Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Empire - Axe Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Empire
570 Mantua Boulevard
Sewell, NJ 08080

Phone: (800) 579-1633
Email: info@keeactionsports.com
Website: http://www.empirepaintball.com
The new Empire AXE is a Mini on steroids; bigger, badder and willing to punish opponents.
 Manual: Download the manual for Empire Download
 Release Date: 2010
 MSRP: $459.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 531
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  58%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  39%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Empire - Axe Reviews
Empire Axe I bought this marker in about October of '12 and it has not let me down. This marker is an amazing value for the money. Solid, reliable shooting. Needs virtually no mods, and is tourney ready. Would...
Report this review to a moderator   #39542
cubanito954
Select Few
cubanito954's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SoFLA
cubanito954 plays in the APPA beginner division
cubanito954 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
cubanito954 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $495.00
Pros: Great Value
Cons: ASA becomes loose
I bought this marker in about October of '12 and it has not let me down. This marker is an amazing value for the money. Solid, reliable shooting. Needs virtually no mods, and is tourney ready. Would recommend to anyone D5 to Pro
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe Been using my axe for over a year and haven't had any major problems with it. Most I've ever had to do was change o rings and the usual lubing. I play lots of scenarios and play in some crazy...
Report this review to a moderator   #43929
D.Monster
BOSS NOVA
D.Monster's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisiana
D.Monster is playing at Living Legends VII
D.Monster has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
D.Monster has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
D.Monster supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: easy to maintain
Cons: stock barrel could be a little better
Been using my axe for over a year and haven't had any major problems with it. Most I've ever had to do was change o rings and the usual lubing. I play lots of scenarios and play in some crazy louisiana weather and texas heat, it sees its fair share of mud and dirt and still shoots great. Super easy to clean and maintain
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe This gun shoots great out of the box!!!! I have added the redline grip and took this gun to the next step
Report this review to a moderator   #12069
Da Griz
WINTHROP MAFIA
Da Griz's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Iowa
Da Griz is playing at Living Legends VII
Da Griz posts videos on PbNation
Da Griz plays in the APPA D5 division
Da Griz supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $330.00
Pros: great gun shoots smooth
Cons: i have not found one none
This gun shoots great out of the box!!!!

I have added the redline grip and took this gun to the next step
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe The Axe is a terrific gun for the value. I'd prefer it over a lot of high end tournament markers out there.
Report this review to a moderator   #30377
dallas.balla
how bout dah
dallas.balla's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dallas
dallas.balla is a Paintball photographer
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Small, light, smooth
Cons: Mini-like feel
The Axe is a terrific gun for the value. I'd prefer it over a lot of high end tournament markers out there.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe I love my axe. I play for vcu with kali rudolph and shooting his convinced me to get one. They always shoot they are very effiecient and are easy to maintain. The barrel however is terrible and the...
Report this review to a moderator   #12537
danecookhomie
 
danecookhomie's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: 804
danecookhomie has been a member for 10 years
danecookhomie is an NCPA player
danecookhomie plays in the APPA beginner division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Ease of use and reliablility
Cons: barrel and asa screws
I love my axe. I play for vcu with kali rudolph and shooting his convinced me to get one. They always shoot they are very effiecient and are easy to maintain. The barrel however is terrible and the asa always comes loose and the location of the screws to tighn it is also terrible its so hard to get an allen wrench in there. But the when i use it i forget all this it shoots like a dream.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe this is a great little marker shoots well and the price point is great for people just starting out or who have played for years. brand new they are 460 but if you look around you can find new ones...
Report this review to a moderator   #31789
Daniel-j95
 
Daniel-j95's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Smyrna Delaware
Daniel-j95 is playing at Living Legends V
Daniel-j95 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Daniel-j95 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Daniel-j95 is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $360.00
Pros: quiet, and reliably even in cold weather
Cons: doesnt get enough respect from players
this is a great little marker shoots well and the price point is great for people just starting out or who have played for years. brand new they are 460 but if you look around you can find new ones still in the shrink wrap for about 360-400

i feel that this marker does not get the respect that it deserves from the players spending thousand on a new maker every year

this maker is good enough for the pros then its good enough for everyone

  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe Pros. - Excellent shot quality. Lightweight kick, and quiet for a poppet gun. Most importantly, it will give you tight velocity readings (within 5fps) once you break in and tune the gun. This is the...
Report this review to a moderator   #80842
DanielBeaver
 
DanielBeaver's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Rochester, MN
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: good shot quality, value
Cons: not the best ergonomics
Pros.
- Excellent shot quality. Lightweight kick, and quiet for a poppet gun. Most importantly, it will give you tight velocity readings (within 5fps) once you break in and tune the gun. This is the primary strength of the Axe: it's a great shooter.
- Reliability. I experience very little downtime
- Good efficiency. My field only gasses up to 3000 psi, but I can get through 4 pods and a hopper with my 48ci tank.
- Gas thru grip, no external hoses.
- On/off ASA.
- Good adjustable trigger.
- Very gentle on paint. I can't remember the last time I broke a ball.
- Popularity. Upgrades available, and lots of information online for when you have problems. This also means that you can find used Axes for a great price.

Cons:
- Grip ergonomics. The rear grip is chunky and awkward to hold. Other markers in this price range have more comfortable grips. This is a personal thing, but I'm not the only one to complain about the Axe's ergonomics.
- Maintainability. The Axe is very reliable, but when it does break it is annoying to service. The bolt is very easy to clean, but the rest of the gun takes awhile to break down. The ASA regulator is not easily serviceable. It also has too a few screws that will loosen up without locktite (in particular the ASA mounting screws).

A few other things to note:
- Aesthetics. I think the Axe is a good looking gun, but some people think it looks goofy.
- Fore-grip ergonomics. I think the fore-grip is comfortable and gives my trigger finger plenty of room, but others think differently.
- Average weight. The all-aluminum body construction is nice and robust, but I think they should have used some more polymer components to cut down on weight.
- Stock barrel. It works fine, but only minimal porting (louder than it needs to be).
- The electronics are not totally sealed against the elements. Which is not to say that you need to coddle the gun - I play scenario woodsball with it, and it works fine in the dirt and rain. But I wish there was a gasket or something on the front grip, where the board sits.
- The mode programming is not user friendly. I think it works fine, but I've seen people struggle with changing settings on shockwave boards.

In Summary:
Try before you buy, since the ergonomics aren't for everyone. But if it feels good in your hands, then rest assured that it will sling paint as well as anything else on the field.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe LOVE IT
Report this review to a moderator   #40063
Danny Boi
 
Danny Boi's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gretna, NE
Danny Boi owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Danny Boi has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Danny Boi has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Danny Boi supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $375.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
LOVE IT
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe This gun is amazing. It shoots amazing out of the box and has no problems and little maintanence is needed with it.
Report this review to a moderator   #43476
DanteAlmanza47
 
DanteAlmanza47's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tracy Ca
DanteAlmanza47 is playing at Living Legends VII
DanteAlmanza47 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
DanteAlmanza47 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
DanteAlmanza47 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Shoots amazing out of the box
Cons: The feedneck is a bit flimsy
This gun is amazing. It shoots amazing out of the box and has no problems and little maintanence is needed with it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Empire Axe The price of the Axe is only enhanced by its performance. Out of the box, I went straight to a chrono and began firing...the gun was set mid 280s, so I put it on psp ramp and commenced to jigglin...
Report this review to a moderator   #14177
dantheman88
.
dantheman88's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: va
dantheman88 has been a member for 10 years
dantheman88 plays in the PSP
dantheman88 plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Too many to list
Cons: curvy foregrip, board not adjusted through trigger
The price of the Axe is only enhanced by its performance. Out of the box, I went straight to a chrono and began firing...the gun was set mid 280s, so I put it on psp ramp and commenced to jigglin ya'll. The gun had very little kick with the stock bolt, and pretty much none at all with the lurker bolt. At practice I am getting a hot 36-4000 fill, shooting 5-6 pods + a rotor, and coming off the field with over 1500 psi left in a 68/45. The ergonomics of the grip frame are great for me, especially for shooting while reloading. I love the no-frill, all business look and purpose of the Axe, if I made any changes cosmetically, I would smooth out the foregrip. It doesn't feel bad when you hold it, it just looks wierd.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review