Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
AKALMP - Viking Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
AKALMP
16 South Keystone Avenue
Indianapolis, IN 46201

Phone: (317) 631-7200
Website: http://www.akalmp.com
The Viking, AKA's follow-up to the Excalibur, is a open-bolt marker.
 Manual: Download the manual for AKALMP Download
 Release Date: 2001
 MSRP: $700.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 61
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  59%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  39%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
AKALMP - Viking Reviews
AKALMP Viking I've had my DarkMatter viking since late 05, ive messed around with it, i swapped some parts, ive tried different frames, its never had a single issue, it ALWAYS shoots when i pull the trigger, the...
Report this review to a moderator   #14869
Tracker
Demigod
Tracker's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Las Vegas NV
Tracker is a founding member
Tracker has been a member for 10 years
Tracker helped look for balloons
Tracker has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,200.00
Pros: Ultimate efficiency, excellent reliability
Cons: a bit dated, can by heavy
I've had my DarkMatter viking since late 05, ive messed around with it, i swapped some parts, ive tried different frames, its never had a single issue, it ALWAYS shoots when i pull the trigger, the worst thing they are guilty of, is the early 04's do not have quad detents, which can lead to some rollback if the paint is excessively small. all you need to do for maintenance is a few drops of oil in the ASA every once in awhile.. thats literally IT. they might be a bit taller than modern guns, they might be a bit wider than modern guns, they are a bit heavier, but they are still one of the most efficient guns made today, combine that with the reliability, and you have a package that's hard to beat, even today, sure they say a vice can get 2000 shots of a 68/4500, but vices go down, vikings dont

the unmilled versions are pretty bulky, but the versions that have been milled down have had ALOT of excess metal removed the guns by themselves after featherlight milling gets the weight down in the 2-3 pound range

might not be the cream of the crop anymore for a tourney gun, but they can still hang, and they make great guns for people that want the durability of a tippmann, with the reliability of one as well

they are more difficult to work on than a regular gun, but thats because they were designed in a way that if they needed to come apart, odds are is was something only a trained specialist (or someone with the right replacement parts and know how) could fix anyways
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
AKALMP Viking My viking to date is still my favorite and primary gun. The best shooting gun I have ever owned out of 70+ markers, I have owned just about every gun at least once. Vikings may be "old" though they...
Report this review to a moderator   #4112
adambarrack
MorphSuit Ballin
adambarrack's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
adambarrack is playing at Living Legends III
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Customizable, reliable, fast, holds resale, sexy
Cons: If it is unmilled, it can have some weight to it.
My viking to date is still my favorite and primary gun. The best shooting gun I have ever owned out of 70+ markers, I have owned just about every gun at least once. Vikings may be "old" though they are in reality only four years old, but they are fast, and hold resale that can only be matched by very nice automags. Some of the most customizable guns out there, they can be milled down to the weight of an 05 ego, and in some cases below. For those modern players they can also be retro-fitted to accept an Ultralite frame or a standard matrix or ego frame. Vikings have been proven time and time again to be faster than anyone will shoot, and with the right setup and upgrades, capable of duking it out with any of the modern speed demons. It truly is a shame that these guns were put out of production, I have no doubt AKA would have done great things in the paintball world. You may hear that vikings are unreliable, this could not be more false. Vikings need to be neglected to a purposeful extent to go down, and in that case you probably don't deserve to own one of these monsters As with any gun, if you take care of this gun, it will take care of you.

*The reason I give the Viking 4 stars in the category of performance, is because it burns through lube when fired at high rates of fire in faster paced games. (Maybe it's just mine.)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
AKALMP Viking Reviewing the Valhalla Viking Recommended Upgrades: I prefer the Scepter Powerlyte barrel kits, but whatever you are comfortable with. You may want to swap out the SST reg for a 2 Liter as they are...
Report this review to a moderator   #31807
Dark Side
You will know the power
Dark Side's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Charleston SC
Dark Side is BST Trusted
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: See below
Cons: see below
Reviewing the Valhalla Viking

Recommended Upgrades: I prefer the Scepter Powerlyte barrel kits, but whatever you are comfortable with. You may want to swap out the SST reg for a 2 Liter as they are more efficient.


Strengths: Made to hang with the latest and greatest of all other high end electro's, this marker will not bring you down. Beautifully efficient and elegant to hold this marker will make you feel like a pro.

Quality
The quality of this gun is incredible. Expect to pay near a grand due to roughly 30 being made and the solid construction of the pieces.

Trigger
A design by Acid Customs. I love the reverse rake although I've had to rig mine to work and I still don't have it just right. Perhaps itís too many years of playing with E/X-Mags. I'd like more of a responsive snap that the boards switch simply doesn't give.

Battery
Battery life is just fine as it is still going strong after shooting several cases through it. I normally change out batteries every few weeks anyways.

Weaknesses
Price and lack of markers built are the only ones I can think of. Some may feel that a grand is too much to pay for a warmed up Viking. I assure you that it is not. This thing will do you just fine in any environment.

Conclusion:
A wonderful marker to own, it simply feels good in your hands. I recommend any AKA lover to get one.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
AKALMP Viking When it comes to paintball markers, this would have to be my favorite by far. It's fast, it's efficient, consistent fps, and simple design and construction. It's really easy to take apart and...
Report this review to a moderator   #17368
T-killa
Viking # A00025
T-killa's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Montreal
T-killa has been a member for 10 years
T-killa has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
T-killa has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $950.00
Pros: fast, effecient. consitant, simple to operate and maintain.
Cons: you have to think too hard to try and find bad things about this marker and of course the break in periode but since there is no more production of these bad boys you can forget about that.
When it comes to paintball markers, this would have to be my favorite by far. It's fast, it's efficient, consistent fps, and simple design and construction. It's really easy to take apart and maintain. Mine is blind and has chopped like 3 balls because my cousin Messed with the LPR. Besides that you have tones of milling and customizations you can do.

As far as upgrades, AKALMP came out with the SST reg and SCMIII. If you think about it everyone knows that the best upgrades for most paintball markers are the Sidewinder or SST or 2-Liter, tornado valve, SCMIII
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
AKALMP Viking I have had a few of these vikings. If they are un milled they are a heavy brick. Featherlite milling helps. The guns are very fast but also can be issue prone. Make sure that if you buy one of these...
Report this review to a moderator   #41626
bubbalee30003
Pumpin Aint Easy!
bubbalee30003's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Charleston, WV
bubbalee30003 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
bubbalee30003 plays in the APPA D5 division
bubbalee30003 is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Very Fast
Cons: Heavy
I have had a few of these vikings. If they are un milled they are a heavy brick. Featherlite milling helps. The guns are very fast but also can be issue prone. Make sure that if you buy one of these that you test all pressures with a gauge on LPR and all. To much pressure will blow these solenoids. Overall a great gun once it is tuned.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
AKALMP Viking I have owned 2 04 vikings in my day. both unmilled (one i sent into get milled at dc) both of them were one of the best guns i have ever owned. they are very fast, NEVER EVER break down or have...
Report this review to a moderator   #1020
atm743
 
atm743's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Western New York
atm743 has been a member for 10 years
atm743 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Very fast, Reliable, light ( i had milled one)
Cons: bulky, trigger frame is to damn small
I have owned 2 04 vikings in my day. both unmilled (one i sent into get milled at dc)

both of them were one of the best guns i have ever owned. they are very fast, NEVER EVER break down or have problems, extremely good on air. unmilled viking it self is light imo but once you add your tank and hopper it does add up. if you get the change to get a milled viking DO they are lighter and looks awesome.

i have been into paintball for 6 years now and gone though many different guns and this gun is 1st best on my list (2nd is 07 cyborg)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
AKALMP Viking Mine is a full milled JMJ Featherlite Viking, payed 650 brand new, best money I ever spent. I've owned egos, borgs, DMs, sold them all and kept my viking. Shoots extremely fast and accurate and is...
Report this review to a moderator   #1723
DeathOfAllThings
 
DeathOfAllThings's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
DeathOfAllThings is a Supporting Member
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $650.00
Pros: Extremely fast and reliable
Cons: Unmilled ones can be heavy
Mine is a full milled JMJ Featherlite Viking, payed 650 brand new, best money I ever spent. I've owned egos, borgs, DMs, sold them all and kept my viking. Shoots extremely fast and accurate and is very light with all the milling, just a hair over 2 pounds. Best part is there's almost no maintenence, a couple drops of oil in the asa is all you need. And I almost forgot to mention how amazingly efficient they are, I don't think I've ever shot a gun that gets so many shots per fill. And while the resale price of other guns drops after a year, the viking keeps its value.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
AKALMP Viking Appearance: Tri-tube design then again there is the evil-m with a modern 2 tube design. Very beautiful guns once milled and anno'd. Performance: Very efficient and very customization to fit all of...
Report this review to a moderator   #23341
711clerk
Stay Calm Rias is here
711clerk's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Jose, Ca
711clerk is a Supporting Member
711clerk has been a member for 10 years
711clerk is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,500.00
Pros: Resilient
Cons: Good luck finding one...
Appearance:

Tri-tube design then again there is the evil-m with a modern 2 tube design. Very beautiful guns once milled and anno'd.

Performance:

Very efficient and very customization to fit all of your performances needs. Once set up properly, it will rip as fast as your handle fingers can handle.

Reliability:

I don't know of any gun out there besides a tippman that you can store for 5 years then throw AKA gun oil in the asa and it just works. Then again thats all the maintenance you need to do besides wiping it down...doesn't get any better than that.

Value:

Again, if you paid $1500 back in 2004 and you will still find yourself paying $1000 or more for a beautifully well built, milled, anno'd and tuned machine. The re-sell value does not die with these, it may slow down like the economy but you won't find me selling these less for 1k sorry (I won't sell them ever anyway).

Conclusion:

I would invest in picking these guns up just for the sake of re-sale value in the long run and of course the added benefit of its legendary performance for a design that's proven itself over a decade. I don't know too many guns that have these unique characteristics and qualities all in one package, but this one is a proven work horse.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
AKALMP Viking I stumbled across a blind single trigger AKA viking some years back. It is a homely thing, but boy does it function in spades.
Report this review to a moderator   #14191
aspiderfreak
A Complete Vulgarian
aspiderfreak's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NWA
aspiderfreak has been a member for 10 years
aspiderfreak plays in the PSP
aspiderfreak is an NCPA player
aspiderfreak is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
aspiderfreak is a top reviewer
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Reliable to the max
Cons: A tad heavy, blind
I stumbled across a blind single trigger AKA viking some years back. It is a homely thing, but boy does it function in spades.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
AKALMP Viking There isnt much to say about these guns that hasnt been proven in the past few years. Their Amazing out of the box with no need to upgrade anything. Their fast, super efficient, consistant, and built...
Report this review to a moderator   #754
cockerspaniel
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY
cockerspaniel has been a member for 10 years
cockerspaniel helped look for balloons
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: Fast, Smooth, VERY Reliable, VERY Efficient.
Cons: Weight if unmilled.
There isnt much to say about these guns that hasnt been proven in the past few years. Their Amazing out of the box with no need to upgrade anything. Their fast, super efficient, consistant, and built like tanks. Just a few drops of AKA lube in the ASA every few cases and it will shoot and shoot and shoot, and then shoot some more. The stock Javelin barrel is better then some aftermarket barrels I have had before. The Sidewinder regulator has been proven to keep up and very consistantly at that. The stock trigger frame has a very solid feel to it and seems to fit my bear hands nicely. If you are fortunate enough to get a milled Viking then weight is no problem and looks are stunning no matter the style. The Viking has been my favorite gun ever since I shot my first one. Theres just something about picking one up and knowing it can perform and it wont break thats just keeps me glued to them. Plus there is a community of fellow AKA owners that are very helpful and share the same passion. I can only hope you have the chance to try one and fall in love if you havent yet.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Add New Review