Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Empire - Axe Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Empire
570 Mantua Boulevard
Sewell, NJ 08080

Phone: (800) 579-1633
Email: info@keeactionsports.com
Website: http://www.empirepaintball.com
The new Empire AXE is a Mini on steroids; bigger, badder and willing to punish opponents.
 Manual: Download the manual for Empire Download
 Release Date: 2010
 MSRP: $459.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 478
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  57%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  40%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Empire - Axe Reviews
Empire Axe Absolutely love my Axe!!! Its such an amazing marker for the price. It hasnt let me down on the field to date. I haven't had any issues whatsoever and hangs with all high end markers. The marker...
Report this review to a moderator   #37595
edbori
Que vaya con Dios!
edbori's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wallingford, CT
edbori owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
edbori has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
edbori has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Easy maintenance/reliable/efficient
Cons: Stock barrel/no oled/package
Absolutely love my Axe!!! Its such an amazing marker for the price. It hasnt let me down on the field to date. I haven't had any issues whatsoever and hangs with all high end markers. The marker shoots so smooth, is air efficient, and is so easy to clean and maintain. Stock, the Axe is amazing but if you're looking to upgrade parts, plenty of options. If desired, you can pretty much upgrade an Axe (redline, laser eyes, boss bolt, barrel, etc) for less than the cost of other high ends markers out on the market.

Only complaints I have (and its petty nit picking) is that it should come with a better stock barrel (a nice 14" preferred) and packaging. Other markers in the same price range offer nice and durable cases. Also the manual CD is ok if at home but not pratical on the field in the event something goes wrong.

Overall if you're looking for a workhorse marker, Axe is the way to go!!! This coming from a guy who also owns an Ego11 as well.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe Gun shoots so smooth and is very comfortable. I love my Axe
Report this review to a moderator   #23584
EGOtisticalguy13
That S*** Cray
EGOtisticalguy13's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Dirty South
EGOtisticalguy13 plays in the PSP
EGOtisticalguy13 plays in the APPA D4 division
EGOtisticalguy13 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
EGOtisticalguy13 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Great Feel
Cons: Not many accessories
Gun shoots so smooth and is very comfortable. I love my Axe
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe My ASA always leaks. The prongs are hard to align. The gun would chop all they time. And the switch board broke way to easy.
Report this review to a moderator   #19351
ekmadill
 
ekmadill's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saginaw Michigan
ekmadill has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
ekmadill has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
ekmadill is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: quite and shoots smooth
Cons: always would break on me somehow
My ASA always leaks. The prongs are hard to align. The gun would chop all they time. And the switch board broke way to easy.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe I honestly love this gun. I am fairly certain it shoots just as well as much luxe maybe even better
Report this review to a moderator   #38111
elfwarrior6
a.k.a the Ninja
elfwarrior6's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St.Louis, MO
elfwarrior6 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
elfwarrior6 is for the Gunfight
elfwarrior6 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
elfwarrior6 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
elfwarrior6 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $320.00
Pros: smooth, fast, light,small
Cons: none for me!
I honestly love this gun. I am fairly certain it shoots just as well as much luxe maybe even better
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe i love this gun. i have not had any problems with it and i love everything about it.
Report this review to a moderator   #31951
eli1337
am i cool yet?
eli1337's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: southern california
eli1337 supports Team VICIOUS
eli1337 plays in the APPA D5 division
eli1337 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: no macro line, easy to disasemble
Cons: none yet
i love this gun. i have not had any problems with it and i love everything about it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe I bought the Axe in 2012 as a replacement for my Freestyle and the main reason I bought it was because the store I was at really didn't have any other markers. With that being said, I've had a...
Report this review to a moderator   #44545
Entropyyy
Paintball. That is all.
Entropyyy's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NY
Entropyyy owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Entropyyy has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Entropyyy has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Efficient, Easy Field Strip, Grip Frame and On/Off
Cons: Heavy, Loud, Difficult to Program
I bought the Axe in 2012 as a replacement for my Freestyle and the main reason I bought it was because the store I was at really didn't have any other markers.

With that being said, I've had a series of ups and downs with the Axe which I will explain in the following review-

Appearance: The Axe looks like larger version of the mini. Theres not much else to say about it. I think that Empire could have been more creative in changing the deign to really stand out from the Mini. Other than that, I do like the grip frame a lot, it's very comfortable in my hands. The front grip, however, felt a little small to me.

Performance: Here is where I've had ups and downs with the Axe. When the Axe works, it is a very good marker. Its accurate (with an aftermarket barrel); its efficient, I've easily put 1000 rounds through it on 1 68/45 tank and still had plenty of air left over; and it has probably one of the best regulators I've ever seen. Every time I went to get chronoed the regulator was +/- 3 FPS. It very easy to field strip and clean as well, with the one button bolt removal.

The downsides are that the Axe is loud. Personally I don't mind it much but when I hear other peoples markers (Etha, Mini, Rail, etc.) I really notice the difference. Also, the Axe is a decently heavy marker. Lastly, I found that programming it was pretty difficult with the LED. (I did eventually get a Redline kit for it which I will explain in the next section.) I've heard people say that the On/off on the ASA can be accidentally turned "off" in the middle of a game but I've never experienced that happening before.

Reliability: I've had a few problems with the Axe when it comes to reliability. It worked great for the first few games I played, then I started having problems. The second time I played with it (about 3 weeks later) it started having problems with the trigger and wouldn't fire. The guy at my local field said said that it looked like there was some paint on the magnetic part of the trigger that prevented it from activating the microswitch. I thought it was no big deal until it happened a second time. Needless to say, this is very frustrating especially when it happens in the middle of a game.

I played about 6 more times after that and then didn't play for about 2 months. The next time I went back to play, I chronoed the Axe and after the first shot it stopped working, completely. Once again I took it to the guy at my local field and he completely took it apart, changed the battery, greased and lubed everything; still it wouldn't work. The board had died. The gun was less than a year old and in excellent condition. I was very frustrated at that point.

I bought a Redline that day so that I could continue playing with the Axe and it worked pretty well. I wasn't happy about spending the money but it was faster than waiting 2 weeks for a new board to come in. The Redline isn't the easiest to navigate either, especially since their manual is on a CD only but thats a different review.

Value: For a ~$400 marker, the Axe is very good. It does its job and (when it works) it does it very well. Generally markers in this price range don't have LCD or OLED boards so the LED light is normal. The easy field strip bolt is really cool for a marker at this price as well. The value is there, the Axe is solid and does what it's supposed to do. There really isn't any need for upgrades, aside from an aftermarket barrel. The Redline is nice but not necessary.

Overall, the Axe is a very good marker. Its a solid maker for any level of player from beginner to pro (pros do use them but I think they use the "pro" version). I used the Axe for about two years and ended up selling it because I felt it just wasn't the right marker for me.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe gotta love my axe
Report this review to a moderator   #34878
erick1795
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: its amazing
Cons: none really
gotta love my axe
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe Amazing gun though the front grip may feel awkward tosome
Report this review to a moderator   #41947
Eternal43
 
Eternal43's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
Eternal43 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Eternal43 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Eternal43 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Looks good, light , awesome
Cons: Front grip
Amazing gun though the front grip may feel awkward tosome
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe Overall a good marker, great gun to have a backup or even a primary
Report this review to a moderator   #41710
f1ashp0int
 
f1ashp0int's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Philadelphia
f1ashp0int owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
f1ashp0int has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
f1ashp0int has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
f1ashp0int has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $360.00
Pros: light, good feel, shoots ropes
Cons: asa wiggles, pricey
Overall a good marker, great gun to have a backup or even a primary
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe Pros: The gun is really great value. A very High End shot, for a very low end price. Very easy maintenance, many upgrades, many parts, best trigger EVER. I have a Luxe 2.0 and I have been searching...
Report this review to a moderator   #43306
fenskedeathcore9
Come back, Angel
fenskedeathcore9's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: NJ
fenskedeathcore9 is playing at Living Legends VII
fenskedeathcore9 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
fenskedeathcore9 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
fenskedeathcore9 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $460.00
Pros: Read below.
Cons: Read.
Pros: The gun is really great value. A very High End shot, for a very low end price. Very easy maintenance, many upgrades, many parts, best trigger EVER. I have a Luxe 2.0 and I have been searching for someone to make it have an axe trigger.
Cons: No case, Terrible stock barrel, has trouble airing up when turning on asa sometimes.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review