bore size stock on the Etha, .693 I believe.

Over-all the marker feels awesome between the size, weight, and how it has a center-line ASA.

It is composite but in no way feels weird. The board is crazy easy to program and totally easy to memorize.

The manual is also superb and in full color.

The ASA airs up right and purges right. Pretty simple little mechanism

One pretty darn extensive spare parts kit, a nice little ball-headed allen key set, and a tube of grease with it too.

Overall; this to me is a great little back-up/loaner or even a first-timers tournament marker. From someone who prefers high-end markers I definitely won't be getting rid of this considering the price I got it for from being sponsored.

I definitely recommend this to anyone considering it even slightly. The EMC kit is also nice for all the woodsballers/scenario players out in the world.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Etha http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-KQmmqR2/0/L/i-KQmmqR2-L.jpg The Etha comes in a brand new case from Planet Eclipse. Outside there is a full color cardboard box. Inside that box you will...
Report this review to a moderator   #11135
xluben
Ben Johnson Photography
xluben's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN
xluben is a Paintball photographer
xluben plays in the PSP
xluben owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
xluben owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
xluben posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $395.00
Pros: Small, Light, Reliable, Consistent
Cons: Basic Milling
http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-KQmmqR2/0/L/i-KQmmqR2-L.jpg

The Etha comes in a brand new case from Planet Eclipse. Outside there is a full color cardboard box. Inside that box you will find a hard plastic, foam lined case. The case has plastic latches to keep it closed and built in plastic hinges. Open the latches and inside the case and you will find the gun, barrel front, barrel back, manual, lube, allen keys, and barrel sock. All of these items are held in pre-cut slots in the foam case. As mentioned, the gun comes with all the accessories you need to keep your Etha running smoothly. The tool kit is a nice touch, as is the high quality Eclipse barrel sock. Planet Eclipse guns always come with great cases, but as far as durability and protection are concerned, this is probably one of the best that they have offered.

http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-pVggQWN/0/L/i-pVggQWN-L.jpg

http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-hKBwWpX/0/L/i-hKBwWpX-L.jpg

http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-SjhqNj3/0/L/i-SjhqNj3-L.jpg

http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-7TsVQkD/0/L/i-7TsVQkD-L.jpg

The Etha comes with Planet Eclipse's Shaft 4 barrel. This barrel was first seen on the GEO2. It features male threading on both ends of the barrel back, effectively increasing the control bore by 1.5", with no change in external appearance. The Etha comes with a 0.693" back and a tip that makes the barrel just over 14" when assembled. The added control bore length generally results in greater velocity given the same settings, and thus greater efficiency. It also makes it possible to shoot the gun at reasonable velocity even if the tip has to be removed during the game for some reason. The front and back still utilize a reverse threaded connection, as seen on previous Shaft barrels. The Shaft 4 barrel found on the Etha has simple milling and minimal porting (similar to the Etek3 barrel). Despite its plain looks, it shoots very well. The sound signature is not as quiet as a more heavily ported barrel would be, but it does perform very well.

http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-dkVLhCR/0/L/i-dkVLhCR-L.jpg

http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-TkD76QQ/0/L/i-TkD76QQ-L.jpg

Also included with the Etha is the SL3 regulator. This was first seen on the SLs and then the GEO2. The new regulator now threads directly on to the body with female threads on the regulator, and male on the Etha's body. This allows the profile to be reduced even more. The SL3 regulator allows for the use of both HP and LP tank regulators with no change in pressure to the gun, or velocity over the chrono. It also allows you to shoot down to the last 200-300psi of tank pressure and still achieve workable velocity. The SL3 regulator on the Etha feature smooth, simple milling, and offers all of the great performance features that you would find on any other Planet Eclipse gun.

http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-pXJbwcz/0/L/i-pXJbwcz-L.jpg

http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-XjCv8KN/0/L/i-XjCv8KN-L.jpg

The Etha also sees a modified version of Eclipse's brand new on/off ASA. The original version (seen on the EGO11 and GEO2.1) is called the POPS (Push On Purge System). The new version on the Etha is not a push button system, but operates on the same basic design. The Etha ASA features a screw on knob instead of a push button. The ASA is extrememly simple to use and retains on/off and purge functionality. The Etha ASA features a front macro fitting. Gone is the 90 degree fitting out the side of the ASA. The angle of the fittings also produces much less stress on the macroline itself.

http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-wPJQfN4/0/L/i-wPJQfN4-L.jpg

http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-qsTfKHM/0/L/i-qsTfKHM-L.jpg

The next all new aspect of the Etha, is the the trigger frame. The frame is made of glass reinforced Nylon and features brand new grip panels. The frame is nicely rounded front and rear, and actually has finger groves molded into the front. The separate (non-wraparound) grip panels are made of multi-density rubber and plastic. They are very comfortable and easy to hold, and they appear that they will last a much longer time than previous soft grips. As well as the grip frame being composite, the Etha also feature composite eye covers, feedneck lever, and on/off ASA knob. These parts function equally well as aluminum parts, but they help to further reduce weight and cost.

http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-zRdtZ2V/0/L/i-zRdtZ2V-L.jpg

http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-bRj6X6b/0/L/i-bRj6X6b-L.jpg

The overall size and proportions of the Etha will be very familiar to anyone who has owned or shot a GEO or GEO2. The single tube body, and comfortable grip frame to regulator spacing bear an obvious resemblance to previous Planet Eclipse spool valve guns. Overall the milling is more streamlined and simple than previous guns, but still looks sleek and very well done. The new grips give a slightly different feel than previous guns. The grip frame feels very solid is easy to get used to. The trigger is a reverse curve and features multiple adjustments in order to suite your liking. I find that the overall feel of the gun is very good, and it handles extremely well on the field.

http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-j9kxsZB/0/L/i-j9kxsZB-L.jpg

http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-dQ5NR7g/0/L/i-dQ5NR7g-L.jpg

http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-TXbtQgm/0/L/i-TXbtQgm-L.jpg

And now, the part that everyone cares about, the drivetrain. Unscrews out the back, just like a GEO. When you unscrew it you will be able to remove the whole assembly including the soft tip bolt and the spring. The assembly can be further disassembled into the parts seen below. Here's a quick rundown of the operation (taken from the manual).

Assuming the Etha is gassed up and turned on the marker will be in its idle position. The bolt is held back under the tension from the bolt spring, with the bolt guide filled with pressurized gas directly from the inline regulator. The firing poppet is held in its forward positioning by the firing poppet spring, keeping the bolt guide sealed.

When the trigger is pulled and electrical signal is sent to the solenoid which directs a supply of air to the rear of the firing poppet. The force of this gas is greater than the spring tension pushing the firing poppet forward, and the firing poppet is pushed back to its rear position. In the bolt guide this opens the exhaust port to the bolt and seals off the supply port from the inline regulator.

The gas pressure in the bolt guide forces the bolt forward, overcoming the spring tension from the bolt spring, this pushes a ball into the breach and closes off the feed tube. The internal stem of the bolt is pushed out of the bold guide, which then fully opens the exhaust port, allowing the pressurized gas in the bolt guide to exhaust through the bold propelling a ball.

As the bolt guide volume empties, the force pushing the bolt forwards decreases and the bolt spring starts to push the bolt back into the bolt guide exhaust port. The spring continues to push the bolt back up to its rest position against the rear bolt bumper.

The solenoid continues to hold the firing poppet in its rear position until the Dwell time expires. When this expires the solenoid exhausts the supply of air from the rear of the firing poppet, removing the force holding the firing poppet in this position. The firing poppet spring forces the firing poppet forwards, closing the exhaust port and opening the supply from the inline regulator.

The bolt guide begins to fill with pressurized gas. The Etha has now completed a full cycle.

http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-fnszTSw/0/L/i-fnszTSw-L.jpg

http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-xbdHzXN/0/L/i-xbdHzXN-L.jpg

http://benjohnson.smugmug.com/photos/i-NPMphcT/0/L/i-NPMphcT-L.jpg

Shooting Video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ec7zavGkl-0&hd=1
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Etha Well, I'm not much of a talker when it comes to in-depth gun reviews...but I thought it would be worth a couple of words to give my take on my experiance with the Etha. I recieved the gun a little...
Report this review to a moderator   #11134
Shecki
Clockwork Clothing
Shecki's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Shecki is a Supporting Member
Shecki plays in the PSP
Shecki owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Shecki owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Shecki supports our troops
Shecki plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $395.00
Pros: Simply can't be beat for the money
Cons:
Well, I'm not much of a talker when it comes to in-depth gun reviews...but I thought it would be worth a couple of words to give my take on my experiance with the Etha. I recieved the gun a little while back and was asked to put as much paint as I could through the gun.

When the Etha showed up, I was surprised from the minute I had pulled it out of the box. From what I was told this was to be marketed as an entry level marker. I was surprised to see that nothing was held back in terms of packaging. It came shipped no differently than any of the other Eclipse markers I've had in the past. A nice new case (see Mr. Johnson's rediculously good photos), and packaged inside all of the same things you get with a new Eclipse gun at a much higher price point ; a complete and extensive spares kit, full tube of lube, full set of ball ended hex keys, same quality manual as an ego/geo/etek, and a barrel bag.
When I took a closer look at the marker and barrel....the first thing that I was surprised to see was that it came with, what is essentialy, a shaft4....just not quite as milled out. Then my curiousty had me pulling of the reg to see what was in there...and to my surprise...an SL3 reg. Well...what's an SL3 go for? $80 itself....and the sharft4? $90 as a 2 piece....so I was already pretty impressed...but still had no idea what the price point was at the gun. When I found out that it was selling at $395...I was more than surprised.

Other things I really liked, are things some of the guys have commented that they weren't huge fans of. First and foremost...the frame. As crazy as this may sound...I prefer it to the aluminum. Having bent a fram before...I'd just rather have a frame that I know isn't going to bend or break, can be slammed around as much as I abuse it, and still be just as good as the day I pulled it out of the box. I spend most of my time on the ground banging around...so this is a welcome addition to me. The grips also I enjoyed. One less screw and they seem sturdy and have rubber strips on them...so grip was zero issue for me. Plus...they're less prone to wearing through and should need much less replacing, if any at all as opposed to the standard grips.

I recieved the gun and was imediately at the field the next two days. For the first time in a LONG time...I took to the woods as a walk on, by myself....at a field I've never been to so that I could just have a good time with the gun. I also play on both an Xball team, and a 7man team...and had practice with both the next day....so I got to run both formats, both firing modes, and the gun performed flawlessly the entire weeked. Not a single break down, not a single leak, shooting in the 280's, and consistant....right from the box. I've had the gun on the field just about every weekend since then as well...and haven't had any issues with the gun.

The Etha is no Geo...and no Ego. It certainly does not shoot quite as smooth as either of those guns, and nor should it for a small fraction of the price. It's not quite as quiet as either of those guns either. But I will tell you this, I plan on shooting the Etha at World Cup next week. It's an extremely solid platform, which had proven (to me) to be gentle on paint, is a workhorse of a gun, and at that price...is an absolute steal. It's a great gun that someone getting into any aspect of the game, can use...and trasition from the woods to a sup air field and vice versa without having to change out a single thing on the gun.

Some of my guys on Shipyard Ale's paintball team will chime in here as well. I've had them shooting the gun at practice at well...and they've seemed to be very happy with the way the gun performed on the field
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Etha This past weekend I had the chance to play a few games with Planet's brand new "franchise", the Etha. It was a 24h scenario game at Old River, FL, so very much appropriate to test out the marker...
Report this review to a moderator   #11197
Luigi Speed 05
PBN made me a gun whore..
Luigi Speed 05's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Miami
Luigi Speed 05 plays in the PSP
Luigi Speed 05 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Luigi Speed 05 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Luigi Speed 05 plays in the APPA D4 division
Luigi Speed 05 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.01
Pros: light and confortabe
Cons: it's not for me?
This past weekend I had the chance to play a few games with Planet's brand new "franchise", the Etha. It was a 24h scenario game at Old River, FL, so very much appropriate to test out the marker under some harsh weather conditions.

It is Florida, so humidity is thru the roof at any point in time, especially after all the rain we've got before the weekend. My team captain just got his Etha to test it out for Eclipse, and he offered it me to play for a few games.

My very first impression was, "wow, they've managed to make the grip frame even thinner". I'm not 100% sure since I didn't measure it, but it does feel like it's a bit thinner than it's big brother's (or sisters, if you think of your guns as females lol).

It's also very light, I couldn't quite tell the difference in weight to, let' say a Geo. I also used my captain's set up, so it wasn't exactly like my set up. Hard to pinpoint weight difference like that. But it's pretty light, who knows, an ounce or two here or there. You'd have to be a weakling to be bothered by its weight, that's all I'm saying.

I had been shooting my brand new Geo 2.1 up til then, so the very first few shots with the Etha felt like it was kicking quite a bit. That was during that walk to tag the base before playing. After walking back to the woods and finding some opponents, the expected firefight took place. In that situation the kick became less pronounced. I guess I was concentrating on something else, but you get my point.

Rate of fire was not disappointing at all, I was shooting in semi and had no problem getting to the 10+ bps without much effort and from some contorted positions. Accuracy was not shabby either, I could hit what I was aiming at just as easily as I could with my Geo.

Contrary to most Eclipse markers, this one does not look very flashy. The matte black and subdued milling cuts will make it possibly more attractive to a different audience than the normal crowd. It also looks to be a bit smaller than the Geo itself, which its a feat on its own.

Did not get a chance to check for efficiency, but it easily shot the 6 pods and a hopper that I was carrying with quite a bit of air to spare in the tank. Due to the milling cuts or lack thereof, it's also quite easy to clean after a direct hit, a simple wipe with a clean rag will get it ready for the next game.

All in all it's a great little marker that's gonna give the Axes and Rails some really tough competition. Sure, Axes have some "innovative" features and the Rail is pretty darn smooth, so I think it's great that Eclipse is now offering one more alternative with its own specific set of features in this price range. If you're looking for efficiency and reliability in this bracket, it's gonna be complicated to argue against the Etha. Eclipse is famous for releasing markers you can depend on, and this seems to be no different. Like I said, I'm not their target audience since I've been shooting Egos and Geos for a while now, but for the entry level, tourney-aspiring baller, this is a great option.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Etha this gun is amazing. I've been playing with it for almost 6 months now and its great. it can compete with even some of the most expensive markers in the word and beat them! the only things i would...
Report this review to a moderator   #32939
brandon.k.martin
Texas Tech White
brandon.k.martin's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lubbock
brandon.k.martin owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
brandon.k.martin is an NCPA player
brandon.k.martin has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $399.95
Pros: Amazing for price
Cons: not effcient or quiet
this gun is amazing. I've been playing with it for almost 6 months now and its great. it can compete with even some of the most expensive markers in the word and beat them! the only things i would change is the reg needs to be longer because there is no real comfortabke way to hold the gun, and the efficiency isn't the best (at all). but this is defiantly the best gun for the money! but if you have 600+ dollars get something else. i love my Etha. but there is better things out there and this isn't a gun you should pick up and spend a ton of money in upgrades on. overall though, great gun for 400 dollars.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Add New Review