Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Empire - Axe Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Empire
570 Mantua Boulevard
Sewell, NJ 08080

Phone: (800) 579-1633
Email: info@keeactionsports.com
Website: http://www.empirepaintball.com
The new Empire AXE is a Mini on steroids; bigger, badder and willing to punish opponents.
 Manual: Download the manual for Empire Download
 Release Date: 2010
 MSRP: $459.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 469
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  57%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  40%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Empire - Axe Reviews
Empire Axe First thoughts: I got this as my first electric gun because I needed one. Anyway, I must say, this gun is great for it's price. Honestly, it's worth $700 or something because it's odd how it's...
Report this review to a moderator   #18047
Mocking Da Bird
Rental
Mocking Da Bird's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SC Village
Mocking Da Bird is playing at Living Legends V
Mocking Da Bird has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Mocking Da Bird has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Mocking Da Bird has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Mocking Da Bird has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $459.99
Pros: [Look Below] Smooth, easy programming
Cons: [Look Below] Ergos aren't great, bad consistency
First thoughts:
I got this as my first electric gun because I needed one. Anyway, I must say, this gun is great for it's price. Honestly, it's worth $700 or something because it's odd how it's smooth, efficient, quiet, light, etc. It doesn't come with everything like the Ego does. It comes with:
-Gun
-Barrel Sock
-.691 12 in. Barrel
-Repair kit

Appearance/Ergonomics:
Despite it's look, it still feels really good. When you're playing a game, I don't even notice how it handles because it feels pretty comfortable. When you first handle it, you're going to think "Oh man, this is really uncomfortable!" but in reality it's comfortable. If it matters, put on some hockey tape.

Efficiency:
For a $500 gun, the efficiency is great. I am going off a 68/45 Ninja tank I have. When I fill my tank, it goes up to 4000/3500 because my field does that for some reason. Anyway, after a game, the gauge looks like it hasn't even moved because I still have a lot of air! I can assure you the efficiency is 7-8 pods.

Performance:
SMOOTH! Super smooth. It's not even broken in yet and it feels like butter. There is pretty much no kick at all. Aside from the smoothness, there is also quietness. The Axe is really quiet. I have to say that it's a little less, if not quieter than the Geo2.1. You're ears won't be ringing when you keep shooting.

Reliability:
One of the greatest thing about this gun is that you don't have to worry about the gun breaking on you. As long as you re-lube your gun every 10-15 cases, you won't have a problem with this gun. If you can maintain a gun properly, get this. You won't have a problem.

Value:
As I stated before, I needed a good electro for cheap and I got the Axe. The Value is great, really. The Axe's price is so cheap, but the gun is good quality. It's like buying a 42 in. Samsung TV for $300.

Pros:
-Smooth
-Light
-Efficient
-Easy Programming (Once you get used to it, you'll memorize it in no time)
-Quiet
-Grips are great
-Comes with a repair kit
-Decent looking box it comes in
-GREAT PRICE!
-Easy Bolt removal
-Easy way to replace battery
-Uncomfortable when carrying around, but when playing it's good

Cons:
-Okay Feedneck
-Bad Barrel
-Inconsistent

Final Thoughts:
Well, I have to say, this is a great marker. Seriously, if you're thinking of buying this, an ETEK or the Reflex, look no further. Get this. I am NOT kidding you. I was in your same position. I went with the Axe because I did what you're doing. RESEARCHING! So +1 to you for that. Get the marker, love it, have sex with it, I don't care. You'll love this marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Empire Axe I've now purchased 2 Axe's (Infamous Team Axe + Standard Dust Black Axe) and couldn't be happier with my purchases. Originally as I got back into the sport I picked up an invert Mini from a friend...
Report this review to a moderator   #31881
digitard
GregRedHastings.com
digitard's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
digitard has been a member for 10 years
digitard works for a Paintball manufacturer
digitard plays in the APPA D5 division
digitard is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
digitard supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $320.00
Pros: Low Kick, High Performance, Reliable, easy maint
Cons: Standard color schemes
I've now purchased 2 Axe's (Infamous Team Axe + Standard Dust Black Axe) and couldn't be happier with my purchases.

Originally as I got back into the sport I picked up an invert Mini from a friend and was quite happy with it, but a few things irked me (the frame size being a big one). So I decided to pick up an Axe and I'm glad I did.

For the price right out of the box you have a solid marker that can hold it's own on the field. It does have a bit of a break in time so you may have a little bit of consistency oddness, and regulator creep initially, but after a few cases that should calm down as the internals get past that "Never Used" stage.

Other than that the thing shoots like a dream right from the get go. As it's a little big larger than the Mini you get reduced kick, an On/Off ASA, Tool Less Bolt Removal, an updated trigger design, and a few other perks.

As I went onto the field for the first time I immediately noticed the frame felt better in my hands than it's little brother, and the kick was reduced as well. Combined w/ the Lurker Eigenbarrel kit I had purchased (and Boss XSV Bolt) it's sound signature was impressive as well.

The other nice part about it is you won't break your bank if you decide you want to get really serious, and give it some upgrades. Simply adding an updated bolt (Boss/Lurker are two largely popular ones) and updated board (such as a Redline) will give you a marker that pro teams such as XSV and INFAMOUS are currently shooting.

Teardown is simple as well, and only took me about 10mins to fully tear the marker down and re-assemble it the first time, and only a few moments for a standard cleaning after a few times out.

I highly recommend the marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Empire Axe I've been using this gun for one full paintball season: I'll try to be short and sweet. This guns rips out of the box at 25bps (if you can shoot that fast). I have never had any paint breaks (only...
Report this review to a moderator   #24640
Caublasian
cHeCk yO fAce!
Caublasian's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Minnesota
Caublasian is playing at Living Legends V
Caublasian owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Caublasian supports Pev's Paintball
Caublasian has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Caublasian has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Caublasian is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $420.00
Pros: Light, Fast, Maintenance
Cons: I shoot too much paint ;0)
I've been using this gun for one full paintball season: I'll try to be short and sweet. This guns rips out of the box at 25bps (if you can shoot that fast). I have never had any paint breaks (only from boring too tight). The maintenance on these guns are amazing, you can strip it down build it back up right at on your field table, and with nothing more than a set of allens, and be back in the game.

In all honestly you don't need any "upgrades" for this gun when you guys it. All you need is a tank, and a hopper that can keep up with it and you're good to go.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Empire Axe I've been shooting an Axe for a couple months now. I've shot it playing airball, scenarios and rec-ball with 0 issues. No ball breaks or chops. No drop off. No leaks. No problems of any kind. ...
Report this review to a moderator   #9405
John
Straight shooter with upper management written all over him.
John's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: STL
John is an Administrator
John is playing at Living Legends VII
John has been published on the PbNation Youtube Channel
John is a PbNation video producer
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Light, fast, accurate, solid
Cons: Bottomline in fixed position, foregrip different
I've been shooting an Axe for a couple months now. I've shot it playing airball, scenarios and rec-ball with 0 issues. No ball breaks or chops. No drop off. No leaks. No problems of any kind.

The gun is all aluminum with solid construction.

The new tool-less bolt removal is handy, but I haven't broken a ball or even had to clean it so far.

The trigger needed some adjustment, but it was easy to set and great after 5 minutes.

I wish it came with a 2 piece barrel, but other than that it is awesome, especially for the price. I got an Olive and brown one. I wish a couple more of the parts were brown.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Empire Axe GREAT GUN TO START WITH. SUPER RELIABLE. VERY FORGIVING ON SHOTS WITH ITS HIGHER BPS. NICE BECAUSE THE UPGRADES ARE INEXPENSIVE COMPARED TO OTHER GUNS
Report this review to a moderator   #35797
marrrcus
 
marrrcus's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2013
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $650.00
Pros: LIGHT WEIGHT, LOW KICK. FORGIVING
Cons: REG RELAY SWITCH PROBLEMS
GREAT GUN TO START WITH. SUPER RELIABLE. VERY FORGIVING ON SHOTS WITH ITS HIGHER BPS. NICE BECAUSE THE UPGRADES ARE INEXPENSIVE COMPARED TO OTHER GUNS
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Empire Axe So, I just finished my sixth 5 hour session with the Axe. About 6 cases through it so far. I think it is absolutely phenomenal in every aspect. It's chronoing at about 283, 287, 289, 285, 288, 285,...
Report this review to a moderator   #25340
Sanguine Wave
 
Sanguine Wave's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Robinson, Texas
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $460.00
Pros: Competes with high end guns for a mid-end price,
Cons: Feedneck, and non-user serviceable regulator.
So, I just finished my sixth 5 hour session with the Axe. About 6 cases through it so far. I think it is absolutely phenomenal in every aspect. It's chronoing at about 283, 287, 289, 285, 288, 285, 289. Very consistent now that it has had some cases put through it +-5-6ish. It was probably +-10 out of the box. The field limit is 290 fps, so it was perfect. And this thing just shoots ropes, man. Ball on ball forever with marbs.

I was just waiting on this thing to break paint/chop, and it simply never happened. I have not had to swab once since getting this marker. Even with very fast walking. Speaking of walking, this thing has an amazing stock trigger. It is 4 point adjustable, and the magnet makes it very smooth and predictable. The feedneck could be better, but so far I have had no problems with it using the Dye Rotor. Just make sure it's not too tight, and that it will twist instead of snapping off if you hit it on something

It was at about 220psi operating pressure out of the box, so that was a little high, but I lowered it to about 180psi, and adjusted the velocity to compensate. So it should be good now. Also, it was very smooth and quiet, and I can only imagine the sound signature after a boss bolt v2 at a lower pressure. Some people complain about the stock barrel, and I don't see why. It's just perfect in my opinion. And after I got home, maintenance was very simple.

Just push the button on the bolt, zig zag it out, clean and lube the bolt, make sure your breach and barrel are clean, tighten the detents if they're loose, and I'm pretty sure that's it for basic maintenance as long as the eyes are not dirty. All in all I am very satisfied with this marker. Empire created a high end marker at a mid end price, and I could not recommend it more.

tldr; Fantastic, highly consistent, smooth, rope shooter. Couldn't be happier, and couldn't recommend it more.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Empire Axe Awsome gun no complaints. Amazing right out of the box no upgrades needed.
Report this review to a moderator   #20318
Taylor519
 
Taylor519's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London, ON
Taylor519 is playing at Living Legends VII
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Awsome gun no complaints. Amazing right out of the box no upgrades needed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Empire Axe I flipped back and forth between this marker and its little brother, the Invert Mini. A few key features put me over the edge:the easy on/off ASA is awesome, roomier frame is better for anyone over...
Report this review to a moderator   #15961
tweeter4
Quinn Nadu
tweeter4's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lancaster PA
tweeter4 posts videos on PbNation
tweeter4 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
tweeter4 is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Small, consistent, big upgrade over axe
Cons: heavy
I flipped back and forth between this marker and its little brother, the Invert Mini. A few key features put me over the edge:the easy on/off ASA is awesome, roomier frame is better for anyone over 12 years old, a total improvement over the Mini, tool-less bolt removal is dead simple, the trigger has no slop and is easy to pull (though not as nice as a G6R or GEO) The build quality and design of this marker is on par with markers that are hundreds of dollars more. The fit and finish are superb! The ball speed is very consistent, easily within 10fps during a burst of 3 shots.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Empire Axe I got this gun and i have to say i fell in love with it... It feels considerably better than the mini. It shoots great and bolt out the back makes maintenance a breeze. If you really want you can...
Report this review to a moderator   #30018
zachpnnc
 
zachpnnc's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
zachpnnc is playing at Living Legends VI
zachpnnc has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
zachpnnc has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
zachpnnc has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $390.00
Pros: easy maintenance feels great easy to program
Cons: stock barrel
I got this gun and i have to say i fell in love with it... It feels considerably better than the mini. It shoots great and bolt out the back makes maintenance a breeze. If you really want you can get a better barrel but other then that if you want a gun that you can buy and you don't want to have to upgrade the axe is perfect for that.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Empire Axe Had one of these for a brief time, not a bad gun..but too small for my hands, and the barrel is horrible...but if they are good for xsv then they aren't that bad....
Report this review to a moderator   #39687
evil balla 21
Bay State Rebels
evil balla 21's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MASS
evil balla 21 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
evil balla 21 plays in the APPA D5 division
evil balla 21 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
evil balla 21 is Legendary
evil balla 21 supports DLX Technology
evil balla 21 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Looks,reliability
Cons: Size, barrel
Had one of these for a brief time, not a bad gun..but too small for my hands, and the barrel is horrible...but if they are good for xsv then they aren't that bad....
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Add New Review