Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Tippmann Sports - gryphon Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Tippmann Sports
2955 Adams Center Road
Fort Wayne, IN 46803

Phone: (800) 533-4831
Fax: (260) 749-6619
Email: tech@tippmann.com
Website: http://www.tippmann.com
this is a very very accurate marker, comes with a 20 oz and gravity hopper (tippmann mask for 5 bucks more) i have taken it apart and put it together and it works great... plastic body, and can fit any a5 barrels. i will go for 90 obo
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2011
 MSRP: $109.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
 Reviews: 14
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  14%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  79%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  7%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Tippmann Sports - gryphon Reviews
Tippmann Sports gryphon This was my first paintball gun and it was very reliable. This was a dependible marker. I have been using it for almost a year more like 8 months but the problem ive had was that the plastic shell...
Report this review to a moderator   #39317
17diazchaa
 
17diazchaa's avatar
Join Date: May 2013
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: light weight
Cons: plastic shell
This was my first paintball gun and it was very reliable. This was a dependible marker. I have been using it for almost a year more like 8 months but the problem ive had was that the plastic shell broke know I cant use it because that was what to hold the pin in. But it was a reliable gun so yeh I would recomend to new players and if you take care of it unlike I did then the plastic shell wont break and then it be so much better
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports gryphon I borrowed this to screw around with. I love it because you can get pretty quick rof for a mechanical and its very sleek and compact and gets the job done.
Report this review to a moderator   #33376
bhotz
Challenge Accepted.
bhotz's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Essex County, NJ
bhotz is playing at Living Legends VI
bhotz supports Pev's Paintball
bhotz has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
bhotz has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.00
Pros: Trigger, Light, Compact
Cons: Nothing
I borrowed this to screw around with. I love it because you can get pretty quick rof for a mechanical and its very sleek and compact and gets the job done.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports gryphon I got this as a backup gun, loaner for friends and mostly to go play reball with out messing up my XVR's barrel or internals as reballs can get really dirty and that can mess up your stuff. The...
Report this review to a moderator   #44937
bobbyieboy
 
Join Date: May 2014
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $69.95
Pros: Cheap, light, easy to work on, no upgrades
Cons: Low fire rate
I got this as a backup gun, loaner for friends and mostly to go play reball with out messing up my XVR's barrel or internals as reballs can get really dirty and that can mess up your stuff. The price was good and the gun did better then expected. Reball field are normally small and this gun's lack of accuracy at range is not a issue on such field. I have found it great for reball for a few reason with just a agitating hopper and god compressed air tank. Let me go over the reason for my Pros and Cons.

Pros:
Cheap - speaks for itself you get a new gun better then rentals for $70 plus tax

Light - compared to the 98 custom or rental guns this gun is lighter feeling

Easy to work on - Being someone that owned a 98 custom years ago and this having a lot of the same internals i found it easy to work on. Simply layout and lot of how to video's online if your not sure how to do something.

No upgrades - This might be a shock that i noted this as a Pro. The reason being is that you don't want to upgrade your starter gun. From experience you want to upgrade your hopper and then you tank as well as getting a good mask. Given this gun has no upgrades, your not distracted from these things. Once your ready you can get a much better gun and use your tank hopper and mask with it so yeah no upgrades, pro

Cons
Low Fire Rate - based on the price of the gun this was the only real drawback and this is not even that bad as it is a pure mechanical gun after all.

Overall it is a great starter gun. Good for reball and giving friends a first taste of paintball or if i really want to get them into it I'll use it for a round and let them use the XVR. It's better then rental guns and the price is at a nice place. The rating is compared to other guns under the $100 price range and this is looking at it as a pure starter gun or something for the reball places so your not messing up your better guns. Overall great gun as a first it not bad. If you looking for a low priced way to get into paintball that will work for woodsball and things like that (anything but speedball really) this is the right gun to get.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports gryphon Great beginner marker, I've had mine for a year now with no problems. I would definitely recommend it to any people looking to get into paintball
Report this review to a moderator   #42566
DrDude101
 
DrDude101's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Washington
DrDude101 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: sturdy, good feel, good price, easy maitenance
Cons: lots of spots to collect paint
Great beginner marker, I've had mine for a year now with no problems. I would definitely recommend it to any people looking to get into paintball
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports gryphon This gun rocks! The best mechanical paintball gun for less than $100. The ergonomics are great, especially the foregrip with no macroline. The locking feedneck is great too, no longer throwing money...
Report this review to a moderator   #39484
ElJefe13
 
ElJefe13's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Utah
ElJefe13 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
ElJefe13 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
ElJefe13 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $45.00
Pros: Cheap, no macroline, reliable, egronomics rock!
Cons: Plastic body, lack of upgrades
This gun rocks! The best mechanical paintball gun for less than $100. The ergonomics are great, especially the foregrip with no macroline. The locking feedneck is great too, no longer throwing money down a hole buying all those plastic feednecks like with a Spyder. It's got the reliability of a Tippmann 98, but is a lot lighter and less kick. It's also not very common, which is kinda a plus for me (nice to have a unique gun). Legendary Tippmann Customer Support. The only bad things I have seen is that (of course) it's not as efficient as some of the guns out there, but it's not bad for under $100. It's plastic body is pretty weak, and will get damaged pretty easily; however, it will not affect the actual internals of the gun. There are also virtually no upgrades for the gun; the only thing you really can get is a new barrel. However, this means you can buy the gun cheap and save up to get a nicer one without it becoming a money hole (i.e. 98 Custom). It does exactly what its designed to do, and it does it very well. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a cheap mech.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports gryphon good gun the one little thing that i dont like is the stock barrel but otherwise this gun is amazing. great gun for beginners
Report this review to a moderator   #36288
epiceliter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $99.00
Pros: appearance performance durability
Cons: nothing
good gun the one little thing that i dont like is the stock barrel but otherwise this gun is amazing. great gun for beginners
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports gryphon Overall I bought this to screw around with and it's honestly a decent bang for your buck. I was able to take the gun apart and adjust the springs and trigger with random pieces I have, which now...
Report this review to a moderator   #34533
Herpaderpsnipewipe
 
Herpaderpsnipewipe's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: suffolk, Ny
Herpaderpsnipewipe has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Came with a combo pack.
Cons: You get what you're paying for.
Overall I bought this to screw around with and it's honestly a decent bang for your buck. I was able to take the gun apart and adjust the springs and trigger with random pieces I have, which now when my friends play with me they love the gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports gryphon This is by far the worst paintball gun I have ever tested. My friend bought one for 80.00$ and it broke the very first day he used it! Save your money and buy a better gun!
Report this review to a moderator   #34651
MatManiac19
 
MatManiac19's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
MatManiac19 owns a Planet Eclipse Etha
MatManiac19 supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.00
Pros: Can shoot paint
Cons: cheap, not durable, looks
This is by far the worst paintball gun I have ever tested. My friend bought one for 80.00$ and it broke the very first day he used it! Save your money and buy a better gun!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports gryphon Great starter gun! Better then rentals, not very needy, easy to use. Good bang for your buck.
Report this review to a moderator   #32230
Mr_Perrywinkle
BLOODSHED
Mr_Perrywinkle's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Calgary
Mr_Perrywinkle has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Mr_Perrywinkle has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $70.00
Pros: Great shots, good quality for so little money
Cons: doesnt shoot very fast. but you paid $70
Great starter gun! Better then rentals, not very needy, easy to use. Good bang for your buck.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports gryphon good dun overall but difficult to take care of.
Report this review to a moderator   #34549
Oxymoron152
 
Oxymoron152's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Oxymoron152 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: cool design
Cons: trigger,maintenance
good dun overall but difficult to take care of.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review