Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Bob Long Technologies - G6R Intimidator Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Bob Long Technologies
11669 Highway 26
Mokelumne Hill, CA 95245

Phone: (209) 293-4440
Fax: (209) 293-4420
Email: techsupport@boblongdirect.com
Website: http://www.boblongdirect.com
The Bob Long G6R will utilize the popular stacked tube design; no external hoses or macro line which will ensure less problems with the gun and make the Bob Long G6R Intimidator one of the most reasonably priced and reliable guns in the lineup.
 Manual: Download the manual for Bob Long Technologies Download
 Release Date: 2010
 MSRP: $859.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 302
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  72%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  24%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Bob Long Technologies - G6R Intimidator Reviews
Bob Long Technologies G6R Intimidator I've owned just about every high end gun out there and one of my favorite I've owned is the g6r. I prefer a longer gun (being fairly tall), and the length of this gun is basically perfect imo. It...
Report this review to a moderator   #17867
lax01
It was all a dream
lax01's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Atl
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: kick, feel, everything.
Cons:
I've owned just about every high end gun out there and one of my favorite I've owned is the g6r. I prefer a longer gun (being fairly tall), and the length of this gun is basically perfect imo. It also has a surprisingly small amount of kick for a poppet. I'd recommend this to anyone.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies G6R Intimidator Love this gun. Have been using it for almost two seasons now and it hasnt let me down even once. Out of the box it is a awesome marker and with an LP poppet and now the new Premium Bolt it becomes...
Report this review to a moderator   #36128
loki1313
I NEED MY MAKER'S
loki1313's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: T-Town TX
loki1313 plays in the PSP
loki1313 posts videos on PbNation
loki1313 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: Efficeint, Smooth, Ergos
Cons: None I can think of
Love this gun. Have been using it for almost two seasons now and it hasnt let me down even once. Out of the box it is a awesome marker and with an LP poppet and now the new Premium Bolt it becomes even better. Maintenance is very easy no matter what someone says. And being probably the most efficient marker out there with one of the smoothest shots its very hard not to like this thing. Now that there are different millings and it has an OLED what else could you need.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies G6R Intimidator Having owned an Intimidator from every generation, I'm frequently amazed at how much Bob continues to innovate. The G6R is no exception. The marker takes after the Victory and several other markers...
Report this review to a moderator   #25782
lopez17
Valar Morghulis
lopez17's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Stone Ridge, VA
lopez17 is a Moderator
lopez17 is a Supporting Member
lopez17 is playing at Living Legends VII
lopez17 supports Pev's Paintball
lopez17 is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
lopez17 is Immortal
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $850.00
Pros: Lightweight, air efficient, easy to maintain
Cons: Inability to swap out the stock ASA.
Having owned an Intimidator from every generation, I'm frequently amazed at how much Bob continues to innovate. The G6R is no exception. The marker takes after the Victory and several other markers and is internally plumbed, with air passageways milled into the frame and body. To enable larger passageways and greater airflow, the marker's body is actually two separate halves. This provided BLAST with greater flexibility to to mill the chambers and was a key driver for the evolution of the G6R. AS a result of the air passage ways you're essentially stuck with the ASA; thankfully Bob includes a purging on/off ASA that works quite well.

The marker is similar in many ways to the Protege and Vice. It utilizes a high performing 360 HPR regulator and has an LPR design that has changed little. The access to the poppet is gained by separating the body halves, an innovative and interesting idea that plays well into Bob's ability to bring precision machining and solid engineering to bear and maintain seal integrity between the bodies. This generation eliminates a ram sleeve and the ram itself sits in a significantly shorter chamber area. The bolt is high quality and still cycles with precision.

One change from previous generations is a more compact gripframe. The internal design has prohibited board manufacturers from creating OLED boards. Tadao, instead has created a G6R compatible Ebisu board which provides additional functionality over the stock board. Trigger options are somewhat limited with Violent Products being the only aftermarket trigger, if you really need one. G6R's utilize the same trigger design/style as Victories and allow for easy removal out the front of the gripframe. No more clamshell opening/removals to get a trigger out.

Like their predecessors, the G6R's are incredibly efficient on air. It's not uncommon for most users to get a case of paint off of a full 68/4500 fill. Players utilizing SLP set ups have reported getting even more. The marker has the same stock clamping feedneck that was popularized in 2008 with the release of the Vice. It's a low profile solution that holds loaders in place exceedingly well.

Like previous intimidators, these markers can be enabled with 4C eyes allowing the user to shoot more consistent streams of paint as excess cycle times are eliminated.

Longer than it's predecessors in the 5th Generation, the marker is ideally suited for longer/taller ballers. The lack of a Macroline makes switching between hands easy and it's also more comfortable to hold.

Mandatory Upgrades:

- G6R Intimidators, like the Vice/Protege before them, require the owner to utilize a regulator tester to properly set the regs up for gameplay. They do not come stock with the marker and are therefore a mandatory upgrade.

Optional Upgrades:

- 4C Eyes. These eyes enable players with fast fingers to take advantage of the eye logic present within the Tadao boards that come with the marker. They enable the board to reduce delay times thereby enabling more consistent streams of paint.

- Pillow Bolt. The stock bolt is impressive, and like other Bob Long bolts, very good. For those players who are consistently shooting the most brittle tournament paints, a Pillow bolt might be a good upgrade.

- Trigger. If you like adjustments or something lighter, you may want to consider upgrading the trigger. In my marker I went with a Violent Products trigger. It's light, snappy with a long pull and a crisp return.

- Barrel(s). Every paintball player has their own barrel preference. I like CP's. The stock one piece is made by CP, but with the kit you have greater flexiblity. You personal preference will dictate what you want.

- Board. The stock Odoshi G6R board, while PSP capable, lacks some of the finesse of other Tadao boards. For additional capability the Ebisu boards offer more functionality and performance. Most players won't notice the upgrade unless they're involved in PSP or Millenium tournaments with ramping modes enabled.

- LP Poppet. For people who want to run the marker at a lower pressure providing a smoother shot they have the option of installing a LP poppet. There will be a trade off in efficiency.

- SLP Regulator - To fully maximize the performance of the marker and regs, a Super Low Pressure regulator on your tank will gain you additional efficiencies in the marker. Potentially up to an extra pod per 68/4500 fill.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies G6R Intimidator soft shot, consistent, and has great air efficiency! amazing marker. only issue the the touchiness of the regs.
Report this review to a moderator   #30845
m.bouhabib47
 
m.bouhabib47's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Methuen, Ma
m.bouhabib47 is BST Legit
m.bouhabib47 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
m.bouhabib47 posts videos on PbNation
m.bouhabib47 is an NCPA player
m.bouhabib47 plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: soft shot, air effecency
Cons: needs pressure tester
soft shot, consistent, and has great air efficiency! amazing marker. only issue the the touchiness of the regs.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies G6R Intimidator i bought a custom lasered purple with teal.looks absolutely gorgeous and shoots amazingly smooth. used in one day and shot only a bag through it.next day air it up and its leaking through the asa....
Report this review to a moderator   #11183
marine015
 
marine015's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
marine015 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $989.00
Pros: light,skinny,smooth
Cons: picky with o-rings,pain in the butt to take apart
i bought a custom lasered purple with teal.looks absolutely gorgeous and shoots amazingly smooth. used in one day and shot only a bag through it.next day air it up and its leaking through the asa. hand to take out 9 screws just to get to the tiny o-ring that was completely shredded.i dont think they greased it up before they shipped it. replaced it and now i have no extras.sad that they only give one extra o-ring. other then that gripe its an awesome gun,best value in paintball
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies G6R Intimidator Picked up a g6r after having my alias for years and wanting to get back into it. New gun is a improvment over the older ones with the weight and better feel. Only issue i have is i put new battery...
Report this review to a moderator   #35099
Markie mark
UM...
Markie mark's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Delaware
Markie mark plays in the APPA D4 division
Markie mark has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Markie mark supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $650.00
Pros: light,smooth
Cons: Rear button
Picked up a g6r after having my alias for years and wanting to get back into it. New gun is a improvment over the older ones with the weight and better feel.

Only issue i have is i put new battery in it and i guess whats just a little short and gun keep shuting off so had put small piece cardboard under the battery.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies G6R Intimidator
Report this review to a moderator   #35860
martix_agent
I'm out of creativity
martix_agent's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Indiana
martix_agent is playing at Living Legends VII
martix_agent is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $650.00
Pros: small, light, efficient!
Cons: no .5 cap settings
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies G6R Intimidator Amazing gun, i needed air efficency since my field only fills 2200
Report this review to a moderator   #16740
Mashaustin
G6R or bust!
Mashaustin's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Mashaustin has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Mashaustin has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: Shoots great air efficent
Cons: Lack of color kits
Amazing gun, i needed air efficency since my field only fills 2200
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies G6R Intimidator shot fast and smooth one of my all time favorite poppet guns. you need to be a little more tech savvy as the tear down of the gun can get complicated
Report this review to a moderator   #12199
matt00iconoclast
Matt #4
matt00iconoclast's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Land of Oz
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: light fast smooth
Cons: read below
shot fast and smooth one of my all time favorite poppet guns.

you need to be a little more tech savvy as the tear down of the gun can get complicated
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies G6R Intimidator I love the entire G6r lineup. I had my 2012 G6r for quite a while and had 0 problems out of it, it's light, efficient, and easy to maintain. I do prefer the 2011 over the 2012 but either way you...
Report this review to a moderator   #43307
mcardwell2013
Scary Creek Pro
mcardwell2013's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 3o4
mcardwell2013 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
mcardwell2013 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
mcardwell2013 plays in the APPA beginner division
mcardwell2013 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
mcardwell2013 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Light, efficient
Cons: None.
I love the entire G6r lineup. I had my 2012 G6r for quite a while and had 0 problems out of it, it's light, efficient, and easy to maintain. I do prefer the 2011 over the 2012 but either way you can't go wrong in buying one.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review