Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Angel Paintball Sports - Angel 1 Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Angel Paintball Sports
WDP Metro Triangle
221 Mount Street, Nechells
Birmingham
United Kingdom

Fax: +44 (0) 121 327 3967
Email: sales@angelpaintballsports.com
Website: http://angelpaintballsports.com
Angel 1
 Manual: Download the manual for Angel Paintball Sports Download
 Release Date: 2006
 MSRP: $1,300.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.0/5 stars.
 Reviews: 93
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  33%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  47%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  6%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  5%
 Link:
Angel Paintball Sports - Angel 1 Reviews
Angel Paintball Sports Angel 1 Angel took alot of slack over the years, but the one thing the fialed to do was produce a crappy gun. Every angel i ever owned was amazing. I tend to take very good care of my equipment and this...
Report this review to a moderator   #20907
ridebmx211
RC ARMY
ridebmx211's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: **703**
ridebmx211 is a founding member
ridebmx211 plays in the PSP
ridebmx211 supports Pev's Paintball
ridebmx211 plays in the APPA D4 division
ridebmx211 is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: efficient, quiet, smooth
Cons: odd shape requires upgrades
Angel took alot of slack over the years, but the one thing the fialed to do was produce a crappy gun. Every angel i ever owned was amazing. I tend to take very good care of my equipment and this probibly leads to me not having any issues. The a1 out of the box was pretty good, 1700-1800 shots on a 68/45, much quieter than other poppits, and alot smoother than other popits(Pre g6R)

the frame was interesting, like a wanna be Dye UL frame, the OLED was super nice and way ahead of its time(06)

Until i upgraded it to "FLY" specs with the magno internals, i didnt know what i was missing. faster, quieter, smoother, 2k+ shots per fill. Simply amazing, Makes me wish i didnt start playing pump!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Angel Paintball Sports Angel 1 Lets just start by saying ever since I got into paintball at the age of 9-10 years old, the name Angel was worshiped in a sense by the paintball community. Renowned as the top performing and most...
Report this review to a moderator   #39629
smartpartz_kid
Notorious
smartpartz_kid's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
smartpartz_kid plays in the PSP
smartpartz_kid plays in the APPA D3 division
smartpartz_kid is a top reviewer
smartpartz_kid is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: A piece of paintball history
Cons: Company no longer exists
Lets just start by saying ever since I got into paintball at the age of 9-10 years old, the name Angel was worshiped in a sense by the paintball community. Renowned as the top performing and most expensive paintball gun.

The Angel 1 was by far one of the best markers ever produced in paintball. Quiet, soft on paint, and air efficient for the time it was in its prime.

Would I recommend this marker now? Honestly, yes as memorabilia. I would not recommend it as a good beginner gun or even mid-end marker. This is still a high-end marker that is very complicated to work on and parts are getting more rare to find.

Overall, appearance is pristine and the marker body is the size of a dollar bill long ways, so its a tight gun.

Performance wise, Its very soft on paint and make sure you have a 68/45. I shot my A1 in the dead of winter practice in Philly and never chopped with premium paint.

Reliability, It never went down on me except when I didn't do my proper maintenance in terms of lubing and cleaning, so do the obvious cleaning.

Value, this marker I think will increase in value over time. I forcast that in a few years these markers will gain value similar to the Excalibur markers from airgun designs.

Check the gun out and hold on to one if you still have one!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Angel Paintball Sports Angel 1 I'd love to to have another one of these. It truly was a pleasure to own this gun. It was balanced so well and looked amazing. Angels, when I was new to paintball, were the big bad boys on the...
Report this review to a moderator   #12698
akward silence
Deep Sea Diving
akward silence's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
akward silence has been a member for 10 years
akward silence is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
akward silence is a top reviewer
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $999.00
Pros: Light, fast, accurate
Cons: too good looking it got stolen
I'd love to to have another one of these. It truly was a pleasure to own this gun.

It was balanced so well and looked amazing. Angels, when I was new to paintball, were the big bad boys on the field. Everybody I know wanted one! I saved up for a long time to get this thing and it was worth it.

Angels have a feel that is very far apart from any other gun (with or without the 90 degree frame). You wont be let down by trying one. I admit, a lot of these had problems but I was lucky. Mine was flawless and treated me very well.

However, like a lot of LP guns, it didn't like the cold.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.9/5 stars.
Angel Paintball Sports Angel 1 When I first bought this marker I wasnt expecting what I got at all. It shot amazingly well Ill be honest I dont make alot of eliminations in the game but my first game out with my A1 I droped 3...
Report this review to a moderator   #13100
jim4130
proud gmax owner!!!
jim4130's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: woburn MA.
jim4130 plays in the PSP
jim4130 plays in the APPA D4 division
jim4130 is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
jim4130 is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: small, efficiant, oled stock
Cons: stock trigger
When I first bought this marker I wasnt expecting what I got at all. It shot amazingly well Ill be honest I dont make alot of eliminations in the game but my first game out with my A1 I droped 3 people. The guny was very accurate and consistent. The stock OLED board was very easy to program and the stock barrel kit is realy nice especially after I added the small bore kit. My only gripe with the A1 was the stock trigger but a critical trigger fixed that. I've owned it for almost 2 years now aswell as many other markers and ot is to this day one of my favorite markers I own and recomend them to people all the time.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Angel Paintball Sports Angel 1 My Angel 1 is the first WDP/APS marker that I've owned and also the best in 16 years of playing. Mine was a 2nd gen model, which came with the 2.2 software from new. I'll get the downsides out of...
Report this review to a moderator   #3143
Skaffen
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Skaffen has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $545.00
Pros: Small, light, fast, excellent stock board
Cons: Eye covers, HP/LP question
My Angel 1 is the first WDP/APS marker that I've owned and also the best in 16 years of playing.

Mine was a 2nd gen model, which came with the 2.2 software from new.

I'll get the downsides out of the way first.

Looks - I like it, but a lot of people think it's too plain. I'm a discrete kinda guy so it suits me.

Eye covers - the stock 1-piece eye covers are a pain to remove/replace until you get the knack. They can be snapped easily and are neither quick or easy to use. Once you've done it a couple of times, you'll be fine. APS have also released 3-piece covers which make the process much easier - a recommended upgrade.

HP/LP - I think APS have missed a trick here. Most manufacturers have standardised on supporting HP systems, while it's still a bit of a grey area for the A1. This puts potential buyers off. In practice, a lot of HP systems will work on the A1, however for regs with outputs in excess of 850-900psi, you can have trouble dialling your marker below 300fps.

I resolved this issue by replacing the minireg with a CP FRM and CP shorty reg, however most people just opt for a LP air system instead.

Efficiency - apparently the A1 isn't as good on air as some other markers. I've never had a problem with running out of air, but others may. Apparently the soon to be released magno valve resolves this issue.


Those are the only slight niggles that I've had - now onto the good stuff.

Reliability/maintenance/performance - the A1 reminds me of my old Automag. Regular maintenance is just a few drops of oil in the asa, fire it through, wipe the bolt clean, done. Mine has been flawless from new, not a single problem - it just works 100%, all the time. I can't quantify the performance by saying that it's 'faster than x' - however every time I walk off the field, I'm usually babbling about how my A1 is a reaper's scythe. It just seems to come alive and mow people down.

Size/ergonomics - it's tiny, it's light, it's comfy. People who complain about there being 3 tubes need a slap.

Controls - the stock board of the A1 is FANTASTIC. Easy to read OLED screen, scrollwheel for navigation and the ability to adjust every setting under the sun. When the Millennium announced their 2008 gun rules it took me 30 seconds to modify the custom ramp settings to meet the new regulations. Months later owners of other markers are still trying to get code updates or new boards!

Package - one of the nicest things about the A1 is that it comes, as stock, with almost everything you need. The standard ASA/OOPS is great (providing you're not a ham-fisted buffoon who lands superman dives onto it), as is the clamping feedneck and it comes with a nice 3 piece barrel kit. The only thing which I felt the need to add was the additional, smaller bore 3 piece barrel kit. The stock barrels really are great - I tried an uber-pimp-looking aftermarket CF barrel for a while and it sucked compared to the stock tubes.

Overall an excellent marker. It's a shame that it seems so unfashionable at the moment, as a lot of people are missing out and paying over the odds for competitor's products which only offer equivalent performance, or in some cases are inferior.

When I made my purchase I had a clear choice between the A1 and an Ego 7. The Ego is a great marker too, but was �200 more expensive and only offered the same performance. �200 in your pocket, or look slightly more agg? It was a no brainer for me.

The biggest vote of confidence for the Angel 1 is the fact that since I got mine in 2007, everyone else on my team has bought one. We're not sponsored, all that money is our own.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Angel Paintball Sports Angel 1 I owned a black Angel 1 with Gen 2 Parts during the 2007 season for a few months. This gun was one of my favorites at the time. It was so easy to program and viewing the current settings was so...
Report this review to a moderator   #4138
paintball3r12
 
paintball3r12's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.01
Pros: See Review
Cons: See Review
I owned a black Angel 1 with Gen 2 Parts during the 2007 season for a few months. This gun was one of my favorites at the time. It was so easy to program and viewing the current settings was so simple. It had all the information and little things you needed. I loved how it could shoot any paint and the overall feel was very nice. The stock trigger is great and I like the frame a lot as well. Having a stock barrel kit, laser eyes, on/off ASA, and board with a tournament lock was huge considering the time in which the Angel 1 came out. This gun basically set the stage for future high-ends.

For the 2008 season the team picked up a Angel Paintball Sports sponsorship. I recieved my brand new bronze A1 with Gen 2 Parts at the beginning of the season. I once again enjoyed shooting and owning the Angel 1. After it was broken in, I used the gauges to set the HPR and LPR before GPL Event 2. Setting the regulators immediatly made this gun my favorite of any I've owned. Throughout the entire event my Angel 1 shot +/- 2 at the chrono and straight lasers on the field. The gun was so smooth and I really enjoyed it, and continue to enjoy it today. The kick is now less than an EGO8 or SL74 but not quite as little as my current DM7.

Pros:
-Everything you need/want stock such as a barrel kit, laser eyes, board with tournament lock, on/off ASA, etc.
-Fast enough to shoot as fast as your hopper feeds.
-Light, small, and compact.
-New and improved internal options.
-Easy board updating.
-Excellent trigger and frame.

Cons:
-Internals may wear over time.
-Efficency.

Overall, considering when this gun came out and what it comes with/what features it has, it's very impressive and still keeps up with today's best such as DM8s, EGO8s, SL74s, etc.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Angel Paintball Sports Angel 1 After buying one of these I was looking for something that hardly anyone buys just to be different at the field. I was hoping that I didn't make a bad choice and after I would say 9 cases or more I...
Report this review to a moderator   #721
Xwave
 
Xwave's avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: Light and fast. Good support
Cons: Had to get a LP tank. Grips could be better.
After buying one of these I was looking for something that hardly anyone buys just to be different at the field. I was hoping that I didn't make a bad choice and after I would say 9 cases or more I don't regret it.

It shoots just great and if you tune it right there is almost no kick. People say "oh they break all the time" and I have found that most either have only owned a Gen 1 way back when A1 or have just read about problems and came up to that conclusion. I have yet to have mine go down...other than breaking the eye covers...but that was my own stupidity for not doing what it said. I even play woodsball with it and it is rugged and never had a problem. I do recommend a fast hopper that can keep up and rechargeable 9.6v batteries.

I love this marker and to sum it all up if you do decide on one then get the gauges or send it out to be teched and the marker will do everything you want. Easy to maintain and easy to fix if you screw something up like a friend of mine did...he didn't read what to do and well it was his own fault...like most issues with these....user error.

My set up: Empire B2 9v mod, Stock A1, Crossfire 70/45 peanut LP

I give it a 4 on Performance because the grips could be better and as said in another review everything could use improvements

a 5 on Reliability because I have not had an issue with it that wasn't my fault

Appearance a 5 because they are unique and you don't see many people who have one in my area

Value a 5 because I got a great deal and for the type of marker this is you can pass it up.

P.S Got to love google spell checker...

*EDIT*: I will be updating this review as soon as I get the new internals sent to me. I have paid for them and I hope it does what is claimed...STAY TUNED!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.6/5 stars.
Angel Paintball Sports Angel 1 The gun shot well but the board was a pain to navigate and changing settings never seemed to work well. also there was no local tech support for angels so if you had an issue with it you were on your...
Report this review to a moderator   #13753
KidInfamous
There can only be One
KidInfamous's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
KidInfamous plays in the PSP
KidInfamous donated to help Peyton Trent
KidInfamous supports Team VICIOUS
KidInfamous posts videos on PbNation
KidInfamous is a top reviewer
KidInfamous is Legendary
KidInfamous is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: efficient
Cons: board
The gun shot well but the board was a pain to navigate and changing settings never seemed to work well. also there was no local tech support for angels so if you had an issue with it you were on your own unless you called wdp.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.6/5 stars.
Angel Paintball Sports Angel 1 So the day comes to get a new gun...this is over a year ago by the way, but back to the story. I go to my shop trade in my Proto Matrix M5 that I loved so much and tried out all of the "High-ends" on...
Report this review to a moderator   #357
QuencyJones16
Cause I don't have a gong
QuencyJones16's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tennessee
QuencyJones16 helped look for balloons
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,100.00
Pros: Light, fast, ease on paint, and nice in my hands
Cons: Inefficient, will go into more detail
So the day comes to get a new gun...this is over a year ago by the way, but back to the story. I go to my shop trade in my Proto Matrix M5 that I loved so much and tried out all of the "High-ends" on the wall, and loved how the APS Angel A1 felt in my hands, how the trigger was so light and how compact it was.

I asked one of the cashiers if I could shoot it, he said no but did have one that I could shoot, along with trying some other markers at the field I like this one the best.

Next was the chrono box. grabbed some paint and went for it. Using a CP LP tank I was getting 293, 295, 294 and so on, not bad for one that had only been opened a few days ago. I loved it already. It was somewhat quiet for this early stage and had some breaking in to do. It just felt right in my hands, and shot with speed, and had no kick, and was quiet enough for right now.

I bought mine that day, and brought it home and ran a few hundred balls through it....well ok like 2000 but still. I loved it even more and still do. I played with it for a few months before I put the new settings (JOY settings) in it and it runs like a champ now. I have cleaned it once in the year I have had it, fully cleaned it, now I just put 2 drops of oil in the ASA and fire the gun. It still amazes me. I noticed that with the JOY settings I was getting better efficiency, stock it was 1300 per 68/45, and now it is around 1600 per 68/45.

The good
-Speed, they are fast, faster than you really need to go.
-Consistency, out of the box you cannot beat it.
-Kick, with the right settings, they have none at all
-Sound signature, not loud but have a distinct pop sound you cannot mistake.

* On a side note, there are two different styles of internals out of right now, Gen 1 and Gen 2, if you bought your marker new in the past 8 months, they probably have the Gen 2 internals, if you bought them before this, or bought it new, you may want to check. The differences can be found here

Now for the "Bad"

-Efficiency could be better, I average around 1600 off a full 68/45, but this is because of the huge air chamber in the front of the marker.
-Build, some people say they are hard to take apart, I find them easy, I guess it comes with the whole teching stuff, but I find it easy.
-Eye covers, some people do not like them, if you do not they have Gen 3 eye covers out as of right now that can be bought at any place that sells Angel parts.

In all, I loved my A1 over every marker out when it came out and still over every marker that is out now because of how it feels to me, and how it has never went down on me not once in the year and few months I have had it.

Rating, well just guess what I would give it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Angel Paintball Sports Angel 1 What can I say about the A1 that hasn't been said already? They are amazing killing machines. Accurate, fast, small and light. Mine gets better and better every time I shoot it. Maintenance is...
Report this review to a moderator   #3946
outkast kid
 
outkast kid's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Philadelphia
outkast kid is a Paintball photographer
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Fast, light, small, reliable, accurate
Cons: All the negative stereotypes surrounding Angels
What can I say about the A1 that hasn't been said already? They are amazing killing machines. Accurate, fast, small and light. Mine gets better and better every time I shoot it.

Maintenance is amazing, a few drops of oil in the asa before playing and you are good for months. Even when you have to take the A1 apart it isn't difficult. No pain in the arse hosing, barbs etc. The only wires are for the solenoid and the whole internal layout is very clean.

Efficiency isn't spectacular for a poppet of this era but I think 1500 shots from a 68/45 is survivable. I shot a case at a psp event on about 5000 psi in a 70/45 peanut, I'll live.

Overall I'm very happy with my investment. This is my second Angel and will certainly remain my primary wmd for years to come. I have never had an issue with my A1 or the 05 Speed I used to own, they were both favorites in my 6 1/2 year playing history.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.2/5 stars.
Add New Review