Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Empire - Axe Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Empire
570 Mantua Boulevard
Sewell, NJ 08080

Phone: (800) 579-1633
Email: info@keeactionsports.com
Website: http://www.empirepaintball.com
The new Empire AXE is a Mini on steroids; bigger, badder and willing to punish opponents.
 Manual: Download the manual for Empire Download
 Release Date: 2010
 MSRP: $459.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 472
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  57%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  40%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Empire - Axe Reviews
Empire Axe i love this gun. i have not had any problems with it and i love everything about it.
Report this review to a moderator   #31951
eli1337
am i cool yet?
eli1337's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: southern california
eli1337 supports Team VICIOUS
eli1337 plays in the APPA D5 division
eli1337 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: no macro line, easy to disasemble
Cons: none yet
i love this gun. i have not had any problems with it and i love everything about it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe I bought the Axe in 2012 as a replacement for my Freestyle and the main reason I bought it was because the store I was at really didn't have any other markers. With that being said, I've had a...
Report this review to a moderator   #44545
Entropyyy
Paintball. That is all.
Entropyyy's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NY
Entropyyy owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Entropyyy has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Entropyyy has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Efficient, Easy Field Strip, Grip Frame and On/Off
Cons: Heavy, Loud, Difficult to Program
I bought the Axe in 2012 as a replacement for my Freestyle and the main reason I bought it was because the store I was at really didn't have any other markers.

With that being said, I've had a series of ups and downs with the Axe which I will explain in the following review-

Appearance: The Axe looks like larger version of the mini. Theres not much else to say about it. I think that Empire could have been more creative in changing the deign to really stand out from the Mini. Other than that, I do like the grip frame a lot, it's very comfortable in my hands. The front grip, however, felt a little small to me.

Performance: Here is where I've had ups and downs with the Axe. When the Axe works, it is a very good marker. Its accurate (with an aftermarket barrel); its efficient, I've easily put 1000 rounds through it on 1 68/45 tank and still had plenty of air left over; and it has probably one of the best regulators I've ever seen. Every time I went to get chronoed the regulator was +/- 3 FPS. It very easy to field strip and clean as well, with the one button bolt removal.

The downsides are that the Axe is loud. Personally I don't mind it much but when I hear other peoples markers (Etha, Mini, Rail, etc.) I really notice the difference. Also, the Axe is a decently heavy marker. Lastly, I found that programming it was pretty difficult with the LED. (I did eventually get a Redline kit for it which I will explain in the next section.) I've heard people say that the On/off on the ASA can be accidentally turned "off" in the middle of a game but I've never experienced that happening before.

Reliability: I've had a few problems with the Axe when it comes to reliability. It worked great for the first few games I played, then I started having problems. The second time I played with it (about 3 weeks later) it started having problems with the trigger and wouldn't fire. The guy at my local field said said that it looked like there was some paint on the magnetic part of the trigger that prevented it from activating the microswitch. I thought it was no big deal until it happened a second time. Needless to say, this is very frustrating especially when it happens in the middle of a game.

I played about 6 more times after that and then didn't play for about 2 months. The next time I went back to play, I chronoed the Axe and after the first shot it stopped working, completely. Once again I took it to the guy at my local field and he completely took it apart, changed the battery, greased and lubed everything; still it wouldn't work. The board had died. The gun was less than a year old and in excellent condition. I was very frustrated at that point.

I bought a Redline that day so that I could continue playing with the Axe and it worked pretty well. I wasn't happy about spending the money but it was faster than waiting 2 weeks for a new board to come in. The Redline isn't the easiest to navigate either, especially since their manual is on a CD only but thats a different review.

Value: For a ~$400 marker, the Axe is very good. It does its job and (when it works) it does it very well. Generally markers in this price range don't have LCD or OLED boards so the LED light is normal. The easy field strip bolt is really cool for a marker at this price as well. The value is there, the Axe is solid and does what it's supposed to do. There really isn't any need for upgrades, aside from an aftermarket barrel. The Redline is nice but not necessary.

Overall, the Axe is a very good marker. Its a solid maker for any level of player from beginner to pro (pros do use them but I think they use the "pro" version). I used the Axe for about two years and ended up selling it because I felt it just wasn't the right marker for me.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe gotta love my axe
Report this review to a moderator   #34878
erick1795
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: its amazing
Cons: none really
gotta love my axe
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe Amazing gun though the front grip may feel awkward tosome
Report this review to a moderator   #41947
Eternal43
 
Eternal43's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
Eternal43 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Eternal43 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Eternal43 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Looks good, light , awesome
Cons: Front grip
Amazing gun though the front grip may feel awkward tosome
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe Overall a good marker, great gun to have a backup or even a primary
Report this review to a moderator   #41710
f1ashp0int
 
f1ashp0int's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Philadelphia
f1ashp0int owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
f1ashp0int has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
f1ashp0int has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
f1ashp0int has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $360.00
Pros: light, good feel, shoots ropes
Cons: asa wiggles, pricey
Overall a good marker, great gun to have a backup or even a primary
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe Pros: The gun is really great value. A very High End shot, for a very low end price. Very easy maintenance, many upgrades, many parts, best trigger EVER. I have a Luxe 2.0 and I have been searching...
Report this review to a moderator   #43306
fenskedeathcore9
Come back, Angel
fenskedeathcore9's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: NJ
fenskedeathcore9 is playing at Living Legends VII
fenskedeathcore9 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
fenskedeathcore9 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
fenskedeathcore9 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $460.00
Pros: Read below.
Cons: Read.
Pros: The gun is really great value. A very High End shot, for a very low end price. Very easy maintenance, many upgrades, many parts, best trigger EVER. I have a Luxe 2.0 and I have been searching for someone to make it have an axe trigger.
Cons: No case, Terrible stock barrel, has trouble airing up when turning on asa sometimes.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe I absolutely love this marker. It shoots any paint you can throw in it, really easy to strip and clean, and very soft and quiet for a poppet style marker (though has an element of spool too). Get a...
Report this review to a moderator   #32258
Filthy Mick
Scenario Player
Filthy Mick's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Basom, NY
Filthy Mick has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Filthy Mick has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Filthy Mick has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Filthy Mick supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $460.00
Pros: No macro, great value, easy maintenance
Cons: Stock barrel, stock feedneck
I absolutely love this marker. It shoots any paint you can throw in it, really easy to strip and clean, and very soft and quiet for a poppet style marker (though has an element of spool too).

Get a new barrel, .693 is about useless. Get a new lower profile clamping feedneck. A delrin bolt (Boss Bolt v2 imo) is a good investment. If you change the feedneck, be aware that you will likely have to throw the old one out because it's so tight there's not alot of good ways to get it out (I suggest a 3/4" internal pipe nipple wrench and someone to help you hold the marker tight to a flat surface wrapped in a towel).

The only problem I've had is the asa coming loose after several hours of play, but that's what loctite is for. Same with the detent covers.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe This gun shoots ropes and is just like a mini except bigger, better, faster, and stronger.
Report this review to a moderator   #31667
fireyeye
 
fireyeye's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Keene, NH
fireyeye has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
fireyeye has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
fireyeye has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing
This gun shoots ropes and is just like a mini except bigger, better, faster, and stronger.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe Some people will swear by this gun, some will say its trash, this gun the former flagship of empire is a great shooter for the money. Weight on it is nice and so is the shot to shot...
Report this review to a moderator   #37547
firl21
Atlanta Overdose
firl21's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Alpharetta GA
firl21 is playing at Living Legends VI
firl21 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
firl21 has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
firl21 has perfected Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $293.00
Pros: ergonomics
Cons: Ergonomics
Some people will swear by this gun, some will say its trash, this gun the former flagship of empire is a great shooter for the money. Weight on it is nice and so is the shot to shot consistency.
Stock barrel sucks, and the gun its not right for everyone.

Consider it the corolla of paintball guns, Everybody has one.

NO SERIOUSLY, EVERY DAMN TRADE THREAD SOMEBODY OFFERS ONE.
AXE + CASH
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe this gun is a total beast especially for the price tag....I played with it in korea in a monsoon and this beast didnt stop once for anything just ripped all day cant beat it for the price just a...
Report this review to a moderator   #26510
First There89
Triple OG
First There89's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: earth
First There89 is for the Gunfight
First There89 posts videos on PbNation
First There89 plays in the APPA D5 division
First There89 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
First There89 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $499.00
Pros: price, reliability, efficency, quietness
Cons: front grip, feedneck
this gun is a total beast especially for the price tag....I played with it in korea in a monsoon and this beast didnt stop once for anything just ripped all day cant beat it for the price just a little awkward in front
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review