Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Valken Sports - V-Max Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Valken Sports
597 Mantua Boulevard
Sewell, NJ 08080

Email: info@valkensports.com
Website: http://www.valkenpaintball.com
Simple & Refined Design: The design of the V-Max has been refined to function simply and reliably, without the need for the complex components found on many modern loaders. Fewer parts. Fewer problems.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2011
 MSRP: $129.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 3.9/5 stars.
 Reviews: 30
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  17%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  57%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  23%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Valken Sports - V-Max Reviews
Valken Sports V-Max I have used literally every hopper on the market, from pocket hoppers to Q-loaders. This one falls in the lower middle of my scale. It's very well made, the plastic is durable and it's easy to take...
Report this review to a moderator   #19529
FirePro84
Airsmith - Gun Tech
FirePro84's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
FirePro84 is a Supporting Member
FirePro84 has been a member for 10 years
FirePro84 plays in the USPL
FirePro84 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
FirePro84 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
FirePro84 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: Great shells, easy to use/clean
Cons: slower than advertised, weak lid, eats batteries.
I have used literally every hopper on the market, from pocket hoppers to Q-loaders. This one falls in the lower middle of my scale.

It's very well made, the plastic is durable and it's easy to take apart and clean. its easy on paint and feeds pretty consistently.

Other than that, its not as fast as advertised, it keeps up well with any mechanical marker i've tried it on and keeps up with 12.5 ramping, but it skips and slows down at 15bps and anything faster than that. also the 2x9v batteries work great for the first day, but after that the hopper runs even slower than normal on day 2 of using the same batteries. and by day 3 they are almost dead. as for the lid, the single small tab that holds it down snapped off on mine after the 3rd time using it. I just replaced it with a speed feed, but personally i prefer a lid on my hoppers.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Valken Sports V-Max Bought an used ACU V-Max here on BST. Literally minutes before the thread with the launch of the Z2 was posted on the news section. No need to tell you I was very concerned I had made a dumb move....
Report this review to a moderator   #11017
Luigi Speed 05
PBN made me a gun whore..
Luigi Speed 05's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Miami
Luigi Speed 05 plays in the PSP
Luigi Speed 05 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Luigi Speed 05 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Luigi Speed 05 plays in the APPA D4 division
Luigi Speed 05 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $85.00
Pros: Very light, very simple, sturdy, reliable
Cons: no speed feed, maybe too simple.
Bought an used ACU V-Max here on BST. Literally minutes before the thread with the launch of the Z2 was posted on the news section. No need to tell you I was very concerned I had made a dumb move. Especially in the light of the few threads I saw here with people complaining about the fact that supposedly it is not fast enough to keep a 12.5 bps feed rate. So let me get that out of the way. Mine keeps a very steady 12.5 lane with no problems.

So I had some very unpleasant days at the field with my rotor. Granted, it's been raining a lot here and the humidity is always thru the roof. But the jamming issue got really irritating, and I serioulsy considered a Seed Kit. When I started reading about the V-Max, it seemed to be a great choice, at least on paper. When I found the used one for roughly the same price as the Seed Kit, I decided to go for it.

Got it last week. First impression was "wow, this IS light". Very light, way lighter than the rotor, quite a bit lighter than the Proph and the Pinokio, even with the 2 9v it operates on. Haven't held a Z2 so can't make a comparision there. Shell seems to be of the same material as the rotor, but its walls are not as thick, which I believe to be the reason for its lack of weight. Still, looks sturdy enough, it probably can take a beating, looks to be quite indestructible.

It also has a smaller profile than the rotor. Sits a little bit lower on the gun, the bulkier part is on the back of it, clever design. At first I was worried the battery door wouldn't stay in place without the optional screw, but it holds tight in game conditions and makes it a true tool-less loader. The lid is nice and responsive, the mouth is also pretty big, you can stick the whole pod in there. It's very simple to take apart, its internal design reminds me a lot of the rotor as well.

One thing I don't quite like is the fact that balls will roll down the tray before you turn it on. I think the impellers are so soft (good for brittle paint thou) that the weight of the balls alone is enough to push some balls down the feed neck. It's not a BIG deal, but something to keep in mind, I can see accidents happening because you thought the breech was empty when in fact it was not.

No settings to worry about. It turns on with the push of a button and there's absolutely no need to "prime" it, like some people were concerned at first. Its board seems to have some sort of anti-jam feature, I heard the impellers spinning a couple of times when no balls were being fired, assumed it was maybe spinning backwards.

But that's all very low on my list of priorities. The main concern to me is how it performs in-game situations. And on that regard I cannot fault it at all. I wanted to do some tests and see how fast it would shoot, but I got to the field late and couldn't do it. So I just slapped it on my Ego 11 capped at 12.5 and went to play. Not even once I felt that I was outshooting the loader, and not even once I had to shake it to get those last few balls out. I sorely miss a speed feed on it, but since I got it specially thinking of those rainy days, this won't be an issue for me.

With just one practice with it, I really cannot say too many bad things about it. It's priced on a reasonable range, delivers decent performance (most fields have caps anyways) and it's the lightest loader out there, that I know. I think the most telling aspect of all this is that, after playing with it, I totally feel like I do not need a Z2, the V-Max will do just fine for now, that feeling of regret I had after buying it is totally gone now, thank the Lord. So far it's been a pleasant surprise, I would actually recommend it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Valken Sports V-Max I won a V-max online for free but nation makes me put in a price, so i was completely unbiased when testing it. It was way more consistent than i expected and worked flawlessly other than when...
Report this review to a moderator   #22283
spartan117d7
 
spartan117d7's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
spartan117d7 is playing at Living Legends V
spartan117d7 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
spartan117d7 posts videos on PbNation
spartan117d7 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
spartan117d7 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $1.00
Pros: light weight, consistent, efficient, good price,
Cons: Internal mechanics
I won a V-max online for free but nation makes me put in a price, so i was completely unbiased when testing it. It was way more consistent than i expected and worked flawlessly other than when shooting at odd marker angles it would slow down a little. Stock it holds 20 more balls than a Rotor so as a back it was great using and the list worked perfectly. The V-Max is a hybrid between the Rotor and Pinokio (Pinokio internals and rotor externals). Being the cheapest new high end hopper out there it is definitely worth it but if you have the extra money the V-max isnt that worth it. It just seemed a little quirky at times which made me feel off my game
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Valken Sports V-Max Played with a friend's V-Max for a couple days and have devised simple opinion of it. Pros: It feeds anything, it's soft on paint, very reliable, completely tool-less Cons: VERY loud, battery hog,...
Report this review to a moderator   #21703
Tvveak
DP User
Tvveak's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Henderson
Tvveak is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.01
Pros: Will feed anything, nice upper profile
Cons: VERY loud, battery hog
Played with a friend's V-Max for a couple days and have devised simple opinion of it.

Pros: It feeds anything, it's soft on paint, very reliable, completely tool-less
Cons: VERY loud, battery hog, battery compartment gets in your field of view.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Valken Sports V-Max When I originally went looking for a new loader, I was interested in something lighter then the Halo that I was using. I have to say, this is the lightest hopper that I looked at by far. Weighing in...
Report this review to a moderator   #10996
lonescout
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Connecticut
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $119.95
Pros: Lightweight, Paint Capacity, Slim, Cleaning
Cons: Kind of loud when cycling
When I originally went looking for a new loader, I was interested in something lighter then the Halo that I was using. I have to say, this is the lightest hopper that I looked at by far. Weighing in at under a pound even with batteries (Two 9v), I felt a difference in my setup as soon as I attached it.

I like the fact that the V-max is easy to use. All you have to do is push a button and it is on ready to use in the field. To turn off, simply hold for a few seconds and it's off. Easy. Nothing to it.

Among the other advantages I like about the V-max, is the battery compartment. You have the option of using a screw or not to keep the battery door in place, but it is not necessary. I used it all day and the door did not pop off. Battery install/change is very easy...just open the door and insert the batteries. No wires to mess with or anything. You can change the batteries in less than 10 seconds.

Next, there is the ammo capacity. The loader holds a maximum of 220 paintballs in it, and it really pays off. Played some intense games, and it kept me in longer when exchanging fire with the other team.

Something that players will like is that the loader has a nice slim profile, so it cuts down on getting hit in the hopper, especially if your field counts any hits to the marker as an elimination.

The loader requires no tools to break down, and can be disassembled into 4 parts for easy cleaning. Thankfully, I had no breaks or anything yet. Just a quick mention about the internals, the paddles used to move the paint around are soft, similar to the squishy paddles from techt on the cyclone feeds. Definitely good for delicate paint.

I had no problems all day long when I was playing. Every time I went on the field, no matter how fast I was firing the loader kept up. Very reliable on that front.

The only disadvantage is how loud the hopper is when you fire. Maybe it's because it was right next to my mask when I was using it, but I don't know what the sound is like from a distance. But if you are not trying to be quiet, then it's not a big deal.

If there is anything else, I'll be sure to post in an update.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Valken Sports V-Max Got this when it first came out and I dont hate it and dont love it but it does the job. I play front and I need my gear to be as light as possible so this hopper is perfect. My first problem with it...
Report this review to a moderator   #29754
aynakoPOiel
 
aynakoPOiel's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: TX
aynakoPOiel owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
aynakoPOiel has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $110.00
Pros: light, reliable, sturdy, does the job
Cons: last 10 balls wont feed, battery consumption
Got this when it first came out and I dont hate it and dont love it but it does the job. I play front and I need my gear to be as light as possible so this hopper is perfect. My first problem with it was that when you get to the last 10-15 balls it'll stop feeding because of the way its built. I kind of messed with the floor on the hopper to tilt that it feeds the last few balls so now instead of 10-15 balls getting left its down to 2-5. One more problem is that it eats battery when its off, simple solution take out battery when not using, Ive used the same 2 9v ever since I first got it and I play about twice a month so simple solution to a simple problem. It is advertised to feed 30bps which is bs, I would say the max bps of this thing is at 21bps but where do you really need 30bps >.>... All in all I like it because its simple and now it sells for $70 brand new so probably comes next after rotor and pinokio in my opinion.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Valken Sports V-Max great hopper ihavent had one problem yet this hopper hasnt let me down yet great buy
Report this review to a moderator   #17214
bre3zy
Get out STUPID
bre3zy's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: queens
bre3zy plays in the PSP
bre3zy supports Cereal Killerz 2
bre3zy is playing at Living Legends III
bre3zy is playing at Living Legends V
bre3zy plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: light weight
Cons:
great hopper ihavent had one problem yet this hopper hasnt let me down yet great buy
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Valken Sports V-Max Have the Vcam version, if you play on a field that puts tape on the hopper after the day is over be sure to take off tape right away. Had the finish peel off of mine where the tape was applied. ...
Report this review to a moderator   #42569
Bunker66
 
Bunker66's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $65.00
Pros: Very durable
Cons: Battery life
Have the Vcam version, if you play on a field that puts tape on the hopper after the day is over be sure to take off tape right away. Had the finish peel off of mine where the tape was applied. Battery life was kinda weak in this loader. But for the price it's an overall decent loader.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Valken Sports V-Max used it for a practice and had never would again. didn't work well and design isn't great. has room for improvement but ill stick with my rotor
Report this review to a moderator   #19284
crazyboarder9999
714
crazyboarder9999's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NY
crazyboarder9999 plays in the PSP
crazyboarder9999 supports Team VICIOUS
crazyboarder9999 supports Team VICIOUS
crazyboarder9999 supports Team VICIOUS
crazyboarder9999 plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: price is pretty decent
Cons: didn't work well
used it for a practice and had never would again. didn't work well and design isn't great. has room for improvement but ill stick with my rotor
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Valken Sports V-Max A great loader but can sometimes act up. Thankfully, it can act as a gravity loader if the batteries die.
Report this review to a moderator   #38386
Dedloc
That guy.
Dedloc's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tennessee
Dedloc is BST Legit
Dedloc is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Dedloc is Legendary
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: Easy to operate and clean
Cons: Sometimes finicky
A great loader but can sometimes act up. Thankfully, it can act as a gravity loader if the batteries die.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review