Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Empire - Axe Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Empire
570 Mantua Boulevard
Sewell, NJ 08080

Phone: (800) 579-1633
Email: info@keeactionsports.com
Website: http://www.empirepaintball.com
The new Empire AXE is a Mini on steroids; bigger, badder and willing to punish opponents.
 Manual: Download the manual for Empire Download
 Release Date: 2010
 MSRP: $459.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 471
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  57%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  40%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Empire - Axe Reviews
Empire Axe
Report this review to a moderator   #33562
Gibbs5893
My fingers hurt
Gibbs5893's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Suburbs of Philly
Gibbs5893 is BST Trusted
Gibbs5893 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Gibbs5893 is for the Gunfight
Gibbs5893 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $275.00
Pros: Reliable, Affordable
Cons: Cheap Stock Barrel
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe I was looking at this gun for about 6 months before i broke down and got it. I had been rocking a Proto Superlight Gun for about 2 years, then i decided it was time to upgrade. Picked up and Olive...
Report this review to a moderator   #39383
Gloatfishy
Just keep swimming
Gloatfishy's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kansas
Gloatfishy owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Gloatfishy has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Gloatfishy has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Gloatfishy has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $320.00
Pros: Quite, Accurate, Air Consistancy
Cons: short stock barrel
I was looking at this gun for about 6 months before i broke down and got it. I had been rocking a Proto Superlight Gun for about 2 years, then i decided it was time to upgrade. Picked up and Olive and brown Empire Axe used for 320. Shot it in the backyard and loved it, I just played in a tournament on sunday. It shot straight all day and never chopped on 15bps cap. I ran a 48/3000 and would only got though maybe 500psi a game and that was a hopper and 2 pods.
Cons it has a short stock barrel, there are not to many upgrades that are the orginal colors.
Overall the gun shoots great and for the price of it brand new $460 well worth that price.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe the things i love about this gun are the on/off relay ASA, no hoses like always, the tooless bolt strip, i have enough room to put my hand around the front grip, it's made by EMPIRE, its accurate,...
Report this review to a moderator   #27097
GODZ_SHADOW
STAY HOSTILE!!!
GODZ_SHADOW's avatar
Join Date: May 2010
Location: TF, NJ
GODZ_SHADOW is playing at Living Legends VII
GODZ_SHADOW owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
GODZ_SHADOW is for the Gunfight
GODZ_SHADOW has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
GODZ_SHADOW supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: light weight, accurate, efficiant, easy 2 maintain
Cons: none yet
the things i love about this gun are the on/off relay ASA, no hoses like always, the tooless bolt strip, i have enough room to put my hand around the front grip, it's made by EMPIRE, its accurate, fast and very easy to maintain. i recommend this marker for any type of player. and this gun is affordable, you dont need to go out and buy these 1000 or 2000 dollar markers anymore. if you want something with all the specs of one of those markers buy an AXE. i have 2 and they're amazing.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe
Report this review to a moderator   #40177
golddiggersbeast
Ball Til I Fall
golddiggersbeast's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N.C.
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: shoots great
Cons: a.s.a come loose
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe I love my axe. My carbon fiber is my third one. Extremely reliable guns, but on all 3 I've owned I've had to replace the poppet face due to leaks. I'm running a stock bolt with urethane orings and...
Report this review to a moderator   #42124
Grantiforous
 
Grantiforous's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Grantiforous supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: Shoots amazingly smooth when tuned
Cons: Poppit face is touchy
I love my axe. My carbon fiber is my third one. Extremely reliable guns, but on all 3 I've owned I've had to replace the poppet face due to leaks. I'm running a stock bolt with urethane orings and urethane bolt guide orings, stock dwell, back cap 1.25 turns out, 160 psi at 290 fps +/- 5. It could shoot a little quieter but the kick is greatly softened.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe My Empire Axe set up is as follows: Stock Axe - Sanded down to bare aluminium and polished Lurker Bolt Was recommended, but I cannot really tell the difference. Vangard Grips After having these on...
Report this review to a moderator   #32376
GregT
Team Fat Kid
GregT's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
GregT is for the Gunfight
GregT has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
GregT has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Inexpensive, High-End Competitive, Reliability
Cons: Huh...None Really!
My Empire Axe set up is as follows:

Stock Axe - Sanded down to bare aluminium and polished

Lurker Bolt
Was recommended, but I cannot really tell the difference.

Vangard Grips
After having these on here they look better, but I prefer the feel of the stock grips. Plan on switching back, just haven't done it yet.

Numech Grip Extender
For larger people (I'm 6'3") I think that the Axe as-is will be uncomfortable compared to some of the PE guns. I was thinking about trading it, but after finding this little $35 piece of amazing I'm keeping my axe. This increases the grip spacing by about 2" and can be bought in multiple colours.

Redline Grip
This stock mod from Empire changes out the entire foregrip with an LED screened & better boarded grip. Literally takes about 30 seconds to change out.

Overall, the Axe is the step-up from my first speedball gun, the Invert Mini v2, and I could not be happier with it. For under $500 you can get a used Axe, upgrade it with a Redline when you get some scratch together, and have a well-honed tourney gun that has been doing well in major tournaments (Infamous won Chicago just recently). I seriously thought about an EGO before getting the grip extender, but now I'm keeping this for life!

PS: If you get a Redline grip, you can get an Invert Mini and keep it as backup if your Axe ever goes down. In about 2 minutes you can remove the Redline from the Axe, slap it on the Mini, and it functions seamlessly!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe Love this gun! Feels great in my hands and shoots super smooth!! Great gun for a reasonable price!!
Report this review to a moderator   #21214
guitarfrk301
Winthrop Eagles
guitarfrk301's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: South Carolina
guitarfrk301 plays in the APPA D5 division
guitarfrk301 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $459.00
Pros: Very smooth! Pretty Consistent! Great feeling!!!
Cons: none?
Love this gun! Feels great in my hands and shoots super smooth!! Great gun for a reasonable price!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe Bought used, and was getting serious drop-off issues. Lubed the poppet, and it works perfectly.
Report this review to a moderator   #33528
Gvedd941
 
Gvedd941's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Palmetto, FL
Gvedd941 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $359.00
Pros: Light, Efficient
Cons: Feedneck
Bought used, and was getting serious drop-off issues. Lubed the poppet, and it works perfectly.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe I would suggest this for beginners & up!
Report this review to a moderator   #43503
Hannibal
Legacy
Hannibal's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NC
Hannibal has been a member for 10 years
Hannibal plays in the PSP
Hannibal supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Excellent backup gun
Cons: Has its quirks, but nothing really
I would suggest this for beginners & up!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe I've had the Axe for about 2 years now. I can't begin to tell you how impressed I am with this marker. I should start out by explaining my experience though. My axe is now upgraded making it the...
Report this review to a moderator   #39636
HarveyFC3
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $460.00
Pros: Light, low kick, quiet, easy maintenance, ASA
Cons: Feed neck, 12" barrel
I've had the Axe for about 2 years now. I can't begin to tell you how impressed I am with this marker. I should start out by explaining my experience though. My axe is now upgraded making it the perfect marker for me. It's great out of the box, but for well under $1,000, this marker can put the DM's and other high end markers to shame.

I installed the Redline OLED board for ease of use. No performance change, I just like to be able to switch from PSP Ramp to Semi on the fly since I play with a lot of randoms and switch from speedball to rec ball multiple times in a day.

I also installed the nano feed neck. The stock feed neck is flimsy and of very poor quality resulting in 4 stars for reliabilty. Hopefully they will start fitting the axe with the new Resurrection feed neck. The nano feed neck is no longer in production, and hasn't been for quite some time, but if you come across one, get it. It is super low profile, milled from a single piece of metal, and is very durable.

The biggest and most important upgrade I have done to this marker, was also the cheapest. I installed the boss v2 bolt. In doing so, I was able to tune my marker and lower my pressure tremendously resulting in a smoother shot with almost no barrel bounce at all. I hear the TechT bolt is nice as well, but I haven't had a need to try it.

With the bolt installed, the marker tuned, and the great trigger, this marker is every bit as good as a DM, and a bit more reliable due to the internal plumbing. Not saying the DM is one of the best guns out there, but it's one most players are familiar with that retails for $1,300. For around $500, you can have an Axe that performs as well, and if you buy the Pro Axe, you get the OLED board which the DM doesn't even have for under $800. This is why I give this marker a 5 start value.

I wasn't a fan of the 12" one piece barrel. I like a 14" barrel for pressing bunkers, and I also enjoy a bore matched barrel for consistency.

I've shot many markers along side this axe. I've had many offers to trade my axe. This marker will remain with me always though, unless replaced by another axe. It's reliable. I have 75,000+ rounds through it easily with no issues what so ever. Since it's easy to maintain, cleaning and lubing it each time you use it is a breeze.

Kee Action Sports have a great group of CSR's and a great warranty program. They will take care of you if something were to happen, however it is highly unlikely you will ever need to contact them.

This may look like a mini, but it's so much more. The trigger alone makes it stand out from other markers in the $500+ range. There is no side to side movement in the trigger. It pivots on a bearing with a micro switch. It has a magnetic return, as well as pre-travel and post-travel adjustments. This is a fully adjustable trigger designed to allow you customize it to that perfect sweet spot for your liking.

Now, we all know that an expensive high end marker doesn't make the player. However, a reliable marker with great features definitely has it's place and many benefits. The axe delivers at a very reasonable price point for someone looking to get into a mid to high end marker. New or used, these markers are a great value. If all else fails though, and for some reason, something is wrong with you and you don't like the best bang for your buck market out there, the axe holds it's value very well. Everyone wants to get their hands on one.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review