Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - Ego 2011 (Ego11) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: info@planeteclipse.com
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
Comes with a Shaft 4 2-Piece Barrel, New Push Operated Purge System (POPS), SL3 Inline Regulator, Zick 2 Rammer Assembly, Cure 3+ Bolt and more.
 Manual: Download the manual for Planet Eclipse Download
 Release Date: 2010
 MSRP: $1,250.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
 Reviews: 302
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  83%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  16%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - Ego 2011 (Ego11) Reviews
Planet Eclipse Ego 2011 (Ego11) Hands down favorite gun i have ever shot. Extremely reliable after the marker is broken in, rarely have problems with anything nonetheless actually chop paint. Ive broken some balls while shooting...
Report this review to a moderator   #23891
EvilxxInside
**Paintball Addict**
EvilxxInside's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
EvilxxInside owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
EvilxxInside has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: Light, sexy, no kick, POPS asa
Cons: doesnt come with extra barrel backs
Hands down favorite gun i have ever shot. Extremely reliable after the marker is broken in, rarely have problems with anything nonetheless actually chop paint. Ive broken some balls while shooting the last two times but that was due to swollen cold balls and improper bore sizing. The marker had nothing to do with it. I would recommend this marker to anyone looking to up their game marker wise.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2011 (Ego11) I want to start this off by letting you know you shouldn't buy this puppy brand new unless you find a steal on them. I bought mine used a few months after they came out for over 50% off of store...
Report this review to a moderator   #37678
pflfranco
It's Josh
pflfranco's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
pflfranco is playing at Living Legends VI
pflfranco supports Team VICIOUS
pflfranco supports Team VICIOUS
pflfranco posts videos on PbNation
pflfranco is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
pflfranco is Legendary
pflfranco supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Smooth, Sexy, and Comfortable
Cons: The price brand new
I want to start this off by letting you know you shouldn't buy this puppy brand new unless you find a steal on them. I bought mine used a few months after they came out for over 50% off of store price...

Out of all my Egos this is by far my favorite one. I love how much smoother they are than the older egos and this is stock. They are amazing looking and Planet Eclipse did a great job on the improvements. Usually there were not many improvements when the next one dropped, maybe a milling difference. Shooting this bad boy always fun and I didn't even add any upgrades on it for quite some time. I like how they moved the trigger frame a bit, it fits much better for myself.

There is less kick in my opinion, way less kick. You obviously have to adjust the settings and get it tuned to how you like it, once that's done you will be the happiest guy on the field. The price is obviously more in the high end range, now a days you can find one for such a great price it's not even funny. Buy this marker!!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2011 (Ego11) Shoots ropes you will love it. I would recommend buying a used 1. gun is light and feels very very nice in my hands. I recommend it for sure.
Report this review to a moderator   #32567
Woahimapro123
 
Woahimapro123's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: Very easy to maintain
Cons: none yet
Shoots ropes you will love it. I would recommend buying a used 1. gun is light and feels very very nice in my hands. I recommend it for sure.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2011 (Ego11) best gun ive ever owned hands down. theres nothing else you can do to a paintball gun to make it any better.
Report this review to a moderator   #28538
Wyatt Earp
RAW
Wyatt Earp's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Jersey
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
best gun ive ever owned hands down. theres nothing else you can do to a paintball gun to make it any better.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2011 (Ego11) The 2011 Edition ego is probably my favorite year, followed closely by the 07. These guns are more tuneable, and shoot smoother than any other ego I have felt. They are top of the line, board wise,...
Report this review to a moderator   #20261
X A N A T 0 S
Travis Dixon
X A N A T 0 S's avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 810 So Mich
X A N A T 0 S plays in the PSP
X A N A T 0 S plays in the APPA D1 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: Smooth, consistent, comfortable
Cons: Expensive
The 2011 Edition ego is probably my favorite year, followed closely by the 07. These guns are more tuneable, and shoot smoother than any other ego I have felt. They are top of the line, board wise, and everything feels great about them.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2011 (Ego11) great gun depends on how you tune it it can be a little loud but oer all it is a amazing gun
Report this review to a moderator   #24902
xpocket rocketx
like a rock
xpocket rocketx's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: canada
xpocket rocketx owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.90
Pros: really reliable
Cons: kind of loud
great gun depends on how you tune it it can be a little loud but oer all it is a amazing gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2011 (Ego11) I've owned poppet valved guns for the entirety of my paintballing career (10+ years) starting with blowbacks to cockers to a timmy and eventually to the ego line of which I've owned several different...
Report this review to a moderator   #24559
calvman
Clickety screeeee
calvman's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2002
calvman is a Mega Moderator
calvman is a Supporting Member
calvman has been a member for 10 years
calvman is playing at Living Legends VII
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: Lightweight, sleek lines, efficiency, smoothness
Cons: cost?
I've owned poppet valved guns for the entirety of my paintballing career (10+ years) starting with blowbacks to cockers to a timmy and eventually to the ego line of which I've owned several different model years. Over that time, guns have made marked improvements. My previous gun was an ego10 platform that I felt was perfect. Super consistent and more importantly to me reliable. Once I shot the ego11, I had a complete change of heart. The '11 made previous models obsolete. It's not that the previous model years aren't good guns. They're great guns. However, the improvements in sound signature and kick while still maintaining the efficiency characteristics of a poppet valve gun and the simple maintenance of a PE gun changed my mind on upgrading.

I removed one star for the cost of the marker. Granted it's a typical cost for a premium gun from a premium company. And it does come with industry leading support with a 1 year warranty from a company that backs their products.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2011 (Ego11) I have shot several Egos and owned an Ego8 since they came out. I've always thought they shot pretty much the same. I never saw a need to upgrade from my very dependable Ego8. It always works. It...
Report this review to a moderator   #9261
John
Straight shooter with upper management written all over him.
John's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: STL
John is playing at Living Legends VII
John has been published on the PbNation Youtube Channel
John is a PbNation video producer
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: Light, smooth, accurate and looks incredible
Cons: Expensive and brand new so durability is unproven
I have shot several Egos and owned an Ego8 since they came out. I've always thought they shot pretty much the same. I never saw a need to upgrade from my very dependable Ego8. It always works. It never breaks paint. It is solid.

However, I've shot an Ego11 three times now and I am convinced PE has made some significant improvements. The Ego11 is much smoother, has less kick and they've moved the trigger frame so you grip higher more inline with the barrel.

The new bottomline is amazingly instinctive to turn on. I started one game with it disengaged and as soon as I touched it, it locked into place and aired the gun back up. Smart design.

Telling people that a gun is smooth has been one of the most overused lines in paintball marketing for a decade. The Ego11 is smooth enough that it feels like the velocity is low since there is less kick than previous Egos. I would imagine that the gun is so smooth from the adjustable solenoid. However, the one I shot had already been set up for PSP so I didn't get a chance to adjust it.

Value is subjective but it is difficult for me to give any $1200 marker 5 stars for value with so many less expensive markers out there (some of them also made by Eclipse). This also might be the most reliable marker ever made, but it is so new, I can't give reliability 5 stars either.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2011 (Ego11) I just picked up 2 brand new ego 11s for 925 and have only put a hopper through it so far. this is what i think of it so far packaging: this is my first brand new ego ive ever owned, ive owned an 05...
Report this review to a moderator   #26335
billy1234
pew pew
billy1234's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Deer Valley AZ
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $925.00
Pros: light, quiet, reliable, sexy, color screen
Cons: it doesnt dry fire 100 dollar bills
I just picked up 2 brand new ego 11s for 925 and have only put a hopper through it so far. this is what i think of it so far

packaging: this is my first brand new ego ive ever owned, ive owned an 05 and an 07 ego used since ive started playing in 2003. well the case it comes in is just phenomenal, nice sturdy zippered case with the ego logo on the outside with some graphics on it. When you unzip and open the case the first thing you see is ur packaged ego in hard foam to make sure it doesnt get messed up during shipping, it also comes with a full allen wrench set you need for everything on the marker, a barrel bag, manual, PE oil, and a 2 piece matching shaft 4 barrel, its very sexy just in the box.

first impression: drop dead sexy, when i took it out i attached the barrel and realized they used a new 2 piece barrel threading. the barrel back screws in righty tighty and the front piece that screws into the back piece goes lefty tighty. after i screwed it on the gun i picked it up to compare weights with my 07 ego that i still own, the 11 is considerabley lighter than the 07, the 11 is also longer than the 07, this is just my opinion but the 11 also feels alot better in my hands than the 07, the 11 feels alot more spaced out and the way i hold my egos since they are usually so compact my fingers on my shooting hand occasionally rub on my forehands palm/meaty part of the hand. idk thats me, just an opinion

shooting: very smooth and a very straight shot, hardly any arc, was shooting into a very strong right wind, even with the wind they were ball on ball only going right because of the wind. the shot is also alot quieter than any previous ego ive had, also no kick what so ever that i can tell, if you complain about the kick of this marker youre crazy. cant say anything about efficiency because i havent actually gone to the field with it yet, have only heard good things though.

overall this is the best marker ive ever owned, i would suggest this to anyone who has an endless money supply to buy paintball guns.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2011 (Ego11) I just bought this BNIB Regal 2 and had two practices with it. I can relate to John's review above, since I've also had my 08 since brand new and didn't feel the need to upgrade - skipped 09 and 10....
Report this review to a moderator   #10729
Luigi Speed 05
PBN made me a gun whore..
Luigi Speed 05's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Miami
Luigi Speed 05 plays in the PSP
Luigi Speed 05 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Luigi Speed 05 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Luigi Speed 05 plays in the APPA D4 division
Luigi Speed 05 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.01
Pros: Reg Spacing and grip frame height
Cons: takes too long to break in
I just bought this BNIB Regal 2 and had two practices with it. I can relate to John's review above, since I've also had my 08 since brand new and didn't feel the need to upgrade - skipped 09 and 10.
So I'm gonna get "the bad" outta way first. 10 to 15 cases to break in before you can start playing with the solenoid is a drag!! Also, takes time to get used to the "new" ergonomics, quite a jump for somebody so used to the 08. There, those are the cons, if you want to call it that.

The new features that I like the most are the shaft 4, and the spacing between the trigger guard and the reg. I think the idea of a longer control bore for the barrel back is ingenious and seems to work quite well, thou I'm still to shoot it in another gun. PE barrels are always nice, but this one seems better, rather use it than my one-piece CF ones.

The spacing between the trigger guard and the SL3 reg is bigger, perfect for my thumb size, but it does force me to wrap my whole hand around the reg. There's not really a confortable position to hold the body of the 11 with your thumb and index finger, like I usually do with other guns. It might take a bit to get used to it for some - I still am - but it's definitely a better shooting platform, more instinctive and stable, feels better for running and gunning. The placement of the trigger frame higher in the receiver's body seems to contribute a lot also.

Is it smooth? Yes, very. Not the smoothest or quietest gun I ever shot, of course. It's not a spool. But out of the box, or with less than 2 cases on the counter, it's a bit smoother and quieter than my well broken-in 08. To me that tends to indicate that when I get to play with the settings, it'll get much better.
POPS is very nice, but at least to me, it does not affect gameplay very much, unlike the other features I mentioned before. Same with the 45 swivel collar. Genious, great detail, aesthetically pleasing too, but not game changing imho.

Luxury details: the feedneck thumbwheel is perfect, don't want any other types of necks, ever. Screen is excellent, board doesn't need introduction nor upgrade. Cure bolt seems to me just as good as any of its previous incarnations. New grips that "seal" the board area - so well you can probably play without its screws - are excellent if a tad bulky. Nicest spare parts kit I've ever seen, still to figure out what the bolt inserts that come with it do. What maintenance?

First time out had it factory stock. Excellent consistency over the chrono. Didn't even unlock the board, so it was semi uncapped. Have to admit there was a slight ammount of barrel rise, but it was shooting pretty fast, and I was still to grasp the correct way to hold it with the off-hand. Second time I put it in 12.4 ramp and started "wrapping" the reg, made the rise feel negligible.

All in all, a great marker. You can argue it's expensive, but you get what you pay for. I personally think it's the best value amongst the high ends as an overall package and all the luxury you don't get from other manufacturers. Other guns will have a key feature or another that's better than this. No other gun can rate this high in every single category without ups, again in my humble opinion.
Rate my review and leave a question or a comment if you feel so inclined. Thanks for reading.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
Add New Review