Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Empire - Axe Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Empire
570 Mantua Boulevard
Sewell, NJ 08080

Phone: (800) 579-1633
Email: info@keeactionsports.com
Website: http://www.empirepaintball.com
The new Empire AXE is a Mini on steroids; bigger, badder and willing to punish opponents.
 Manual: Download the manual for Empire Download
 Release Date: 2010
 MSRP: $459.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 469
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  57%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  40%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Empire - Axe Reviews
Empire Axe Just got my AXE in the mail today and I am very impressed. That means a lot coming from a guy that has shot about everything on the market. I admit I bought into the hype of XSV and Infamous using...
Report this review to a moderator   #9823
CaptHowdy
 
CaptHowdy's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: BFE, Ohio
CaptHowdy has been a member for 10 years
CaptHowdy donated to help Peyton Trent
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $459.00
Pros: On/Off Reg, Tooless Bolt Cap
Cons: On/off lever does sit flush with my GA tank
Just got my AXE in the mail today and I am very impressed. That means a lot coming from a guy that has shot about everything on the market. I admit I bought into the hype of XSV and Infamous using these markers this season... but I will tell ya it's not hype, there is a reason why they chose these markers. The AXE is very easy to work on. On/off regulator is a very nice touch from the previous reg on the Mini (I owned two of them). This gun shouldn't even be grouped with the Mini. Yes they kinda look the same and the parts pretty well are designed the same, but there is so much more research that went into this gun. I took cheap old generic Walmart paint (at about 45 degrees F) and put it to the test. The grouping was really tight about a three inch spread L-R from about 60 ft away (not one single barrel break). I laugh when people talk about "kick" on a paintball marker, but there is virtually none on this. The gun feels nice and solid.

What I really love about this marker is the tooless bolt cap. It literally takes two seconds to get into the bolt. The front grip is positioned a lot better too. (over the Mini). It honestly gives you the feel of an Initmidator but with the size of a Mini.

There is only one thing I dislike about this marker, and it's not even Empire's fault. My Guerrilla Air (with Myth reg) hugs the on/off so tight that the lever doesn't close all the way BUT it holds pressure.

I had 1500k on my tank and ran 3 pods through it. It still has around 500 left and that even included about 25 dryfire shots.

Bottomline, I am an avid gun whore, my feedback shows that. But, I can honestly tell you I am keeping this gun for a very long time.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
Empire Axe I bought this marker off of PB Nation a couple months back for $380.00 and couldn't be happier! Out of the box the first things I noticed was the very smooth trigger and the weight. It was very...
Report this review to a moderator   #34545
-Black Cell-
- Black Cell -
-Black Cell-'s avatar
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $380.00
Pros: Efficient, Accurate, Very Quiet, Maintenance
Cons: Shots were a little hoopty until broken in
I bought this marker off of PB Nation a couple months back for $380.00 and couldn't be happier!

Out of the box the first things I noticed was the very smooth trigger and the weight. It was very light out of the box (without hopper and tank). The trigger was also very smooth and easy to walk out of the box with no adjustment what so ever.

After playing a weekend long scenario with this marker, i'm still really impressed with it. It was very efficient and and felt great in the hands all weekend. The only complaint i had all weekend was that at first it was really ball on ball at all. It took a little breaking in. I started to notice it getting better towards the end of the weekend after 4 or 5 cases. I'm also not too bug in the feedneck it comes stock with. Its not terrible but it isnt great either. Id recommend a CP Low Rise Feedneck for it. The on/off ASA and quick bolt removal are just icing on the cake.

For the price of the marker its 100% worth it! Definitely competes with the more higher end markers that are out there. I definitely recommend this marker to anyone on a budget or looking to get into speedball. I was able to pick up mine for $380 still in the wrap off of PB Nation!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Empire Axe The Axe is simply a fantastic gun. We have an Axe up for demo at the field I work at and I love shooting it. It shoots super smooth and can easily compete with any high-end marker. Therefore, the Axe...
Report this review to a moderator   #16729
AGunsling3r
METAL
AGunsling3r's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: K-zoo, MI
AGunsling3r plays in the PSP
AGunsling3r supports our troops
AGunsling3r is an NCPA player
AGunsling3r plays in the APPA D2 division
AGunsling3r is Legendary
AGunsling3r supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Shoots like a "high-end" for a fraction the cost.
Cons: Relatively difficult maintenance. Less Features.
The Axe is simply a fantastic gun. We have an Axe up for demo at the field I work at and I love shooting it. It shoots super smooth and can easily compete with any high-end marker. Therefore, the Axe is easily the best gun for it's money.

My only complaints about the gun would be maintenance/design and the fact that the gun doesn't have as nice of a selection of features as a high-end gun would have. The marker's design is slightly impractical. For example, it is very tedious just to access and clean the eyes. However, the bolt design is super simple and makes for easy access and maintenance. Improving from the Mini, It is also nice that the bolt can come out without tools thanks to the push-pin design on the back.

This gun is simply great and worth every penny! Any team should definitely look into shooting them for the 2012 season!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Empire Axe I really love my axe. It has not failed me yet! It is air efficient, smooth, and quiet. Although I love my axe, I do have one complaint. The ASA and the front grip have both gotten loose. The ASA...
Report this review to a moderator   #35611
Albert_Mata
Ocelots!
Albert_Mata's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Texas
Albert_Mata plays in the APPA D5 division
Albert_Mata has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Albert_Mata has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Albert_Mata has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $460.00
Pros: Feels great in the hands. Shoots very smooth.
Cons: ASA and front grip loosen up.
I really love my axe. It has not failed me yet! It is air efficient, smooth, and quiet.

Although I love my axe, I do have one complaint. The ASA and the front grip have both gotten loose. The ASA loosening up is not a big problem; I do however, have to tighten it up every other weekend I play. I figure using some blue-loctite would fix the asa loosening issue. The front grip loosening issue has only happened once about 6 months after getting my axe; but, when it did loosen up I noticed right before breaking out so I didn't have a chance to tighten it. I sprinted to my bunker and slid in, when I reached for the front grip, there was nothing there. I think these are minor issues which should not deter you from purchasing an axe, but since they have affected me, they might affect others.

Overall, the axe is amazing for its price and I would definitely purchase another, but just make sure to tighten your screws up every now and again.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Empire Axe I bought the Axe as a "tune up" marker as I was getting back into paintball and didn't want to go all out quite yet. I must say, for the price, this marker shoots amazing. I rarely ever have to...
Report this review to a moderator   #21344
Arch Enemy20
mhmmmmm
Arch Enemy20's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Newtown PA
Arch Enemy20 plays in the PSP
Arch Enemy20 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Arch Enemy20 plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Trigger, Consistency, On/Off
Cons: Stock Feedneck
I bought the Axe as a "tune up" marker as I was getting back into paintball and didn't want to go all out quite yet. I must say, for the price, this marker shoots amazing. I rarely ever have to change the velocity, haven't had one ball break in the chamber, and outside of having a small leak (which was an easy o-ring fix), I haven't had any problems.

When I first came across it, I thought it was too much like a mini and I truly hate the feel of minis, but after getting the Axe in my hands, I knew it wasn't and it fit me perfectly.

If you happen to run across one used at under $400, it's a steal.

I am most impressed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Empire Axe Pros: -The Axe is easy to maintain due to the ability to remove the bolt system without allen keys. Not to mention, there aren't that many orings to lube. Cons: -One thing that would help, would be...
Report this review to a moderator   #19344
balla24
noob
balla24's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Easy to maintain
Cons: Board, way that front grip is attached
Pros:
-The Axe is easy to maintain due to the ability to remove the bolt system without allen keys. Not to mention, there aren't that many orings to lube.

Cons:
-One thing that would help, would be if the stock board was programmable through the trigger instead of having to take the from grip cover on and off. But this is a simple fix, the shockwave board is out now, and is only ~$30.
-My biggest problem with the marker is having to constantly tighten the screws that keep the front grip on the marker. I currently use athletic tape to keep it from wobbling too much.

Overall, I love the way it shoots. It's a little inefficient for me, but I ordered an aftermarket bolt to fix that. This marker reminds me of shooting a well tuned shocker in the way that it shoots very flat. It is comfortable to play with, and the integrated on/off is great. So far I haven't had any major issues, and for the price, I'm not sure this marker can be beat in it's price range. Even though I'm sponsored by Empire for the 2012 season, I was doubtful of this gun as I thought it was just a longer mini. After having played with this gun, I changed my mind. Give this marker a shot, you won't be disappointed.

-I bought this marker used with a brand new stem and bolt. I received it before we acquired our Empire sponsorship.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Empire Axe Bought this gun because my ego went down once again and frankly I was tired of repairing it. Grabbed this gun holding a grudge thinking "they just fixed a mini" and I couldnt have been more wrong....
Report this review to a moderator   #10934
Blainesmith
 
Blainesmith's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Springtown, Texas
Blainesmith owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Blainesmith has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Blainesmith has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $459.00
Pros: Easy easy easy
Cons: no OLED :(
Bought this gun because my ego went down once again and frankly I was tired of repairing it. Grabbed this gun holding a grudge thinking "they just fixed a mini" and I couldnt have been more wrong. I've never shot stock barrel on it so it never was an issue (I use a sly pro merc) but this gun kills it. Once its broken in it shoots perfect, very consistent on the chrono, and efficient on air. This gun shoots long sexy ropes with very little drop and is pretty quiet even with my pro merc on, I recommend this gun to EVERYONE its one of the best budget ballers in history (strictly my opinion)

I'm over 10 cases in and still havent had to re-adjust velocity, and havent had any problems at all (knock on wood)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Empire Axe Pros -Smooth -Nice Trigger -Quick release bolt -On/off ASA Cons -Looks -Barrel -Feed neck
Report this review to a moderator   #26346
Brony22193
 
Brony22193's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NOVA
Brony22193 supports Pev's Paintball
Brony22193 plays in the APPA D5 division
Brony22193 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $449.99
Pros: Smooth
Cons: Looks
Pros
-Smooth
-Nice Trigger
-Quick release bolt
-On/off ASA

Cons
-Looks
-Barrel
-Feed neck
-Board operation is annoying
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Empire Axe Pros - Low breaks: Paired it the Empire Magna hopper I put a case of older (+3 months stored in a garage with the outside temp +90's and 100% humidity) paint through it yesterday and i did not break...
Report this review to a moderator   #10569
CaStylin
 
CaStylin's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Missouri City, Texas
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Low breaks, almost no kick, High FPS, Price point
Cons: I would have preferred a LED display
Pros
- Low breaks: Paired it the Empire Magna hopper I put a case of older (+3 months stored in a garage with the outside temp +90's and 100% humidity) paint through it yesterday and i did not break a ball

- High FPS: Out the gate it was chronoing at 300fps and had much more "space" to upwards adjust, (not that i would) I was very happy about this as my older makers would take some upgrades to get a constant 290



- bolt system: super easy to remove... Super super easy, like 3 seconds or less

- Complete disassembly– super easy, 4 screws (2 large, 2 small) and the marker is in its 3 main parts (board & batt, Chamber & bolt, ASA & Grip). The board sits in the front grip so it is easily switched if you are upgrading or it malfunctions for some reason (haven't heard of that happening yet). I think there is only 1 O ring so that make normal repair/maintenance even easier

- BPS: maybe not with the stock trigger (which i really do like so far) but i don't doubt you can get 20+BPS out of the gun

- low kick: how about almost no kick... this helped a lot as i tagged more then a few players with three balls stacked on top of each other

- Price point performance: I wont say the AXE is step for step at guns twice its cost but I will say that i was not out shot nearly as much as i thought i would be vs the DYE guns that where out there

Mild points:
- Weight: the marker is not heavy, it is heaver then the mini but not by much and i think its lighter per inch then the mini

- the stock barrel shoots pretty straight and has good distance but I would probably still get a new barrel to increase its accuracy and distance; I'm currently looking into the Apex 2

- locking feed neck: much preferred over the screw tighten method but it could be better (a better thumb screw is all that is needed)

- the on/off ASA "flip switch" is a little too easy to switch, i accidentally flipped it during a game but then i just flipped it back. Not a big thing but i would prefer a stiffer set up

Cons
-I would have preferred a LED display of the current firing mode (like the Spyder Electra has) The one light blinking system is a very confusing if you don't have them memorized and then takes some time to catch the pattern.

Over All
The AXE is very easy to maintain, shots fast, straight and constant, I would buy the AXE again... it is a truly a great gun.

Since it is compared to the Mini so much i will make my comparison to the mini as well. While similar to the mini it is not or even the next version of the mini. Other then base point that the AXE is a larger gun (which is a much better fit for my large hands), It also feels better/different and shots better/different the the mini IMO. If you are expecting a bigger mini you are in for a shock when you get playing with AXE


CaStylin
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Empire Axe I have used this gun for one complete season now, and I am still amazed on how well this gun shoots. I have used it in 100 degree heat, to 15 degree cold, to rain storms at PSP NJ Open. It has not...
Report this review to a moderator   #17149
Chicken_Little
Chicken
Chicken_Little's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nor*JerZ
Chicken_Little plays in the PSP
Chicken_Little plays in the APPA Pro division
Chicken_Little supports Empire
Chicken_Little is All In
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $459.00
Pros: The Price and Performance
Cons: none.
I have used this gun for one complete season now, and I am still amazed on how well this gun shoots. I have used it in 100 degree heat, to 15 degree cold, to rain storms at PSP NJ Open. It has not once failed me. Once the Redline Front grip came out, I bought one right away and was glad I did. The programming was so easy to use and easy to change, made my life alot better and easier. I also got my Axe custom anno'd and would recommend them to do it as well. Buy this gun, it will amaze you.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Add New Review